ScienceNerd wrote: » You'd think he'd at least taken some decent games
Boombastic wrote: » Grandad walks out of HMV with computer games after staff refuse to accept gift voucher Fair play to this guy
Euro Truck Simulator 2, priced at €22.40; The Sims 3 Town Life, at €11.99; and Rail Simulator priced at €28,
jaxdasher wrote: » Why isn't anyone mentioning anything about the staff who are going to lose their jobs? I feel bad for them more than my frustration on my useless giftcard.
Certain HMV Group plc subsidiaries including HMV Guernsey Ltd, HMV Hong Kong Ltd, HMV Ireland Ltd, HMV Singapore Ltd and 7Digital Group remain outside of an insolvency process.
Dermighty wrote: » The store in Cork isn't taking gift vouchers or that sort of thing, afaik.
B.A._Baracus wrote: » Its quite funny :P Alot of people have been saying how bad it is that hmv is going into administration. So many jobs lost, etc. But yet, also in the news the government is looking to cut the public sector. So is the 'in thing' to care about joe-scruffy-hmv-guy but at the same time disawknowledge joe-road-sweeper? Or does this simply come down to "where will I buy my blu rays now?"
Grayson wrote: » There were queues in blanch. But most of their stuff has feck all mark up. Personally, I used to wander around a bit, but I gave up buying DVD's ages ago. And I never buy CD's.
TheUsual wrote: » I was in Manchester over Christmas and the HMV there was full of people all week but nobody buying stuff.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Going out of business does not give any company the right to steal from people. A gift voucher is essentially a pre-payment on goods from the shop, to not hand over the goods subsequently is probably illegal, and if not it certainly should be.
languagenerd wrote: » What I meant was, what if Apple started bringing out iPod/iPad/iPhones that required a different format? I wasn't trying to argue with you, or convince you to buy CDs or anything. You said you didn't get why people bought CDs and gave reasons against it, I was just showing why and gave reasons for it. I'm happy with my CDs, you're happy with your downloads, all is well!
books4sale wrote: » So on the money. Kindles suck!
languagenerd wrote: » I'm happy with my CDs, you're happy with your downloads, all is well!
Going out of business does not give any company the right to steal from people.
ilovesleep wrote: » I remember a fews years ago returning something to a shop right before chrirstmas and getting a credit note. Then after christmas the shop went into liquidation and was going to close. I meant to go in with the credit note but never bothered in the end and let the 20 euro slide. The way I saw it was there's no point chasing up on the 20 euro when they are clearly fcuked and in trouble. Unless if all your vouchers are for much more, could ye not just let it slide if it's for a small amount. I mean like, here's another business going down the drain and what like approximately 300 lay offs and more unemployment. 10 or 20 euro isn't much in the grand scheme of things when there's so much more at play.
murpho999 wrote: » You can still download albums. If iTunes still closed down you'd still have your downloads, like you still your CD if the record company closed down, don't see your point. Your comparison of a music file to a console format is poor as the game issue was a hardware compatibility one. Anyhow, I'm very happy with my discless, coverless, broken plastic case worl d and the ability to get music whenever I want and listen to it how I want and I'm never going to win the discussion.
books4sale wrote: » Wow! Do you pay full money up front for a pre-order? Reminds me of, people who pay for an houses / apartment off a set of plans. Who does that like?
languagenerd wrote: » You're not taking into account that people have different tastes. Sure, it might be more "practical" to buy mp3 downloads, but some people just like CDs and DVDs. I love the experience of buying a CD, looking at album art, reading the album booklets, putting them all up on my shelves. I like picking one up and playing it. I appreciate the album as a format. Is that really so hard to understand? And when you buy CDs, you're not forced to listen to one at a time - you can always load em to your mp3 and press shuffle/make a playlist. What if iTunes closed down? Or Apple brought in a new format, rendering older tracks obsolete (like how you can't play old games on new consoles)? If we took "practicality" as our main reason for doing anything... there'd be no art, no elaborate clothing or food, etc.