Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man pushed under Dublin Bus and decapitated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

God knows how this chap's family must feel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭conorhal

smash wrote: »
    Because that would make it all better :rolleyes:

It might make an idiot cop on and realize that they need to assess their behaviour, because they are acting like scum.
    It might make other people with their phones out think twice and it might just force them to consider the lack of compassion that our society currently engenders...
    ...or you know, it might jsut make them scream "My phone! My beautiful expensive iPhone!" In which case all it will manage to achieve is making me feel better, I'm OK with that too BTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Best thing to do is to use your phone to film the people with their phones. They'll soon stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

conorhal wrote: »
    It might make an idiot cop on and realize that they need to assess their behaviour, because they are acting like scum.
    Acting like scum is what you'd be doing if you attacked them. In an instance like this, one of the best ways to detach yourself from the reality of what you're looking at is to place a camera in front of your face.
    It might make other people with their phones out think twice and it might just force them to consider the lack of compassion that our society currently engenders...
    Or you know, you might just end up under a bus yourself.
    ...or you know, it might jsut make them scream "My phone! My beautiful expensive iPhone!" In which case all it will manage to achieve is making me feel better, I'm OK with that too BTW.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

you dont know him,get over it,sad as it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I don't believe it to be "scum" behaviour. Its modern society.

Youtube and similar sites get billions of views daily because of it.

Do I agree with it, no not all the time. Is it scummy. No.

Acting like scum is what you'd be doing if you attacked them. In an instance like this, one of the best ways to detach yourself from the reality of what you're looking at is to place a camera in front of your face.

Or you know, you might just end up under a bus yourself.

:rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

I might, as only a sociopath films a headless corpes, it's not stopped me before though, and what does it say about somebody that throws you under a bus for an iPhone, except to confirm what loathesome scum they are in the first place? But you carry on defending the indefensible, you're doing a good job! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

:rolleyes

I might, as only a sociopath films a headless corpes, it's not stopped me before though, and what does it say about somebody that throws you under a bus for an iPhone, except to confirm what loathesome scum they are in the first place? But you carry on defending the indefensible, you're doing a good job! Well done!

Do you consider someone describing the scene that they witnessed in detail to friends later that night as a sociopath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭thomasj

Then we have the faux outrage at people taking a picture on their camera phones yet image after image of barely cold dead bodies cover our news daily from Palestine, Iraq and elsewhere and we don't seem to blink twice.

Great post so true and we certainly need to step back for a minute and think about what's right and wrong.

The sad fact though is that people would use the above quote to justify posting these images on social networking sites. Its not right, they're gruesome, disturbing and show a lack of respect for the deceased (irrespective of whether deserved or not) and their loved ones and should not be posted, whether they happened here or in Iraq.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭9wetfckx43j5rg

I know some people are complaining about people being too gruesome with the details. But to be honest I think for people like you, that actually saw either what happened or the direct aftermath, its important for you to get it out.

Talking about it will help. Obviously we dont need every single detail but what you posted, I feel, is appropriate.

Thank you, apologies if what I said was blunt, still a bit in shock from it.

I can't say I noticed anyone taking photos, to be honest from what I saw no one could stand to be near his body or even stay looking. I have an awful lot of respect for the man who first covered his upper body with his hi vis. He was the first to make that kind of move, to give him some dignity and decorum and stop others from becoming tramuatised. I know I couldn't bring myself to go any closer.

Do you consider someone describing the scene that they witnessed in detail to friends later that night as a sociopath?

No. Describing it with the aid of a slideshow they've uploaded to rotten.com however, yes.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

you would swear people had spent 6 months fighting in the jungle in vietnam,it was a traffic accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭greenheart

Thank you, apologies if what I said was blunt, still a bit in shock from it.

I can't say I noticed anyone taking photos, to be honest from what I saw no one could stand to be near his body or even stay looking. I have an awful lot of respect for the man who first covered his upper body with his hi vis. He was the first to make that kind of move, to give him some dignity and decorum and stop others from becoming tramuatised. I know I couldn't bring myself to go any closer.

Yeah tbh I found that hard to believe, after seeing something so distressing, someone's first taught would be to take pictures. I hope not.
    I hope they identify him soon, imagine family members not knowing and reading about it online and in threads like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

seems to have been a serious amount of bus and train accidents lately:

girl lost her hands in Dun laoghaire
    another girl died in Dun laoghaire
    train driver in england killed a drunk girl who was leaning on the carriage.
    Guy in new york pushed onto tracks and killed by train.
    this guy with dublin bus.

there's been a few more as well that I cant think of, its weird.

RIP, so sad.

What someone does with their phone has nothing to do with you at all. Mind your own business and don't act like a scumbag by attacking them. Can't believe you're calling others psychopaths!

Reoil wrote: »
    I'm a bit surprised that they're still trying to identify the guy. It makes me think it was either a tourist or a foreigner - in the idea that it's somebody who wouldn't necessarily have somebody close to them to contact the police when they didn't arrive home yesterday evening.

A few years a young doctor was killed on her way to work at the Westmoreland Street/O'Connell bridge junction. Her bike went under a lorry, it took couple of weeks before she was IDed.

What someone does with their phone has nothing to do with you at all. Mind your own business and don't act like a scumbag by attacking them. Can't believe you're calling others psychopaths!

People like that demean us all, as do you. They should be rightly challenged.

If you want to film something, film the perps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

Update from www.rte.ie
    Gardaí are searching for two men in connection with the death of a man in Dublin city centre yesterday.
    The man died at the junction of Dawson Street and Nassau Street.
    Gardaí believe he was involved in a confrontation at around 5.40pm and either fell, was punched or pushed on to the road where he was hit by a bus.
    The man, who is thought to be in his 20s, sustained severe head injuries and died at the scene.
    Gardaí are treating his death as suspicious.
    Two men who were both wearing hoodies and tracksuits, are being sought in connection with the incident.
    Gardaí have appealed to them or anyone with information to contact Pearse Street Garda Station.
    They have also spoken to a number of witnesses and are gathering CCTV footage from the shops, businesses and city council cameras in the area.
    Dublin Bus is also carrying out an inquiry.
    A spokesperson said the bus driver was treated in hospital for shock, but no passengers on the bus were injured.
    A forensic examination of the scene was carried out this morning.
    A post mortem examination is due to be carried out on the dead man today.
    There is a diversion around Dawson Street for northbound routes, but southbound services are not affected.

What a tragedy, my condolences to the victim + his family, and thoughts also with the driver and any bystanders.

To anyone who was taking pics at the scene, ye are sick twisted individuals, and while I wouldn't have stamped on your phone, I would certainly have given you a piece of my mind! :mad: :mad:

greenheart wrote: »
    Yeah tbh I found that hard to believe, after seeing something so distressing, someone's first taught would be to take pictures. I hope not.
    I hope they identify him soon, imagine family members not knowing and reading about it online and in threads like this.

This. 1000 times this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Reoil wrote: »
    I'm a bit surprised that they're still trying to identify the guy. It makes me think it was either a tourist or a foreigner - in the idea that it's somebody who wouldn't necessarily have somebody close to them to contact the police when they didn't arrive home yesterday evening.
    Tourists or foreigners would be identified quite quickly - as said above they'll be carrying some form of ID, but it's also rare for someone to be travelling on their own and not be in contact with anyone. So they're noticed missing quite quickly.

Homeless people on the other hand effectively live off the grid and unless they spend all of their time with a spouse, then they're unlikely to be reported missing by their friends or associates, since they would be well used to disappearing for days or weeks at a time.
    Word on the street at the moment is that this was a homeless man. Once they know who he is, chances are the Gardai will have known him well (even just from moving him on) and will know his typical friends/associates. At that point they should be able to identify the two guys involved.

People that that demean us all, as do you. They should be rightly challenged.

If you want to film something, film the perps.
    You're right... We should just beat them up!

Where did I say lay a hand on anybody?

I said take their phone and smash it. Then tell them they should be ashamed of what an amoral looser they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It's a very sad indictment on society when it becomes acceptable to snap away at the scene of a horrific accident like this. I genuinely don't know how people can witness it and their first thought is to whip out their phone...I don't understand the process behind it at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Rabbitt

I think the debate is good regarding people's reactions and what's right and what's wrong.
    Personally I wouldn't take a pic but I wouldn't try beat someone up who did. Do I think it's a step too far taking a pic? Yes but funnily enough id probably look at a photo. I don't know why that is, probably a weird " am I a man , can I handle it " thing. We don't walk about streets expecting to see a horrific accident so we can't really explain are reactions afterwards be them right or wrong .
    Either way it's horribly horribly sad. I pray to god the man went quick with minimal pain.

Again , praise to the man who covered him .

It's a very sad indictment on society when it becomes acceptable to snap away at the scene of a horrific accident like this. I genuinely don't know how people can witness it and their first thought is to whip out their phone...I don't understand the process behind it at all...

Lack of common sense, perhaps?

I said take their phone and smash it. Then tell them they should be ashamed of what an amoral looser they are.
    So assault, theft and destruction of property... And they should be ashamed of themselves?

And "an amoral looser"... Maybe you should look that up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Does that apply to gutter press journalists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

This accident brings back memories of a similar experience I witnessed a number of years ago. Was waiting to board a plane in Dallas airport when there was a huge commotion of airport security and EMT's rushing onto the runway. Some poor man was fixing one of the airport vehicles that move the luggage from the plane to the carousel when it collapsed on top of him and killed him instantly. Now I only saw the aftermath whereby his body was just lying there on the runway, and I was a good distance away from the incident, but I must have been only 11 or 12 at the time and it's something that's still etched on my brain.

With that in mind I can emphatise with those who bore witness to yesterday's events, especially considering how up close and personal it would have been for them. Would wish it on anyone.

Does that apply to gutter press journalists?

The Levinson enquiry would suggest, yes. What kind of amoral scumbag hacks the phone of a dead child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

On the lunchtime news they are saying that the believe they have identified the poor guy