If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nexus 4 ordering process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭aka Dus

So a general question about the Nexus 4 Stock Alert app.

I've been running it since before Xmas. Nothing happens with it. I don't even know what should happen (I suspect that there will be some kind of alarm in the notification bar of my Nexus 7).

Is nothing happening because it doesn't really work (I have it set to check for N4 16GB)? Or just that there simply has not been any stock available at any time since early December (or I might have been asleep for the 30 seconds that there was and missed the windowlet of opportunity)?

Anybody have any insight here? It would be nice to delete something that the developer says uses up to 150MB per month, sits permanently in my notification bar but doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,716 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

aka Dus wrote: »

I've been running it since before Xmas. Nothing happens with it. I don't even know what should happen (I suspect that there will be some kind of alarm in the notification bar of my Nexus 7).

Is nothing happening because it doesn't really work (I have it set to check for N4 16GB)? Or just that there simply has not been any stock available at any time since early December (or I might have been asleep for the 30 seconds that there was and missed the windowlet of opportunity)?

Anybody have any insight here? It would be nice to delete something that the developer says uses up to 150MB per month, sits permanently in my notification bar but doesn't work.

It only works on the Nexus 4

Bluefoam wrote: »

An app designed to check the status of Nexus 4 stock in the Play Store that only works on a Nexus 4? Genius idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭smackyB

That's not true. I was running it on my Galaxy Nexus in December and it worked grand.

EDIT: You are using this one, yes? https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=it.lorthirk.NexusChecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,716 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

smackyB wrote: »
    That's not true. I was running it on my Galaxy Nexus in December and it worked grand.

EDIT: You are using this one, yes? https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=it.lorthirk.NexusChecker

I was being cynical... I'm sure it works on plenty of devices

No this one: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.maor.notifiers.android4instockalarm

**** it, I'll just install both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

aka Dus wrote: »

I don't think they've become available again since December. Could be wrong but they're only just catching up with orders from before Christmas so I don't think they'd have accepted any new orders in the mean time.

Have you had it running at a time you know that new orders were accepted?

I don't think they've become available again since December. Could be wrong but they're only just catching up with orders from before Christmas so I don't think they'd have accepted any new orders in the mean time.

Have you had it running at a time you know that new orders were accepted?

I don't know. :) It's been running constantly since mid December but I have no idea if devices have gone on sale. That's why I installed the app.

Thanks for the reply, I'll just keep letting both run and see if something happens. Hopefully I will soon be woken up by a klaxon sound in the middle of the night and can rush to the play store to make an order for my 'new' Nexus 4 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I'd they could be back on sale in Feb and when they are there will be a lot less wait time. I'm basing this assumption on this

I was being cynical... I'm sure it works on plenty of devices

Sorry, went right over my head :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 elarkin

Seems like mine has been delayed.......it got sent to the 'incorrect depot' in Portadown!!!

Raging! Hopefully they'll sort it out quickly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Delivered this morning. Woohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

What phones are people moving from that are expecting their n4s this week? I upgraded from a HTC desire and the difference is huge, its really a gorgeous phone, pics and videos don't do it justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 johnh87

Mine has been delivered too. anybody have any idea when it will be in the local parcel motel and do we get the message straight away when it arrives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

johnh87 wrote: »
    Mine has been delivered too. anybody have any idea when it will be in the local parcel motel and do we get the message straight away when it arrives?

From past experience I usually get the text with my PIN at either 7pm or 7am so they must stock it twice a day. Obviously your parcel motel location may be different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

johnh87 wrote: »

I got some stuff delivered through them before and it seems to be an automated text when it's delivered to your local box. It gives you the location and the pin needed to collect.

I don't know about delivery times though. The text I got last time came at about 7am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭markad1

mine still showing out for delivery :-/

1/22/13 4:56 AM Out for delivery on GLS vehicle United Kingdom

What site are you using to check the delivery status?

The GLS site

https://gls-group.eu/EU/en/parcel-tracking

you enter the DIR number from the google email linking you to your tracking

The bottom of page 62 tells the whole story...fair play to thewheel2.0 for that.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056795046&page=62

markad1 wrote: »
    The GLS site

https://gls-group.eu/EU/en/parcel-tracking

you enter the DIR number from the google email linking you to your tracking

Deadly, delivered :)

now check your parcelmotel see if you were debited :D

markad1 wrote: »
    now check your parcelmotel see if you were debited :D

It has been indeed, happy days!

What depot did your parcels go through lads?

My status has updated to 'Forwarded to correct depot' but it is still at Portadown?! Kinda confusing. No update since 11.31 a.m. now.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brasher

My parcelmotel has been debited. So what's their delivery schedule like? Mine arrived there at 11.41 today, so probably tomorrow before it gets back down here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brasher

elarkin wrote: »
    What depot did your parcels go through lads?

My status has updated to 'Forwarded to correct depot' but it is still at Portadown?! Kinda confusing. No update since 11.31 a.m. now.........

Mine went through Belfast central Depot.

Cheers thanks. I'm assuming that is where it should have gone in the first place. Not sure how they made that error.

Hopefully it will get transferred asap. Really hoping the package doesn't get misplaced after all this waiting.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭fiacha

In the past I have had parcels shipped to Belfast arrive in my Dublin PM by 11pm that night. Never later than 07:00 the next day.
    Normally get an email for the 11pm delivery followed by a txt the next morning.

Really worried about my delivery status here. I've attached a screengrab of it below. Seems like they are sending the phone around in circles in Portadown!!! :mad: :mad: :mad: Not sure what to think

Has this happened to anyone else?? Think I may have to ring them.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭DoubleJoe7

Giving up on going down the tunnelbear/parcel motel route as stock of the N10 is non existent in the UK.

My bro-in-law lives 5 minutes from a Walmart that has it in stock. I can buy it online, have him collect it at the store and send it to me - has anyone done anything similar and if so how much did they pay in customs?