Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well done Cian! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

CianRyan wrote: »
    First thing I did was rip the bloody L plates off, not that I ever had them in the car outside the test. :p

YEAY, V6!

Well done dude I only passed mine in April of last year and I'm 30 so was the ripe old age of 28.

Great feeling though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Congrats Cian :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Thanks all, I thought I was late at 23, glad I didn't wait another 5 years. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

For a while I thought you were which I found surprising considering how much you love driving fastish cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Scortho wrote: »
    For a while I thought you were which I found surprising considering how much you love driving fastish cars

It's all down to laziness and that for some strange reason, I was able to get quoted on fastish cars. :p
    Not to worry now though, the real fun can begin! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Lads sorry to be boring ye with VRT ****e again, but I've just noticed something on the website, example car (which is the one I'm hoping to buy), is a 2007 Audi A4 2.0TDI Special Edition 4d, and the options for this car are 170PS or 168BHP. These seem like the same thing to me, however the 168BHP one has emissions of 154 off a 23% rate on the OMSP of €8610, which is €1980 VRT, which I'd be satisfied with.

Second example which is the 170PS, has CO2 emissions of 177 so a rate of 30% off OMSP of €8844 which is €2653 VRT which I'd rather not have to pay.

This is just Sp.Ed A4's, if you check out the standard S Line 168BHP the VRT payable is €1807, OMSP €7859, however the S Line 170PS has a VRT €2914 which is out of budget, OMSP €15339!

I don't want to commit to buying a car without knowing where I stand here first, as far as I know the log book may state Audi A4 2.0TDI S Line 170, which puts me in a bit of a pickle. Anyone any experience with this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I only did mine this year and I'm 27. :o :pac:

Congrats btw! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Dave147 wrote: »
    Lads sorry to be boring ye with VRT ****e again, but I've just noticed something on the website, example car (which is the one I'm hoping to buy), is a 2007 Audi A4 2.0TDI Special Edition 4d, and the options for this car are 170PS or 168BHP. These seem like the same thing to me, however the 168BHP one has emissions of 154 off a 23% rate on the OMSP of €8610, which is €1980 VRT, which I'd be satisfied with.

Second example which is the 170PS, has CO2 emissions of 177 so a rate of 30% off OMSP of €8844 which is €2653 VRT which I'd rather not have to pay.

This is just Sp.Ed A4's, if you check out the standard S Line 168BHP the VRT payable is €1807, OMSP €7859, however the S Line 170PS has a VRT €2914 which is out of budget, OMSP €15339!

I don't want to commit to buying a car without knowing where I stand here first, as far as I know the log book may state Audi A4 2.0TDI S Line 170, which puts me in a bit of a pickle. Anyone any experience with this?

After looking at the facts and figures on Parkers, it looks like one is the S-Line 'normal' and one is the S-Line Quattro. Or does it list the Quattro on the Revenue site?

pajor wrote: »
    After looking at the facts and figures on Parkers, it looks like one is the S-Line 'normal' and one is the S-Line Quattro. Or does it list the Quattro on the Revenue site?

One is S Line 168BHP and corresponding 170PS, then there is Sp.Ed, Black Edition and Quattro. All have 168BHP and 170PS. The 170PS figures are way off the mark.

Basically the TL;DR is I think I should have to pay €1980 and think that is the correct figure, but this is the Irish Revenue we're talking about and I'm not taking any chances.

One is S Line 168BHP and corresponding 170PS, then there is Sp.Ed, Black Edition and Quattro. All have 168BHP and 170PS. The 170PS figures are way off the mark.

Yeah.. just had a look on the Revenue site. That list of versions is baffling. If it's not a Quattro then the CO2 is 154.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Sounds like you're buying from the UK in which case ask the seller to tell you the co2 number listed on the v5c. So far as I know, the VRT hasto be based on the overseas registration document. It sounds as if, for prospective Irish purchasers, one will be significantly more valuable. If hey can't find the v5c, ask them whether it's taxed in band G or band I. It should be clear from the tax disc on the vehicle.

Looking at Autotrader, the Quattro versions are 177g which is presumably due to it being a heavier car.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I did mine when i was thirty four

Marcusm wrote: »
    Sounds like you're buying from the UK in which case ask the seller to tell you the co2 number listed on the v5c. So far as I know, the VRT hasto be based on the overseas registration document. It sounds as if, for prospective Irish purchasers, one will be significantly more valuable. If hey can't find the v5c, ask them whether it's taxed in band G or band I. It should be clear from the tax disc on the vehicle.

Looking at Autotrader, the Quattro versions are 177g which is presumably due to it being a heavier car.

The car I'm looking at is tax band G, have a 1.8T Quattro Sport at the moment but hard to find affordable 2.0TDI Quattro, my dad has A8 3.0TDI Quattro though!

Pretty sure now the amount due is the €1900 figure which is acceptable to me.

Thanks for responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    I did mine when i was thirty four

15 years ago :eek:

:D:P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

saw a man with an angle grinder going at a clamp on his car this morning. gards came and arrested him . It was a Dublin city council one

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Finally got around to checking out my Beijing/Dubai snaps. Only in a Dubai for about 36 hours, but still seen a nice few supercars. That place is dripping with money.

Surprised how many porsches are in Beijing though. All cayenne's though.

DSC_0649.jpg

Ferrari dominates the pic. I miss the roller every time.
    DSC_0652.jpg

DSC_0655.jpg

DSC_0656.jpg

DSC_0657.jpg

DSC_0670.jpg

DSC_0684.jpg

DSC_0686.jpg

Still not sure what this is:
    DSC_0653.jpg

pred racer wrote: »
    15 years ago :eek:

:D:P:pac:

Feck off oh aged one, sure you probably got yours in the last amnesty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Just another boring evening in, hiding from the little shinies to keep the big shiney dream alive.

Mmm big shinies (Off to bed to dream of said shinies)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Just another boring evening in, hiding from the little shinies to keep the big shiney dream alive.

Be strong!!!:D

You've reminded me, I've saved a packet on my car insurance, so after next weeks mega service (normal filters/oil/gearbox/powersteering fluid change/ check sticky caliper, check front/rear suspension/change spark plugs, replace all door seals, fix driver door rest, replace lights in dash/central console, replace bonnet bolt, replace aerial motor, and if I get one in time, replace aerial) and then the NCT, I'm getting a new exhaust tip for my car, it needs that shinyness :D

And I can have a mega breakfast in a greasy spoon and visit the lovely ladies boutique near to Suohans :)

Just the thoughts of the shiny new exhaust makes me smile :)
    Along with the aerial that works, the armrest that is there..................

The little pleasures of life. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Feck off oh aged one, sure you probably got yours in the last amnesty :D

Not quite that long, but I do have it over 20yrs;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jaypers this suit looks the tits on me :D

Long day ahead tomorrow, I'll be in the city centre all day. Might be miserable and leave the car on the street :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

dgt wrote: »

Long day ahead tomorrow, I'll be in the city centre all day. Might be miserable and leave the car on the street :pac:

Pics :P

Oh and I meant to say thanks for the hospitality and the pizza :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

saw a man with an angle grinder going at a clamp on his car this morning. gards came and arrested him . It was a Dublin city council one

And rightly so.
    Non council/council authorised clamp, then off she can come

You know there are a few spots around Fitzwilliam that are free all day?

I saw a foursome of tourists who got clamped in Merrion Square today, the look on their face was priceless.

@ dgt if you don't know the free parking, pm me, or if you are dead stuck I'll direct you to my office car park :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Pics :P

Oh and I meant to say thanks for the hospitality and the pizza :)

Next update: I change my power steering pump in a 3 piece suit :pac:

Any time! No one copped the swapped caps :p
    You know there are a few spots around Fitzwilliam that are free all day?

I saw a foursome of tourists who got clamped in Merrion Square today, the look on their face was priceless.

@ dgt if you don't know the free parking, pm me, or if you are dead stuck I'll direct you to my office car park :)

Cheers! I'm sorted for parking, just I have to be in Augnier st for 8:15 an I am in my arse parking in rcsi for a few mins, bishop st for a few mins will do :p but thank you for the offer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Next update: I change my power steering pump in a 3 piece suit :pac:

Any time! No one copped the swapped caps :p

Cheers! I'm sorted for parking, just I have to be in Augnier st for 8:15 an I am in my arse parking in rcsi for a few mins, bishop st for a few mins will do :p but thank you for the offer :)

park in a parking spot on street and dont pay and just take off all the wheels.... would like to see the result of that