Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Frazz say someone had 10k of shares with glanbia 10 yrs ago, what are they worth today and what divident would they have received. Curious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Frazz say someone had 10k of shares with glanbia 10 yrs ago, what are they worth today and what divident would they have received. Curious!

Don't do it to yourself Kev!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

10000 shares
    2005 glanbia PLC 2.50 ,,,,,25000e. now 17 e ,,,,,170000e
    1998 50cents?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

milkprofit wrote: »
    2005 glanbia PLC 2.50 ,,,,,2500e. now 17 e ,,,,,17000e
    1998 50cents?????

Some very lucky farmers around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Got a letter here the other day saying I need to spend another €14k on shares if I want to produce the same amount of milk as last yr. Have already spent €9.5k on shares two yrs ago. Feelin a bit hard done by, most of the shares were given out in my coop between 2002 and 2006, based on milk supplied in those yrs. Had a depopulation with BSE in 2002 here, and only went back milking cows at a reduced rate 2 yrs later, took me 3 yrs to get cow numbers back up to pre BSE levels, therefore missing out on most of the shares. Would I have case for force majeur?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Got a letter here the other day saying I need to spend another €14k on shares if I want to produce the same amount of milk as last yr. Have already spent €9.5k on shares two yrs ago. Feelin a bit hard done by, most of the shares were given out in my coop between 2002 and 2006, based on milk supplied in those yrs. Had a depopulation with BSE in 2002 here, and only went back milking cows at a reduced rate 2 yrs later, took me 3 yrs to get cow numbers back up to pre BSE levels, therefore missing out on most of the shares. Would I have case for force majeur?

Surely.

Can't be too many in your position. A longer period to achieve the required number would seem reasonable to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Surely, did your milk manager have any idea? Would you need it straight away? In dairygold they take 0.5c/l off you until your up to minimum shareholding

10000 shares
    1998 50cents?????
    I take everything back i said about glanbia, where do i sign:$)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

10000 shares
    1998 50cents?????
    whats the story though if you go to sell, is it 40% cgt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

whelan2 wrote: »
    whats the story though if you go to sell, is it 40% cgt?

33%. A lot less than income tax. Why would you sell unless you seriously needed the money now. By not selling now the cgt you don't pay now will still be there in shares gaining value into the future.

no not selling, they are to pay for kids college-hopefully- was just asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

10000 shares
    1998 50cents?????

I always say im right even when it appears im wrong, around 04 or 05 I suggested that carbery should buy glanbia at a coop board meeting and was laughed out of it.the reason I remember was that glanbia shares were 2.50 at the time.i must admit at the time the property values were part of my thinking but it sure looks like it would have been a good move

10000 shares
    1998 50cents?????

The value of your shares can go up and down look at fbd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

we sold our shares last time and it was the best move ever,we bought entitlements instead, we now get a payment every year and have them to sell if we want, share value you have to increase a dam lot to justify keeping them here. but then again some one here will tell me diff.

the money mentor's article in the farmers journal this week is about selling glanbia shares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

I know more now about a co-op I,m not involved in (glanbia) than my own one, would it be worth while starting a new thread for those glanbia folk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

the money mentor's article in the farmers journal this week is about selling glanbia shares

Most of these idiots don't have a clue what they are talking about, paper never refused ink.

There was a story posted on here before the first Glanbia vote saying that the share was vastly overvalued (I think it was 7 something at the time) and that the real value of Glanbia was around 2.50. Thing is this was just a regular jackass behind a computer screen, answerable to nobody, yet giving his opinion like he was Warren bloody Buffett.

You've got to follow your own instincts, or Warren's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

The value of your shares can go up and down look at fbd

And what happened in the board room

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

so lads do you overall own less valus shares after the spin out? and why was all the headlines in papers and stuff saying glanbia farmers in big cash windfall and all that crap?

keep going wrote: »
    I always say im right even when it appears im wrong, around 04 or 05 I suggested that carbery should buy glanbia at a coop board meeting and was laughed out of it.the reason I remember was that glanbia shares were 2.50 at the time.i must admit at the time the property values were part of my thinking but it sure looks like it would have been a good move

We'd be on the pigs back now with milk price :)

so lads do you overall own less valus shares after the spin out? and why was all the headlines in papers and stuff saying glanbia farmers in big cash windfall and all that crap?

225 plc shares valued at c&4000 for every 1000 co op shares and only loosing 76 co op shares. Wouldn't be crap in my world.

Jepers i was wondering why ye were so secretive! Donthey pay a divident also frazz? We wont see the colour of it unless a takeover happens, is it true one farmer has a million euros worth of shares?

The spin out was very well publicised so no secret.

Regarding individual share holding I've no idea of people's holding. The underlying value of a co op share is €55 or so but that would involve a take over or complete sale. This is based on total value of plc divided by co op shares.

So yes some would be very wealthy

Yes Dividend paid, happens to be co ops income

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 glanroy

Stratroy down to 29.5c now . Not good at all.

glanroy wrote: »
    Stratroy down to 29.5c now . Not good at all.

Is that base?
    Is that first drop?
    We're all hoping for an end to this

Thats base plus vat plus whatever bonus on top. So you could get 31.5 then with scc bonus and tbc and fat and protein .E200 less in other levies as well compared to the last co-oop.

They dropped it 1c from march as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

They dropped it 1c from march as well.

there was no drop in strathroy milk price in march .

there was no drop in strathroy milk price in march

I know that . I said from march , which means there was only a drop in April

there was no drop in strathroy milk price in march

I know that . I said from march , which means there was only a drop in April

Isv29.5 for may milk?