Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating and the Biological Clock

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭iptba

karaokeman wrote: »
    I've read that having children at a later age (50s abouts) increases the chances of them having Downs Syndrome. I'm no science nerd so I wouldn't be able to explain the factors that cause this to happen.

That said I have an uncle who didn't have kids until his early 50s, and his last was born when he was 56, and none of them have any sort of medical condition.
    I'm no expert on this but just looked this up.
    Epidemiology

The CDC estimates that about 1 of every 691 babies born in the United States each year is born with Down syndrome.[8] Each year about 6,000 babies in the United States are born with this condition. Approximately 95% of these are trisomy 21.

Maternal age influences the chances of conceiving a baby with Down syndrome. At maternal age 20 to 24, the probability is one in 1562; at age 35 to 39 the probability is one in 214, and above age 45 the probability is one in 19.[88] Although the probability increases with maternal age, 80% of children with Down syndrome are born to women under the age of 35,[89] reflecting the overall fertility of that age group. Recent data also suggest that paternal age, especially beyond 42,[90] also increases the risk of Down syndrome manifesting.[91]

91. Warner, Jennifer. "Dad's Age Raises Down Syndrome Risk, Too", "WebMD Medical News". Retrieved 2007-09-29.
    http://www.webmd.com/infertility-and-reproduction/news/20030701/dad-age-down-syndrome