Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭Raoul

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Murph is quite good at filling in for Eoin, he has a nice way about him.

Yeah he is probably better in that role than his usual role. He can't interrupt himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Ken comparing the England refs performance to that of a crèche worker who's unable to cope with the children's screams. F*cking hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Loved the accent attempt too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Raoul wrote: »
    Yeah he is probably better in that role than his usual role. He can't interrupt himself.

Thats the problem with murohs usual role. Eoin is asking ken questions and murph interrupts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Seamy Fitz

They should keep Ken in transit at all times, him getting irritated at the patience of people waiting for that man to put away his sombrero was gas.

Ken's right shoot outs are more fun when a lot of they are missed.

"Eriksen can fly home in shame!"

Ken is on fire 🔥. Talking about Kasper Schmeichal on the flight home from Russia...."I shouldn't be here!!!!"

"Shut your mouth Courtois!" 😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Whats the story with the "For Newstalk 106 sport, I'm Eoin McDevitt" line at the end of the pods ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

threein99 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the "For Newstalk 106 sport, I'm Eoin McDevitt" line at the end end of the pods ?

I think it's just the lads taking the píss because Eoin had that hungover/still a bit under the influence voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Cienciano wrote: »
    I think it's just the lads taking the píss because Eoin had that hungover/still a bit under the influence voice

That was actually him talking on Newstalk ? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

If anyone saw me lose my self control on the dart home this evening; it was 'destroyed the jacks' that did it to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

lawred2 wrote:
    If anyone saw me lose my self control on the dart home this evening; it was 'destroyed the jacks' that did it to me..

I got a good laugh out of that as well, especially when he was speculating about going back there and the possibility of the owner just checking out the toilet as he arrives. Was is just me or did the Eoin and Murph seem a bit overly shocked at this story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭jones

mcgucc22 wrote:
    Was is just me or did the Eoin and Murph seem a bit overly shocked at this story?

Definitely... I don't think they saw that coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

lawred2 wrote: »

It sounds like the work of Marcotti to me. A real Italian job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

They squeezed todays Pod out pretty quick.
    They must have a fair bit to do for the Radio 1 show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭boccy23

They squeezed todays Pod out pretty quick.
    They must have a fair bit to do for the Radio 1 show.

I assume it was recorded yesterday, with all discussions on "today" and "tomorrow".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Yeah, you'd imagine with editing and uploading it had to be done last night. It's fair enough though, not like it was stale and it meant that they recorded two pods yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

do you reckon they would jack it all in going independent, if RTE offered them a full time, peak time, sports show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

do you reckon they would jack it all in going independent, if RTE offered them a full time, peak time, sports show?
    Yes, more secure income and more resources

RTE have enough sports journalists on staff. Even RTE would not waste even more money on more sports staff.
    Cheaper to get the SC crew in on contract to do the show during the quiet summer months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Yes, more secure income and more resources

Depends on what deal was on offer, i think,

I think they have the best of both worlds right now. Contract work with RTE to suit their summer month schedule when the league season is quiet (every second year being an exception) and a day job with 10K paying members each month, generating €600k revenue a year with relatively few overheads.

Right now they are covering whatever they want however they want; i dont know if that would be the case in RTE. I also dont know if the security wouldnt translate into a lack of flexibility.

If i was offered flexi time, i dont know if i would be keen to move back to rigid hours afterwards like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,560 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/594m35/football-is-not-art-and-thats-fine

Ken Early interview on Vice. Fair few f-bombs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

"possibly the world's best football podcast." Is that a widely held opinion across the water?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

Can't wait to hear the reaction to that in 3 days. And before anyone starts we don't all live on Ireland so this "World Service" is piss poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

AfterLife wrote: »
    Can't wait to hear the reaction to that in 3 days. And before anyone starts we don't all live on Ireland so this "World Service" is piss poor.

What ?

AfterLife wrote: »

There are no geo restrictions on a podcast.
    If you are referring to the RTE gig, it's marketed as Second Captains Saturday not "The World Service".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Pleasant surprise for me this morning.:)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I liked Ken giving out about English fans that can't take objective criticism on yesterday's pod, more of the same reaction on the article he did about it this morning.

https://twitter.com/kenearlys/status/1015491433967611904

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

I saw Second Captains referred to as Smug Captains elsewhere on Boards. Does anyone here think the lads are smug? Or see why someone could get that impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

sigmundv wrote: »
    I saw Second Captains referred to as Smug Captains elsewhere on Boards. Does anyone here think the lads are smug? Or see why someone could get that impression.

Ken and Murph are prone to episodes of smugness. Eoin is generally free of it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Yeah Ken seems very sure of himself when talking about football, very know it all, which winds some people up and Murph making smartarsed comments, I can see why some people perceive them as smug.

The main criticism I see thrown at SC and OTB is the laddish banter element, which there is some truth to, but the difference between them is the SC lads are funny, like when that fella said Eoin was amazing, the pisstaking they were doing of it was funny, anytime I hear something similar on OTB it sounds more cringy and forced.