Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish expressions you dont hear any more

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I got back from shopping the other day and forgot the milk so I sent a youngone of mine "on a message".
    I may as well have been speaking Latvian to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

Rapid, pronounced "rapih", meaning, something was great.

This is a great thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,352 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Get out the garden

• Registered Users Posts: 23,352 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Your as thick as pig ****e in a bottle.

Your standing there like a lighthouse in a bog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

Swamp Donkey

CmeretometillItellyou

The poor cratur.

Janymack!

Have ye any yokes?

I got the job.

Sodastream's gas is empty!

The State he got himself into. Isn't it a fright to Christ?

I wasn't expecting you at all until tomorrow. Just as well I had a sliced pan defrosting.

You obviously don't spend alot of time in Limerick!

"Half 6 and not a child in the house washed!"

• Registered Users Posts: 13 graineog

your friendly bank

• Registered Users Posts: 33 plaiboi

These are ones I haven't heard for a while.

She's a flowery cu*t,

Sleeveen,

Ah I was only lettin on,

Grushy,

He's a simpleton,

Gollier,

I amn't,

I robbed the bus seat for me sulky,

Fiver 088 credit please,

d'ye want a straightener do ye!!

I'm up for work in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I haven't heard 'As the Fella Says' in a long time.

There's one phrase which I believe originated and was exclusively used in Roscrea Tipperary. It was 'a bit of Jonic', for eg Are you up for a bit of Jonic? It means craic or a good time. Sadly it's not used by the majority in the town anymore, the old ways are gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Abi wrote: »
    "Crease"

As in "I'll bleedin' crease ye". Popular amongst Irish mothers in the 80's.

Crease is still quite popular with wanker sergeants in the Defence Forces.

As in ''if he's asleep on gate duty I'll fúckin crease him.''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Ah haaaayor leeri bleedin ouuuuu

• Registered Users Posts: 22,039 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Me arse in parsley.

Reverse that and it'll strike. [Prequel: Have ye a match? Yeah, your arse and my face. ]

Both of the above possibly not Guaranteed Irish.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Howya horsebox?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i parked in Roches Stores car Park

fetching the messages from the VG

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

"Help the Halloween Party"

• Registered Users Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

He has no chit nor child

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A bit racist I know but I remember ****** brown being used to describe the colour of a garment.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Your ass is grass - some serious threat I never quite worked out

A three quarter - simpleton

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Your ass is grass..
    ... And i'm the lawnmower.

Penny for the babbie.

Nowadays they just hand you a note.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

TheBody wrote: »
    Be the hokey.
    be the hokey!! mine made the list!! i use that one all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Couldn`t give a flying f**k

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭jojobeans

emzolita wrote: »
    Rapid, pronounced "rapih", meaning, something was great.

This is a great thread.

"whopper" and "deadly" other variations lol,

anyone remember" go f**ck up a lampost" i always thougt that was a mad one when i heard it.(",)

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭ROS123

Forninst. Close to, beside

Up to the boults (bolts) fill it up as far as it will go....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Crawthumper

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

I'll cut the arsé of ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jonny1384

"Stall the ball"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

ROS123 wrote: »
    Forninst. Close to, beside

Up to the boults (bolts) fill it up as far as it will go....

I always understood fornninst to mean in front of [you]?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Full to the gunnels!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Who's taking the horse to France?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

"Black" as in "packed" - for obvious reasons, only used by the
    more senior members of society these days.

Whist

"gift" was a term for "cool" my age group used as 9/10 year old lads - anyone else remember it?

"you'd be mad not to get on the property ladder"

"Soft Landing"

"Sure the boom will go on forever"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

ezekel wrote: »
    "I could'nt give a continental bollix"

That's still used in my workplace, well a variation of it anyway.

" He doesn't give a continental flying Fúck"