Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deception [TV3]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

You get 6 results when you search deception...

It's easy.. Just find out which one matches the following plotline
    Bird gets baps done, rich dudes, broke dudes, murder, lad lyin on a pitch, attempted suicide, friendly bailiffs, people trying to jump walls,fancy gaffs, poshos, troublesome teens, the zoo, old people, neighbours, guards, rugby, banks, far away shots of galway city, affairs, dodgy older bird, dodgy drug lad, kids, characters coming at ya from all angles and no explanation of who they are, etc etc etc. haven't a breeze.

He will win an IFTA for standout performance in a comedy series

It's already won a number of IFTAs from me...

I'm Fekn Terminally Abashed....

(edit: Abashed meaning confused.. lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I think I have figured it out - The dead body looked like he had been mauled by a wild animal

And there must be a reason the young lad was so wooden when he said "where do you think I'm going - The Zoo?"

It must be all connected - Maybe Zebre or Leicester Tigers will turn up at the Sportsground and explain what the hell was going on there?

It's all about the animals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Did Padraiggg have any hand in the writing of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Saw something on one of the papers today saying something to the effect that "Even Leigh was unsure about Deception".. Think it might have been the herald.. Anybody else see it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Saw something on one of the papers today saying something to the effect that "Even Leigh was unsure about Deception".. Think it might have been the herald.. Anybody else see it?

I read the same headline (The Daily Mail, I think)

It was a quote from her Twitter, taken somewhat out of context ...
    Leigh Arnold ‏@MissLeighArnold
    thanks so much for all the comments, both positive and negative, towards #DeceptionTV3 . as I said before, marmite situation. :) x

https://twitter.com/MissLeighArnold

What I've found most interesting about the show is how people involved in it are so defensive of it. I posted a few comments on facebook regarding how poor the show was and how everyone involved in it should be ashamed of themselves and have over the past few days been unfriended by a number of people and been told asinine crap such as "you can't judge the show as you didn't work on it" and "it's one of the best shows Ireland has produced and your comments are just typical begrudgery". Seriously if this is the best people think we can do then Ireland as a nation owes it to the world to cease all production of television programming.

Watching Deception I was constantly reminded of one of those midday US soaps where characters are recast mid episode, where Satan pops up as a character only without any of the wit or fun that can be found in those shows.

Deception seems to be made up of a series of random and baffling moments. There are the random shots of Galway city, the obsession with tits, the acting which is reminiscent of a less refined Matt Damon puppet in Team America, the close ups of teeth and eyes, the random sloppy edits (going from front room of his house to jumping over a wall shirtless seconds later), the characters who drop in and out with no reason given for them being there, the climbing over and under of things, the murder victim who moves place and is seen lieing in an open front door yet no passerby sees him, the removal of said victim in a coffin, no need for an autopsy or anything, the shots of Shop St where random people turn their head to look directly into the camera, the porno music score which is particularly brilliant in the playground scene. I half expected them to start getting it on.

The only value to be found in Deception is that of a comedic nature, watch it with 20 beer and half a bottle of vodka in you and I bet it's a work of unparalleled comedy genius.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭WaltKowalski

Why take it so seriously?

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭Fionne

Yer man who tried to top himself reminds me of Leo from Fair City. Also think he does voiceovers on radio, voice is very familiar.

Acutally Leo from Fair City's real-life son is in the show, think he's the lad wth the blonde floppy hair who could be in Jedward if he had enough hair spray.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭LowOdour

I didn't watch the show but a mate of mine who worked on the show said to my wife that he even knew the first episode was going to be abit of a shambles....but thinks it does improve from now on. Will have to try and catch the first episode this weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

Actually looking forward to episode 2, if it's anywhere near as unintentionally hilarious as the first :pI'll be hooked

• Registered Users Posts: 7 baretree

What I've found most interesting about the show is how people involved in it are so defensive of it. I posted a few comments on facebook regarding how poor the show was and how everyone involved in it should be ashamed of themselves

I was involved in this show and I'd be the first to say what a nightmare it is. I'm not ashamed of myself however, as it was a job & I need to work.

baretree wrote: »
    I was involved in this show and I'd be the first to say what a nightmare it is. I'm not ashamed of myself however, as it was a job & I need to work.

It's an expression of speech and only really applies to those involved with the show who shaped the creative or artistic direction. A lot of people I know seem to be getting offended because of how poor I found the show to be and have been sending me nasty messages and posting snide and downright vile comments to me. The odd thing is that I made a similar comment about Jack and Jill when it came out last year and the same people thanked the post.

Everyone in the industry works on crappy projects, it's part of the process but I doubt that anyone who worked on the show can look proudly on the finished product. I know that there are a few sets I was on that I would never mention in my CV as the finished product was so poor I'm embarrassed to say I in any way helped shape it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

The closest I'v seen to deception is Gareth Merangi's 'Darkplace' shown on Channel 4 a few years ago.

Anyone who has seen it will know what I'm on about, similar level of acting, writing etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Repeat of last Monday's episode is on at 00.40 tomorrow (as in 50 mins time)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

baretree wrote: »
    I had such a good time watching the first episode. I don't think it's a good show but it's entertaining. You shouldn't feel embarrassed about it. Work is work.
    Hidalgo wrote: »
    The closest I'v seen to deception is Gareth Merangi's 'Darkplace' shown on Channel 4 a few years ago.

Anyone who has seen it will know what I'm on about, similar level of acting, writing etc.
    Oh, thank you! I knew it was reminding me of something other than the Room and this is it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Donall4

This show is awful, from the writing to the acting! Jacks son is by far the worst, along with the majority of the children, the guy with no shirt on trying to jump over the wall is also **** at acting, and the Emma girl is not great, but she has some talent.

The writing is awful, it bounces from one thing to the other, it doesn't flow properly. Random cursing all over the place, once again the children in the show are not good! Especially Jack son i can't get over it!

On the bright side, Leigh, Jack, Father ted bishop fella, Colleen and her drug dealer(donnacha from ros na run), The detective (doctor from ros na run) and Aoife(Caitriona's best friend) are all good actors!!!

Ros na Run is 10 times better then this and gets not even half of the amount of funding! My opinion is just use the ros a run actors/writers to make a good English show as the ones that are in the show are good in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

Just watched this on tv3 player....brutal acting, brutal script.....just like tv3 as usual so;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Tails142

Best thing about this show is Bishop Len Brennan randomly appearing every time someone steps foot outside the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

I actually can't wait for this later.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭lighthouse

Well at least it got us talking and I guarantee you the people with the most criticism of it will be glued to it tonight. I don't like RAW and didn't watch it last night but I'll definitely be watching Deception tonight for all it's faults.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

lighthouse wrote: »
    Well at least it got us talking and I guarantee you the people with the most criticism of it will be glued to it tonight. I don't like RAW and didn't watch it last night but I'll definitely be watching Deception tonight for all it's faults.

I hate to admit it, but I think I'm going to have to sneak another look tonight :o
    This thread keeps reminding me of the unintentionally genius 'so bad it's good' moments throughout; I just want more Dammit

Going to be very disappointed if no walls are scaled tonight. Althoughy it would show greater plot development if they diversified slightly to trees, fences or maybe even the odd ruined church...
    Really the possibilities are endless, let's hope it's not another good chance wasted to exshibit Ireland's full potential as a travel destination for folks who love to climb small things.

Also, Gotta love that this is the Freeze-frame they chose for the 1st episode on the TV3 Player:
    deception_mon7jan2013_3player_1_57721_180x102.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Predictions for tonight so people? Maybe we can get a Deception bingo card going???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Eve Macklin to turn up and punch "back in the morket" guy from Ep 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Bishop Brennan to get kicked up the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Lookin forward to this thread tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    I hate to admit it, but I think I'm going to have to sneak another look tonight :o
    This thread keeps reminding me of the unintentionally genius 'so bad it's good' moments throughout; I just want more Dammit

Going to be very disappointed if no walls are scaled tonight. Althoughy it would show greater plot development if they diversified slightly to trees, fences or maybe even the odd ruined church...
    Really the possibilities are endless, let's hope it's not another good chance wasted to exshibit Ireland's full potential as a travel destination for folks who love to climb small things.

Also, Gotta love that this is the Freeze-frame they chose for the 1st episode on the TV3 Player:
    deception_mon7jan2013_3player_1_57721_180x102.jpg

Haha, that picture is amazing. Look at the sleazy expression on his face.

My theory is that he is the murderer and he took off his shirt cos there was loads of blood on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

coconut5 wrote: »
    Haha, that picture is amazing. Look at the sleazy expression on his face.

My theory is that he is the murderer and he took off his shirt cos there was loads of blood on it.

That's too obvious surely. He rushes out to meet someone, kills someone, rushes back.

I'd like to think its Bishop Brennan is the secret curveball in all of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

Looking forward to this thread tonight more-so than the show itself :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

zuroph wrote: »
    Predictions for tonight so people? Maybe we can get a Deception bingo card going???

I'll have to go over who's who again because they introduced such a mess of characters and outrageous plotlines in the pilot episode I just sat back and let it all wash over my head! Basking in the madness :D

• Registered Users Posts: 45,558 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Looking forward to hearing some more of Jack's dry cool wit. He could be Ireland's answer to David Caruso.