Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How low can I go...?

• 14-05-2013 12:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭

Around this time two years ago I was at a crossroads in my sporting life. The previous winter my hurling career had finally come to an end. It was about time too as my hands were mangled and I was in no fit state to carry on. However as the fella says, I "wintered well"! The lbs started to pile on and I wasn't doing anything to burn off the huge amount of calories I was consuming. (Big appetite) I was in a rut. Then out of the blue a work colleague of my wife mentioned to me that he was thinking of doing the Dublin Marathon and asked I be interested in doing it. He had virtually the same story as myself. Retired hurler (the difference being he was an All-Ireland winner!) looking for an sporting outlet that was physical but maybe non contact for a change. There and then I decided that I was going to have a go. I got home and found an 18 week training program that I thought I could manage. I was an "intermediate" one as my pride wouldn't let me start on a "beginners" one! "Sure a lifetime's training for hurling must count for something!" Did I suffer for the first two weeks!! But to move things on a bit I did get to the start line in Dublin in 2011 and crossed the finish line 3 hrs and 36 minutes later. I have little or no memory of the last six miles or so of my marathon debut but when the dust settled (and I had spent a half an hour in the John's Ambulance tent!) I was delighted to have done it. My partner in crime had run a great race in 3:32 with negative splits! We both wondered before the race if, when it was over, that would be it. Would that itch be scratched. Would we feel that we had got that marathon thing out of the way and we'd finish with the running thing. Thankfully not a bit of it! Straight away we were planning ahead to our next one which as it turned out was the first Waterford marathon last June. We had a little bit more knowledge I suppose for this one and cut our times to 3:17 (my friend) and 3:19 (myself). When I say we had a little more knowledge I mean we weren't totally clueless!
    Our next goal was Dublin again but he didn't make it due to the birth of his third child (brutal family planning!) So I was on my own. I had missed almost six weeks running in the lead up to the race due to achilles problems but miraculously managed to cut one minute off my Waterford time! So now here I am with the next target being Waterford again at the end of the next month. I'm over half way through a program that I got from the Edinburgh Marathon site. It's suspiciously like a Higdon plan in its layout. I've tweaked a little to suit my own situation. Its a combination of an intermediate and advanced plan and I hope over the next couple of weeks to give an account of how its going. I'd love to get some feedback from the boards community as I'm really still only making it up as I go along! Since I've taken up running I've really been delighted at the support there is in the running community for each other. We're all competitive and want to do our best but I suppose our main oponent is the clock. I love the encouragement and lack of begrudgery that I've noticed on all running forums on boards and its great how willing everyone is to offer genuine advice to fellow runners. So fellow boardsies the following is a brief rundown on my last two training weeks and I hope to keep you updated as the miles pile on

Mon Apr 5th-Sun May 5th
    Mon: 9 miles @ 7:38 pace
    Tue: 45 min tempo with 30 min @ 6:38 pace
    Wed: Rest
    Thur: 6 x 800 repeats ranging from 2:51 - 3:02
    Fri: 9 miles at mp - 7:15 pace
    Sat: LSR 19 miles of marathon route @ 7:48 pace
    Sun: Rest

Mon May 6th-Sun May 12th
    Mon: 10 miles @ 7:31 pace
    Tue: 4 miles @ 7:12 pace
    Wed: Rest
    Thu: 45 min tempo with 30 min @ 6:26 pace
    Fri: 10 miles @ 7:34 pace
    Sat: LSR 20 miles @ 8:17 pace.

So there you are! The last two weeks I've put in in preparation for Waterford. Last week was tough for me but this week doesn't have as much mileage planned. The tougher and easier weeks will alternate between now and the taper. Please let me know what you think. My target is realistically 3:15 but I'm thinking of having a go at 3:10. I haven't decided yet what to do. I'm still plagued by the achilles problem I had before Dublin last year and am just barely managing it. How it reacts over the next four or five weeks could make my mind up for me.
    Thanks for taking the time to read this rambling post and feel free to comment on it! Happy running all!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Mon 13th May: 6 miles @ 7:20 pace
    Tue 14th May: 45min tempo with 30 min @ 6:33 pace

Yesterday's run was strange. Didn't feel great at the start. I thought I was going at a decent pace early on but the first mile was 7:22 on the watch. For the effort I thought it should've been much quicker. When I checked it later on garmin connect the lock on the satellite was off so I'm putting it down to that. I didn't feel great during the run. Legs felt weak but I pushed the last mile and did a 6:54.

Tempo run tonight with 7.5 min warm up/cool down either side of 30 min hard effort. I'm not sure but is this what is known as lactate threshold running! Whatever it was my legs were burning. More worrying though was the discomfort in my left achilles! I didn't ease at all during the hard effort and got worse during the warm down. I'm really worried that it's getting worse. I've a rest day planned for tomorrow with 800 repeats for Thursday. I'm thinking of giving these a miss to give the heel another day to settle. Is this a good idea? Maybe I should give it more days off? Any advice out there?:confused:

Achilles update!: Rest day yesterday seems to have helped. Planning 6 x 800s tonight. Should I or shouldn't I?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Achilles update!: Rest day yesterday seems to have helped. Planning 6 x 800s tonight. Should I or shouldn't I?!!

With a dodgy Achilles 5 or 6 weeks before your marathon???

Nope

Stay off it altogether or maybe do a couple of mile on grass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Three quarters of the battle in the marathon is making it to the start line in one piece. You've put in some quality work and aiming for 3.10 is by no means a stretch goal judging by your training. You'll not loose any fitness even if you have to rest up for a few days or even a week. Interval session is certainly the last thing you should be doing.

Thanks for the advice Kiely. Went out this evening intending to have an easy few miles. After 10 min the heel felt good so I decided to chance the session! I was wearing my puma faas 800s which have good support and cushioning. They're light too which is always a help. The result was the best set of repeats I've done! The splits went from 2:50 to 2:53 with the fourth repeat of six being the slowest. I think the stability in the shoes helped with the heel. I'd consider them for the marathon but when I do any distance in them I get wicked hotspots on the calls of my feet!

Hmmmm...achilles felt good last Thursday during the interval session. Not so good for the 6 miles I ran on the bank of the Barrow river Friday evening! I wanted to push myself a little and go under marathon pace which for my 3:10 target in Waterford is 7:15. I ended up doing it at 7:04 average. I was happy to finish with that pace but was struggling more than I should have. The heel was at me from the start and I was aware of it all through the run. Usually when things are going well during a run the niggle fades and it's not an issue. Not on Friday:(

Saturday and a 12 mile LSR where I planned to do miles 10 and 11 at marathon pace. The run went well with the legs feeling a little tired. The ice applied to the heel the night before helped with the achilles and it felt "comfortable" from early on. I'd settle for that from here to the 29th of June! When it came to the two marathon effort miles things were o.k. With not too much discomfort I was able to punch them in a couple of seconds under target pace.

Rest Yesterday with a little sense of dread for a tough week ahead!

This evening was a ten mile run shared between the road and the local GAA pitch. I had intended on going at an easy pace but with a good chunk of the first mile being down hill I fell into the trap of going too fast! However I got into a good rhythm and by the end had done the 10 miles at 7:11 pace. I didn't have much left in the tank but was happy enough. I wonder is doing midweek runs like this at a fairly strong effort good or bad when it come to marathon preparation? Maybe I'm doing myself harm.

So since last Thursday:
    Fri 17th May: 6 miles @ 7:04 pace
    Sat 18th May: 12 miles LSR @ 7:36 pace (mile 10: 7:12, mile 11: 7:08)
    Sun 19th May: Rest
    Total miles for the week: 35.76

Mon 20th May: 10 miles @ 7:11 pace

50 min tempo tonight. 35 min at full effort in the middle. Really tough in windy conditions. My feet were killing me from half way through the run. 6:40 was my pace for the 'fast' section and I couldn't have gone a second faster. Finding it tough at the moment. I'll need to rest well between runs as the legs are feeling very weary at the moment. The taper better do its job!

Rest day yesterday. 800 repeats planned for tonight but it was very windy and I just couldn't face them! So what did I do instead?! Ran ten miles at a little faster than marathon pace along the river Barrow track. Though it would be easier but as it turned out the first five of those miles up river were into a ferocious headwind. It was worse than I thought! I really despise the wind and found myself pushing really hard to keep up with the pace I had decided to run. The result was that I was fairly shook when I came to the halfway point of the run. Still at least the return would be downwind. I managed to get the pace down to 7:10 at the end of the ten miles but the effort was more than I should have put myself through.

I think I might leave out the interval sessions from now until Waterford. I'm not so sure what extra benefit they'd give over 26.2 miles. Also I'm afraid of doing a hamstring during one of them. Would this be pre-taper madness???:eek:

Did an easy 8.77 miles on Fri and a tough 22 mile LSR in bandit country on the KK Tipp border yesterday. A really hilly route!

A quick check on the Garmin website tells me I've a total of 57.72 miles done this week. That's my highest ever total and I must say I'm feeling it! I'm gonna take an extra rest day tomorrow to let the legs recover a little more! Roll on June 29th!

Resisted the temptation to go for a run yesterday so I could have the extra days recovery after the 22 mile LSR last Saturday. Now I'm dealing with the guilt!!! My discipline is gone! I've abandoned my program. I'll be lucky to finish at all on the 29th!!:eek:

Back on the road again!! (Still worried about giving in to the extra rest day!!) Tue 29th May: 6 miles @ 6:56 pace
    Wed 30th May: 5 miles @7:05 pace

Pushed it hard Tuesday after taking the extra rest. Probably too hard! The legs still felt a bit heavy. Still it was well below my marathon pace so that was good.

Last night I went hard enough again and this time tried not to look at the garmin every 200 metres! I was pleasantly surprised to be able to keep an even pace going. It was still faster than my marathon pace so again that was good. Hopefully I might be able to handle the actual pace over the distance on the day!

I'm still not sure what the race day shoe will be. I wore my Brooks Adrenalines Tuesday and the Brooks Ravennas last night. The Ravennas are lighter and faster but don't give as much support and my Achilles was much sorer during and after last night's run. I think I might have to stick to the Adrenalines for the race itself.

Have run into a bit of trouble!! I had to take a class from my school on a trip to Denmark last Friday for 5 nights. I got a good six mile run in the morning before we left and I had fully intended on keeping up the training over there especially as the terrain where we were going to be staying was completely flat!! Unfortunately it was not to be. When you're in charge of 22 6th class children in a foreign country even with the help of two colleagues you don't have much spare time! Also we were all "sleeping" on the floor of the gym in our host school so we were never gonna get much rest! Just try and get 22 excited 12 year olds to settle down for a night's sleep! I did get out for an eight mile run early Sunday but did not feel good. Monday confirmed what I had been feeling the day before as I had developed a chest infection! We had taken an antibiotic with us in case any of the children needed it but now I was taking it!! So no more running on the nice flat roads of Denmark. We got home on Wednesday evening. Even though I was wrecked I did a five mile run yesterday at an easy pace. I don't know where I stand now re my Waterford goal. Has this dose and break in the training been a big setback? This weekend will tell a lot. The last 20 miler is on the agenda. Should I do it?......

Thu 6th June: 5 miles @ 7:29 pace
    Fri 7th June: 7 miles @ 7:09 pace

Thursday's run was just to try and get back into it. Didn't feel great but didn't push it. This one was all about getting back on the road.
    Yesterday's run was along the River Barrow track and I wanted to push it on a bit to try and get an idea where I'm at. I meant to do 10 miles but was caught for time. The heat was a factor but as it was only 7 miles it wasn't too much of a problem. I was happy enough to be able to keep up the pace. There were stretches on the track where the grass was quite long so running was difficult.

Thu 6th June: 5 miles @ 7:29 pace
    Fri 7th June: 7 miles @ 7:09 pace

Thursday's run was just to try and get back into it. Didn't feel great but didn't push it. This one was all about getting back on the road.
    Yesterday's run was along the River Barrow track and I wanted to push it on a bit to try and get an idea where I'm at. I meant to do 10 miles but was caught for time. The heat was a factor but as it was only 7 miles it wasn't too much of a problem. I was happy enough to be able to keep up the pace. There were stretches on the track where the grass was quite long so running was difficult.

Man that lsr will be hard going. And just to throw the cat amongst the pigeons you should consider :

7 easy 6 pmp 7 easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Hi there.

I wouldn't do the lsr or at least curtail it a bit. You have loads done.
    You are getting over a chest infection after taking antibotics.

By all means do some training but just take it easy. Just from the posts you have put up you will be Fooked by the time 29th comes around.

If you look back on your log you have a lot if hard running on it. 22 mile run, tired after so took rest day followed by 2 hard days. That's not giving you recovery. Learn to go easy on some of your runs.

I would like to see your heart rate stats for the runs done before the chest infection.

As KU pointed out half the battle is getting to the line. IMO the biggest problem is over doing it not under doing it.
    Get to the start line fresh and raring to go. Not getting over sickness or fatigue.

There is nothing to be gained physically by doing another 20/22 coming of sickenss coming of sickness
    Consider. Doing 14/16 ml easy.Don't forget its hot out there this Will have an effect as well.
    Do a few easy runs early in the week but slow down 7.30 or slower, and maybe Wed or Thurs do your tempo run.

Best of luck

PS Both myelself and KU are Tipp men:D

Gavlor wrote: »
    Man that lsr will be hard going. And just to throw the cat amongst the pigeons you should consider :

7 easy 6 pmp 7 easy

Ah jaysus Gavlor! What're'ya doin to me? I think I'll just be happy with getting the miles done at whatever pace happens!

Thx Ceepo. I'll put up the hr stats later. I've been wearing the monitor but haven't a clue how to interpret the data! I'm new to this lark! Like I said in my first post here it's great to see others coming on here with genuine advice.

Well I did the 20 mile LSR run yesterday against the advice of some who are far more knowledgeable than me! But This run had been arranged for a while and my running partner was coming from a distance to join me and I didn't want to let him down. I went out Saturday night and left water bottles all over the place! Dehydration wasn't going to be a factor on this run! By the end of the run which was half on the road and half on the Barrow track we were both delighted. It was the best I've felt during any LSR since I began running. I remember being surprised at one stage that we only had 4 miles to go and instead of thinking it would never end was thinking we only had a little more than half an hour to go! That never happened before.
    I've been on an antibiotic all this week and have done very little in a week which was to have been high mileage. But I think the lower mileage made the LSR easier. Like a mini taper. It showed me how important the taper is and I'm going to make sure I taper correctly this time and resist the temptation to do too much over the last fortnight!

Sun 9th June: 20 mile LSR @ 8:09 pace, HR 133

Out tonight in the pishes of rain!

Mon 11th June: 8 miles @ 7:18 pace, HR 140

Not a pleasant night for a run. Rain and a good headwind for the second half of the run. Funny how the wind never seems to help as much as it hinders when you're on an out and back route!! Wore the Brooks Ravennas tonight for the first time in a while. They do feel that bit faster than the Adrenalines but the Achilles always plays up more in them so I should really stick with the stronger shoe.

Have a 12 mile LSR on the plan for the weekend. I was thinking of trying it like a long tempo type run. 3 miles easy, 6 miles pmp, 3miles easy to finish. Last test before the 29th. Is it too close?

Tempo run tonight. Had a long day and had a really healthy dinner of a quarter pounder and chips this evening on the way home from work! So I wasn't feeling very athletic setting off on the run. I gave it a good effort and it was tough. Even though I was knackered at the finish I was happy with the pace.

Thur 13th June: 30 min Tempo. 5 min warm up, 20 min @ 6:25 pace, 5 min warm down.

5 miles today. Had intended getting out yesterday but was really tired all day so decided it might be counter productive and left it. Decided today's run would be 1 mile easy, 3 miles hard, 1 mile easy. Because the first mile is down hill and today down wind it was quick enough even though the effort was easy enough. Pushed on from there and the next three ended well under 7 min. Last big run tomorrow before the beginning of the taper proper.

Today's run
    Mile 1: 7:16
    Mile 2: 6:54
    Mile 3: 6:53
    Mile 4: 6:49
    Mile 5: 7:28

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

I see you ain't getting much advice on this forum. Personally you train to fast and race to slow. I have said for months with an Achilles problem you shouldn't do this and that. For example you ran 20 slow Sunday and then 8 at marathon pace monday. No wonder your Achilles is sore. As KU said get to start line in one piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

I see you ain't getting much advice on this forum. Personally you train to fast and race to slow. I have said for months with an Achilles problem you shouldn't do this and that. For example you ran 20 slow Sunday and then 8 at marathon pace monday. No wonder your Achilles is sore. As KU said get to start line in one piece

Getting advice is one thing
    listening to advice is a different thing;), !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Ceepo wrote: »
    Getting advice is one thing
    listening to advice is a different thing;), !!

Even the most intelligent people don't listen. The one thing that bothers me about boards is people look for advice. People take time to answer them And give them good advice. Then they do the opposite.

Are you saying I'm intelligent Village runner??!!! Why thanks!!;) There was a mistake there the other day. I didn't run last Mon. I put down the right date but the wrong day. Even I'm not stupid enough to go out the day after a 20 miler! Hopefully I will get to the start line in one piece! I'm sure you're a good man for taking advice yourself!:P

Sun 16th June: 12 miles. First 3 @ 7:32 pace, HR 133
    Middle 6 @ 7:09 pace, HR 152
    Last 3 @ 7:58 pace, HR 140

Tue 18th June: 6 miles @ 7:02 pace, HR 142

Jogging from here on in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

I've just come across this log today. Welcome! I'm not a marathoner - far from it in fact. But I do follow a lot of marathoners logs and read a lot about it over the years. From what I can see, you have got some some good advice here and you need to listen to it. You've obviously got bags of talent. But you need to be smarter with your training. Most of your runs looks far too fast for your target. Pushing yourself like that is only going to a) lead to injury (or prevent current problems from healing:mad:) and b) lead to a decrease in your fitness.

If I was you, I'd have a look at Krusty Clowns log. He's a sub 2:40 marathon man and does a lot of his runs at a slower pace than you. Indeed, some of his runs are in the 8 min/mile category. In fact, KU, who has already posted here is a sub 2:40 man too:rolleyes:

Enjoy the taper and take it easy and hopefully you'll smash 3:15.

And when starting up training for your sub 3hr marathon:D, take heed of what the experienced guys here are saying!

Cleanman wrote: »
    I've just come across this log today. Welcome! I'm not a marathoner - far from it in fact. But I do follow a lot of marathoners logs and read a lot about it over the years. From what I can see, you have got some some good advice here and you need to listen to it. You've obviously got bags of talent. But you need to be smarter with your training. Most of your runs looks far too fast for your target. Pushing yourself like that is only going to a) lead to injury (or prevent current problems from healing:mad:) and b) lead to a decrease in your fitness.

If I was you, I'd have a look at Krusty Clowns log. He's a sub 2:40 marathon man and does a lot of his runs at a slower pace than you. Indeed, some of his runs are in the 8 min/mile category. In fact, KU, who has already posted here is a sub 2:40 man too:rolleyes:

Enjoy the taper and take it easy and hopefully you'll smash 3:15.

And when starting up training for your sub 3hr marathon:D, take heed of what the experienced guys here are saying!

Looks like I'll have a good look at things alright Cleanman. I know those fellas have far more knowledge than me. I'm thinking it takes more discipline to run the slower pace in training. I'm gonna give Waterford an almighty lash and take stock then. Two weeks in Spain will help with that! Dublin might be next.

And as far as the sub 3 hrs is concerned? That's a whole different ball game!

Wed June 19th 4 miles @ 7:11 pace, forgot monitor
    Fri June 21st 4 miles @ 7:39 pace, HR 127

Got a bit of a fright Wednesday. The achilles was sore all through the run and it seemed to be spreading all around the ankle area and up the outside of the leg into the knee! couldn't understand it! Iced it all evening and went to bed a very worried man!

Rested yesterday but then last night sitting on the sofa the heel started lifting me out of it!!! WTF!!!:eek: Went to bed twice as worried!

Up early this morning and out for an easy 4 miles to see what the story was. Stretched well, took me Berocca and off I went. Had to stop after about 300 metres! Achilles was stiff and painful. Stretched it again and got going again and after about half a mile it seemed grand and remained that way for the rest of the run. It has felt grand since too thank God!!

I'm wondering wer some of the symptoms I was feeling Wednesday and yesterday psychosomatic?:confused: A sign of taper madness?!

Anyway after the relief of finishing this morning's run pain free I've finally decided that sub 3:10 is the target next Saturday and that's that!!:D No more humming and hawing!! That's just under 7:15 per mile. How much lower than that would the garmin need to be showing in order to alow for running over the 26.2? Although I'll be trying to hit every tangent on every bend and corner on the route!

Sat 22nd June: 8.48 miles @ 7:43 pace, HR 132

Really easy run. Only stretched out over the last half mile. Felt grand.

Mon 24th June: 4 miles @ 7:14 pace. No HR.

I think the garmin was a bit dodgy tonight. It read a 6:59 second mile and I felt I was nowhere near that pace. Also, it beeped a good 20 metres before usual so I'm taking all the data for this one with a pinch of salt. Still, I went out to run at an easy effort and settled into a rhythm that I felt comfortable at and kept going. I was under no pressure at all and was very happy with the run. Nice to feel positive after a training run. It was a good way to end the training for Waterford as all I have left is a two mile jog Friday and that'll be only to prove to myself that the legs have not stopped working! Today, tomorrow and Thursday are gonna be a real test with the lack of activity but I realise it's vital to rest well before the big effort that Saturday undoubtedly will be! Bring it on!!!

Mon 24th June: 4 miles @ 7:14 pace. No HR.

I think the garmin was a bit dodgy tonight. It read a 6:59 second mile and I felt I was nowhere near that pace. Also, it beeped a good 20 metres before usual so I'm taking all the data for this one with a pinch of salt. Still, I went out to run at an easy effort and settled into a rhythm that I felt comfortable at and kept going. I was under no pressure at all and was very happy with the run. Nice to feel positive after a training run. It was a good way to end the training for Waterford as all I have left is a two mile jog Friday and that'll be only to prove to myself that the legs have not stopped working! Today, tomorrow and Thursday are gonna be a real test with the lack of activity but I realise it's vital to rest well before the big effort that Saturday undoubtedly will be! Bring it on!!!

Nice one.

Plenty of water over the next few days and make sure to sip plenty on Saturday. Forecast looks fairly hot

Gavlor wrote: »
    Nice one.

Plenty of water over the next few days and make sure to sip plenty on Saturday. Forecast looks fairly hot

Cheers Gav! Yeah hydration will be a major factor this week and especially Saturday. The organisers have obviously taken this into account with twelve water stops on the route. I reckon I'll be making use of all of them. That last 20 miler I did that hot Sunday I was drinking non stop from start to finish and I know it made a big difference to how I felt at the end. Say hello at the start Saturday! I'll be wearing a vest in the Carlow colours and a navy peaked cap (to keep the sun off the shiny head!!:D) Are you in good Shape yourself?:D

I'm always in great shape ;)

I'm racing the half this weekend, I'm kind of regretting now not doing the full!
    I know this sounds a bit of a contradiction but dont drink too much water on saturday, it'll flush out your salts. drink little and drink often. Are you bringing your own gels?

Most importantly, as soon as you see hasbro, if you have anything left let her rip. It's downhill for the last 1.5 miles and there is a great finish around the freshly laid RSC track.

I'll keep an eye out for a white, bald Jamaican so!

I'll keep an eye out for a white, bald Jamaican so![/QUOTE]

That'll be me alright! Won't gulp the water for the sake of it. They're in 330ml bottles so they won't be awkward to be carrying I think. I'll be just sipping as I'm thirsty I think. I'm bringing Hi-5 raspberry gels. Dunno how many to take. I've taken a good few in the marathons I've run to date.
    I did a the last 19 of the route a couple of weeks ago so I'm ready for Hasbro. Actually that day I was fairly shook at the end of the run but still gave it a lash down the hill and threw in a fast last mile. So if I have anything left at all It'll be hell for leather down past the IT! I hope 123 has worked his magic and got the job done on the Green Road! The surface is brutal! When you're 22 miles into a marathon, chasing down the clock and fighting all sorts of demons, a rough surface is the last thing you want to be dealing with! Then again the legs might be numb from the knee down by then anyway!

Here's a good link to a forecast for Saturday. If it's accurate we'll all be delighted! http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Munster/Waterford/long.html

Time to resurrect this thread I think! Following Waterford last June where for a few reasons the 3:10 was way out of reach, I've done virtually nothing! Two weeks holidays in Spain was followed by a return to the hurling field at the request of a friend who had gotten injured and asked me to help out! It was a Dad's army team of old friends having a bit of craic and I would never have been let forget it if I turned them down! Problem was almost immediately I aggravated an old groin injury which put the kybosh on Dublin and all training since. My specialist says I prob need the gilmore groin procedure again. (had it done 9 years ago) but I got a steroid injection into it just before Christmas and have started back doing a bit. Jesus I'm in some state. Way overweight (+ a stone and a half on Waterford) and running at a snail's pace. I got down to 3:17:59 in Waterford which in hindsight with the extra few yards!!! and the heat on the day I was very happy with. Now I'm targeting 3:15 for my next marathon. Dunno which one that will be but it does look like Waterford is on the horizon again. This year I hope to do more races like 10ks and that and get more into the whole road racing scene. I'll keep updating the log with and would love advice from others on here. I promise I'll pay more heed to it this year..Ok Village Runner?!!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Best of luck with the comeback. Gilmore's groin is a b!tch. I had mine done years ago too but thankfully have had no problems with it since.

Didn't do a great job resurrecting this thread did I? However this time I mean business! Training has started in earnest for the Waterford marathon the 28th of June. That's just over 12 weeks away. I've been getting the fitness up the weight down and the miles into the legs. What I need now is a plan with structure that will have plenty of miles and loads of LSRs. Stamina has been a major problem in my marathons to date. 3:17:59 was the official time for Waterford last year (including the extra .2!) so I hope to lower that. By how much? That's the six million dollar question! Maybe 3:15 is the initial goal but I think if things go well I might be capable of 3:10 we'll see. I've joined a club which I find very good with the weekly track sessions getting the speed up and keeping me sharp. There's that bit of friendly competition that you wouldn't have on your own. Anyway I hope anyone who comes across this log will not find it too irritating and I would love advice as the weeks pass.

I was hoping that my official training would begin with a good long run last Sunday but things just didn't work out and I only got a short run in. So I'm going to record things from Monday and take it from there!

Mon 31st March: 5 miles @ 7:15 pace
    Tue 1st April: 8.74 miles @ 7:38 pace Usual loop with plenty of hills.
    Thu 3rd April: 6 x 800m with slow 400m recovery included in each rep. Times for the reps were 2:53, 2:50, 2:57 (struggled on this one!), 2:52, 2:49 and 2:48.

I missed a club track session last night so I wanted to try and get a decent bit of speed work done. I know I said above that I want to improve the stamina but I'm hoping with the help of the club that the speed will improve too! I pushed these really hard and the legs were screaming at the end of each one. I did a really slow jog in the rests for the first three but walked for some of the rests from then. I was too bolli#ed to keep jogging and anyway I reckon I was walking just as fast!

Onwards and upwards from here.

Fri 4th April: 6.19 miles @ 7:26 pace.

This was a run along the route of a local 10k race that's being held next Sunday. Jaysus it's a tough one Long climb for most of the first half. The legs never really got going and even felt the pressure on the downhill sections near the end. It would be a really tough one to actually race! Not sure I'll do it next week. I'm a bit of a chicken when it comes to hills.

Sat 5th April: 10.07 miles @ 7:31 pace.

This was my usual 8.75 mile loop with a little extra added to bring it to the 10 mile mark. The conditions weren't great. Got soaked over the last 5 miles. Also had a very worrying bout of stomach trouble which eventually forced a hasty jump into a field during the last mile!!! Hope this isn't going to be a recurring problem. I could do without a repeat of the butt clenching that went on over the last 6 miles in Waterford last year! Otherwise the run was ok and I threw in a fairly comfortable sub 7 min mile to finish (not including the pit stop!)

Sun 6th April: 16.37 miles @ 7:55 pace.

This is the first LSR that I've done with Waterford specifically in mind. The average pace is a bit misleading as the garmin was a bit off at the start and measured the first two miles too short. I felt weak enough over the first half of the run. The quads were heavy and I wasn't really enjoying it. The second half was much better though and I have no clue why! The route was quite hilly which I don't like but unfortunately they can't be avoided around these parts and it was on one of these hills that I began to feel the improvement in the run! I wonder is it all in the head??!!.... Anyway as I got near home I decided to see if I could up the pace a little and did mile 13 in 7:16 and, following a break, Mile 15 in 6:55! That's good for me! That 6:55 was especially encouraging as there was quite a pull for about a quarter of it. 12 weeks now till the target race. I'm encouraged by this week but am cautious too as I have that Gilmore's groin thing that hasn't gone away! I have felt it a bit this week and it was tender after the run today but I'm hoping that if I'm careful it won't stop me getting to the start line in good fettle! Following the people in the Manchester marathon today has really got the blood up. I had hoped to be there myself but things conspired against that. Next year maybe (If the reports here are positive!).

Tue 8th April: 7 miles @ 7:47 pace.

Following the rest day after Sunday's LSR I made sure to take this run nice and easy. To be honest I wasn't really able for much else. I was tired all day and the legs were heavy all through the run. While I felt pretty strong as Sunday's run went on I knew Monday it had taken quite a bit out of me and that carried on during the day yesterday. One thing I hope I've learned over the few years I've been running is that when I'm tired and in bad form just to go with whatever pace I can manage and not try and force things. I've had a habit of trying to make every run a good one and a lot of times pushing too hard, especially when I may have been having an off day. There are times when just getting out there and getting another few miles into the legs is enough. Having said that, even on this run I tried a few 30 sec strides over the last half mile! There was nothing there! Old habits.......

Wed 9th April: Tempo/interval session 6 x 5 min @ 10k pace (?), 90 sec recovery.

Rep 1: .77 miles, rep 2: .76 miles, rep 3: .78 miles, rep 4: .77 miles, rep 5: .78 miles, rep 6: .81 miles. Ove.rall distance covered: 6.62 miles

I'm hoping that this run is one that I will look back on when the going gets tough next June. Not because it was anything special or I felt great during it but because I actually got out at all. Between work and family commitments I didn't get home until 10 pm. Also I gave the back a twist at work and it had all the signs of going into spasm. I had had no dinner, was tired and the couch looked really enticing. I know missing one run now and then is no harm but this is the first week of training focused on the race in June and I decided to head out. The run started at 10:19 pm. I only met one car thankfully as the locals would think I'm cracked! I was delighted when it was done. It was tough for each repeat but I was happy to be able to keep it consistent and then make the usual push to get that little bit extra out of the last one. The back felt grand but was sore after I warmed down and is still not 100% today. I hope this doesn't become a problem. :(

The 10th April: 10 miles @ 7:39 pace.

Ordinary run at an ordinary pace. Felt tired though and the calves felt a little hard or something for at least the first half. There wasn't much response in the legs until the last two or three miles. Now that I've settled on the BAA plan I'm beginning to realise it's a fair step up on what I've tried to do for the four marathons I've done so far. I new it was on paper but now am beginning to see it as I actually put it into practice! It'll be interesting to see how the legs hold up on the injury front. They feel quite strong at the moment so that's a positive. The groin issue is something that's there but is grand at the moment too, another positive. The back problem that flared up yesterday is something that comes every so often and can lead to being totally crippled for anything up to three weeks. But it does seem to be settling down so I'm going to look on that as a positive too:) Hmmm I think I'm gonna look for the positives from here on in no matter how contrived they are!

First thing's first congrats/commiserations to all in London today! What an event. Would love to do it some day. Here is my latest update.

Sat 12th April: 10 miles @ 7:26 pace.

This was a run that felt quite good. The heaviness that was there last Thursday was gone. (A positive!). I ran a 6:44 last mile which I was very happy with. The plan had detailed a run on Friday but I didn't get out. I'm saying the reason was "I listened to my body!" Such discipline!

Sun 13th April: 17 mile lsr @ 7:40 pace Miles 11, 12 and 13 at pmp (?) Mile 11: 7:01, mile 12: 7:08, mile 13: 7:01.

This run was the first I did this year along the River Barrow track. It's on my doorstep and is a beautiful place to run. Obviously it being by a river there are no hills! The surface is a bit dodgy in spots but by and large it's grand and is much easier on the joints than tarmac. I've never incorporated marathon paced miles into my long runs before but the plan includes them so today was a first. If it's good enough for newly sub 3hr men like the bauld Gavlor (congrats again!) then it's surely good enough for me! It was only three miles but they were near the end when I was beginning to get tired. I had eaten only a banana before starting out. I'm really not sure what my target for Waterford is going to be but I decided this morning to try a good pace for the pmp effort. I was really happy with them although I found it hard to keep the pace steady. I hope to keep adding them to the runs over the next few weeks and hopefully this will build up the strength and endurance I need to finally have a strong finishing six miles in a marathon.

Tue 14th April: 7 miles @ 7:23 pace.

The benefit of doing the lsr on the Barrow track on Sunday was clear during yesterday's rest day. The legs didn't feel nearly as beaten up as they had after last weeks lsr. I won't be doing all of them on this track as I'll have to have some hills during my long runs and believe me there is no shortage of hills around here!

Today's run was uneventful. A straightforward 7 miles. I wasn't feeling totally at ease but didn't feel I was going that fast anyway. The garmin was reading a faster pace than I felt I was doing. I hope it's reading true! The run is an over and back type and today the wind was quite strong for the "back" section. God I really hate running in the wind :mad: Even more so than dealing with hills! I pushed the last mile as usual and got in a 7:04. I'm wondering is this habit wise? Should I just complete the ordinary runs at whatever pace I've settled at? Do I risk injury pushing the last mile? Maybe it does good? I dunno! Advice appreciated. :)