Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round? ... 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

plumber77 wrote: »
    Gorgeous course though isn't. definitely need a short game around there and would have been very handy to have played it before. Sets you up for a right crack at it next year..God dam Masters!College course now not the Augusta one..

It is a gorgeous course! no doubt about it. Cant wait to play it again.

God damn masters indeed, but It'll be worth it to have it in the long run ;)

Hopefully I can get my handicap down a bit to make sure I can try it out again next year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭The Premier Man

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    33 points 2 scratches today in Clonmel. Happy enough considering I only hit 4 FIR. Short game to the rescue again,playing partner who I never met before stormed off the 13th,couldn't hand in the card.:rolleyes:
    I thought my temper was my downfall,this fella took the biscuit.

well,i presume he clattered it out on the road or across it?that or he hooked it off down the hill and couldn't be bothered going after it.either way a swift 4 iron to the back of the knee would have sorted him out while he was marching back to the car/clubhouse and report all around you after that.if they ask about the broken 4 iron in your bag and the cripple in the parking lot....deny deny deny is all the advice i can give you!!!;););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

83 today very windy hit feck all greens some nice up and downs, 1 birdie and two double bogeys from around the green from duffed and thinned chipps. And 1 penalty drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

uberwolf wrote: »
    and another ton. solid from the tee, got my body turning through properly which sorted the fluffy hook that had crept in. hit very few greens and short game was awful.
    quitting is not the answer, practice is :)

98 for 30 points with 4 scratches in very tough conditions today. Cold, windy meant that the long game was hit and miss - very hard to take feedback from the swing - albeit some good shots off the tee. Muddy under the ball in the rough meant that there were a few very fat chips.

3 GIR
    3 FIR

Positives - 3 up and downs, incl. 2 from bunkers. Some lag putting was good.
    Negatives - no particularly good ball strikes - something for the range there.
    A 4 putt and a few three putts. 36 putts total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

72 gross around Lucan G.C today off 4, 39 points and good enough to win the comp!

Nice way to start the season, that's one more singles win already than I had last year :)

Played really solid too, so encouragement to be taken away as well. It was quite windy and fairly cold, so to hit 15 greens in regulation was a good effort I thought. The first hole set the tone for the day; after hooking my tee shot into a spinney, I hit a tree with my second and it ricocheted backwards, leaving me a straightforward hack out with my 3rd. A rescue from 200 yards and an 8 foot putt saw me off with a very satisfactory bogey 5, so walked off the green feeling like it might be my day!

I did bogey the index 18 4th hole, but managed to birdie 5 and 7 to get back to level par. Very disappointed to 3 putt 11 after a decent tee shot, but greens were very recently sanded so was determined not to get too upset over my putting if I could help it. Missed a good birdie chance at 12, but made good pars on 13 and 14, then played 15 like a dream; good drive, punched 8 iron and a 5 foot putt, which got me back to level again. Parred 16 and 17, before bogeying the difficult par 5 18th. Missed the fairway there so to have a 5 footer at the end of it all for a par 5 was a good result, even though the putt refused to drop. Didn't cost me luckily, but would have been nice to make it; level par sounds so much better than +1 :p

Nonetheless, delighted with the round and will hopefully bode well for the season. Today wasn't a counting competition unfortunately, but I'm looking forward to the next one that does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,944 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Almost embarassed to post my score after that one above Benicetomonty!!!

A pretty miserable 29 points off 12 at the weekend. Was actually pretty solid tee to green, hit 10/18 GIR, but had a shocking 42 putts, not a single 1-putt the whole way round.

That & hitting hazards on 2 holes.

Definitely some positives, solid off the tee & striking some very nice approach shots.

Didn't even feel like I was putting that badly, was hitting firm putts at everything, only left a couple of long putts short, and lipped out a number of times. Feel like I'm not quite putting straight through the ball consistently though.

The only way is up from here. Out to Carton on Saturday for a Full Day Clinic, should be good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Daithio12

78 gross off 7 for 38pts.
    Drove the ball poorly and only hit 7 greens as a result, but scrambled like a demon getting up and down 9/11 times and had 26 putts total including 2 3putts.
    3 birds,
    8 pars,
    6 bogie,
    1 double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

ballyk wrote: »
    First competition of the year in Ballykisteen. club singles, teed off before 8.30 this morning. Finished with 36 points, 18 out, 18 back. 91 shots in total and should have been better. Found the water on the 1st and the 6th.

Apparently my score was good enough to win so I finally won my first ever competition in Ballykisteen. Got cut 0.3 to get the handicap down to 18 as well.

Update: according to howdidido.co.uk I now only finished 3rd. Got pipped by two of my spring league team, one of whom won with 37 points and the other who beat me on countback! Competition must have continued for the rest of the weekend so my handicap stays the same. Still waiting for my first win in Ballykisteen so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

72 gross around Lucan G.C today off 4, 39 points and good enough to win the comp!

Nice way to start the season, that's one more singles win already than I had last year :)

Played really solid too, so encouragement to be taken away as well. It was quite windy and fairly cold, so to hit 15 greens in regulation was a good effort I thought. The first hole set the tone for the day; after hooking my tee shot into a spinney, I hit a tree with my second and it ricocheted backwards, leaving me a straightforward hack out with my 3rd. A rescue from 200 yards and an 8 foot putt saw me off with a very satisfactory bogey 5, so walked off the green feeling like it might be my day!

I did bogey the index 18 4th hole, but managed to birdie 5 and 7 to get back to level par. Very disappointed to 3 putt 11 after a decent tee shot, but greens were very recently sanded so was determined not to get too upset over my putting if I could help it. Missed a good birdie chance at 12, but made good pars on 13 and 14, then played 15 like a dream; good drive, punched 8 iron and a 5 foot putt, which got me back to level again. Parred 16 and 17, before bogeying the difficult par 5 18th. Missed the fairway there so to have a 5 footer at the end of it all for a par 5 was a good result, even though the putt refused to drop. Didn't cost me luckily, but would have been nice to make it; level par sounds so much better than +1 :p

Nonetheless, delighted with the round and will hopefully bode well for the season. Today wasn't a counting competition unfortunately, but I'm looking forward to the next one that does!

15 GIR some shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭shaneon77

Mine is a tale of woe.... Finished second last week. Got knocked out of Barton cup on Friday. Frosted off yesterday so I was well fired up for today.
    Played solid enough on front 9 but couldn't score. The first 5 greens were frozen solid and were only hollow cored on Tuesday so sand everywhere and bobbling like mad.
    Lost my swing on back 9 completely. 7 Scratches. I lost 5 balls O.B. And into water.just one of those days. Roll on next week and qualifying proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Golf blowout since last Friday and to think early last week it was looking bleak in terms of getting out. Friday Castlewarden 32 points course was in fantastic condition, took the money on the 18th:). Saturday club comp 37 points, Monday morning played an open in Westmanstown, 10 points after 12 holes with everything shot going left then got my game together and scored 20 points on the last seven holes to finish on 30 points alot more respectable, left there and headed to the club played another 18, scored 41 points. Tuesday just home from playing an open in Lucan finished with 37 points with 3 scratches. Back to work tomorrow so no golf until Saturday! Roll on qualifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭BOB81

Just back from a trip to St Andrews, played the old course, the jubilee course and a course down the road called Elie (great track btw). Somehow the weather gods smiled on us and we had near perfect conditions for golf, no rain and the wind only really got up on the last day.
    Scores (off 15) were:
    Old course - 32 points (17 on the front which I was happy enough with - once I'd gotten over my nerves on the first things went ok! 15 points on the back with a scratch on the last, after missing OB right by a foot I proceeded to duff my way down the rest of the hole.
    Elie - 39 points (24 going out with 2 birdies, 15 points on the back 9 after starting with an eagle on a short par 4. This was followed by a couple of scratches after 2 poor drives and a horror show on one of the greens (5-putt:(). Happy overall as I was level par through 10 holes which I've never come close to doing before - hopefully this wasn't a once-off and I can look to start moving my handicap down when qualifying comps start up again.
    Jubiliee - 35 points (23 going out - 12 coming back, wind got up on the back nine and my fade/slice tee shots cost me 2 scratches and a double.

Finished the weekend off with a casual round in moyvalley yesterday where the wind was worse than anything we had to contend with in scotland! Scored 30 points with 4 scratches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭JP85

17 points off 19 in Athlone GC, some shooting.....i hadnt played in a year though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Ascii

Hit Glasson on Sunday week last. Hit 29 points of the whites on an unreal windy and cold day. Seriously enjoyed it though. Drove like a champion and irons were good, but pitching from 50-70 yards and putting was at an all time low. Fine course. Fairways were brilliant, particulary for such an exposed course in March. Lovely coat of green thick grass. Great to get the clubs back in the hand particulary after a two month lay-up and a new baby :-)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

scubapro wrote: »
    Golf blowout since last Friday and to think early last week it was looking bleak in terms of getting out. Friday Castlewarden 32 points course was in fantastic condition, took the money on the 18th:). Saturday club comp 37 points, Monday morning played an open in Westmanstown, 10 points after 12 holes with everything shot going left then got my game together and scored 20 points on the last seven holes to finish on 30 points alot more respectable, left there and headed to the club played another 18, scored 41 points. Tuesday just home from playing an open in Lucan finished with 37 points with 3 scratches. Back to work tomorrow so no golf until Saturday! Roll on qualifying.

B.G.S. Observation cut on its way for you!! What ye say lads, 10 shot cut??!!:D:p
    JP85 wrote: »
    17 points off 19 in Athlone GC, some shooting.....i hadnt played in a year though

Not the easiest of places to head to after a year out. While i love playing Athlone i find it very hard to get a decent score there.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    B.G.S. Observation cut on its way for you!! What ye say lads, 10 shot cut??!!:D:p

Not the easiest of places to head to after a year out. While i love playing Athlone i find it very hard to get a decent score there.

Two Words Feck off:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,018 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

90 strokes, 34 points, yellow tees at the Old Course. Out of the road hole in 1, got to putt through Valley of Sin, nearly birdied first, left an easy 2 inch par putt. What a place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

22 pts off 23 :-(
    But on the upside it was on the west of Ireland course and it was fantastic to be out there today. Included a 280/290 yard drive that hit the ground at about 150 yards and rolled out forever. It was a right dogleg and I caught it off the heel and she spun for Ireland up the middle :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Played Moate on Saturday and had 35 pts and I was sort of pleased as the pins were all in tough positions for some reason but I know I should have done better. I have to instill a bit of discipline in myself and force myself to practice putting more often this year as it's letting me down all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 ALBT

Mushy and BOB81, it looks like it was the week to play St Andrews. I had 37 on the Old Course on Tuesday, highlights being birdies on Index 1 & 2 and almost pulling off the Tom Watson shot off the wall on the road hole. We played the new course on Wednesday and I had 36, definitely a bit tougher than the Old and probably a better course. Anyone who plays golf should try to make the trip at least once; it's an amazing experience and it's hard to explain the nerves that kick in on the first even though the fairway is 129 yards wide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,018 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

It was crazy good weather, could not have asked for better. Played the Castle Course on Tuesday, its such a nice course. The 17th hole is stunning, and so is the 6th. Had a 92 there, so very happy overall with the rounds.

Thinking of going back for the Open in 15, go to all days. Itd be an experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

Right just played my 3rd rd this wk 23pts tue in kilkenny,17pts in faithlegg yesterday & 17pts in tramore today mother of f..k my game has gone ta ****e. Ive lost 8balls in 3rds..Time i bite the bullet & get a few lessons anyone know a good pro in the waterford area?? I have been told to try a chap called derry kiely he is based in faithlegg anyone use him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭bluebottle102

Had 36 points (+10) in Milltown yesterday. Was playing fairly solid until I went and bogeyed 5 of the last 6. Iron play let me down big time

Went for a practice round after work, there was member behind me who joined me on the third, we had a bit of banter playing the front 9. On the back 9 we played matchplay, ended up shooting 3 over for back 9 granted it was off the whites but still aboslutely chuffed, qualifying starts tomorrow and for first time ever really feeling good about my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

scubapro wrote: »
    Went for a practice round after work, there was member behind me who joined me on the third, we had a bit of banter playing the front 9. On the back 9 we played matchplay, ended up shooting 3 over for back 9 granted it was off the whites but still aboslutely chuffed, qualifying starts tomorrow and for first time ever really feeling good about my game.

Fair play Scuba, cracking golf lately. Glad I couldn't make it ;)

Playing there tomorrow 1:24 if you fancy a spin around again. With a mate off 12. We'll try not to hold you up too much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Brendygg

36 points on the Cashen this eve, started wit 2 7s, annoying. parred the index 1,2 and 3 so happy out. hopefully keep this up into the summer and get cut

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Fair play Scuba, cracking golf lately. Glad I couldn't make it ;)

Playing there tomorrow 1:24 if you fancy a spin around again. With a mate off 12. We'll try not to hold you up too much :)

Might just take you up on that AJ. I'm out at 9.24 so depending on what time I finish. I'll txt you and let you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

Strandhill, 36 holes. (Lucky Me!)
    To tie this in with a few other threads, H'cap 21 - When I was playing my best, I could have had dry spaghetti between my fingers and the grip and make a proper bolognese after! For those of you that know this relatively short Par 70, my (far and away) best tine for 36 holes is 4hrs 35mins non-stop.
    Round 1 : 38pts - 1 X 0Pts
    Round 2 : 39pts - 0 X 0Pts

Happy Happy Happy ! ! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

First monthly medal of the year in Ballykisteen. 38 points off 19. 22 points on the front including 2 birdies (5th hole where i knocked in a 10 footer and the 8th hole where I hit a super second shot over the water to leave myself 2 and a half feet from the hole), only 16 points on the back though (scratched 16 and 18).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

98. Funny Round. My impression going around was that it was steadier golf than normal- 17 -points on the front 9 - two 1's, one 3 pointer. No scratch. I'd normally weigh in with a few more scratches and make up for it with a few three pointers. To be fair with the exception of one medium range putt nothing sank.

I've been working hard enough up on the range on a different move but my ball striking wasn't right. It has come together in the range but I obviously need to keep working on it. I wasn't too put off because I was still scoring and I took encouragement from that. Lost my connection a little bit in the back 9 and things deteriorated a little and a run of 4 points in 4 holes with another scratch a hole later saw things come apart.

anyway.
    4 fairways.
    1 green
    1 penalty
    36 putts. 3 1 putts, 3 3 putts.

Given that I'm not hitting greens it's pretty obvious that there is a big problem with my short game. I haven't been practicing it for 8-9 months. That changes this week.