Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How low can I go...?

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Seriously impressive stuff. I can barely get my ass off the couch after 6 miles, nevermind run 6x1k at 5k pace! I'm not just saying this but I've no doubt you will finally nail the sub-3 in Frankfurt as long as you stay sensible and get to the line fresh, there's no need to worry about being underdone in my eyes, you're in cracking shape at the minute, just don't go mad on those easy and steady runs and you'll be alright.

What's the plan for the taper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Agreed that's a cracking session

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Sounds like a good session alright. Just one thing.......Strava???? Even Garmin is dodgy but it's bastard nephew Strava!

Looking forward to seeing your last Long Runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭echancrure

Bahanaman wrote: »
    The splits for the k reps were: 3:40, 35, 31, 32, 30 and 32.

Great shape.
    Don't forget to slow down !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Great shape.
    Don't forget to slow down !!

Thu Oct 1st: 15 miles @ 7:24 pace. H/R:131

Another lovely morning for this one. Clear sky, bright moon still out, slack wind and just a little chilly. Slept on it a little so was a little later heading out than intended. As a result I went a small bit quicker to get the mileage in before continuing with real life for the day! I didn't bring any water or gels today, again by choice. It was an uneventful, enjoyable run.

I'm looking at the above posts and there's a common thread..... "take it easy!" Cheers lads! Don't worry I fully intend on taking things handy from here on in. The few speedier runs over the last few days happened just because I was feeling really good and the effort didn't seem too much. But I will be taking your advice. Slow and steady from here on in. There are a few speedier runs still left in the plan but they will be the only times when I'll be pushing things on. I've followed it to the letter over the last nine weeks so I suppose I'll stick it out to the end, assuming all goes well. Unfortunately, two of the lads who were hoping to do Frankfurt are now not running due to sickness. Just goes to show how delicate things can get when training for a marathon so I can guarantee nothing is being taken for granted! In fairness to them they're still going to make the trip and have offered to do water for us on the day. That could be a great help as the water is in cups for the race and the only time I ever tried to drink from a cup during a race resulted in most of it going down my front and me coughing and spluttering for the following few hundred metres!

As far as the taper goes NE, it'll begin after this weekend. Sunday will be a 20-22 miler which will cap off my biggest ever mileage week (72 if I do 22 Sunday). The following long run is to be 17 miles as the overall weekly mileage begins to wind down and then another one of 13 the sunday before Frankfurt. There'll be a good few easy/recovery runs but still the odd run with strides and a few interval runs. I do see one 8-10k tune up race suggested for the Saturday two weeks out but I think that'll be one of the only times I might disobey the plan!

Oh and Itziger!!.....Strava is gospel....never lies!!! :p:D

Fri Oct 2nd: 8 miles @ 7:42 pace. H/R: 125

The mind is a funny thing. The emphasis for this run was just to get the miles done and no matter how I was feeling to keep the pace nice and slow. Enjoy the morning, have a good listen to the radio and get it done. Well I did get it done and it was a good bit slower than over the last while but as regards having to hold myself back? No way. I wouldn't have been able for much more than the pace I was at. I've often had situations like that. Whatever distance and pace I've in mind turns out to be the limit of my capabilities on a given run! The few runs recently that have been quicker than expected happened when I was just heading out for a run with no emphasis on pace control and they just panned out that way. So my conclusion from this is that I'll head out on the 25th with a distance of about 26.2 miles in mind and try to limit the pace at around the 6:45 mark!!!

Sun Oct 4th: 22 miles @ 7:28 pace. H/R:132

The last of the real;y big ones. Wasn't sure if I'd do this on the Barrow track or the road. There would be a big difference in profile between the two. So I started off on the road and after just over three miles would be in Graiguenamanagh where I could turn left and go onto the track or turn right and continue on the road and what would be a very hilly route. I turned right!! No point in slacking off just yet. I was glad that I did too. I'd had company for the last few long ones but today I was on my own. The run was a good tough workout and I felt strong enough all through. Couldn't resist having a bit of a blowout over the last mile. Now for the taper....let the madness begin!!!!

Been lazy with the updates this week!

Tue Oct 6th: 8 miles easy with 5 x 600m @ full pelt! off 60 sec. Peak H/R: 163

A good start to the week. Nice and comfortable for the easy section and then gave the reps a right lash. The reps were 2:04, 01, 09, 00 and 13.

Wed Oct 7th: 12 miles easy/steady @ 7:25 pace.

Nice run with an easy paced opening that progressed to a steady pace by the end. Felt very comfortable. The H/R monitor conked early in the run. just noticing that now. Battery must be going.

Thu Oct 8th: 6 miles easy with 10 x strides.

Determined to take this nice and slow with the strides coming at the end. Managed it and gave the strides a lash. They are tough but really enjoyable. I stopped half way through them to have a chat with a lady from down the road who I meet most mornings walking her dogs. I only barely ever get to say a rushed "hello...grand day for it! etc". I don't know her as she's not originally fro the area so I thought it was about time I stopped to introduce myself. She seems like a very nice person but I was cursing her when I started back with the strides. The last three felt much tougher than the previous seven! Still though it was only manners!

Fri Oct 9th: 5 mile recovery @ 7:56 pace.

Seemed very strange to be doing "just" 5 miles! Again I was determined to keep this slow and really enjoyed the run.

Sat Oct 10th: W/U 40 min tempo W/D. Tempo pace 6:11.

There was a 8-10k race on the plan for today and but I was sticking with my decision not to race before Frankfurt. So this tempo took it's place. I was also trialing new shoes that might be the marathon shoes on the day. It was a hard tempo with one of my best 10k times included. The shoes were good too. Really light with good cushioning and support.

Sun Oct 11th: 17 miles LSR with the Frankfurt/Dublin crew @ 7:33 pace.

Really enjoyable run with the lads from the club who are taking on marathons at the end of the month. Time flew and the pace was nice and steady. I was glad that it was ony 17 miles though as I could feel yesterday's tempo in the legs towards the end.

First week of the taper over....going mental already!

Tue Oct 12th: 8 miles with 10 x strides. Average pace 7:22

Fairly cold this morning but again lovely and dry with little or no wind. The weather during the training block for this marathon has been brilliant. I can only remember one really rainy day. The miles before the strides in this run were all steady around the 7:30 mark and the effort was really comfortable. I wore the new runners again today to see how they would feel the first day after the long run and again they felt great. I'm almost 100% sure that they'll be on my feet for the 25th. So this being the taper and all, this morning brought the first few "taper twinges"! The outside of the left knee was at me a bit and also there was a very strange dart across my right instep! Never had that before. A few stern words to myself along the lines of "cop the fcuk on!" and things soon settled down and I finshed the run sound in mind(!) and body with the strides being as challenging and enjoyable as usual. Last night it dawned on me that the marathon is next week! NEXT WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wed Oct 14th: 4 miles @ 7:29 pace. H/R 115

Grand run. Felt nice and easy at that pace. Shortest run since I don't know when.

Thu Oct 15th: 8.1 miles inc 3 x 1600m @5k pace off 4:30 jog between. Max H/R: 162

Last really hard running before Frankfurt. Started nice and slow and built up the pace before hitting the reps. Didn't know what to expect as I was feeling a little sluggish but was delighted with what followed. Straight away the pace felt good and the effort wasn't too bad. I wanted to make this a good session so concentrated on my form and tried to stay as relaxed as possible. Because of this I hardly looked at the garmin once. That's very unusual for me. The effort level didn't increase too much over the three reps which was very pleasing because the splits got faster each time. Here they are: 5:54, 45, 30. That seems a big drop for the last one and while I did give it a bit extra and there was a bit of a downhill at the end I don't think It could have been that much faster. Maybe a bit of a drop in the gps signal or something. All in all though I was very happy with how the workout went and felt great during the rest of the day.

Fri Oct 16th: 5 mile recovery @ 7:44 pace. H/R 119

Wanted to keep this at a really easy pace/effort. The first mile was a little quick but is downhill. I had to dial it back a bit from there and managed to nicely. The legs had no ill effects from the workout yesterday and felt great. A really enjoyable run. This day next week Myself and the crew will be on our way to Frankfurt.

Wed Oct 14th: 4 miles @ 7:29 pace. H/R 115

Grand run. Felt nice and easy at that pace. Shortest run since I don't know when.

Thu Oct 15th: 8.1 miles inc 3 x 1600m @5k pace off 4:30 jog between. Max H/R: 162

Last really hard running before Frankfurt. Started nice and slow and built up the pace before hitting the reps. Didn't know what to expect as I was feeling a little sluggish but was delighted with what followed. Straight away the pace felt good and the effort wasn't too bad. I wanted to make this a good session so concentrated on my form and tried to stay as relaxed as possible. Because of this I hardly looked at the garmin once. That's very unusual for me. The effort level didn't increase too much over the three reps which was very pleasing because the splits got faster each time. Here they are: 5:54, 45, 30. That seems a big drop for the last one and while I did give it a bit extra and there was a bit of a downhill at the end I don't think It could have been that much faster. Maybe a bit of a drop in the gps signal or something. All in all though I was very happy with how the workout went and felt great during the rest of the day.

Fri Oct 16th: 5 mile recovery @ 7:44 pace. H/R 119

Wanted to keep this at a really easy pace/effort. The first mile was a little quick but is downhill. I had to dial it back a bit from there and managed to nicely. The legs had no ill effects from the workout yesterday and felt great. A really enjoyable run. This day next week myself and the crew will be on our way to Frankfurt.

p.s. All the best to everybody heading over to Amsterdam this weekend. Big crowd from Kilkenny doing it. No regrets lads..

Sat Oct 17th: 6 miles with 10 x strides. 7:30 pace before the strides H/R: 135. Max H/R: 157

Lovely comfortable run with the ten strides over the last mile and a half. Felt strong doing the strides. Didn't push them too hard. Concentrating so hard on form and every sport on the road where the foot falls...don't want to go over on an ankle at this stage!!

Sun Oct 18th: 13 mile long run @ 7:19 pace. H/R: 135.

This was the last of the long runs and a few of our our marathon training group got together for it to shoot the breeze about our hopes/ fears for what lies ahead. As usual when running and chatting like that the miles flew. One of the lads had picked a really good route around Kilkenny which was really quiet and had a few nice climbs to keep things honest. We went at a nice pace but may have got a little carried away over the last three miles which got a little bit too quick. They were downhill though so maybe they were ok!

Tue Oct 20th: 7 miles @ 7:53 pace. H/R: 121

I've gotten a little distracted since Sunday morning as my GAA club, the mighty St. Mullins, retained the county senior championship by beating our neighbours and hot favourites Mount Leinster Rangers. Deep down I'm a hurler at heart I suppose and that will always be the case. So even though I resisted the temptation to join in the celebrations after the game, I did have a few quiet ones at home in my smugness! With the long run the morning of the match as well as the game itself (roaring on your team is a demanding exercise) I was glad of the rest day yesterday. So this morning I was determined to keep it really slow and let the system recover. Everything was grand. Things were nice and easy from start to finish and now the focus is most definitely back on the task at hand.
    UP THE SAINTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (sorry ASIMONOV)

Wed Oct 21st: 7 miles with 5 & 6 @mp.

This was a "dress rehearsal" for Sunday. Out early in the dark again but this time wearing the singlet and the rest of the race day gear. There was a bit of drizzle this morning and it was a little windy but otherwise it was quite mild. I'd take similar conditions on Sunday. The run went well. I didn't want there to be too much difference between the paces when I changed up to the marathon paced miles so The first 4 miles were all around the 7:20 mark. As usual when I started the mp effort I found it hard to get the pace even for the first mile but the second was much better. I was nice and comfortable at the pace which was nice although at this stage I suppose I should be! The splits for the mp miles were 6:42 and 6:37. 24.2 more like those added on next Sunday there'll be celebrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Best of luck Pat. The work and training is done, just eat loads and get the head sorted and no doubt sub-3 will be yours!

How many are heading over?

Cheers Pat! Seven of us heading over. Six running. Some job getting the head right. Just have to trust the training and like you said, fuel up well. Hopefully we'll be able for fuel of a different kind later on Sunday!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Good luck on Sunday Bahanaman.
    Go out and get what's rightfully yours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Best of luck, looking forward to the report.

Give it bata!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Best of luck but beware, it all goes downhill after you get your hands on the Grail!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

All the best man, hope it all works out and you get what you deserve. Have a gud un!:)

Gavlor wrote: »
    Best of luck but beware, it all goes downhill after you get your hands on the Grail!!

I'll take my chances if I can gav!

Thx lads. In hotel now and settled in. Going to do a breakfast run in the morning for a last loosener. After that....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Best of luck on Sunday.....ENJOY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Way to go man, congratulations!

Were ya sprinting the last two kms or what?

Did ya have a few bob on yourself for a Neg split?

Enjoy the beers. Well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭dintbo

Well done today great running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Great running today. Well done. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Why bother going for a sub-3 when you can get a sub 2:55!

Smashing stuff, well done although not a massive surprise! Enjoy the beers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Super, super run today.
    Very well done.
    Bet that was worth waiting for!

Enjoy tonight and the recovery afterwards/
    You've definitely earned it.