Boards.ie inaugural Beer Mile 14/6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Dr Q, would you have my time? I think I was somewhere around the 8.30 mark. I didn't have a stopwatch so that's just guess work.
    Thanks for putting in all the work in organising the event. It went very smoothly. Well, as smooth as a race of this nature could ever be. Shoe in for race of the year I'd say. It was going to take something special like this to knock the Dublin Marathon off its perch.

I think I must have confused you with Oregano St? Is your name Mike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

drquirky wrote: »

That's me. 8.40 sounds about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

That's me. 8.40 sounds about right.

Sorry! will edit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Ok- Here is what I have- my chips may be a bit off (precision style) so if you got a different time on your watch let me know and I'll change it...well done to all involved and many thanks to the volunteers!

TRR 1 07:06
    Krusty_Clown 2 07:42
    Running King 3 07:43
    Peckham 4 08:07
    Killerz 5 08:13
    KielyUnusual 6 08:40
    Shels4ever 7 10:01
    Blockic 8 10:07
    Darragh 9 10:17
    Diggerd2d 10 10:21
    RedB 11 10:22
    ClaraLara 1 10:49
    Timmay 12 12:09
    aburke 13 13:00
    Menoscemo 14 13:08
    Yellow Feather 2F 14:25
    Ecoli 15 15:28
    Dean 16 15:52
    Think your chips are off by the standard 2 seconds ;) happy enough with the finishing position with that field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭wideball

I was Paddy last! Fail to prepare, prepare to fail...

I learned I'm a better runner than drinker :P. On my last beer knowing Ecoli had a penalty lap pending, I managed to puke on my last mouthful... So race was on to avoid the wooden spoon. Had a 30m lead but wasn't feeling the love so on the final straight I puked again and Ecoli passed me..

Well done to all for braving the elements which were an endurance test in themselves. Good craic in the pub and to put faces to the names. Cheers to Andy and the rest of the volunteers for making it happen. Congrats to TRR and ClaraLara on their wins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

wideball wrote: »
    I was Paddy last! Fail to prepare, prepare to fail...

I learned I'm a better runner than drinker :P. On my last beer knowing Ecoli had a penalty lap pending, I managed to puke on my last mouthful... So race was on to avoid the wooden spoon. Had a 30m lead but wasn't feeling the love so on the final straight I puked again and Ecoli passed me..

Well done to all for braving the elements which were an endurance test in themselves. Good craic in the pub and to put faces to the names. Cheers to Andy and the rest of the volunteers for making it happen. Congrats to TRR and ClaraLara on their wins

Thank god you stopped. There was not a fear of me catching you otherwise:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Boards.ie inaugural beer mile 8.40 6th place

Had visited the dentist in the morning with a minor toothache and when the anesthetic wore off in the afternoon, it had become a major toothache. Nothing to be done but knock back a few Nurofens and get chugging some beers. I had contemplated dropping out so when I finally did up an leave I was cutting things a bit tight. Called in to three off licences before I finally found my much coveted Mooseheads in the Dunnes on St Stephens Green. I was furtively glancing at my watch the whole Luas trip out but I arrived at the park with about 5 minutes to spare and despite the weather there was a good crowd there and everyone was in good spirits.

We all packed our gear in the tent, very generously supplied by Kurt Godel and having lined up our beers we were given the go ahead by DrQuirky. I had trialled out a few different bottle openers on the Thursday night and went for the Homer Simpson one. It was a good choice. No issues here. First beer went down similar to my training efforts (~40 seconds) and I was off, maybe 7th or 8th to finish drinking. Took it easy on the first lap so I wouldn't be out of breath for the second beer. This one was a bit slower than the first but this was to be expected. Beers were a bit warm as they were shelf beers from the offy. Some froth issues as a result of this but nothing I couldn't cope with. Second lap was a controlled effort too and now I was in to unchartered territory with the third beer. This was going to be the make or break point. Surprised myself with my drinking ability and downed it in a similar time to the second. At this stage I was pretty confident that I would make it without getting sick. I upped the pace a small bit on this lap. Final beer went down with no issues and I gunned it as fast as I could for the last lap, probably about 70 seconds. Done.

Great craic and a must do race for any serious runners out there.

Thanks to all who made this event possible with special mention going to Dr Quirky, Kurt Godel and MarthaStew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Oregano (Darragh) was late, showed up for the 2nd lap I think, but he has his own time definitely.

I'm being fairly pedantic here considering my brutal performance (couldn't force myself to burp!), but anyways, I was 9.23 after 4laps, I didnt get a finishtime but even in my drunken state, there is no way I took 2mins40 for the penalty lap ha! Maybe the video will give a better finishing time.

Absolutely can't wait for the next beermile, I'll have more training done for the next one definitely! I'd suggest the evening of the National T&F ;), would be an epic way to start off what is always the best nightout on the athletics calender, I'd happily help out with organizing it etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Greetings fellow milers.

I pulled together some of Mrs. Killerz' footage from last night's epic. After much messing around and upload heartache, I think this link should work.....

Couple of things - its quite a large file so may not be best viewed on a phone; also the camera had some fail issues as the first runners came in, so apologies for that. Anyhow, enjoy, and let me know if you cant access it for any reason!

Kz

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B95oaZ5iI1ZeTEVfVkJNVVVLcUk/edit?usp=sharing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

I arrive in the background at about the 1:15 mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Just copied below from the log. Some event!

Friday 14th June

National Beer Mile Championship pacman.gif

Chip Time: 10:07
    Result: 8th place

Last Friday, event of the year hands down and I was delighted to be a part of it. I felt good in the lead up as I had the work done having two pretty solid sessions under the belt in the lead up. The aim was to finish with a sub 10 being a bonus.

After sourcing my drink of choice in the city centre (Corona 355ml), I rocked out to the venue with plenty time to spare. I was more nervous than any race I have ran this year, it was the national championships after all, the nerves were bound to set in. wink.png

On arrival the rain started to bucket down and before long we were soaked through, it was like the depths of winter! Good banter before the race including a few strange looks from passers-by as runners, pirates, zombies and the likes were seen loitering in the park with drink, they must have thought we should be locked up, we probably should be.

I brought my “Josh Harris” hat to wear during the race for good luck. The only comparisons I would be able to make with him after the night was out! Couple more minutes hanging around with a few instructions from Dr.Q and we were off.

Gasps of admiration from the crowd as YellowFeather laid down the gauntlet early, followed shortly by pirate. I was not going too bad myself and first beer went down smooth in a PB of 33 seconds.

Took the first lap handy to conserve energy, this was a marathon, not a sprint. Soon back at transition and the second beer was that bit tougher. Downed it in a major increase of 54 seconds. Second lap again was taken steady, burping in full flow. Into the third transition and the sub 10 was slipping away. Digger and CL were behind me at this stage, once I stayed ahead of them, I would have been happy enough. Nothing in training prepares you for the struggle on the third and fourth beers, torture! Started to get numerous stitches at this point so I had to be careful, didn’t get the exact split on the third beer but I reckon it was in around the 1 min mark.

As I commenced the third lap, cheers bellowed out across all of Dublin as meno emptied his stomach! (still denies it!) I passed him in absolute delight with a big scalp in the bag!! biggrin.png

Last beer was a disaster and the game was up, a shocking 1:39 and to make matters worse I saw a nun (RK) lap me as he came into finish, this would never be let down. Definitely the dark horse of the event. I started the last lap in not a bad position with heckles from RunningKing about how a nun with sunglasses had lapped me. frown.png

Instead of kicking on and powering home, the opposite happened. I had to slow to ensure that I wouldn’t throw up, it was a very close call. With 100m to go I knew I’d make it and sprinted home. No time for celebration, only to find a location in preparation to get sick. Probably looked like a dog looking for a place to take a sh!te! Soon I saw digger looking for a similar spot. Thankfully it didn’t come to pass but it took a good 20minutes before the nausea disappeared and St. John’s ambulance gave me the all clear biggrin.pngwink.png

Happy to get a couple of scalps including some of the favourites in the lead up, ecoli and meno. The prior having a horrific day at the office. What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger. smile.png

Great banter in the pub after with the highlights being the looks of shock and horror from the locals as we walked in soaked to the skin as they watched the golf! Also, the instant conversion of the lad’s toilets to a changing room. TRR was very modest in the victory speech wink.png as he saw the cup finally coming home after 3 years of hurt! A pirate never forgets. Gutted I declined the autograph after too. Next time. pacman.gif

The evening managed to even surpass the big hype and build up and without doubt was a great success. A big thanks to Dr.Q for putting in all the work and to MS, Pconn, Kurt and all the other volunteers and supporters for making it all happen. Can’t wait until the next one, those 7 seconds will eat at me until then.

Could maybe even start a series based on the park run project! Beer run! pacman.gif

It is simple, If you fail to prepare, prepare to fail. Back to just running until then I suppose frown.png

Splits: Beer/Lap

0:33 / 1:24
    0:54 / 1:31
    1:04 / 1:34
    1:39 / 1:28

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

blockic wrote: »
    Just copied below from the log. Some event!

Friday 14th June

National Beer Mile Championship pacman.gif

Chip Time: 10:07
    Result: 8th place

Last Friday, event of the year hands down and I was delighted to be a part of it. I felt good in the lead up as I had the work done having two pretty solid sessions under the belt in the lead up. The aim was to finish with a sub 10 being a bonus.

After sourcing my drink of choice in the city centre (Corona 355ml), I rocked out to the venue with plenty time to spare. I was more nervous than any race I have ran this year, it was the national championships after all, the nerves were bound to set in. wink.png

On arrival the rain started to bucket down and before long we were soaked through, it was like the depths of winter! Good banter before the race including a few strange looks from passers-by as runners, pirates, zombies and the likes were seen loitering in the park with drink, they must have thought we should be locked up, we probably should be.

I brought my “Josh Harris” hat to wear during the race for good luck. The only comparisons I would be able to make with him after the night was out! Couple more minutes hanging around with a few instructions from Dr.Q and we were off.

Gasps of admiration from the crowd as YellowFeather laid down the gauntlet early, followed shortly by pirate. I was not going too bad myself and first beer went down smooth in a PB of 33 seconds.

Took the first lap handy to conserve energy, this was a marathon, not a sprint. Soon back at transition and the second beer was that bit tougher. Downed it in a major increase of 54 seconds. Second lap again was taken steady, burping in full flow. Into the third transition and the sub 10 was slipping away. Digger and CL were behind me at this stage, once I stayed ahead of them, I would have been happy enough. Nothing in training prepares you for the struggle on the third and fourth beers, torture! Started to get numerous stitches at this point so I had to be careful, didn’t get the exact split on the third beer but I reckon it was in around the 1 min mark.

As I commenced the third lap, cheers bellowed out across all of Dublin as meno emptied his stomach! (still denies it!) I passed him in absolute delight with a big scalp in the bag!! biggrin.png

Last beer was a disaster and the game was up, a shocking 1:39 and to make matters worse I saw a nun (RK) lap me as he came into finish, this would never be let down. Definitely the dark horse of the event. I started the last lap in not a bad position with heckles from RunningKing about how a nun with sunglasses had lapped me. frown.png

Instead of kicking on and powering home, the opposite happened. I had to slow to ensure that I wouldn’t throw up, it was a very close call. With 100m to go I knew I’d make it and sprinted home. No time for celebration, only to find a location in preparation to get sick. Probably looked like a dog looking for a place to take a sh!te! Soon I saw digger looking for a similar spot. Thankfully it didn’t come to pass but it took a good 20minutes before the nausea disappeared and St. John’s ambulance gave me the all clear biggrin.pngwink.png

Happy to get a couple of scalps including some of the favourites in the lead up, ecoli and meno. The prior having a horrific day at the office. What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger. smile.png

Great banter in the pub after with the highlights being the looks of shock and horror from the locals as we walked in soaked to the skin as they watched the golf! Also, the instant conversion of the lad’s toilets to a changing room. TRR was very modest in the victory speech wink.png as he saw the cup finally coming home after 3 years of hurt! A pirate never forgets. Gutted I declined the autograph after too. Next time. pacman.gif

The evening managed to even surpass the big hype and build up and without doubt was a great success. A big thanks to Dr.Q for putting in all the work and to MS, Pconn, Kurt and all the other volunteers and supporters for making it all happen. Can’t wait until the next one, those 7 seconds will eat at me until then.

Could maybe even start a series based on the park run project! Beer run! pacman.gif

It is simple, If you fail to prepare, prepare to fail. Back to just running until then I suppose frown.png

Splits: Beer/Lap

0:33 / 1:24
    0:54 / 1:31
    1:04 / 1:34
    1:39 / 1:28
    It's funny cant remember passing you during the race must have been during beer 4 I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

shels4ever wrote: »
    It's funny cant remember passing you during the race must have been during beer 4 I guess.

Yep it was during the last beer, where the term nursing it would be a fairly accurate description!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

menoscemo wrote: »
    In the home straight I caught the epic sprint off for 2nd place between Krusty and Runningking.

This is possibly the only time I'll see that sentence :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Some fabulous drinking, guys. And some good running too. Sounds like the event of the year alright. Had hoped to make it out but some last minute family stuff ended the dream. Well done all.

National Beer Mile Championships.

Position:3rd (1st Nun)
    Time: 7:43

My preparation for this event was very poor, normally before key races, I'm well prepared, but in this event, the prep wasn't there, just 1 training run on Thursday evening.
    Made the long trek over to the event, Bus & Luas - nice of KC to meet us at the Luas as I'd have never found the place. (Thanks!)

By the time we got to the track, we were like drowned rats, but there was a race to be ran.

Got the race gear on - I had gone for the 'technical material Habit' and the 'Velcro Veil' - both available in specialty Running Shops. Like all good Nuns, I had the yellow shades on.

Strode up to the start line - a key piece of information here was to put your beer in a place you'd remember. So, placed my Corona Extra well back from the crowd.
    The start was a bit manic, everyone was like 'do I open the beer 1st or start the garmin?' - I went off too fast I think with the 1st beer, down in about 16 seconds (going by the film clip).
    Off running - surprised to see Yellow Feather in the lead for the 1st 300m followed by the Pirate and the Clown.

2nd beer was a bit more balanced in 27 seconds. The heavy breathing wasn't helping. If you check the clip, you'll see similar drinking styles with 1 arm on hip as the beer was drank. such posers.

Lap 2 came and went, bit of a burping blur - but the burping was key. I think the ferocity of my burping caused KC to look behind at 1 stage.
    3rd Beer in about 33 seconds.
    Lap 3 was about keeping it together, dont go too fast or the last beer might not stay in. Get as many burps out. Made it around in one piece.
    4th Beer was about 40 seconds I reckon. Gave me a slight advantage on KC.
    TRR was well ahead, so I was running on my own on the last lap.

At this stage, the 4 beers were kicking in as I was questioning if there was 1 more lap or if this was the final lap.
    I heard footsteps behind me and knew it was KC.

For some stupid reason, I didn't kick on when he was near, I waited too long. I tried to kick, but my race gear was proving troublesome. The leg kick was being impeded and the wetness of my Habit was an issue.
    Tried to kick on, hiking it up a bit, really trying to catch him but he got there just a second ahead of me.

Obviously I didn't run fast enough as there was no retching today!!

As I was finished and had caught my breath, Blockic was on his last beer - I was trying to motivate him to push on with some positive words :)

So - right now, I have over 7 mins PB in the mile over Ecoli. I'll take that!!

Thanks to see the volunteers out, great vocal support from everyone (heard MS very clearly every lap)!.
    Thanks to Mrs Killerz for the video and Mr Killerz for the production (even if the music was dodgy!).

Great night in the pub afterwards.
    Great event - great people.

Thanks DrQ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Thanks to Mrs Killerz for the video and Mr Killerz for the production (even if the music was dodgy!).....

Music was intentionally dodgy and tongue-in-cheek ;)
    Loved your outfit - magnificent stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

2nd beer was a bit more balanced in 27 seconds. The heavy breathing wasn't helping. If you check the clip, you'll see similar drinking styles with 1 arm on hip as the beer was drank. such posers.

It looks like the National I'm a Little Tea Pot Championships.

Rushed my report.

Meant to say - well done to the Pirate - an example of practice prevailing. You get out what you put in.

Also - people are saying that Meno got sick - I don't believe them, I think it was just a bit of froth???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Great stuff guys.

Surprised slightly with the result. I'd have put my money on ecoli or Timaaay to come out on top given their experience and I thought meno would be a dark horse. Seems like they all had shockers. TRR talked himself down in the press beforehand. Had us all believing he was a no hoper (mind games?). Not surprised that Krusty recorded a good one tbh given his beer accolades.

Looked like immense fun. Fair play to you all for doing it and great organising to get the idea up and running and to gain momentum. It will make the next ones easier to organise now I'm sure. Hopefully I'll get to run one with you all at some point in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    TRR talked himself down in the press beforehand. Had us all believing he was a no hoper (mind games?).

I have been accused of sandbagging but I didn't think I had a chance until the night before when I did my final chugging session and then I wrote the following.
    TRR wrote: »
    Actually enjoyed the corona and am going to bring 4 of them as back up and see what the consensus is tomorrow night as I reckon I can down them quicker than the moose head stuff. I'm in it to win it ;)

Now if that is talking oneself down or sandbagging then I'd hate to see a bit of prerace confidence!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I was looking at the video of the beer race and I was like, where the hell is TRR? I know he won but there was no sign of him in the clip. Until I noticed a familiar running gait..........A pirate costume, what Da fcuk??? Bizarrely hilarious.
    If I drank I'd have been all over that race, looked like great craic. Although had the Gardai happened by it could've gotten messy. Lads dressed as nuns being chased across a field by the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

tunguska wrote: »
    I was looking at the video of the beer race and I was like, where the hell is TRR? I know he won but there was no sign of him in the clip. Until I noticed a familiar running gait..........A pirate costume, what Da fcuk??? Bizarrely hilarious.
    If I drank I'd have been all over that race, looked like great craic. Although had the Gardai happened by it could've gotten messy. Lads dressed as nuns being chased across a field by the cops.
    You missed a trick there Tunguska:
    http://www.beermile.com/records?ref=beer&beertype=Milk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

that was a great production, whoever put it together and Jimmy whoever he is, is very cute altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Peckham

8:07, 4th place

Wrote this last weekend, but it’s been sitting on my desktop since then.

An incredible event on so many different levels. Before going any further it’s important to note the great work by DrQuirky in pulling this one together – lots of running karma going his way!

As I work close enough to the venue of this challenge, I decided despite the miserable conditions to run to the track, stopping off in the supermarket on the way to pick up some beer. I hadn’t fully decided on my choice of beer, but despite doing all training on Coors Light I decided that I needed to get a beer that met the official criteria in terms of volume and strength. In other words I was hunting out a beer I had never even heard of until a few days previously – Moosehead – my first ever taste of which would be on the startline

Got soaked on the run from work to Dunnes Stores, where I arrived with almost an hour until race start and was only a mile away. After a few minutes perusing their limited selection of chilled beers I decided to take some Moosehead off the shelf and stick it in the fridge whilst I went off to kill
    time and buy a bottle opener. Bottle opener found I retrieved the Moosehead which had dropped in temperature from room temperature to a little bit below room temperature, and still far too warm.

The prospect of walking the remaining distance to the track in the torrential rain was not particularly appealing, so I decided to wait for a bus which didn’t show up for about 10 minutes. Time was now tight, and not helped by missing the bus stop marked on the map, but it turns out the next bus stop was actually closer to the track so my fears of a DNS were not realised.

Was relieved to see a huddle of cold, apprehensive but good humoured boardsies standing under the trees, and good to catch up with a few I hadn’t seen in a while, and put some faces and real names to usernames.

Soon we were on the track where it was a bit surreal to see a pirate and a nun doing a warm-up and strides. Shortly afterwards we were provided with our race and transition area instructions.

Just before the off I realised that my bottle opener was rubbish and wouldn’t open the beer cap. The start went as I stood there fiddling around with the opener. Someone threw their bottle opener on the ground, and I picked that up only to realise they had discarded theirs for the same reason I discarded mine. Was still looking for a bottle opener as TRR finished his beer went past me and was gone.

Third last off the start line, not good. In my frantic efforts to open the beer I had forgotten to start my Garmin, so no splits available.

Went like a greyhound out of the start (at least that’s what it felt like!), and passed a few people as I let rip a few satisfying belches. Was running behind shels into the transition as he slowed down to walking pace, and I figured he was taking a good strategy to face into that next beer with a steady breathing rhythm. It worked and the second beer went down very easily and I picked up a good few places during that beer.

Next few laps consisted of easy drinking and belching and picked up a few more positions. On the final beer I thought I saw Krusty and RunningKing struggling and thought I’d have a chance to close some ground on them, but not to be and those two put in a flyer of a last lap. Finished in 4th, and was hoping it was sub-8, but not to be. There’ll be other days with better bottle openers!

The pub afterwards was as enjoyable as the race itself. The beer got absorbed into the blood system during the walk to the pub, and everyone in great form despite being like drowned rats.

Moment of the night for me was the reactions from the regular pub punters as they came into the toilet to find a dozen drunk, wet men in various states of undress with the banter flowing.

Unfortunately I had to leave around 11 to make the journey home, and sounds like I missed some craic. Looking forward to the next one already! Stocking up on the Moosehead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I was wondering what the hell you were doing for the first 20 seconds of that video. It was quite comical! Equipment failure is no excuse. Do you think a pole-vaulter would enter a national event without ever having had a practice run with his pole? Shockingly poor judgement. ;)

That would also explain why I picked up two bottle openers after the event. Still a mystery how I recovered four pristine untouched bottles of Moosehead together in a cardboard carton. Possible stewards inquiry? Unfortunately the evidence has now disappeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Peckham

Still a mystery how I recovered four pristine untouched bottles of Moosehead together in a cardboard carton. Possible stewards inquiry? Unfortunately the evidence has now disappeared.

:p There was a lot of Moosehead floating around, and I think some people had difficulty identifying their bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭wideball

Peckham wrote: »
    :p There was a lot of Moosehead floating around, and I think some people had difficulty identifying their bottles.

I had a 6 pack of Moosehead and after puking twice after drinking the regulation 4 beers, I hadn't the heart to keep the two spare ones.... In the bin they went, banishing the bad memories :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I was wondering what the hell you were doing for the first 20 seconds of that video. It was quite comical! Equipment failure is no excuse. Do you think a pole-vaulter would enter a national event without ever having had a practice run with his pole? Shockingly poor judgement. ;)

Haha, I just had to check the video again to see and it is gas!! Peckham, you seem to have been 'practising' opening the beer before the gun went off and to have thrown the opener away; then you proceed to pick it back up in a panic, fail to open the beer before throwing it away for a 2nd time!!
    I thought my first open was bad but you lost at least 25 seconds on that first open!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

That video is hilarious. Brilliant effort by all involved. It sounds like a great race and night was had. I was raging I missed it but I'm determined to get myself fit and ready to take on all comers - be they pirates, clowns or nuns, in next years championships.:P:P