Boards.ie inaugural Beer Mile 14/6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Peckham wrote: »
    Will be buying the beer in Dunnes en-route to the race and will be going with whatever takes my fancy at the time.

You're a maverick mr Peckham. The Steve Prefontaine of beer miling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

TRR wrote: »
    Actually enjoyed the corona and am going to bring 4 of them as back up and see what the consensus is tomorrow night as I reckon I can down them quicker than the moose head stuff. I'm in it to win it ;)

Jesus, you're such a homo ;)

blockic wrote: »

Jasis TRR did you not just get that Moosehead case last night...tearing through it!

I've two young kids at home so when I get a chance to get out I need to be sure I can stay out after the beer mile. Have been training for that, this week too :) Can't for this beer mile to be over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

TRR wrote: »
    I've two young kids at home

I'll say nothing :eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Have fun boys and girl. Whenever, wherever this may be!

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Jesus, you're such a homo ;)

Agreed

Have fun boys and girl. Whenever, wherever this may be!

You not doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Timmaay wrote: »
    20baveria just purchased for 13euro, or 65cent each! Bargain! Now to chug 16 of them for some training tonight :p

Hmm warm Bav, brings me back to my teenage years. Not good at all. What was the recommended temp again, can't be arsed reading the full thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Hmm warm Bav, brings me back to my teenage years. Not good at all. What was the recommended temp again, can't be arsed reading the full thread.

Hate to break the bad news I think that Bav is only 4.7.

and? how serious are we going about the %? Or wait no, it tastes like cr$p anyways, only 13squid wasted, Ok I'll grab something else tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Corona is 4.6% - plenty on that tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I could be slipping down the betting, bought 6 of these earlier (355ml; 5.2%):
    beer_528.jpg

So it turns out that Brooklyn Lager has a rating of 90 on ratebeer (remember that Corona was rated 1 and Coors light 0 ) which makes it a pretty good beer.
    After initial 'testing' I enjoyed the taste and now I have none left for the beer mile tomorrow. Looks like I will be scrapping my Plan D beer and going back to my plan C Beer (Corona Extra).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Meanwhile I've just had 2 glasses of wine, viewing it like strides the day before a marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Lads I think the lot of ye are over-thinking this. I've just watched the Josh Harris video and I'm good to go. Well, I still have to buy my beers tomorrow...

I'm looking forward to meeting all of you. I feel a bit jilted that I haven't been included on the odds, but I supposed most of you haven't seen me at all yet, not to mind know if I'm any good at running and/or drinking.

We'll find out on the 'morrow, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Lads I think the lot of ye are over-thinking this. I've just watched the Josh Harris video and I'm good to go. Well, I still have to buy my beers tomorrow...

I'm looking forward to meeting all of you. I feel a bit jilted that I haven't been included on the odds, but I supposed most of you haven't seen me at all yet, not to mind know if I'm any good at running and/or drinking.

We'll find out on the 'morrow, eh?

I'm expecting a good first 400m out of you anyway! :P

Ha Oregano I was thinking the same thing, everyone going over the top, but after reading here, was guilt tripped into doing some specific training for it tonight, great craic, if only I started this last week! Might try bunk off work for an early lunch and get in afew more bottles! But yeh, Josh Harris video is very good, defo helps!

pconn062 wrote: »
    I'm expecting a good first 400m out of you anyway! :P

Hmm naaay suicide, even for a 400 dude like him ha, save it for the end!

And your not in the odds because everyone knows sprinters cant run distance for sh&te :P

Hmm naaay suicide, even for a 400 dude like him ha, save it for the end!

And your not in the odds because everyone knows sprinters cant run distance for sh&te :P

Ho-oh, that's fighting talk! I'm good for 800m anyway. My plan is to make it to beer three in one piece and start racing then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Best of luck this evening to all. You've put together a ripper of a thread so you should all be very proud. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Epic thread- over 14,000 views in about 50 days! must be some kind of record, shower of pi$$ ARTist's:D

Still hoping to make it later minus any drink training or interval training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Your problem Oregano_State (if that's even your real name) is that you're just not taking this seriously enough. Does this count as an ultra sprint for you? I'd say you'll be lucky to finish within a minute of the winner.

<Brian, put me down for €2 on Oregano_state at 25/1>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Best of luck to everyone doing this, if the reports are anything like the build-up there'll be some great reading ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Best ART thread ever. A world record holder's even getting in on the act. Somebody has to record this.

Your problem Oregano_State (if that's even your real name) is that you're just not taking this seriously enough. Does this count as an ultra sprint for you? I'd say you'll be lucky to finish within a minute of the winner.

<Brian, put me down for €2 on Oregano_state at 25/1>

I'm looking at this race as the great unknown. I plan to go off at a sensible enough pace, but I have a tendency to lose the rag with pacing so I could blow up (due to fitness and/or spewing) at any point from 800m on. Let's hope that doesn't happen.

I practised my downing technique with an over-volume bottle of water this morning. It went down smoothly. Contemplating doing a beer at race pace at about 5 o'clock this evening to get the systems acclimatised.

I think all those who have been chugging nightly for the past week may suffer from the cumulative stress on the system of processing all that alcohol.

If I'm still in the mix with a lap to go anything could happen!

(is anyone actually betting on the race btw?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

+1 this is a classic epic thread. am sooo jealous im not competing but looking forward to next year already when i can hopefully run a bit faster and drink a lot faster!!! best of luck to all running and spewing! hope someone will be able to remember the event well enough to post a good report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

Ososlo wrote: »
    +1 this is a classic epic thread. am sooo jealous im not competing but looking forward to next year already when i can hopefully run a bit faster and drink a lot faster!!! best of luck to all running and spewing! hope someone will be able to remember the event well enough to post a good report!

Surely we wont have to wait that long? September anyone?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

when does this start? Might be able to pop along and cheer/gawk/laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

when does this start? Might be able to pop along and cheer/gawk/laugh
    /help out :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

drquirky wrote: »
    /help out :eek:

if belly-laughing helps, then yes :)

Thought it was in TCD, cant make the other place for that time.

Pity, I had half-baked plans to make a video on my phone, set it to the chariots of fire music and upload it to drinkaware.ie.

Another idea was to set it to the 1812 overture finale, with cuts to people spewing replacing the cannons :D

Good luck everyone. As this has gotten closer im getting more p*ssed off that im missing it. Great thread too...

Just a note, my name is Dave. If any body who I haven't met before introduces themselves using their boards handle later this evening I will punch you in the face.