Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irish expressions you dont hear any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Allround Predator

Get out of that garden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

somebody got slagged and their response was always "yeah your ma"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Be there or be square..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

How's she cuttin?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Moll Feck as in, "You're not going out there dressed/looking like Moll Feck"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Fluffycloud

Pocky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I'm going to cut your heart out.

Limerick in the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

poxy

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

Anything in Irish language. I heard TG4 do some Irish expressions, but unfortunately I don't have a TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Where'd you get it?
    Doggie dropped it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭J Bourke

Have you done yer eccer(homework)?

• Site Banned Posts: 18 PureDacent

Any bant??
    How's she cutting
    Now we're sucking desiel
    That's pure dacent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Telling the kids to 'go play with the buses'
    'little children should be seen and not heard'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,289 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Very gnick.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

"cheap petrol"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭eric hoone

You'll never beat the Irish

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

Snared rapid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭Bigus

To describe mean people

As tight as a ducks arse ...and that's water tight,

He'd mind mice at a crossroads

Or

He peel an orange in his pocket,

He still has his communion money.

& You'd never hear now

" Give us a push"... To help a "conked out car" which used to referred to as a "Jalopy". Or even"Bone shaker "

Fluctuating prices used to be "up and down like a hoor's knickers"

Dublin term of affection ..."Me auld flower" even man to man.

It's all on your leg, gick gick la la.

Nuns = Mickey dodgers. Or less offensive penguins.

It could happen to a bishop says somebody to help you get over a f€ck up.

Did ye heyor de wan abuo ( dub tellin a joke)

Cum ear yor til I tell ye

Townies

Culchies

Boggers

Bogmen

Jackeens

The big smoke

Down the bog ( anywhere past Nass )

I'll give ye a crossbar or a backer ( a lift on a bicycle )

A skut on a truck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

the nicest man since sliced pan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

"Question: Will ya have an egg (insert any food)? Reply: I know a man that had two and it didn't kill him!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

these are ones mum obsessively says-
    #as creased as a dogs hind leg.
    #as hard as a hobs of/a gibralta.
    #ye get on meh wick.
    #get away wid yeh.

dads obsessive words/sayings-
    #dats fierce bad.
    #cripes.
    #ows da weathor.
    #danus [instead of dangerous].
    #tobaccy [instead of tobacco].
    #badadas [instead of potatoes].
    #ozzbidal [instead of hospital].
    #bogger music [when announcing what he is putting on his ipod,eww].
    #oh right so.

never hear anyone else irish saying those,bar a brother of dads,who is the same but a lot worse with 'tae' and 'ohhhhh jayyysus' thrown in for good measure and a lot of political words and swearing combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 tomlad123

****ehalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

'mega' or 'magic' to describe something really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

"A bird never flew on one wing" meaning if you have the chance of taking two(biscuits, slices of bread etc) take it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

"Bless me father for I have sinned"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

He's a lightin' bollox.

A thunderin' hooer.

Yerra Bould strap!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

As hard as the hobs of hell - to describe something rock hard, usually a food.

Look at Lord/Lady Muck there! - usually said to mean someone getting above their station or thinking they are better than the rest of us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

"I'm off to shed a tear for Parnell"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭snowgal

"Stall the ball"

"Coola boola"

"dirtbird"

Any more?

I always say cula bula, drives some people mad!