Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How low can I go...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭doughef

Delighted for you !!

I told you the omens were good!.. Carlow beat Waterford too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭ASIMON0V

Well done P, you put the hard work in and got the race that you deserved. Onwards and upwards from here....sub 2:50 in 2015 for sure....just got to take Blockic's novice XC title first :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

ASIMON0V wrote: »
    Well done P, you put the hard work in and got the race that you deserved. Onwards and upwards from here....sub 2:50 in 2015 for sure....just got to take Blockic's novice XC title first :-)

Can I wear my old hurling boots for the XC?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭ASIMON0V

WTF, don't be such a lush. Its barefeet or nothing.

ASIMON0V wrote: »
    WTF, don't be such a lush. Its barefeet or nothing.

But they're Puma Kings!!

Saturday June 28th: 25.88 (:mad:) miles @ 6:52 pace

So this is what the last six months have been about really- The Waterford Viking Marathon.

My previous pb was 3:17:58 from this race last year so the initial target was obviously to get under this. After Waterford last year I made an ill informed decision to go back and do a little junior hurling! Did the groin the second night back and didn't run for the following six months. As 2014 dawned I was heading strong for the fifteen stone mark. To say I wintered well would be an understatement. So I went off the beer, cut down the grub, joined a local athletics club (best thing I did in years) and took it from there. It was ugly for the first couple of weeks but things began to improve and with twelve weeks to go to Waterford I started on a specific plan i.e. the BAA advanced plan as championed by such luminaries as Gavlor and AuldManKing!

Since I started this running lark I've never trained so well or so hard without any injury. The weight began to fall off which was obviously a help but the sessions with the club were really helping me improve and the advice and support I was getting was invaluable. As the training progressed I kept revising my target time downwards. A few key runs in the last couple of weeks got me thinking that maybe a sub 3hr attempt might be on. I'd never thought I'd ever be capable of that at any stage but the training was going so well and the paces I was hitting indicated it could be on. With four weeks to go I made my mind up to have a lash and so yesterday I did!

I'm not great at recalling races but I'll do my best. I got a lift down with a friend of mine who had been signed up as a 3 hr pacer (He was to do the second half) at the last minute! We were down nice and early and I tagged along with him as he went to the race headquarters in the Tower Hotel. We met up with the other 3 hr pacer and it was great to hear them discuss the strategy for the day. I was feeling good and decided this was going to be my day.

Made my way up to the start after a couple of warm up dashes down by Katy Barry's Pub! (I've made the odd dash down by there in quite different circumstances over the years!) There was a great buzz around the place and the race started almost right on time. I was near the front and got into my running fairly quickly. When I checked the pace I couldn't believe it was showing 6:30! It really didn't feel lie a 6:30 effort. I realised I was ahead of the pacer but didn't want to slow down too much too quickly so it was a while before he was up with me. The route around town was nice and not nearly as twisty as I was expecting. The half and quarter runners were all together from the start so there was plenty of company at this stage. That would change after the ten mile mark. By this stage I had fallen about 100m behind the pacer. I don't now why that happened. I was feeling good and felt I was running an even pace but I maybe lost a little focus. Also it seemed I was the only one who was trying for a sub 3! Once we split from the half runners we headed out to Tramore. There is a good pull on this road as you leave Waterford which was the first place I began to feel under a little pressure. Still I could see that the gap to the pacer was lessening ever so gradually which was perfect because I didn't want to use up too much energy catching him. The route left the main road just before the half way mark and went uphill for quite a bit which again I found tough. We then rejoined the main road after a welcome downhill stretch and entered Tramore. There was a great bit of support here. My friend had taken over pacing duties at mile 12 and had been joined by three others who had dropped back to him. The pacer and the other three fellas were all called Billy! What are the chances?! Thankfully the route in Tramore was much easier than last year and as we left to head home I was feeling ok.

Unfortunately it became clear that we would have to face a headwind all the way back to Waterford. Also there's quite a long drag soon after you leave Tramore and this was to prove really tough. Soon there was only three of us left in the group including the pacer. At various stages I found myself barely hanging on. I was shamelessly draughting behind the two lads too! I'd get a definite boost in energy levels each time I took a gel and tried to take a little turn at the front out of pure guilt. Surprisingly enough at around mile 21 I felt recovered enough to be thinking of pushing on a little bit. I decided not to because I felt it would be hard to take if I went ahead and wasn't able to keep it up and be caught by them again. The fella who paced the first half rejoined us at around the 23 mile mark and from then on it got serious! The pace was relentless and I was struggling. I knew the sub 3 was on and was telling myself there was no way I wasn't going to make it. The two pacers were offering brilliant encouragement to the two of us that were left with a chance. I was flagging though and we had to split as the other fella was still going strong. I'm glad there were the two pacers as one of them stayed with me as we turned into the Eco Park which was the last mile because I was banjaxed! The pace on the watch was just on target so I had to give it everything. He was roaring me on and doing his best to keep me going but all I felt like was to tell him to f*ck off and let me suffer in silence! The park was awful with loads of turns and little hills but we got through and then into the RSC for the final lap of the track. I was running on empty at this stage but as I turned the final bend I couldn't believe what I was seeing! The clock was showing 2:57..... Time for some showboating! Blowing kisses to the crowd etc as I crossed the line with an almighty roar of triumph! Then I promptly went to the side of the track and panned out onto the grass! The feeling of elation was indescribable. All the hard work had paid off.......or had it?

I stopped my watch at 2:57:49. Surely I couldn't have gone that much below the 3 hr mark. The average pace was showing 6:52 per mile which should be 3 hrs on the button! Something was up. I hadn't had distance showing on the watch for the race as I didn't think it was really needed so when I checked the recorded distance I couldn't believe when it read 25.88 miles! .32 short. No wonder it was only 2:57 when I crossed the finish line. Mine wasn't the only watch showing this type of distance either. From all evidence so far it seems the course was at least a quarter of a mile short. What a mistake to make! So as I write this I don't know what to think or what I feel! On one hand I'm delighted to have made such an improvement over the past few months but on the other I'm wondering if the race had been the correct distance would I have made it in under the 3 hrs? I was suffering at the end. Could I have held on for that little extra? I'd like to think I would but it's the not knowing that's nagging at the back of my mind. So much about the race was so well run from the water/gel stops to the stewarding to the bag drop. I saw first hand how enthusiastic and helpful the organisers were in the Tower Hotel before the race and I know what a huge effort must have gone into the whole thing not only yesterday, but for the last few months. But to have the distance too short is terrible, especially following a distance problem last year. Preparing for a marathon is a big undertaking. I've never trained so hard for anything in my life. I thought I'd achieved something I didn't think possible and to have that undermined is hard to take. Still I can take encouragement from the fact that I did sustain the sub 3 hr pace for so long and I finished 10th! (Having been 17th at half way)

I'm heading off on the holidays with the family to France tomorrow so there'll be plenty of r & r and maybe a few nice and easy runs to keep things ticking over.

Hard to know what to target next. Maybe a decent 10k time. The official sub 3?? Well now I know it's in reach but can I commit to the training for another one this year? Dublin maybe? Sure we'll see.

Forgot to add my thanks to all the boardsies for all the advice, support and good wishes over the last couple of months. Makes a bit of a difference and helps with motivation to think there are others following your progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Forgot to add my thanks to all the boardsies for all the advice, support and good wishes over the last couple of months. Makes a bit of a difference and helps with motivation to think there are others following your progress.

You deserve so much better than a short course! Unforgiveable. Best of luck with your next goal.

Well the dust has settled I suppose. A lovely fortnight was spent in St. Jean De Monts in the Vendee in France. It was perfect to wind down after the exertions of Waterford. A good bit of cycling and just two runs during this break was just what was needed although I really flew it on the two runs! Since returning from France I've gotten back into it a bit. I'm thinking that maybe Dublin will be a goer. I've been advised that maybe I should leave another sub 3 attempt until next Spring but being so near and yet so far in Waterford is wrecking my head. Also I'd love to do it (if I can) before I hit a certain age mayilestone next January! I was going to put down all the activities I've done since Waterford but it'd be tedious to read (and type!) All I'll say is that the two runs I did in France were great! I was flying for some reason. I did one 6 miler @ 6:49 pace and a 7 miler @ 6:39 pace (with mile 6 in 5:57!). I dunno what was going on at all. The effort wasn't even too hard. Maybe the garmin was acting up in a completely new place? Maybe the diet of red wine and baguettes is a new discovery! I reckon if I was living there full time I'd be a sub 2:50 man! Anyway things have settled down since returning with runs being more normal in pace and effort.

There is one worry which might impact on the plans for the rest of the year. I've noticed a bit of a niggle in my right achilles. A bit of stiffness in the morning and a little pain at the start of a run. I had this trouble flare up two years ago in the other heel which really disrupted my preparations for Dublin. I'll follow the same plan for Dublin as I did for Waterford which was twelve weeks so I've a little window before starting into it. Hopefully the heel will settle a little in the meantime.

Well the dust has settled I suppose. A lovely fortnight was spent in St. Jean De Monts in the Vendee in France. It was perfect to wind down after the exertions of Waterford. A good bit of cycling and just two runs during this break was just what was needed although I really flew it on the two runs! Since returning from France I've gotten back into it a bit. I'm thinking that maybe Dublin will be a goer. I've been advised that maybe I should leave another sub 3 attempt until next Spring but being so near and yet so far in Waterford is wrecking my head. Also I'd love to do it (if I can) before I hit a certain age milestone next January! I was going to put down all the activities I've done since Waterford but it'd be tedious to read (and type!) All I'll say is that the two runs I did in France were great! I was flying for some reason. I did one 6 miler @ 6:49 pace and a 7 miler @ 6:39 pace (with mile 6 in 5:57!). I dunno what was going on at all. The effort wasn't even too hard. Maybe the garmin was acting up in a completely new place? Maybe the diet of red wine and baguettes is a new discovery! I reckon if I was living there full time I'd be a sub 2:50 man! Anyway things have settled down since returning with runs being more normal in pace and effort.

There is one worry which might impact on the plans for the rest of the year. I've noticed a bit of a niggle in my right achilles. A bit of stiffness in the morning and a little pain at the start of a run. I had this trouble flare up two years ago in the other heel which really disrupted my preparations for Dublin. I'll follow the same plan for Dublin as I did for Waterford which was twelve weeks so I've a little window before starting into it. Hopefully the heel will settle a little in the meantime.

Wednesday July 23rd: 10 by 1 min hill repeats with 90 sec recovery.

This was a club session and went well. Great to have others to pace off/compete against as it makes you push that bit harder. Was able to maintain the effort and cover the same distances for all the reps with the usual eyes out effort gaining that bit extra for the last one! It was really warm and my throat was dry from the start but thankfully the stretch of road we were running on was almost completely in the shade.

Thursday July 24th: 6 miles @ 7:50 pace

A nice and easy recovery run after the hills session yesterday. Legs felt ok but I didn't push it at all.

Friday July 26th: 5 miles @ 6:38 pace.

This was just one of those runs (in a good way!). I set out with the intention of doing a nice easy run as I was actually feeling a little tired. But once I got out onto the road and into my running I was bouncing along. The effort felt easy enough so I decided I'd go with it and push on for the run. I changed the route from my regular one to a more hilly one which included two stiff uphill sections with a long downhill section in between. The splits for those hill sections were 6:53 and 6:48 with 6:15 for the downhill in between. Very happy with the hill splits as I felt strong on those sections. I had intended on doing a 6 mile run or even longer before I started out but the 5 mile mark came up close to home so I left it at that. Quality over quantity!

Monday July 28th: 6 miles @ 7:16 pace.

I took a little break over the last two days. I want to give myself a few extra rest days to allow full recovery from Waterford and also the little niggle in the right achilles is a concern. So no run Saturday or no long run yesterday. I was tempted yesterday morning but reckon I'll benefit in the long run when I start into the prog for Dublin. Tonight's 6 miles were run at what felt like a comfortable effort and I paid little attention to the watch except for the mile notifications. I was pleasantly surprised with the overall pace considering the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

How are the motivation levels for getting back into a Marathon schedule after that last kick in the stones? The sub 3 will be all the sweeter for you in Dublin I reckon, best of luck with it, looking forward to following the sessions!

Thanks op! Being honest, motivation levels are not quite the same at the moment. Still sickened about Waterford. I'm ticking over nicely though and will begin the programme next Monday. Once I've started specific training and get a little more focus I'd hope things will be back on track. The Waterford run did show that it is in the legs, what I have to show now is that it's in the head!:D Training for Waterford couldn't have been better and hopefully things will go as smoothly for Dublin. If not I have to be able to deal with things if they go wrong at times. Jaysus you've got me thinking about it now! Motivation levels have just risen!!!

Tuesday July 29th: 8.46 miles @ 7:24 pace

Started off feeling nice and relaxed and was going at a nice pace with the first three miles under 7:20. I wasn't pushing it just felt comfortable. From then on though things got a little tougher. I slowed up and didn't try and keep up the pace. There was no need for it. It was very warm and the sweat was pumping out of me! I think once the marathon plan kicks in I will have to slow down these "ordinary" runs. Especially if I want to keep this achilles and other potential injuries under control.

Wednesday July 30th: 6 X 1k repeats 400m rests. Splits: 3:39, 3:37, 3:40, 3:36, 3:37 and 3:19!

This was a track session with the club and was very enjoyable. I set up the session on the garmin but should have known better as the beeps were a bit off from the start. I should have just pressed the lap button myself each time. The splits are a little off but not too much and the last one is spot on as I timed it manually. It's so much easier to do these interval sessions with a group. There were 4 of us and we each took our turn leading out the reps. I felt nice and comfortable for each one and we decided to give the last one a real lash. I led it out and stayed in front to the end. It was a tough pace but I felt well able for it knowing it was only for 2 and a half laps. I even think I could have gone a little quicker. A few easy laps warm down ended a great session. The achilles was a little tender but no worse after than before.

I found out about a 10k in Pilltown in Kilkenny next Friday and am tempted to do it. I still have to go under 40 min for the distance and should be well able for it in the shape I'm in. Maybe I shouldn't race with a niggly achilles but I'll have a break tomorrow and see how the body is Friday. I need to get more racing experience.

I know it's a bit away but what do people think of doing a half on the 28th of Sept? 4 weeks out from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭echancrure

Would another half closer to the beginning of September not be wiser?

Congratulations on your time in Waterford: even if it is a frustrating situation it is none of your making. I would be amazed to have done that myself.

[PS trying to get back into shape myself before making any decisions about future races. I have a lot of work to do]

It's a bit close alright but it's a local one (Leighlinbridge) And it's supporting a good cause (Éist cancer support). Thanks re Waterford! I'm very happy with how I ran on the day but I don't count it as a sub 3 because of the short distance! Are you thinking of Dublin yourself? 12 weeks from Mon next!

I won't commit to DCM just yet, I need to see if I can regain mileage without injuring myself first; things should clearer in a couple of weeks.

Leighlinbridge is tempting all right (later than last year): my PB of 1:39 (Waterford last year) is very soft!

echancrure wrote: »
    I won't commit to DCM just yet, I need to see if I can regain mileage without injuring myself first; things should clearer in a couple of weeks.

Leighlinbridge is tempting all right (later than last year): my PB of 1:39 (Waterford last year) is very soft!

There for the taking!

Friday July 31st: 6.2 miles @ 6:11 pace

This was the Piltown 10k race which I only found out about on Wednesday. I had no plans to do a race around now but at the back of my mind I wanted to do a decent 10k time at some stage this year. I had run 40:15 in Carlow in March which was a very poorly judged run. Sub 40 min was one of my goals at the beginning of the year and with the training I've done since it should've been well in reach.

So I headed down last night hopeful of a good result. There was a big crowd there and registration was quick and straightforward. €10 was very good value too. Got changed and made my way up to the start which was in the entrance to Kildalton agricultural college. Did a nice warmup and had a quick chat with villagerunner before we headed off. He was advising me about what my time should be and I had a good laugh as he was being a little bit optimistic on my behalf!

I got up near the start as we set off and settled into a very quick pace from the off. Way too quick! It was a downhill start so I suppose the pace might have been a bit exaggerated. Still I was worried. Would I suffer later on? The course was marked in miles..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Great stuff, well done!

I got up near the start as we set off and settled into a very quick pace from the off. Way too quick! It was a downhill start so I suppose the pace might have been a bit exaggerated. Still I was worried. Would I suffer later on? The course was marked in miles..

... so so?

see you next week for part 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Friday July 31st: 6.2 miles @ 6:11 pace

This was the Piltown 10k race which I only found out about on Wednesday. I had no plans to do a race around now but at the back of my mind I wanted to do a decent 10k time at some stage this year. I had run 40:15 in Carlow in March which was a very poorly judged run. Sub 40 min was one of my goals at the beginning of the year and with the training I've done since it should've been well in reach.

So I headed down last night hopeful of a good result. There was a big crowd there and registration was quick and straightforward. €10 was very good value too. Got changed and made my way up to the start which was in the entrance to Kildalton agricultural college. Did a nice warmup and had a quick chat with villagerunner before we headed off. He was advising me about what my time should be and I had a good laugh as he was being a little bit optimistic on my behalf!

And???????????

Had to head off lads, sorry!!! Busy out!! Finish it off later. Not good at race reports so want to give it plenty of time!

This was the Piltown 10k race which I only found out about on Wednesday. I had no plans to do a race around now but at the back of my mind I wanted to do a decent 10k time at some stage this year. I had run 40:15 in Carlow in March which was a very poorly judged run. Sub 40 min was one of my goals at the beginning of the year and with the training I've done since it should be well in reach.

I got up near the start as we set off and settled into a very quick pace from the off. Way too quick! It was a downhill start so I suppose the pace might have been a bit exaggerated. Still I was worried. Would I suffer later on? The course was marked in miles and I had changed the settings on the garmin to show kms but I wasn't too worried. As always seems to happen to me in races I found myself on my own after only about 300 metres. How does this keep happening to me?!

Mile 1 split: 5:47!!

Just as we were leaving the grounds of Kildalton college on a downhill I could hear a fella getting closer to me from behind. He passed me just as we left and I remember saying "Howya!". No reply, he just blanked me and stared straight ahead. I wasn't looking for a chat or anything! He was wearing a long pair of white sport socks and I decided they would be my target for the next part of the race. This was up through the village of Piltown and was a little bit of a drag. Once we got out of the village there was a left turn followed by a nice little downhill which gave the legs a chance to recover after the fast start. "Socks" was about 25 metres ahead at this stage but the gap had settled. The legs were a little weary at this stage which was a bit of a worry

Mile 2 split: 6:18

The third mile would be where I began to make some time on the group that had formed ahead of me ( "socks" included). Right at the beginning came quite a steep climb that was about half a mile long. As I've said in previous posts here, my hatred for hills has lessened and I found myself feeling a little stronger as we climbed. By the top I had halved the gap to the group ahead and was in good spirits as we made a left turn at the top and started a nice downhill section. I fairness it was the same length and incline as the one we had just climbed so we couldn't complain. I was still making ground and at the bottom had joined the back of the group. One fella said to me that the hill had banjaxed him. I said I'd found it fairly tough too. I was actually delighted how that part of the race went but didn't want to sound cocky. We hadn't even reached halfway.

Mile 3 split: 6:25

The surface at this stage was lovely. Brand new smooth asphalt. There was a little bit of a drag but nothing too much and it again was followed by a nice downhill. By now the group had pushed on ahead of me again, including the banjaxed fella, but I wasn't too worried. I had passed "Socks" making sure to say hello again! Still no reply. He looked spent and I didn't see him again. At around the 3.5 mile mark we made a sharp left turn and began a long straight which would go on for the next two miles! The road surface had deteriorated and was very patchy. A bit more care than usual was needed to avoid rough bits. It was also noticeable that for the full length of that straight we were going uphill. It was the kind of pull that you wouldn't even notice in a car but would have quite a toll on already tired legs. This was to be my best part of the race. I was beginning to suffer a bit but had decided that I was going to make an extra effort to get back to the group ahead and for once not be alone on the road. I upped the tempo just a little and found myself coping ok. The gap was closing and I was feeling quite positive

Mile 4 split 6:17

The next mile continued much the same. I was suffering but feeling strong enough at the same time if that's possible! I caught up with the group and then had a choice to make. I was going that little bit faster than them but should I stay with them and maybe draught off someone for a bit and have a breather (I forgot to say that for the whole length of this straight we were running into a nice bit of a breeze!) or should I stay going at the pace I was at and maybe be on my own again. I decided on the latter strategy and it paid off. Quickly I began to put a bit of distance between myself and all of the group. There had been about eight in it and to pass them all gave me a boost heading into the latter part of the race. I thought that one or two might try and join me but none did.

Mile 5 split: 6:16

So I was on my own again and keeping up the pace. It was still uphill and into the breeze and I was working really hard. After another half mile or so I could hear footsteps coming up from behind. Someone was gaining on me! All this time I had been focusing on a fella who was about fifty metres ahead of me and who looked very strong. I was trying to close the gap to him but was happy enough to be able to prevent it from widening. Now I had someone else to worry about. They guy behind me was definitely closing. From judging the gap between spectators encouraging me and then him he got to within about four or five seconds of me. I was having major doubts in my ability to hold him off. He sounded strong, or that's what I decided anyway and I my legs were burning! We were getting near the end of that long straight and the hill was getting a little bit steeper. It was this next few hundred metres that would either make or break my race. For the first time in ages I looked at the garmin and saw we had about 1200 metres to go. Three laps of a track. If I could keep my lead on my pursuer for one more "lap" I'd make one last push for home over the last two. I kept up the same work rate and the four second or so gap was holding. We reached the end of that long straight at just the right time for my plan. There was a sharp left turn and the road went down hill again. This was exactly at the start of my push for home. I knew it was a risk going for it 800 metres from the finish but I've been doing good track work and if I had anything left in the legs I thought the bit of speed might be there. So Began to squeeze a little extra and would see how long I'd be able to keep it up. Would it be enough? I desperately wanted to finish ahead of this fella as it would mean that, apart from starting too fast, I would have run a fairly good race tactically. Jaysus my legs were like jelly at this stage but I was maintaining the quicker pace. I was very tempted to ask onlookers "How close is he?!" but didn't want to give away any signs of weakness that would encourage him! As we got closer to the six mile marker I began to notice that his footsteps didn't seem as loud. I had stretched my lead! Happy and all as I was I didn't slacken. Any reduction in effort now would have resulted in a big drop in pace and he could catch me over quite a short distance. I'd keep up the eyes out effort until the end and then fall in a heap after crossing the finish line.

Mile 6 split: 6:04

The last bit of the race was off the road on a track into Piltown GAA grounds. I was glad to seethe finish line and it actually came into view quicker than I expected. A nice little end of race bonus! I had made it ahead of my closest pursuer and when I had caught my breath I turned to see him cross the line. He was only seven seconds behind! Good thing I was able to keep it going!

Finishing time: 38:17 20th place.

So my sub 40 min 10k target had been well and truly reached. The race itself was very well organised. The route was tough but fair. The weather was great for it with the rain coming just after the end. I was delighted with how my race went. I think I learned a lot. I really must hold myself back over that first mile! I was able to keep a good effort going over the whole race but I think if I could just hold back a little at the start I'd be able for faster pace over all. That'll be for the next day! Whenever that will be?

Finishing time: 38:17 20th place.

Great time, congrats. I wish I was in that shape again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

I know it's a bit away but what do people think of doing a half on the 28th of Sept? 4 weeks out from Dublin.

I was thinking similar but in my case was Charleville Half 4 weeks out from Amsterdam. Have a look at this thread. I decided not to do it but do a half 6-7 weeks out, which will be the Tullamore Half

viperlogic wrote: »
    I was thinking similar but in my case was Charleville Half 4 weeks out from Amsterdam. Have a look at this thread. I decided not to do it but do a half 6-7 weeks out, which will be the Tullamore Half

Good thread, but way too technical for me.

What I know is what worked for myself: I did a PB at 10k (38:10) three weeks before the Connemarathon (3:14):
    - recovery was quick, but it was only a 10k
    - the boost you get from racing well after all the training is important

So if I do a HM 4 weeks prior to a full I would maybe do it at marathon pace, but not much more considering the distance, and aim to feel good. I would tend to agree that doing a HM full blast that close to a goal marathon is probably not a good idea.

I would have no hesitation about going full blast for a 10k though.

Mind you, I have very little experience.

Ok so I'm going to try and start off this little log again as I head for my next marathon adventure in Frankfurt the day before Dublin! I've been tipping away since I ast made a contribution here. Did my first few cross country races. Great craic but I'm no good at them I think! Did a good few track races. Also great craic and I'm still no good! What I hope to do over the next few weeks is share how my training for Frankfurt is going and hopefully get a bit of advice/banter from a few people here. Things have been going pretty well so far. I'm following the P&D 12 week 55-70 plan. I'm finding it really tough going but enjoyable at the same time. There's a great crew of friends and club-mates heading over to Frankfurt and about three of us have the sub 3 as our target. Also there are a few more club-mates with the same target for Dublin so we're having great fun with the training. I hope to keep the log up to date and keep anyone interested informed as to the progress. Feel free to contribute! First run logged below......

Tue 25th Aug: 13 miles easy effort on the River Barrow track. 7:42 pace. Avg Hr: 125
    First run of the week (rest day yesterday). Lovely easy effort. Nice and dry to start but absolutely lashed for the last six miles or so. After the run I waded into the river up to my thighs to help with the recovery. I might as well have completely submerged myself as I couldn't have gotten any wetter! Really enjoyable run with the legs feeling great after a really tough long run last Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Welcome back!

Best of luck with coming out of the sub 3 Waterford twilight zone :)

Interested to see your progress

TbL