Today I'm wearing... ***NO quoting photos***

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Bought this on the bay from Athens, and with the day that's in it thought I'd post it. I know it's not perfect, black/blue bezel is probably not original and doesn't rotate. But there is a rumour some were sold in Australia with this combination. Keeping good time as my Sunday Seiko. No cow****e for this baby!

354244.JPG

893bet, that's terrible, spending that much on a service and getting a watch back not working properly. I think you should name and shame on here so the rest of us can avoid.

Wibbs if you could do the magic that would be great, thanks.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭janiejones

Wearing my questionable Seiko off the bay. Gone with a very loud Orange NATO which does match the chronograph but will have to be subbed for something more sedate soon

354464.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭893bet

blue5000 wrote: »
    893bet, that's terrible, spending that much on a service and getting a watch back not working properly. I think you should name and shame on here so the rest of us can avoid.

It's omega themselves! Not the ADs fault. They only act as middlemen and pass the watch back to the omega service centre.

Just dropped it back to the AD again there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I am unsure! I really like the face. It's a smidgen big. The photo makes it look bigger than it is!

First world problems

354472.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Today on new grey nato is the Seiko SSB003 mecaquartz.

eG8e4cm.jpg
    ILlyoEd.jpg

Today I'm cracking out the SNZG45 on new oyster bracelet.

BjacLaV.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Going French today.

2hwoejc.jpg

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

très bien :pac:

Going with the swatch sistem 51, I'm a sucker for the marketing. It's a grand day to day watch. Managed to stop myself buying an athaya vintage lamafa diver, was through checkout and heading to PayPal when I managed to talk myself down

354795.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Raketa day today
    344045.JPG

That strap is driving me demented ..on one hole I can rotate the watch around my wrist, on the next one it's too tight and actually hurts.

How is that even possible when the space between the two holes is like 5-6 mm only? :confused:

peasant wrote: »
    Raketa day today
    344045.JPG

That strap is driving me demented ..on one hole I can rotate the watch around my wrist, on the next one it's too tight and actually hurts.

How is that even possible when the space between the two holes is like 5-6 mm only? :confused:

I have a few of those. They are normally thicker or have sorter lug to lug width.

For those I reverse the long and short strap. So buckle at 6 o'clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,597 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Milgauss GV Blue today

B44549C0-67A7-489F-B030-E4B4BB60F9F7_zpsxcqaep4e.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭lizzyman

Doing quite a bit of watch research/window shopping at the moment but still having great fun pimping the Weekender. Best €40 I ever spent. Threw on a blue suede riveted strap earlier today.

eUVkVNM.jpg?1

Got a new one arrived this week.

Unfortunately the back case is a replacement. It has a certina signed movement with kf330.

The face is signed hertig. I see in a watchuseek thread Charles Hertig Evilard bought Glycine watch factory from Certina in the early 40s.

Could that be related to the name or is it just a jewellery shop designed its own case and dial and bought a stock Certina movement?

I love the dial and I'd been looking for a sub second hand

358447.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Rather lovely but maybe a bit too dressy for a daily driver. Glycine Combat 6.

360248.jpg

In keeping with my €200 limit, this arrived recently, too good for work though, and it needs some TLC

360265.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

New Arrival, Autodromo Prototipo, Silver

IMG_0707_zpsyzqecoij.jpg

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

blue5000 wrote: »
    In keeping with my €200 limit, this arrived recently, too good for work though, and it needs some TLC

Love me some vintage Longines. They always seem to knock out some of the most consistently classy watches.

Thanks, this one is from the early eighties, 994.1 cal, one of the last designed and built by Longines before Swatch amalgamated the Swiss makers, and Lemania bought the tooling from Longines.

Now Lemania are under the Swatch umbrella too, so technically this movement is available to Longines again. I think it has been used in some chronographs. This watch is really thin, thanks Wibbs for all the Longines influence and making pictures appear;)

360297.JPG

The king is dead long live the king,

My 116610LN ceramic sub is gone, replaced by the 116610LV Hulk

5C9851F1-FC80-41D8-817C-718CA28D17F6_zps5emgazee.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Speaking of Longines, but this from a time and project when classy left the building :) I've been wearing this big chunk of metal and "futuristic" technology from 1970.

34pyzxg.jpg

If I have a "drawer queen" this is it. Longines UltraQuartz are rare enough, NOS examples rarer again and working ones are like unicorn droppings. When they came out they were extremely expensive and the design was radical, a dead end and extremely delicate. Though advertised as shockproof and waterproof, they're about as shockproof as a crystal vase in a cement mixer filled with anvils and about as waterproof as a teabag, so survivors are few in number.

It's a big daft oul thing that works on a "cybernetic" principle. A comparison engine as it were, that has a tuning fork type movement as a slave to a 9Khz (hand cut) quartz crystal master that regulates it 170 times a minute through hand soldered discrete components(from the hearing aid industry I believe). As I've said before, the feckers had me at cybernetic. :pac: The crown is on the caseback, like many Bulova Accutrons.

However, because it's delicate and rare enough I do feel nervous wearing it. When it dies :( unless I can source a donor that's the end. Though more and more I figure Feck it, wear and enjoy it. Life is finite too, so it serves as a reminder of that. :)

What I love about it is its physical presence in timekeeping. It buzzes and vibrates like you wouldn't believe. It sounds and feels alive, something sadly lost with the vast majority of quartz movements that followed. IMHO if quartz engaged with us like this they'd be more appreciated.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

360874.jpg

i.imgur.com/3L2QsS7.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Messing around with some strap options lately. The first of 3 new ones, trying to steal a bit of the PO glory
    35n30gl.jpg

And then I noticed myself and my buddy were colour coordinated.
    f6yde.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Arghhhhhhh....bezel not aligned !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Arghhhhhhh....bezel not aligned !!!

I did that to p!ss you off with your OCD ;)

Navi again today after being consigned to the watch box for a few weeks

12DDEC51-AAEA-437F-8EB6-AD176B1987F2_zpsuuhgvknp.jpg

I got a new strap from colareb for my Seiko 5. I love it. It's brought the watch back to life for me. Always amazed the difference a strap can make.

Saw bond last night, I know it's a nod to the submariner in Dr. No and that the royal navy wore their divers on NATO straps but it just looks wrong to me for that watch

367594.jpg

Again in glorious Sepiavision(™) my 1974 Omega Seamaster Quartz*

207ouhj.jpg

With a dirty great plaque at the bottom proudly announcing this fecker's a quartz. :eek::D I love the 1970's stuff. It was a time when even the big boys were;t afraid to get radical with design. Nowadays it's nearly always about the "traditional" and it's left to the oft derided "fashion" brands to come up with the wacky stuff. Notable exceptions being TAG and dare I say it Hublot even though their designs make me retch and I got a stroooong design retch reflex. Ye have seen some of my watches, right? :-D

*AKA Mariner 1 with Omega's very first all in house quartz movement(Cal 1310).

I got that Friday feeling

367766.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,279 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

^^ very cool