Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishmen the 2nd sexiest race on planet Earth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 BatigolStatue

beano345 wrote: »
    i used to be of this belief this it was something that cropped up in AH,or by someone continously getting rejected,but i noticed a very worrying trend in toronto! out of the countless irish men you'd work with or meet in a bar apart from the usual topics of work,life abroad the topic of irish women compared to canadian would crop up again and again and it was'nt good! these were men that were'nt rejected or bitter that had been in relationships with irish females and were from all corners of ireland.you could say that every men in every country says the same about their women but from experience it runs far far deeper in ireland,very sad really.

Have to agree. The contention that guys, who are telling tales of the odd attitude a high percentage of Irish women portray, are obviously ugly and repugnant to women is a ludicrous one in my opinion.

I do fine with girls, if i make an effort on a night out i can do ok. I'm single but have had girlfriends and some longterm relationships. I'm 30. I do find the attitude given by a good percentage of girls i meet to be unusual. I find the nicer looking girls to be easier going. I find the average sheilas to be cocky and arrogant if they are in any way outgoing. If they are meek or quiet i find them to be a little easier going. I find foreign girls, whether i meet them in Ireland or abroad, to all be receptive and polite. That is just my experience. And it is not based on any deep-rooted prejudice i have. Irish women are sexy. As are women from everywhere.

Where did Irish women finish in the ladies list or was there one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Have to agree. The contention that guys, who are telling tales of the odd attitude a high percentage of Irish women portray, are obviously ugly and repugnant to women is a ludicrous one in my opinion.

Nobody claimed they were. All that was claimed was this attitude is as prevalent in other countries, which my links proved. You can do more searches if you like. What was posted on Boards over the years is pretty tame compared to what was said about those foreign women I did searches on.
    I do fine with girls, if i make an effort on a night out i can do ok. I'm single but have had girlfriends and some longterm relationships. I'm 30. I do find the attitude given by a good percentage of girls i meet to be unusual. I find the nicer looking girls to be easier going. I find the average sheilas to be cocky and arrogant if they are any way outgoing. If they are meek or quiet i find them to be a little easier going. I find all foreign girls, whether i meet them in Ireland or abroad, to all be receptive and polite. That is just my experience.

That's been your experience and it's been the experience of men all over the world with regards to their local women. You can ignore all the links I posted (I'm guessing you have) or you can have a look. I only picked and posted the first one I found under one search. This is not an Irish phenomenon. I hear it all the time from guys here. Obviously you will hear more complaining from Irish guys being Irish and probably having a fair few Irish male friends?
    Where did Irish women finish in the ladies list or was there one?

There was a list. We didn't feature. I wouldn't class us in the top 10 either just like I wouldn't say Irish men are the ugliest...

http://www.independent.ie/woman/love-sex/irish-men-are-the-ugliest-in-the-world-but-irish-woman-scrub-up-well-26821512.html

Sorry fellas. You can try and convince us this is an Irish issue but evidence says otherwise. Being an arsehole is not exclusive to Irish women (a gender and not a collective with one hive mind).

Thanks! :)

I'll just leave this here. Literally 100s to choose from!

http://stumbleinn.net/forum/showthread.php?t=13776

Just in case your not arse clicking on it, here's the first paragraph from the opening OP:
    Western European women are much more “reachable”, meaning that they are easy to get acquainted with and bring into the dating game, than females from either the USA or Canada. In contrast, trying to meet and attract young women from North America is an often bewildering, if not rude and awkward experience. These American and Canadian Anglo-Saxon ***** have strong personal hang ups about meeting new people (regardless of whether the people in question happen to be handsome, attractive, communicative and polite); furthermore, in both collective behaviour and attitude, North American women are also very cold, rude, ignorant, selfish, business-like, and often react to others in an extremely “bitchy”, even histrionic manner. Simply put, they are reluctant towards communicating with others and are not eager to meet new people. Hence, the main problem with a relatively decent-looking American or Canadian woman is that they won’t meet you if they don’t know you, but yet you can’t get to know them because they won’t meet you.

Another one about Aussie women. An article in a paper:

http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/life/blogs/citykat/are-australian-women-really-all-that-bad-20110714-1hfqf.html

There's literally hundreds!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 BatigolStatue

I'll just leave this here. Literally 100s to choose from!

http://stumbleinn.net/forum/showthread.php?t=13776

Just in case your not arse clicking on it, here's the first paragraph from the opening OP:

To be honest, i have ignored your posts as you contributed to the ban of a poster who i felt had done nothing wrong. You also seemed to take his comments as being personal to you (hence your crusade of links) when in fact he wasnt talking about you. You made personal remarks in reply.

So i decided to steer clear. You will see my comment above was me responding to another poster. So, please ignore me in return. Thanks

To be honest, i have ignored your posts as you contributed to the ban of a poster who i felt had done nothing wrong. You also seemed to take his comments as being personal to you (hence your crusade of links) when in fact he wasnt talking about you. You made personal remarks in reply.

So i decided to steer clear. You will see my comment above was me responding to another poster. So, please ignore me in return. Thanks

How convenient. Debate with no one then. :rolleyes: I've been debating with you in a reasonable manner all this time. I've abused no one, unlike the banned poster who questioned my intellect and labelled me and my fellow Irish women a whole host of nasty things. Of course I'll report that bollocks just as you would (and should) if I said the same thing about Irish men. It's against the charter to be a dick.

You ignore the ones that are convenient to you. I've abused no one on this thread but the banned poster did. He questioned my intellect with his "I met a Dutch woman who knew what irony meant" snidey dig. I reported him because his post was abusive.

If you don't want to enter into a debate with a reasonable poster, fair enough. Have a good afternoon bitching about Irish women. :rolleyes: Interestingly you come out worse for it not not us Irish women as one massive collective with a hive mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Wibbs wrote: »
    Having been a fair few places myself I've found it entirely depends on the individuals. Now loadsa men will say they do soooo much better overseas/with non Irish women. Indeed and you know I believe them. I certainly have myself.

However and it's a big however, that's as much down to the men and their mindset going in as it has to do with our national charm
    or whatever. 1) we're different in such a scenario. Difference is attractive(to both genders). Among "our own" we stand out less. I've heard similar from Italian and Spanish men going out of a night in Ireland(and they'll often say similar "ahh its hard to get them" about their own women) 2) Men believe they will do better so going in their mindset is much less encumbered with "oh she's gonna blow me outa the water" that the same men would near expect at home. This makes them more relaxed and confident and a lot less "I'm pissed it's the end of the night, find me a warm body!!". In such a mindset their worldview is also different and selective bias kicks in. If 2 outa 5 foreign ladies reject them, they bias towards the 3 that didn't. At home they're likely to focus on the 2(and often give up at that point). 3) A national character does play some role IMHO. Irish men tend to be less cloying, less practiced and appear more easygoing than say Latin men might and that differnce(see above) stands to them.

Irish women? You get really nice ones, meh ones and downright thundering wagons just like anywhere IMHO. Looks? Again IMH pretty good if you look objectively. OK in somewhere like Milan you will see more "ohmigodissheevenhumanoragoddessfromtheheavens" women, but equally you see some women(and men) that take ugly to a pathological level where you'd bless yourself after gazing at them. I find Irish women to have softer faces overall.

My 3cents anyway.

A self fulfilling prophecy in other words. That's definitely a plausible explanation but I think a lot of women are just attracted to men who are different. Perhaps they subconsciously want to mix their genes with these men in order to widen the gene pool. It makes sense that women would behave that way. Also, perhaps the old saying about familiarity breeding contempt is at play too, but instead of being against an individual, it's against local men in general. That being said, I don't believe the majority of girls are bitchy, I just think a lot of guys have bad experiences in bars and clubs and then develop a negative mindset. There is also a massive difference in attitude between young girls and older ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

You would be afraid to say anything in this thread with her finger hovering over the report button the last couple of days. "all irish women are lovely and heres a hundred links to support my argument" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I think the main topic this thread has thrown up is who the hell do Irish women think they are? Took a train across the country today and blah blah blah, yadda yadda yadda...

It's cheering that only four people thanked this post.

You would be afraid to say anything in this thread with her finger hovering or the report button the last couple of days. "all irish women are lovely and heres a hundred links to support my argument" :rolleyes:

Oh is that a quote of mine? Don't remember saying that one! huh! :confused:

Sad state of affairs when you have to resort to actually making up stuff. Eeek! Awkward! And it's so obvious too! Enjoy the rest of your evening:)

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Oh is that a quote of mine? Don't remember saying that one! huh! :confused:

Sad state of affairs when you have to resort to actually making up stuff. Eeek! Awkward! And it's so obvious too! Enjoy the rest of your evening:)

Does this forum have an ignore user button.... :pac:

Yes. I've just put you on it. :)

*Champion*

Edit: It actually does. Click on my name and opt for "Ignore user". Hope that's of some help.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

The title says "sexiest" and not most attractive,so to use Bill Clinton as an example of a not very attractive man who many women (though not Hillary) found "sexy",a magnetism or charm that fools the female mind.

I have mentioned it before,but in the nordic countries us Irishmen seem to do a little better than we did at home (from talking with others here,nothing scientific). And whereas I don't think we would be seen as more attractive than Nordic males,we are a lot less "metrosexual" than the native men. And some women prefer that.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

My friend, (a Derryman, no great looker) told me how he used to date an American woman who went weak at his accent.
    He said she once asked him to talk in his accent during sex.
    I asked him what did he say, and he replied.... "What about ye?. Whats the craic?"
    I buckled at the image of it all.

Am I alone in not believing that accents are not sexy?

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

crockholm wrote: »
    Am I alone in not believing that accents are not sexy?
    I find foreigners speaking pigeon English quite sexy.
    Irish accents ? Not so much.

The title says "sexiest" and not most attractive,so to use Bill Clinton as an example of a not very attractive man who many women (though not Hillary) found "sexy",a magnetism or charm that fools the female mind.

I have mentioned it before,but in the nordic countries us Irishmen seem to do a little better than we did at home (from talking with others here,nothing scientific). And whereas I don't think we would be seen as more attractive than Nordic males,we are a lot less "metrosexual" than the native men. And some women prefer that.

I hate to say it but a big problem seems to be guys who are simply not assertive. In my opinion that is why black guys are doing quite well regardless of where they go. Women often want guys to make the moves and behave like 'men', despite all of this equality talk. Of course there are shy people from every country, but men from certain parts of the world are definitely more assertive.

The Northern Irish accent could be the sexiest accent out there.

Pug160 wrote: »
    I hate to say it but a big problem seems to be guys who are simply not assertive. In my opinion that is why black guys are doing quite well regardless of where they go. Women often want guys to make the moves and behave like 'men', despite all of this equality talk. Of course there are shy people from every country, but men from certain parts of the world are definitely more assertive.

I found of all the countries I've lived in (except South America...men from there take chatting up to the extremes) that Irish men were the easiest to get talking to. Here in Spain it's pretty disastrous. I've got a very good-looking Romanian friend here who has no luck at all and it's a total mystery. The chatting to randomers does not happen and men, bar the slimey fellas, do not approach. Found the same in London when I lived there. The Irish scene, at least in my experience, makes it very easy to get talking to other people other than your friends. Perhaps it's my generation or my age (33). I dunno.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Of course we are. Irish women are so ungrateful.

I found of all the countries I've lived in (except South America...men from there take chatting up to the extremes) that Irish men were the easiest to get talking to. Here in Spain it's pretty disastrous. I've got a very good-looking Romanian friend here who has no luck at all and it's a total mystery. The chatting to randomers does not happen and men, bar the slimey fellas, do not approach. Found the same in London when I lived there. The Irish scene, at least in my experience, makes it very easy to get talking to other people other than your friends. Perhaps it's my generation or my age (33). I dunno.

Oh we can talk all right but a lot of us need to be very drunk to do so and a lot of women hate that. Without Dutch courage a lot of guys here cannot talk to women. I wouldn't call that confident or assertive.

Could be attributed to single-sex schooling,and a crippling over-dependence on alcohol:(

I'm a bit lost. What are you saying here? That Irish men AREN'T successful with women?

I'm saying a lot of guys can't talk to women without being tipsy or drunk. It's not always a great way to make a good first impression, and I know it's something a lot of women hate.

To be fair,it's like that across much of northern europe and the English speaking countries,people meet at house parties and at pubs while a little tipsy,or sometimes plain drunk.

Alcohol used properly is a great additive to a night out with regards looking for a partner,so maybe lets keep the booze,just be a bit more sensible in it's application

To be fair,it's like that across much of northern europe and the English speaking countries,people meet at house parties and at pubs while a little tipsy,or sometimes plain drunk.

Alcohol used properly is a great additive to a night out with regards looking for a partner,so maybe lets keep the booze,just be a bit more sensible in it's application

I'll be honest, almost every boyfriend and every lover (;)) I've ever met in my life has been under the influence of at least some alcohol, mainly because I've met them out socialising or at a house party. It's never been a problem for me. As Crockholm says, it's when people get absolutely baloobas that the problems start. Nothing wrong with some social lubricant imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I find foreigners speaking pigeon English quite sexy.
    Irish accents ? Not so much.

Does this include South Kerry women? I find them irresistible found one irresistible. Stop. I'm sorry. Stop hitting me will ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

As women go, I think the Irish girls with their looks, fair skin, loving nature and sense of humour are by far the best in the world. The English ladies come second .

Just looked back through the posts and it seems to be the OP that turned this around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

had this out with my mates brazilian girlfriend tonight honest answer: yous are funny men i feel sorry for yous and yous drink tooo much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

beano345 wrote: »
    had this out with my mates brazilian girlfriend tonight honest answer: yous are funny men i feel sorry for yous and yous drink tooo much!

Have been to Brazil on three occasions - the last time 2011. The poverty, corruption and lawlessness there is unbelievable. And drunkeness is common. If not on alcohol then drugs or cocoa leaves. And the favelas? Jesus, don't get me started. Olinda beach, Pernambuca is one of the most violent cities in the world. I wonder what's she sees in Ireland to live there. Surely there are other countries that she could migrate to, where the people drink less and her need to feel sorry would not be as overworked.