Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irish expressions you dont hear any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 kennyboy9563

diddy's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Mr E wrote: »
    Tackies (runners in Limerick)

I only ever call them tackies unless someone doesn't know what that means so it's alive and well!!!

"I'll redden your arse for you" - Mother with wooden spoon.

"You wouldn't bate and egg with an egg bater"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Mr E wrote: »
    Tackies (runners in Limerick)

I only ever call them tackies unless someone doesn't know what that means so it's alive and well!!!

"I'll redden your arse for you" - Mother with wooden spoon.

"You wouldn't bate an egg with an egg bater"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

He couldn't fight his way out of a paper bag :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Just came across this on twitter, loads of them are in this video (and load that I had forgotten about!) :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ej_51H1zWGY

cabhrú le cuidiú leis an Breataine ag cur amach mo chearta!
    translation:
    help help the british are taking away my rights!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

relax the cax

relax the head

or some other variation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Plamas (I think there should be a fada on the first a), a great word that my old man still uses.

Also, not sure if this is an Irish thing but referring to someone who may be gay as 'a bit AC/DC'. No idea where that came from but you don't hear it any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Jarrod wrote: »
    Plamas (I think there should be a fada on the first a), a great word that my old man still uses.

Also, not sure if this is an Irish thing but referring to someone who may be gay as 'a bit AC/DC'. No idea where that came from but you don't hear it any more.

Still hear both of those quite frequently but always thought AC/DC was a bi-sexual refernce, and not a gay descriptor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 bubbly123

So hungry I could eat a horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

"We're awash with money"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

ye bleedin handbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

"rent is dead money"

"now you're sucking diesel"

"only joe dolan"

"throwing the gob"

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Two I haven't heard in a long time are Sh1ttybobs and Yokibus. Both are used when you don't know someone's name or the name of something:

'Ah what's yer mans name? You know.....Sh1ttybobs?

'Pass us that Yokibus there'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

Blacken your arse, and go mad.

Briefly popular after Miley said in on Glenroe. No idea what he was talking about but my memory suggests Fidelma may have been writhing naked in the turf shed at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

hames wrote: »
    Blacken your arse, and go mad.

Briefly popular after Miley said in on Glenroe. No idea what he was talking about but my memory suggests Fidelma may have been writhing naked in the turf shed at the time.

Well holy God !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

''I'm setting the video for Glenroe. I'm off to the pub, I'll watch it tomorrow.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

Balooba was my Grandad's favourite insult for especially stupid cattle; not one you tend to hear any more because of racist undertones.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's wise to save up for a rainy day

Look after the pennies and the pounds will look after themselves...

If only these sayings still reflected the Irish psyche - instead of...

For everything else, there's MasterCard and using your property as an ATM.

''Bertie's a cute hoor, ain't he?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Sketch lads.

'' Hang on there, I left me car keys inside on the counter''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭olcod

She feckin moved I tell ya.... now come on lads off to ballinspittle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

" If you don't behave yourself , I will get the Parish priest to sort you out"

"Get up da yard, there's a smell of benjy of ya"

"00h Aah , Paul Mc Grath"

"I shot jr"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Not sure if solely an Irish saying but hardly ever hear "Hold your horses" anymore. I feel, that when I was younger, this was said a lot.. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭kyote00

"Stop the lights"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Eoghan41

"Just off to HMV to get a CD"...too soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Eoghan41

"Just off to HMV to get a CD"...too soon?

Gickna, slang for a pigeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 kennyboy9563

"The Gochie" -- night watchman