Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WRH proposed downgrade - protest on Saturday the 23rd of Feb

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Yaxihy

mozattack wrote: »
    Waste of time today, not sure why people bother really. I suppose it is like those who go to Mass because they think there is a heaven.

RTE interview a consultant who will definately give an unbiased opinion while she earns €130k - €150k per annum PLUS whatever she earns in her private practice operating out of the same office.

It is the likes of that that increase the costs ultimately shutting down the place.

For that nonsense, apply it to schools, colleges, garda stations.... and so on.

The most nonsense statement of all was the one you just made. Would you rather no consultants turned up to offer support, simply because they are high earners? No doubt some people would have then had a gripe then that the "overpaid" consultants didn't even bother to show up.

Your comment is nothing more than negative consultant bashing. I'm personally glad you felt it was a waste of time, at least it kept the negativity associated with you away from the protest.

Y

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Deisetrek wrote: »
    I think you see Coffey through your rose tinted Fine Gael glasses Sully , he was non committal on his position if the proposal went ahead " he would have to consider his position " blah blah . Let him get up in the Dail and shout it to the heavens . The people of Waterford gave our TD's a clear message today .....there's no votes in this town for ye unless ye represent the feelings of 15000 of your constituents who will take no more of ye're ****e and as an earlier poster called it " posturing" . That's the only way these shower will act ,if they feel they will be hit at the ballot box. All this talk too of seeing people handing out leaflets relating to other issues is Coffeyspeak and a cynical attempt to portray the event as having been hijacked . Bull**** ....I saw one girl handing out something ( refused to take it myself) 99.99% of people there today were there for the Hospital and those 2 girls who started this should be proud of themselves tonight.
    I don't think that's true, as an Fg supporter, I know Paudie will not stand by such a decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Well done to all who were there today, we have been walked on for far too long lets not stop here and let this sham of a government know we mean business. We have lost way to much in the south east. I would like to ask the silent Td's from the south east who are part of this present government what does gateway city mean because I'll be Fcuked if I know.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Well done to all who were there today, we have been walked on for far too long lets not stop here and let this sham of a government know we mean business. We have lost way to much in the south east. I would like to ask the silent Td's from the south east who are part of this present government what does gateway city mean because I'll be Fcuked if I know.

There not all silent on the matter, that's for sure. We have had both sides of the coin aired at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

ryanf1 wrote: »
    I don't think that's true, as an Fg supporter, I know Paudie will not stand by such a decision.

He seems happy enough to stand by others. Only the other night he proclaimed it was party policy ahead of the City.

Sully wrote: »
    There not all silent on the matter, that's for sure. We have had both sides of the coin aired at this stage.

They are silent in the main. Particularly Government TDs. You really need to take those glasses off.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

ryanf1 wrote: »

Well sorry but we need to hear him say it in the Dail chambers where it matters , not shuffling nervously and mumbling something vaguely along the lines of having to MAYBE consider his position when put to him by Damien Tiernan . He needs to let our award winning favourite little European know that the people of the South East will not lie down anymore .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Great to see a big turnout, it sends a message so fair play to all who supported.

RTE done a good piece on it too so fair play to Damien Tiernan who conveyed the seriousness of the people/protest

The 2 ladies behind it all deserve the most praise

In fairness to Paudie Coffey, he cant do much more than what he seems to be doing, saying considering his position, seems to be working behind scene etc.

Maybe they are beginning to grasp the anger of the people of the south east
    We have had enough and we are not going to take anymore. Think now back to St Patrick's Hospital, a man had to go on hunger strike there to highlight the scandalous closure of a perfectly good ward sadly to no avail, our Ambulance call service, St Monica's unit, I can keep going. There are two TD' who did speak up about this and I can tell you it will be remembered around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Instead of Urbs Intacta Manet our new motto should be Urbs oblitus Manet.(Waterford the forgotten City) I saw some beauties of so called politicans being escorted by gardai and others that had the neck to be there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Might be time to give the mighty Martin Cullen a ring at his mansion in sunny Florida.
    He will sort it out....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭marlin vs

washman3 wrote: »
    Might be time to give the mighty Martin Cullen a ring at his mansion in sunny Florida.
    He will sort it out....
    Now your talking, his motto is im allright jack and cfuk you.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Have any other TDs stated their position?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I am confused:confused:.Why were Coffey and Phelan there? After all its their colleague that's caused all this mess.Do they not realise they are in Government now, not in opposition.

Correction, its an "expert" group that's recommending this to the minister.If he approves it, what will they do then?

jimmyw wrote: »
    I am confused:confused:.Why were Coffey and Phelan there? After all its their colleague that's caused all this mess.Do they not realise they are in Government now, not in opposition.

So where was John Deasy anyone remember him. He knocked on my door in the last election and promised the sun moon and stars but he forgot to mention his gang were going to rob them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

That picture is very good, I didn't realise it was a Jersey when it passed.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Correction, its an "expert" group that's recommending this to the minister.If he approves it, what will they do then?

People moan if they don't do anything and moan if they do. Paudie, John Paul Phelan, Maurice Cummins John Cummins were present. The two TDs and Senator may be in government, may be a member of the political party but this is one cut to far in their eyes and they marched in support (after stating very clearly their support since this arose) of the people of the South East and wanted to take a stand.

They will continue to represent the Waterford and South East Region in government. They will continue to fight against the downgrading of the Hospital. They have raised the matter in the Houses of Government back in early October before it was a big issue and all talk across Waterford. They have continued to lobby and put pressure on the Government to ensure Waterford is not touched. This is their job and this is what they are doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭reni10

Did John Deasy and Ciara Conway actually take part in the march? I see no mention of them attending?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

reni10 wrote: »
    Did John Deasy and Ciara Conway actually take part in the march? I see no mention of them attending?

I'm certainly going to send them an email to find out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

“People of the same trade seldom meet together, even for merriment and diversion, but the conversation ends in a conspiracy against the public, or in some contrivance to raise prices.” - Adam Smith

I suppose the same applies to our public sector consultants.

People moan if they don't do anything and moan if they do. Paudie, John Paul Phelan, Maurice Cummins John Cummins were present. The two TDs and Senator may be in government, may be a member of the political party but this is one cut to far in their eyes and they marched in support (after stating very clearly their support since this arose) of the people of the South East and wanted to take a stand.

They will continue to represent the Waterford and South East Region in government. They will continue to fight against the downgrading of the Hospital. They have raised the matter in the Houses of Government back in early October before it was a big issue and all talk across Waterford. They have continued to lobby and put pressure on the Government to ensure Waterford is not touched. This is their job and this is what they are doing.

"Their job" as you put it is to protect those elected them. As I said previously, Coffey made no bones of it this week that he will put FG party policy ahead of the City's needs. And this is called "representation"? And as for your "all talk" comment that is extremely disrespectful really.

"Lobby and put pressure"? They need to resign their whips to show that they are one with the marching masses. But they'll be too busy bowing to party policy to do that.

They - and those who support and defend them - should hang their heads in shame.

7upfree wrote: »
    "Their job" as you put it is to protect those elected them. As I said previously, Coffey made no bones of it this week that he will put FG party policy ahead of the City's needs. And this is called "representation"? And as for your "all talk" comment that is extremely disrespectful really.

"Lobby and put pressure"? They need to resign their whips to show that they are one with the marching masses. But they'll be too busy bowing to party policy to do that.

They - and those who support and defend them - should hang their heads in shame.

That's not how life works. If you were told that your employer was going to cut your wages in half, would you resign immediately and throw a tantrum? Or would you fight it, let them know that if they go ahead with it, you will be gone.

We elected the TDs to represent us, to fight for us. That is what they are doing. They are working hard to ensure that any such decision is not made. They wont resign now - why would they? They don't even know 100% if the report is going to suggest this and they don't know 100% what the government is going to do with the report. So they will fight, represent and make demands. If that fails, they walk.

That's how the real world works in many examples. Work, Committees, and so on. We don't walk before something happens. We fight first and if no use, we walk.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

There are countless examples of expert reports that have been subsequently been ignored by ministers. Sure just look at the Port report on the upgrading of WIT! Ignored when it suited the minister! :mad:

The report can recommend what it likes, but the decision is up to the civil servants! Oh sorry, did I say "civil servants"? I meant "the government". ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

reni10 wrote: »
    My other half spotted Conway

• Registered Users Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Benimar

That's not how life works. If you were told that your employer was going to cut your wages in half, would you resign immediately and throw a tantrum? Or would you fight it, let them know that if they go ahead with it, you will be gone.

But they haven't done this. They will 'consider their position' is a long way from 'if you b*stards go through with this I'm out of here'

'Consider my position' is an idle threat, it means absolutely nothing and many, many politicians have been know to 'consider their position' best served by putting Party first.

We elected the TDs to represent us, to fight for us. That is what they are doing. They are working hard to ensure that any such decision is not made. They wont resign now - why would they? They don't even know 100% if the report is going to suggest this and they don't know 100% what the government is going to do with the report. So they will fight, represent and make demands. If that fails, they walk.

That's how the real world works in many examples. Work, Committees, and so on. We don't walk before something happens. We fight first and if no use, we walk.

Sully, again - seriously? This Government is a disaster. Coffey - for all his posturing - is the worst, quickly followed by Deasy. And as for Ciara Conway -
    she is the epitome of the running joke that is the Labour Party.

A party aligned with the Unions - which is imposing these austerity measures.....while the unions organise "protest marches" against them. FFS you wouldn't see this in Father Ted.

Here's the real world Sully:

* Our City is under attack from all sides.

* The FG party and it's henchman Hogan are the prime drivers in this.

* That same FG party blew off a load of hot air about guaranteeing to upgrade WIT to a Uni. Hasn't happened.

* Two new TDs were elected courtesy of an anti-FF backlash - not because they might perform. They have clearly shown they cannot.

* Coffey has made it clear that FG comes first - Waterford City second. A recipe for disaster.

Reality.

7upfree wrote: »
    Sully, again - seriously? This Government is a disaster. Coffey - for all his posturing - is the worst, quickly followed by Deasy. And as for Ciara Conway -
    she is the epitome of the running joke that is the Labour Party.

I never said they weren't a disaster? I expected better when I voted. I didn't get what I expected. People have a high unfair expectation on all our TDs - FG, Lab, and Ind. But I do feel that Paudie is doing his best and what he was elected to do. You and others disagree. Welcome to the world where peoples views may not be the same. I believe John Deasy is hopeless, the worst out all our TDs. I have absolutely no idea what he does, because I never hear about him doing anything bar complaining about the government.

As for Ciara Conway - relatively new to politics and is sticking by her party. I'm disappointed she isn't going to walk from the party if they downgrade the hospital.
    A party aligned with the Unions - which is imposing these austerity measures.....while the unions organise "protest marches" against them. FFS you wouldn't see this in Father Ted.

Well the people did vote for them and knew what they were getting.
    Here's the real world Sully:

* Our City is under attack from all sides.

* The FG party and it's henchman Hogan are the prime drivers in this.

* That same FG party blew off a load of hot air about guaranteeing to upgrade WIT to a Uni. Hasn't happened.

* Two new TDs were elected courtesy of an anti-FF backlash - not because they might perform. They have clearly shown they cannot.

* Coffey has made it clear that FG comes first - Waterford City second. A recipe for disaster.

Reality.

1) Agreed.

2) Don't fully agree. I don't think this or any other government take much notice of Waterford and have no particular agenda against it.

3) Seem to be doing more than other parties. You can't say it wont happen, and I can't say it will with absolutely certainty. All I can comment on is the progress made so far by the government and correct people who blame the government for the proposals when it was WIT that made them.

4) Three new TDs, remember. Two FG, 1 Labour, 1 Ind. Fianna Fail only had one seat in Waterford.

5) How does the party come first if he resigns if WRH is downgraded? He already stated on WLR he would. Senator Cummins said the same. How is it party first if he has publicly stated he is against the downgrading of WRH and has attended the protests whereas he is in favour of the City & County Councils being merged? Two FG policies affecting Waterford. Two different approaches taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭invara

It was great to see the protest, great to see the people of the region taking a stand; first time in my living memory of Waterford standing up for itself.

Interesting discussion about our representatives. This protest strengthens their hands in party discussions. Very early for them to be issuing threats, but what happened will not be missed on them. Waterford needs delivery from them. In the past because we did not punish poor performance from our representatives they could be overlooked in the national debates. Perhaps we are coming to the end of this softly-softly approach. We traditionally do not make a fuss (eg. closure of the crystal), and we started to get attention when we made a fuss about talktalk going.

The city has only had one minister in the history of the state and he delivered the motorway, private cancer care and the carriganore campus/3 big buildings for WIT. Previous ministers in the region have delivered in very local ways for their neighbourhood.

Well done to everyone yesterday, especially the organisers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

He hasn't as of yet, anyway. Kenny has nothing to do with this as it stands. James Reilly ordered the report and he doesn't know the contents or its recommendations. Its until he receives it and then goes to cabinet will Kenny know about it.

Yep political deniability ,along with "its all speculation", "nothing has been confirmed" , "no decisions have been made"

Chiparus wrote: »
    Yep political deniability ,along with "its all speculation", "nothing has been confirmed" , "no decisions have been made"

What's your point?