Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Top job that, you'd never know.

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Can't believe you haven't broken it yet! I would have by now:o

I don't think you're trying hard enough:p

My thumbs are broken after that, but I got it out! It better be pin 7!

Ill code it up in the morning before I head to work. Sick of going up and down that lift all evening now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

My thumbs are broken after that, but I got it out! It better be pin 7!

Ill code it up in the morning before I head to work. Sick of going up and down that lift all evening now.

Good to hear :D

I always find that things often only come off when you don't care if you brake it or not anymore!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Good to hear :D

I always find that things often only come off when you don't care if you brake it or not anymore!

Sounds like my door warning lights install. Ill have a repeat of those horrific noises if I get a new leather interior anyways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

For the sake of £40 I'm going to be a lazy bolix.... :p

Means some stuff here should move a bit faster ;) and no I'm not buying a mule/jennet :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I got a lovely, shiney new rotary polisher today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

The lights from the heating dials are after going in me car, feck sake, on the other hand i ordered those leds i was taking about :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I got a lovely, shiney new rotary polisher today :D

Ill bring scratchy over later :D

It worked

Heading to Armagh bright and early tomorrow for a look at this interior.

Last night while getting petril I saw an E60 at the pumps with quad exhausts, nice bumper and wheels :) and I thought it was an M5, untill it started up...... A 520d :(

Its an 08 DL one on finky plates if anyone spots it going round Navan again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Met a lovely Garda this morning, told me I had a lovely car and I had it looking well, I thought to myself he must need glasses as its dirty. Definitely checked tax and insurance though

dgt wrote: »
    Last night while getting petril I saw an E60 at the pumps with quad exhausts, nice bumper and wheels :) and I thought it was an M5, untill it started up...... A 520d :(

The poor mans m5 :pac:

I no longer look like an itinerant driving around. :)
    Bumper was welded in Armagh, then finished in Meehans Crash Repair, Dundalk. Got it back on yesterday, i repaired the trim myself and reinstalled all parts and PDC sensors today.

b1_zps4add8027.jpg

b2_zps25e8a47b.jpg

Whole bumper was sprayed, along with some strips of blue trim. They also fixed a crack under my driver door which i cracked off a small wall recently. Absolutely flawless all round, highly recommended.

Could you give me their number? I've a few scars from the past that need looking at on my car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

But it still looks good though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Doing a track training day in Mondello this day week :) Looking forward to it immensely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Typical Donegal man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

My car is like a bakers oven today. So opened all the windows cold air on, at least I taught it was cold till I was half way up the road. The fecker was set to scorchio :(.

OSI wrote: »
    See ya there ;)

Nice one..! Are you instructing or driving OSI?

OSI wrote: »
    Will be driving, there's a couple of others from here going as well.

Sweet will see you there so. I plan on sticking around for the track day in the afternoon as well. Full international circuit :)

On that M5.......20d, it was just the disappointment of hearing it start expecting a shrieking V10 instead of clatters and rattles :(

Also, f*ck you hayfever, f*ck you :mad: I tried camomile tea, vicks, panadol to no avail. Thankfully I got some of the garden tidied up a little bit before it got real bad..... Now inside having to sit down and wonder what else to do besides be miserable :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

On that M5.......20d, it was just the disappointment of hearing it start expecting a shrieking V10 instead of clatters and rattles :(

Also, f*ck you hayfever, f*ck you :mad: I tried camomile tea, vicks, panadol to no avail. Thankfully I got some of the garden tidied up a little bit before it got real bad..... Now inside having to sit down and wonder what else to do besides be miserable :(

Have you tried certirizine?
    You'll get it in a pharmacy OTC.
    The brand name is zirtek, but there is a generic version of it, called cetrine allergy.
    That'd be your best bet. Should be less than 8 euro. It's an antihistamine which is what's needed to treat hay fever.
    You could also try beconase nasal spray but I'd go with the cetrine first as it should clear it up.
    Paracetamol and Vicks won't really work for hay fever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Going to get my Air con working tomorrow as the next week looks like it going to be hot. €39 for a gas top up at first stop, not bad

Spotted this on FB. Mahon in Cork. 132-C reg! :eek:

970591_480575082024506_1891600621_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭mooman

shaaane wrote: »
    Spotted this on FB. Mahon in Cork. 132-C reg! :eek:

Possibly out for a test drive from Kearys, the driver must be feeling pretty sick now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah well, at least they werer in the AA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Sickening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Two hilarious incidents I saw today out driving.

First was driving through Blackrock in Louth, chap was cycling on the footpath as I was about to drive past, he glanced over his shoulder looking in my direction for too long, turned back around too late and went head first over the handlebars into a bush. The bike them somersaulted ontop of him. Proper comedy, the look of embarrassment on his face was priceless. (He was ok!) Have it on the Roadhawk but the quality is far too low to make out the hilarity.

Second was a few minutes ago at the big Xerox junction in Dundalk, a woman was driving behind me two miles with no headlights on. She was stopped at the lights about to head down to the motorway so I jumped out of the car and went up to her passenger window. There was a big fella sitting in the passenger seat, he didn't spot me for about two seconds so I tapped the window, he turned around and looked at me and revolted backwards in sheer terror! As in he nearly jumped ontop of the driver, hitting the roof, with his eyes like saucers and mouth wide open, hands up in the air! He pure shat himself.

Poor chap, round the window down 2 inches for me to tell her, she pointed at her lit up dials of course in confusion. Then she copped it. I feel so bad for your man, it was classic terror acting 101. :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Have you tried certirizine?
    You'll get it in a pharmacy OTC.
    The brand name is zirtek, but there is a generic version of it, called cetrine allergy.
    That'd be your best bet. Should be less than 8 euro. It's an antihistamine which is what's needed to treat hay fever.
    You could also try beconase nasal spray but I'd go with the cetrine first as it should clear it up.
    Paracetamol and Vicks won't really work for hay fever.

Zirtek sent me to sleep, best ever thing I found for hayfever was weleda hayfever pills

In motoring news OH and I are pondering if he should buy a very well vouched for (our mechanic) E200 which is 2000 and try to sell his 03 c5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Stheno wrote: »
    Zirtek sent me to sleep, best ever thing I found for hayfever was weleda hayfever pills

In motoring news OH and I are pondering if he should buy a very well vouched for (our mechanic) E200 which is 2000 and try to sell his 03 c5

I would prefer the C5 to an E200 anyway. I understand wanting a change though.

Is the E200 auto and leather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Depending on the year, they gave massive electrical trouble along with mechanical trouble. My boss in my last job had a 2005 E200 and he had it in the garage being repaired more than he drove it. He was only the 2nd owner and the car was a year old at the time.

Diff shat itself, wipers came on when he indicated left, no headlights when the radio was on - all stupid things like that!