Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Brilliant interview, for me it just showed how comfortable Ken keeps his surroundings on the podcast. They never, ever have people on who challenge Ken's opinions. I love listening to Ken and never miss a show but he made a bit of a tit of himself during the debate with Nev, especially when he insinuated that only people who know nothing about football would think Mourinho would be successful at United. That was embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Ken was destroyed there. As with Fowler last year, I don't think Neville had much time for Ken's meandering question style. It's almost as if they don't respect what he has to say, given he has no experience within the game. Neville's candour regarding his time at Valencia made for a riveting listen.

Someone has mentioned it already and I agree that Ken needs to spend time going to more matches in the UK rather than seeing everything through the lens of TV broadcasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Had to laugh at Ken bringing up revenue and Gary batting it away by talking about net spend.

Found Gary to be articulate, open and able to defend himself very capably, but he isnt above shutting a question down if he didnt like it (just like Fowler did last year).

Thought the bit on his time at Valencia was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,025 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Apparently there is a new Ken v Gary Nev jingle debuting today. Haven't heard it yet myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Apparently there is a new Ken v Gary Nev jingle debuting today. Haven't heard it yet myself.

Just heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Probably alone in thinking this, but I found Gary to be a bit of a knob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You're not.

You support Liverpool by any chance? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

dulux99 wrote: »

Would just make him right about two things, rather than one.

If he does then will someone let me know so I can have a shower after agreeing with him :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

dulux99 wrote: »
    Nope, not a Liverpool fan! A Leeds fan, so don't really have any "skin in the game" these days! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Didn't seem at all interested in other people's opinion.

Talks loudly when having a discussion, undermining any dissenting voices.

Explains how he failed so completely at managing. His excuses were just laughable, and well rehearsed.

****e interview, listened after seeing so much praise here. I only have myself to blame.

Gary could have taken a dump on stage and he'd probably have got a cheer from the cackling crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

In fairness if he did take a dump on stage it probably would be the most unexpected and stunning event, so I'd hardly blame someone for clapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

God I hate jingles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,584 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I enjoyed the interview with Michael Lyster today. It's easy to just only see him as the presenter of The Sunday Game, but he seems like an interesting guy.

And fecking hell, he's lucky to still be alive! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

I enjoyed the interview with Michael Lyster today. It's easy to just only see him as the presenter of The Sunday Game, but he seems like an interesting guy.

And fecking hell, he's lucky to still be alive! :eek:

yeah it was good.

On a separate note, where's Richie??? No Players Chair in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭PIORUN

God I hate jingles.
    Off the Ball have got in on the act now and have a Clough jingle very similiar to Second Captains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

PIORUN wrote: »
    Off the Ball have got in on the act now and have a Clough jingle very similiar to Second Captains!

pretty much everything Gilroy does is derivative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Enjoyed the live show. Neville was a good guest. He's good craic. Didn't really see this destruction of Ken mentioned above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,584 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    On a separate note, where's Richie??? No Players Chair in ages.

I thought maybe he had taken a break during the World Cup and he's on holidays now or something... But the last episode of The Player's Chair was all the way back on March 20th (Episode #1116). He must be too busy with his 9-to-5 job (which is understandable). I doubt SC have scrapped this podcast.

I count 14 episodes in total of The Player's Chair:
    Paul Kimmage
    Nicole Owen
    Shane Duffy
    Paul Stewart
    Shay Given
    Paul Galvin
    Andrew Trimble
    Mick McCarthy
    David Forde
    Damien Duff
    Anthony Daly
    Niall Quinn
    Brian Kerr
    Sean Dyche

I'd say Richie comes to them when he can. Not much they can do about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

He should take as long as he needs, banal fcuker

Is he still saving Ireland from itself or taking a break from that for a while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Its awful the way he makes you listen to the pods he is on as well.

Awful.

Pter wrote: »
    Its awful the way he makes you listen to the pods he is on as well.

Awful.

For the most part his players chair things have been very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Can't say I've missed Richie one bit, to the extent that I'd more or less forgotten about him being part of the show until people mentioned his name again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Richie tweeted a while back to say the players chair would be back during the new Premier League season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

riemann wrote: »
    All live podcasts sound terrible on podcast.

Shame but I'm not sure they're worth the hassle of going to. I've been to a few (not sc) and it was a good excuse for a few pints but that's about it.

Definitely, I subscribe to about 15 podcasts and it's almost at the stage when they tell me it's a live one I'll delete it without listening to it.
    Haven't listened to Ken V Neville, I'll give that a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Cienciano wrote: »
    Definitely, I subscribe to about 15 podcasts and it's almost at the stage when they tell me it's a live one I'll delete it without listening to it.
    Haven't listened to Ken V Neville, I'll give that a go

The opposite is true of How Did This Get Made?

The live ones are miles better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,560 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The podcasts that work best as live events to listen to are those that recognise that they are different things. 99 Percent Invisible did some great live Pods, West Wing Weekly the same. Even Blindboy has a different approach for live vs. standards pods - they work well. It's when they try to shoe-horn the standard practice approach of a pod into a live event that things can go pear-shaped.