Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Jesus you'd all love me. Cycling up from the Dublin bikes stand on Nassau st for 20 ft to save going all around merrion sq to get to the green!:pac:

Best way to find driving rat runs is a bike and a map!:D

And I love to jaywalk!

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

At least you stay away from Merrion Square.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

YbFocus wrote: »
    I remember a specific chap hammered his door off mine at one stage :D
    Who was that Dgt :p

Good thing it wasn't MMs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    It's the Dublin bikes creatures I target most.

At least the twats in lycra have some level of cop on most of the time.

This past few weeks however, random pedestrians have been getting on my nerves.

Sounds like you're just grumpy:D

Wheras I'm like a zen master behind the wheel:p

( that may or may not be because I live in the arsehole of nowhere and there are no cyclists and in paris pedestrians are very careful)

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

At least you stay away from Merrion Square.:pac:

God no. That's where I go to look at cars. There does be some nice metal parked around there some times!:)
    Have yet to see a gtv though!:(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pred racer wrote: »
    Sounds like you're just grumpy:D

Wheras I'm like a zen master behind the wheel:p

( that may or may not be because I live in the arsehole of nowhere and there are no cyclists and in paris pedestrians are very careful)

No I am rather grumpy when I have to repeatedly stop to accommodate idiots.

I tend to internalise the rage however :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Mere millimeters my friend :P

Ironically my first thoughts were, "how is he going to get out of the car?" :pac:

You can be my parking friend too :)

I was put off by the millions of people standing around my space like sheep !

(Thanks for guarding my space for me midway sheeps :))

Also love the way dad zeb moved like 20 feet to protectively stand beside his car lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Also love the way dad zeb moved like 20 feet to protectively stand beside his car lol :D

Haha we look after our own :P

I was too busy shouting at you to notice that :P

Haha we look after our own :P

I was too busy shouting at you to notice that :P

Love the way pred's stayin quiet on his parking...

God no. That's where I go to look at cars. There does be some nice metal parked around there some times!:)
    Have yet to see a gtv though!:(

There are often two, me and another person.

However, us workers start early, and are well gone before marauding students make their way into the city to gawp at our cars :D while walking with abandon or cycling the wrong way up the street, ignoring traffic lights :D

I'm usually there about 40% of workdays :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I'm a dad now :eek:

Who knew what you were going to do next and I wanted to be there as a nice soft buffer if something went wrong :pac:

It is a nerve racking parking situation though!

There are often two, me and another person.

However, us workers start early, and are well gone before marauding students make their way into the city to gawp at our cars :D while walking with abandon or cycling the wrong way up the street, ignoring traffic lights :D

On st or off street.
    I'll be walking around merrion square tomorrow to see if I can see a gtv! That's like 10% of the gtv's registered in this country in a small confined area!:pac:

Love the way pred's stayin quiet on his parking...

Yea i didn't know he was that close either, fecking french parking or wha ?

Abit of Performance blue on the back bumper would only add to the alfa's sporting heritage anyway ! :D

On st or off street.
    I'll be walking around merrion square tomorrow to see if I can see a gtv! That's like 10% of the gtv's registered in this country in a small confined area!:pac:

Mine shall be there fleetingly at approx. 7:45am and then securely parked away from nosey buggers :)

Yea i didn't know he was that close either, fecking french parking or wha ?

Abit of Performance blue on the back bumper would only add to the alfa's sporting heritage anyway ! :D

Was this dodgy parking in Midway? With the amount of space there how did ye have so many issues?

Get a group photo they said, It'l look good they said.....

It was a fairly large turnout and the bmw's parked badly so took up most of the space.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I'm a dad now :eek:

Who knew what you were going to do next and I wanted to be there as a nice soft buffer if something went wrong :pac:

It is a nerve racking parking situation though!

I drive bigger things than the ST at work unfortunately, was my 3rd time reversing into the spot, should have just ran over a few people so as to insure a nice open swing the next time around :pac:

Get a group photo they said, It'l look good they said.....

lololol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

It was a fairly large turnout and the bmw's parked badly so took up most of the space.

A 535d was parked arseways all day, but a lovely 530d was parked gracefully within the lines all day :)

lololol

One of them did say that!

I drive bigger things than the ST at work unfortunately, was my 3rd time reversing into the spot, should have just ran over a few people so as to insure a nice open swing the next time around :pac:

We'll send you out in a micra to practice I think :D

My favorite parking of the day was when "cianRyan" parked dgt's 406 and dgt just says to him "just park it as badly as you car, the more spaces the better"

Always blame the German car
    A 535d was parked arseways all day, but a lovely 530d was parked gracefully within the lines all day :)

MM not able to park now?

We were limited on spaces as nobody parked within 2 spaces of MM's car out of sheer terror so the alfa's levin and my Focus all huddled together between that which shall not be marked beside and the crazy parking "im taking up 2 spaces bmw's"

We'll send you out in a micra to practice I think :D

My favorite parking of the day was when "cianRyan" parked dgt's 406 and dgt just says to him "just park it as badly as you car, the more spaces the better"

That "Cianryan" is a well spoken fellow, didn't even flinch as we one wheeled it around a roundabout in search of the fourth dimension.

We were limited on spaces as nobody parked within 2 spaces of MM's car out of sheer terror so the alfa's levin and my Focus all huddled together between that which shall not be marked beside and the crazy parking "im taking up 2 spaces bmw's"

We have an MM in work, I'm not joking you, you could run his wife over and you'd be safer than if you hit his car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

MM not able to park now?

If MM ever see's the mistake you made reading my post you will be hunted down :)

No cleveland's car was left at oblique angles all day :)

(I said 535d, not 335i :D)

If MM ever see's the mistake you made reading my post you will be hunted down :)

I know :D, I said it on purpose :D

We have an MM in work, I'm not joking you, you could run his wife over and you'd be safer than if you hit his car!

Im the reverse i park in the last space to the right so i only take damage on my passanger side and the poor door is in bits, could probably have a chapter of the bible in there in braille.

That "Cianryan" is a well spoken fellow, didn't even flinch as we one wheeled it around a roundabout in search of the fourth dimension.

Was this in the ST. Don't know how I managed to not go for a spin in it, would have loved to... Silly me. Next time hope :)

He's a nice lad alright.

Was this in the ST. Don't know how I managed to not go for a spin in it, would have loved to... Silly me. Next time hope :)

He's a nice lad alright.

Cian ryan? ah yeah does the job nicely

Everytime that st came back the smell of burning rubber was something else, what was being done to it I'll never know