Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Cull cows and bull calves can and will be a lot more than an insignificant bi product in low milk price phase.cant understand how lads not heavily stocked and with out blocks etc don't get weight onto them to increase value.rolled barley and line frazz Is doing,let them follow calves etc will pile weight on them.lads paying crazy money for them at moment

What would you feed them MJ? Ours big girls will carry weight and no shortage of grass

60 fr bulls here as well will be sold in oct off grass. Was offered 120 at 5 weeks and with the best part if a bag of powder in them I said no way. Kept 40 last year that we were bid €25 for and sold off field last Oct for €410 its mad Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,725 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

What would you feed them MJ? Ours big girls will carry weight and no shortage of grass

60 fr bulls here as well will be sold in oct off grass. Was offered 120 at 5 weeks and with the best part if a bag of powder in them I said no way. Kept 40 last year that we were bid €25 for and sold off field last Oct for €410 its mad Ted

Sure is,for the culls a couple of kg rolled barley ,cheap and up or lower amount as to how much you want to push them,once dried up they'll pile on weight ,make sure and use dry cow and sealer and do for flies every few weeks as summer mastitis or E. coli would be a threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Ya i got 5 summer mastitis cases last year essential for pour on and sealer! I have a few high scc, gona put 3-4 late heifer calves on each, never done it before but its the same as milk in the tank for 4-5 weeks. I have a lad with me due to the babies so may have him doing it as walking around the yard!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

A lad I buy the bull calves off left off the last of his calves the weekend as I hadn't time to collect. I have 2 smashing fr heifers in the pen. Rang him and he says its too much trouble to take them back as he has them transferred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,131 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Cull cows and bull calves can and will be a lot more than an insignificant bi product in low milk price phase.cant understand how lads not heavily stocked and with out blocks etc don't get weight onto them to increase value.rolled barley and line frazz Is doing,let them follow calves etc will pile weight on them.lads paying crazy money for them at moment

The bottom third of the herd here are getting ai'd to Belgian blue, having 30 odd calves at 300 plus euro a pop to go with in the spring will be badly needed by the look of things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

As bad as that is for established enterprises, it's going to be some baptism of fire for new entrants

If there coming from tillage or sucklers they will be used of living on a shoestring budget .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Money's in the bank account this morning, but statement not up on Glanbia connect yet.
    Teething problems I would think.
    april statements on line now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

The way I see it.
    There are stocks of dairy ingredients building up across Europe and this will put downward pressure on prices for the immediate future.
    However Europe is in a good position to trade this stock because of forex rates.

Thing is...in a depreciating market all players hold their breath not wanting to jump in.
    Interesting times. :)

Opportunities will present themselves. :)

Dawggone wrote: »
    The way I see it.
    There are stocks of dairy ingredients building up across Europe and this will put downward pressure on prices for the immediate future.
    However Europe is in a good position to trade this stock because of forex rates.

Thing is...in a depreciating market all players hold their breath not wanting to jump in.
    Interesting times. :)

Opportunities will present themselves. :)
    Long live the crisis in Greece !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Long live the crisis in Greece !!!!

Totally different issue Mahoney...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Only cleared out the passengers at end of calving. All culls were sold last fall.

Will sell next week We have sales targets to meet and these value needs to be maxed with the low milk price

Ur a plucky man to have kept culls until now with the price store cows have been making for the last few mnths. One rule of thumb with me and finishing dry cows was to have them gone by the end of June, factories nearly always tend to pull dry cow price around that time and July is summer mastitis time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

sold two cull cows last night out of the parlour avg 620kg avg price E840 still good money but the heat is going out of them now as what they were like a month ago for the same heard word factories cut 10c kg yest morning any truth sin that would seem a few weeks early??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Ur a plucky man to have kept culls until now with the price store cows have been making for the last few mnths. One rule of thumb with me and finishing dry cows was to have them gone by the end of June, factories nearly always tend to pull dry cow price around that time and July is summer mastitis time.

Was told once upon a time that cull cow price is driven in April/May by the demand by the French tourist industry for beef across the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Still going the one way
    GDT -2.2%
    http://bit.ly/1EZbCGW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭farmer lad

Any word what dairygold paying for Aprils milk? Was decided yesterday but heard nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

farmer lad wrote: »
    Any word what dairygold paying for Aprils milk? Was decided yesterday but heard nothing?

Didn't hear. Dairygold lads more interested in what Arrabawn paying. Two more gone this week. Arrabawn doing a good job in keeping the wolf from the door.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

The more the merrier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Didn't hear. Dairygold lads more interested in what Arrabawn paying. Two more gone this week. Arrabawn doing a good job in keeping the wolf from the door.:D

But is Arrabawn not playing the long cute game. Arrabawn can give any price they want in 12 months time. It's going to be very hard for any farmer to go back to Dairygold or Glanbia having to share up or sign contracts.

well its fair game glanbia and dairygold were plamausing suppliers here with theyre shiny new processing plant, it would take alot more (price) than buns and tea to swing me! C ryan is playing a blinder imo

kevthegaff wrote: »
    well its fair game glanbia and dairygold were plamausing suppliers here with theyre shiny new processing plant, it would take alot more (price) than buns and tea to swing me! C ryan is playing a blinder imo

One question, what were Arabawn at when the price was high last year?

Well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Ah but the backs weren't to d wall then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Still going the one way
    GDT -2.2%
    http://bit.ly/1EZbCGW
    From what i heard, the amount of product going through the GDT auctions are well down on last year as more was being bought directly from processors so the importance of the GDT figures may be somewhat overstated.

Also, don't Fonterra usually 'dump' product this time of year to reduce our peak prices?

Kev,mulumphy .do ye remember that shiny one page document with a list of promises that we received in February at the height of the talk of suppliers switching,points 2 and 5 already Brocken in very sneaky fashion at last weeks board meeting and no word or explanation To us suppliers .ammounted to over 0.6 cent per litre on our milk cheque .hope I'm wrong but think we're running out of steam and haven't the cash in bank to support milk price through the next few months of what could be a very challenging time.we have a poor history re milk price,been good for last year in fairness but had a lot to do with angry suppliers threatening to leave with legitimate concerns ,they needed to be kept sweet,kept me sweet for now and I staid ,many left but now feel a tad peeved that promises are been Brocken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭arctic8dave

farmer lad wrote: »

Holding at 30c/l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,131 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Kev,mulumphy .do ye remember that shiny one page document with a list of promises that we received in February at the height of the talk of suppliers switching,points 2 and 5 already Brocken in very sneaky fashion at last weeks board meeting and no word or explanation To us suppliers .ammounted to over 0.6 cent per litre on our milk cheque .hope I'm wrong but think we're running out of steam and haven't the cash in bank to support milk price through the next few months of what could be a very challenging time.we have a poor history re milk price,been good for last year in fairness but had a lot to do with angry suppliers threatening to leave with legitimate concerns ,they needed to be kept sweet,kept me sweet for now and I staid ,many left but now feel a tad peeved that promises are been Brocken.

Could be worse got 8 k of a super levy deducted from April cheque without any notice after milk manager took us up wrong when we where talking on phone a month back, then had a major job getting money back with a compliment being made out of it their was some serious words had with the shower of wasters

brother was saying it was an error in the system, better get it nxt month! Ya between shares and superlevy bill, things are gona be tight with the price going one way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Aurivo paying 30.5

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Lads sorry for posting in this thread but re the glanbia spin out, what happens now that it got passed at the sgm?

Jack I posted an example if the amount of shares in Dairy general I think.

Basically you'll be issued with plc shares and have some coop cancelled. Some one may be able to retrieve post, that right Kovu?;);)