Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Find the players chair the worst part of the new sub, few interesting people but I feel Richie tries to hard and keeps turning things back to him. Would find it much more interesting to hear Eoin or Ken do them. Think I'll give the David Forde one from today a miss

I agree he does bring it back to himself every time, but I think that is a ruse designed to drop the guest's guard and maybe lead them into opening up a bit more.
    I noticed it in the Duffer interview, Richie would ask a question e.g. the car registrations, tell his little bit about his personalised reg, and then Duffer was a bit more willing to share.
    I dunno I am kind of getting a bit bored of Richie, his voice just grates on me and the interviews do seem a little bir repetitive although a large part of that is down to the guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Would find it much more interesting to hear Eoin or Ken do them.

I'd get big terry butcher in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

A techno beat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,865 ✭✭✭Raoul

The jingles have taken their toll on everyone :(. I wish that they didn't bother with them anymore. Annoying every day. And I skip them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Raoul wrote: »
    The jingles have taken their toll on everyone :(. I wish that they didn't bother with them anymore. Annoying every day. And I skip them.

Yeah so much overplay. Some ridiculously long ones too.

You're just a crying, big baby......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

You're just a crying, big baby......

You cannot call a player a baby....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Beersmith wrote: »
    Anyone else wish ken would do a travel pod. Consistently the best material comes from ken going around describing his holidays, match reports, city visits etc

Maybe send him to Las Vegas FOREVER.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Forde comes across as a very intense individual.

What was the point of that nonsense at the end about some eejit supposedly getting a tattoo of Richie on their arse, I'd say those lads are "mad craic altogether" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I found myself not listening half way through... Not sure how long I want listening for. So that one got binned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I'm going have to say it "I love the jingles".

As they all run for around a minute, and the jump function on my podcast player jumps 30 sec intervals, I can skip the parts of the podcasts I am not interested in, and the jingles give me a nice easily recognisably cue that it's safe to listen again.

Invaluable over the last month of marketing tours and even this week when two ladies were on about some event which "sold out the belfield bowl".

David Forde interview was great, some parts clearly exaggerated but always nice to get a different perspective on the game. Massive respect for anyone who gives up the drink.

Pter wrote: »
    This is worse than that time we thought there were ads in the pods when there werent.

That was just you mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Evil_g

Nearly every podcast player has a configurable skip forward button, usually set to skip 30 seconds. The purpose of the jingles is to allow listeners easily skip to the end of a section. They have to be ~sixty seconds long to ensure that they're not skipped over. They're necessary.

I don't know why people don't get this.

[edit] Just saw Riemann's post.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I also love the jingles. The Johnny Cash/Roy Keane/Ken one is great. And I still get a bit teary when they play the Katie Taylor/Blur one or the Robbie Brady one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    I also love the jingles. The Johnny Cash/Roy Keane/Ken one is great. And I still get a bit teary when they play the Katie Taylor/Blur one or the Robbie Brady one.

Ken+Vincent Browne/hairdryer to Jay Z still makes me chuckle.

Evil_g wrote: »
    Nearly every podcast player has a configurable skip forward button, usually set to skip 30 seconds. The purpose of the jingles is to allow listeners easily skip to the end of a section. They have to be ~sixty seconds long to ensure that they're not skipped over. They're necessary.

I don't know why people don't get this.

[edit] Just saw Riemann's post.

Great minds..

corwill wrote: »

Haha me too!

"No no"
    "No no"
    "No no"
    "No noooooo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Would find it much more interesting to hear Eoin or Ken do them.
    I'd get big terry butcher in
    :D Actually Loled in work when I read that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

corwill wrote: »

He never was invited back on, was he?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Was Ken just on talking about football? Or was Vincent hitting him with political stuff?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Think it was about Ferguson retiring, it was around that time anyway.

Was Ken just on talking about football? Or was Vincent hitting him with political stuff?

I think primarily he was on to talk about Beckham's retirement.

edit: it probably was Freguson alrlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,627 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    I think primarily he was on to talk about Beckham's retirement.

Ferguson's, no?

dulpit wrote: »
    Ferguson's, no?

Yeah, you're right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Yeah, you're right.

I wouldnt necessarily agree with anythnig you post foxtrot.

Pter wrote: »
    I wouldnt necessarily agree with anythnig you post foxtrot.

What?...because I'm not a football man? Well, you'd be right not to on this occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I love the way Ken talks 90% resignedly/10% resentfully about how Giles thinks he's a gimp. Tough one to swallow, but, as Ken says, what can he do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,905 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

What?...because I'm not a football man? Well, you'd be right not to on this occasion.

But when it comes to ballroom dancing...

It always struck me as odd that Ken was never present during the Giles chat, we know why now, I was working with an ould lad who didn't like me recently so I can certainly empathise with him!