Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

blackwave wrote: »
    My only gripe with second captains is that I find their hurling coverage to be poor enough.

Yeah it's poor.

And Derek McGrath was hardly going to help in that regard.

That lad has been pushed everywhere in the last few weeks..

I don't want to hear any more about intensh!tee

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Are you a culchie?

Not everyone can be a part of the master race that live inside the pale, unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

corwill wrote: »
    Are you a culchie?

What has that got to do with anything? Do you have an issue with people from outside of Dublin?

I'll take that as a yes so.

And I would appreciate you not casting aspersions about me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,319 ✭✭✭Guffy

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Are you a culchie?

I’m a Dub and I love all three of them. They’re all completely different and bring totally different views to the podcast. If you don’t like it then don’t buy it.

Plenty of folk do like it though and the fact that an Irish sports podcast is using a subscriber model to sustain itself and flourish taking in a whopping €14,000 per WEEK suggests they’re doing a hell of a lot right.

Hopefully they keep doing what they’re doing, they’re great at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭deisedude

Dont make snide digs if you cant take it back

Are you a culchie?

I’m a Dub and I love all three of them. They’re all completely different and bring totally different views to the podcast. If you don’t like it then don’t buy it.

Plenty of folk do like it though and the fact that an Irish sports podcast is using a subscriber model to sustain itself and flourish taking in a whopping €14,000 per WEEK suggests they’re doing a hell of a lot right.

Hopefully they keep doing what they’re doing, they’re great at it.

I never said I didn't like all three of the lads. Again, don't be casting aspersions. Or telling me not to buy it when I've been a supporter from day one.

deisedude wrote: »

Dont make snide digs if you cant take it back

What's with the aggressiveness of our country brethren?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭deisedude

What's with the aggressiveness of our country brethren?

I'd appreciate if you don't cast aspersions on us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,786 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Meow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

FIGHT ! FIGHT ! FIGHT !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

That's my second question answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,786 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Can someone tweet this thread out to the SC lads so we can get this race war between Dublin and the culchies really started.

I'd say they avoid this thread like the plague, if they have a lick of sense.

Second Captains is definitely a pro Dublin vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Anyone notice there's been an above average amount of aspersions being cast in this thread in the last day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Still Ill wrote: »
    Anyone notice there's been an above average amount of aspersions being cast in this thread in the last day?

How dare you make such an aspersion.

There are some very Dark Forces at work in this thread......

There are some very Dark Forces at play in this thread......

It was just...BANTER

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 359 ✭✭NeonWolf

Ken in top form today. I was in stitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Verbal broadsides all over the thread....

NeonWolf wrote: »
    Ken in top form today. I was in stitches.

Kacking myself here walking down the road re. Ken's take on Murph's team's promotion.

Crikey, the scour out of Duignan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

It was like Michael Duignan bingo today.

- references the fact that he secretly knew the result all along
    - contradicts himself regularly
    - whinges about the ref
    - makes reference to the fact that he played in the All Ireland and you didn't

He particularly made an eejit of himself with regards to the refs decision. He acknowledged that the ref was right, however, feels the ref should have taken previous (incorrect) decisions into account. I saw alot of that mentality on twitter yesterday, it defies logic. Pointing to an incorrect decisions another ref made in order to justify the ref potentially making another wrong decision yesterday. Classic whataboutery.

I honestly don't know why they have him on. He's like an auld fella blabbering in the pub about the good old days, and telling you about horses he fancies after the horse has won. Painful.

dulux99 wrote: »

He went for a bit of "if you haven't played in an All-Ireland final", and was about 4 to 5 feet down that hole and accellerating before he realised he'd just told the other 3 that their opinions are worthless. Then he frantically started trying to dig up and completely flip-flopped on the red card. But it registered with the lads, there was a subtle shift in the atmosphere.

All I'll say for Deignan is at least he isn't Jackie Tyrrell, maybe he'll be less eager to lunge at every passing media outlet to loudly express his contempt for Tipp hurlers on the hour, every hour. Well, at least until the first week of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It was like Michael Duignan bingo today.

- references the fact that he secretly knew the result all along
    - contradicts himself regularly
    - whinges about the ref

He particularly made an eejit of himself with regards to the refs decision. He acknowledged that the ref was right, however, feels the ref should have taken previous (incorrect) decisions into account. I saw alot of that mentality on twitter yesterday, it defies logic. Pointing to an incorrect decisions another ref made in order to justify the ref potentially making another wrong decision yesterday. Classic whataboutery.

I honestly don't know why they have him on. He's like an auld fella blabbering in the pub about the good old days, and telling you about horses he fancies after the horse has won. Painful.

Well Cheddar Plunkett was going for something similar on the GAA hour..

Even tried to bring up Richie Hogan's tough time with injuries as mitigation..

Honestly

These Leinster hurling sorts can be a bit odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

lawred2 wrote: »
    Well Cheddar Plunkett was going for something similar on the GAA hour..

Even tried to bring up Richie Hogan's tough time with injuries as mitigation..

Honestly

These Leinster hurling sorts can be a bit odd

I'm going off on a tangent but this mentality actually infuriates me. They want a ref to get a decision wrong, because other referees for other decisions wrong. The logic of it is like something a 6 year old would come up with. Two wrongs don't make a right, we learn this very early in life.

Decision yesterday was 100% correct, fellas pointing to other incorrect decisions as potentially a means for it to only be a yellow is just total nonsense.

corwill wrote: »

He went for a bit of "if you haven't played in an All-Ireland final", and was about 4 to 5 feet down that hole and accellerating before he realised he'd just told the other 3 that their opinions are worthless. Then he frantically started trying to dig up and completely flip-flopped on the red card. But it registered with the lads, there was a subtle shift in the atmosphere.

All I'll say for Deignan is at least he isn't Jackie Tyrrell, maybe he'll be less eager to lunge at every passing media outlet to loudly express his contempt for Tipp hurlers on the hour, every hour. Well, at least until the first week of January.

Michael Duignan: Proper Hurling Man

I'm done with listening to him on the pod. Between the nonsense he has spouted on a regular basis in the past, to the connents about the red card on commentary during the game, and then that absolute nonsense on the pod yesterday. I mean at least make your call based on the video evidence being presented to you instead of performing these mental gymnastics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

I don't mind Duignan usually but Jesus he was talking some nonsense Monday. He went off on a tangent about how well some Tipp players played when asked directly about if he thought it was a red card and then eventually came back around and said the ref made the right call. It was non-sensical from the start of the pod. At least if he came out and said that Barrett should have been sent off after striking Hogan as well he might have had some sort of a point, however tenuous but instead it was just rambling nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭RedRochey

Just finished there and jesus that was terrible stuff from Duignan, it's all about himself whenever he's on it

Wouldn't be surprised if there was some bit edited out, he was in the middle of a rant and then next thing he's going on about how good the Tipp players were, very quick change in tone and topic