Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round? ... 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Put together my best round yet today for a gross 86 in Minor Scratch Cup in East Cork.
    7 pars, 7 bogeys, 2 doubles a 7 and a 9:eek:.
    43 points SS so very happy all told.

Edit to say my first cut on the way:D:D

Having witnessed that round today and a lot of your golf over the last couple of years I am really delighted for you...a long time coming. Hope that 9 doesn't come back to bite you as it was just one bad shot that cost you. Still, the game is on the up and up...well done again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,924 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

millerj wrote: »
    Having witnessed that round today and a lot of your golf over the last couple of years I am really delighted for you...a long time coming. Hope that 9 doesn't come back to bite you as it was just one bad shot that cost you. Still, the game is on the up and up...well done again!

Emmm - can we not say thank God for the 9 - maybe even pulling as he could not post up an over 45 pt round up here . :)

Joking - great round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Emmm - can we not say thank God for the 9 - maybe even pulling as he could not post up an over 45 pt round up here . :)

Joking - great round.

No handbrake here unfortunately.
    Got out of position off the box and chipped back to the fairway to lay up with a three iron on a par 5. Standing 145 yards to the pin blocked a 7 iron left into more trouble. Played a provisional pin high left and found my first OOB. Failed to get up and down and took a 9 on the 15th which cut the momentum as I finished bogey,double and par.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,944 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

After my two consecutive 33s, I improved today - to 34. Happy that I'm more consistent than I've been, but really need to get cut (I'm off 22).

I started off at 22 and spent a fair few months playing buffer golf.

The breakthrough will come, and once it does it'll become easier to do again!

Just be patient & try not think of your scores too much, puts unnecessary pressure on your game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

I started off at 22 and spent a fair few months playing buffer golf.

The breakthrough will come, and once it does it'll become easier to do again!

Just be patient & try not think of your scores too much, puts unnecessary pressure on your game.

That's what I keep telling myself, and then can't think in terms of anything but level-2s on the course :(

Edit to add that I started at 18 in late 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    my first cut on the way:D:D

First of many !! Well done !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Played in a strokeplay Open today..... and had a 13! :D How's everyone else's weekend goin?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

34pts round tramore ssf comp today went 11 boygies 1par then lost ball on teeing off 13th ended up with an 8 then db on index 1 par4 then to my horror a fecking tb on a 110yrd par3 , stupid 9i into bunker cost me dear. Came home par . Db . Par 94 strokes off 19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Rippeditup

72 in Seaview this morning.. I haven't been playing as I have just moved house and baby on the way so delighted..

Short game has been a real issue of late but it was working well this morning.

My iron game wasn't great with a few pulled shots but I am putting this down to the new swing I had been working on and the lack of practice but my wedge game kept me chugging along.

I had my first 5 on the 16th (par 3) after being 4's & 3's until then.

3 birdies
    11 pars
    3 bogeys
    1 double bogey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I didnt total it cause I had to run, but I think I had 30 points today in Dunmurry Springs. - 26 with my society handicap of 2

Beast of a day and a score that could really have been better, but got tricked by the wind a bit and had a few putts that i think really should have dropped, but such is life. Great company still made it a great day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

Only got back into playing golf recently. Play off 22 and original aim was to break 95.

So far (all in Charlesland) 115 and 20 Points & 104 and 27 Points

and now
    98 and 32 Points -> included 4 pars (should have been 5) and there were plenty of stupid shots that should be easy to get rid off. New aim is to break 85 by the end of the summer just once. I hope to be consistently getting around 90 - 95 in most rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭dar_cool

86 strokes for a 76 nett in crazy conditions today. Wind was gusting up to 50kmh so was happy enough with my golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

monthly medal in a gale.

Didn't warm up well and didn't get a practise putt in.

3 doubles. 2 triples and a quadruple.

6 bogies, 6 pars. some very good ball striking at times, some absolute brainfarts as well.

36 putts, two 3 putts but some very positive putting from the 6 foot region - working on a new routine which saw me hit at least 3 cups and bounce out from range.
    8 fir, 5 gir.

7th overall which is grand and a modest cut but feels like more of a round for considering the mistakes rather than the positives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

31 points today, crazy conditions. Nearly won the medal lost on count back!! (They changed it to stapleford due to the conditions)

Chipping got me bad today, nothing would stop,

Double, bogey, par, birdie, double, birdie, double, par, par (18 pts)

Par, par, bogey, double, bogey, double, bogey, double, par (13)

Missed an eagle putt on 5 and a birdie putt on 10, 11,18 by a hair!

Had very bad chips on 14, 16 and 17 which each took two putts to recover but overall happy with the round especially in the conditions!

Putting was sharp today which I was really happy with because I've really been focusing on it. Next up, chipping apparently!!

Nett 75 with no scratches though is nothing to be ashamed about in Druids heath off the whites on a day like today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Nett 79 today in Moate. Desperate windy conditions and a few big showers to boot. Awful start, firing 2 out of bounds on the first and ending up with a 10. Was actually pleased with most of the rest of my round as it could have been an atrocious day if I had let that first hole prey on my mind. I just tried to forget it and move on with the rest of my game and by and large at least that worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭neddynasty

3rd game of the year and had 94 strokes (31 points) playing off 18 in a blustery Charleville on Saturday. Was playing as a guest in the Captains Prize. First time I've ever played off the blue tees and I think it spooked me a bit. It's not a long course but I kept taking the driver out of the bag and it cost me on a few of the dog leg holes where I went too far into the many trees on the course. The course was in imacculate condition and an enjoyable day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭SEORG

91 for 77 net off blues for June medal. CSS was 76.

5 pars
    8 bogeys
    4 doubles
    1 triple

Tough conditions but feel I missed a good opportunity for a cut.

Actually felt I played ok, drove the ball quite well and hit my irons well from the fourth hole on despite only one GIR (if that can make sense). Big improvement in my putting, only one 3 putt compared to the usual 3 or 4 per round.

Started bogey, double, triple. 2 shanks in first 3 holes, hadn't had one in about 6 months, completed the hat-trick off the tee on a par 3.

Need to work on the shots from 50yds in, brain farts & the obvious shanks!!

Need to take my punishment and get back in position. At least I made the buffer and didn't kill anyone.

7/15 FIR
    1/18 GIR
    31 Putts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Last 3 rounds typified my play at the mo. 26 points, 37 points and yesterday's 21 points. Pulled muscle in my back to boot. No golf now for 2 weeks. Might be a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Very windy yesterday wasn't it!!!
    24 points in the weekly comp

Is there a smaller font than 1 that we can can use? ;)

Finally, some somewhat feckin good news to put in here!

Had 40 pts off 17 today in the Grange Castle Open - 19 out, 21 back... Hopefully enough for a decent cut and back down to the dizzy heights of 16... then it's on to Q-School! :D

Nothing special at all, just hanging in there and not making blanks (I'm usually good for 2/3 a round) for the most part. Five fairways, five greens and 32 putts... 8 pars, 1 birdie, 5DBs, 4 bogeys... huh, eight pars, didn't think I'd that many til I added em up... even one of the DBs was relatively pleasing - the ninth; lost my drive off tee, went back, hit again and parred it second time round for a Six and a point... 85 strokes... Off White tees today and the course was playing as easy as I've seen it play in a while...

Somewhere inside me, there's a half decent golfer trying his hardest to get out!

9124051315_0c011b1bca_z.jpg
    GC by burgomeister08, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭chud1234

82 in presidents yesterday was 7 over after 6 holes and finished 10 over .won my category and cut to 11 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭Felexicon

chud1234 wrote: »
    82 in presidents yesterday was 7 over after 6 holes and finished 10 over .won my category and cut to 11 :)
    Congrats on the W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

73 nett in the Captain's Day yesterday. It was crazy windy and two triple bogeys put an end to my hopes of picking up the trophy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

I had 34 pts off 14 yesterday good enough for third place. Wind was serious. Had to use a full 3wood on 2 par 3's, both about 150/160 yards and still can up short, normally hit a 3 wood 210ish. Missed a putt on th last that would meant I would have won the comp :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

36 points off 7 today. Some excellent drives, irons, chips and putts, first time in a while that I really felt really confident. Struck the driver very well all day so that made things easier. Got a couple important putts and chipped in for par on the 15th, scratched 16 after driving into the rough and had to play a low sliced 7 iron from 120 yards, only punched it but it flew about a yard to far over the green and couldn't find it, finished with 2 pars so happy with it in the end.

6/13 Fairways
    7/18 Greens
    29 Putts

1 Birdies
    11 Pars
    5 Bogeys
    1 Scratch

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Finally, some somewhat feckin good news to put in here!

Had 40 pts off 17 today in the Grange Castle Open - 19 out, 21 back... Hopefully enough for a decent cut and back down to the dizzy heights of 16... then it's on to Q-School! :D

Nothing special at all, just hanging in there and not making blanks (I'm usually good for 2/3 a round) for the most part. Five fairways, five greens and 32 putts... 8 pars, 1 birdie, 5DBs, 4 bogeys... huh, eight pars, didn't think I'd that many til I added em up... even one of the DBs was relatively pleasing - the ninth; lost my drive off tee, went back, hit again and parred it second time round for a Six and a point... 85 strokes... Off White tees today and the course was playing as easy as I've seen it play in a while...

Somewhere inside me, there's a half decent golfer trying his hardest to get out!

Wa-Hoo, lookin like a cut of .9! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

Fantastic day spent in bunclody golf course today only 20e to, great track lovely lady in the proshop caroline gave us a great welcome & was great craic ta boot. Had 38pts 23 of those on the bck9 had a lovely 30f birdie on 15 index 3 followed by great par on index1 for bck to bck 4pters made my day all that bit sweeter. Think il play again 2moro its a tough life haha

Jaysis Lads, I'm threatening to get half decent at this! :pac:

37pts off 16 in mid-week Singles off the Blues... actually shot two strokes more than I did off White tees on Monday but course is tougher off blues so was happy enough. Also, birdied the last to get 'under par', which was cool...

I knew I didn't quite hit the ball as well as I did Monday but maybe putted slightly better and the stats bare that out. Only 4 GIR but two less putts. Five-over on the back with a treble bogey so that was good. Treble bogey very annoying - iron off tea and pushed it into an Unplayable in the trees.

Monthly Medal on Saturday.... bound to go t*ts up, innit... :D

9142033063_d3eeb47c03_z.jpg
    GC Round by burgomeister08, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,924 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

3 over for 9.

Sounds ok, but started with an eagle 3. :D,

Dont know when i had one last. years ago , Chip in with 9 iron. have delofted a bit on chips and worked.

One hole can make a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Gross 79 last Sunday in windy conditions
    12 pars , 5 bogey's & one triple bogey.
    27 putts did a lot for my score.....