Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scammers on Donedeal

• 13-10-2012 3:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭

So some fella tried to scam me on Donedeal.ie. I put up an advert for an iPhone 4S just over a week ago. After just an hour of putting it up, some fella tried to scam me by sending me a spoof payment email from Paypal. After saying to him that I would contact the Donedeal staff and authorities, I had yet another scammer contact me. I decided to play along with this one. Il attach the emails to "warn" the rest of you if you are selling something online. If you need his proper address or details il attach it. Its worth knowing that paypal never use an escrow service, and even if you get an email off "paypal" informing of payment, its worth logging into the paypal to confirm payment first.

Me:
    Hi, In relation to the donedeal ad,
    I am asking for 330e for the iPhone 4S. Sure make us an offer and I will consider it.
    Regards,

Huston Kelly:
    Thanks for your response..I would be glad to get you 400 paid including the shipping cost abroad..So i will want you to get the item off from the listing and get back to me with the paypal id you want the funds to be transferred to. Also,the item is needed as an urgent demand..i wait to read from you ASAP

Alarm bells here: why would they give 400 quid instead of 340…

me:
    Hi Huston, I will post the item as soon as the costs have cleared from paypal. My paypal address is s**********m@gmail.com. What is your shipping address?

Huston Kelly:
    I would like to inform you that the payment has been made and the
    money has been deducted from my account.But for security reason,they
    have to receive the shipment information to remit the funds into your
    account.So i will want you to get the item packed right now and get it
    posted to the confirmed paypal address..here below is the confirmed
    address the item would be mailed to

Name: Adeyemi O*****n
    Address: no.*,zone *,aba alamu,apata,
    City:Ibadan,
    Zip code: 2***2
    Tel ; +2348072733268

Shipment should be done viaexpress mail..so kindly get back to me with
    the paypal id you want the funds to be transferred to..i wait to read
    from you ASAP

At this stage I got a real looking spoof paypal email off "service@paypal.com. customercentreunit@emailaccount.com" saying that I would get 400e into my account as soon as I gave them proof of postage. Im definite its a scam at this stage....

me:
    Thanks Huston, I received the mulah. I will post it asap.

Huston Kelly:
    Ok...I will want you to kindly get the item shipped first thing in the
    morning..Thanks for the business

me:
    Yea, no bov bruv.

Huston Kelly:
    Also,i will want you to get the item off now from the donedeal listing

me:
    Yea, im right on top of it champ.

Huston Kelly:
    hello,just need to confirm if you've got the item shipped...

me:
    Hi Huston,
    My apologies, but I was too busy this morning on a guinea pig farm to post the iPhone 4S. I work part-time as a guinea pig sexer, separating them into boars & sows to stop them breeding. This is my busiest season as it is very important that we do this now or else the newly born pups can struggle to survive in the deep winter snows out on the glens. Although I very much value your custom, I hope that you understand that I must put the lives of our pre-conceived livestock first.

That said, I should be able to get someone skilled enough to cover for me while I drive the Zeter down to the post office tomorrow. Do you mind me asking what you work at yourself? Also, what is your address again? -I accidentally set fire to it when I printed it off onto a postage label yesterday.

Huston Kelly:
    Ok...no problem...kindly just make sure the item is been shipped out
    not later than tomorrow as it is needed urgently..here below is the
    confirmedaddress the item would be mailed to

Huston Kelly:
    Hello,just need to confirm if you've got the item shipped...if i not,i
    urge you to kindly get the shipment done not later than today and get
    back to me with the shipment details.I wait to read from you ASAP

At this stage I sold the phone to a proper donedeale.ie buyer

me:
    Howya Huston!
    I packaged up the iPhone with the headphones and all the original accessories loaded it up in the tractor for the spin down to the post officer. However, down in the office I embarrassed myself in front of Bridie the postal worker because I didn't know what to write on the box. Your name is Huston Kelly, right? When i looked at the printed off emails, the address I had was:

Tel ; +2348072733268

However, your name is Huston Kelly, right? Do you want me to send the package to the following address?

Huston Kelly

Tel ; +2348072*****68

I got all confuddled and I had to ask Bridie who works from the post office but she just laughed said she didnt know ya. After further embarrassing myself by accidentally writing the end of your very long address on the desk below the letter, I decided to call a halt, head back home and contact you instead.

So could you please confirm that I have the correct address? Here, are you any relation to the Kellys from Moylough? I used to play camogie with John-joe Kelly when I was younger. Just the two of us in a field with his springer spaniel in goals. We used to tell everyone it was hurling so that the fellow villagers wouldn't talk about us. Would it be handier for me to give the phone to him and for you to pick it up off him when you are over again?

Also, will you mostly be using the phone abroad? Im asking because im worried that you might not realise that this phone is locked to Vodafone Ireland. Im not sure if the Irish wireless phone signal will go as far as ya, but that said, we sometimes get the english tv channels down here in the republic when we have fine weather, so you might get lucky. On Saturday nights we gather around to get a great laugh watching the funny baldy irish lad interviewing folks on Channel 4.

I took down the advert for ya on DoneDeal.ie. Are ya hoping to have the iPhone on time for Santy?

Huston Kelly:
    I don't what really is going on regarding the shipment that is yet to
    be done..i get so worried to hear back again that the phone hasn't
    been shipped.i gave you the correct address which was also confirmed
    by paypal to get the item shipped to...The name on the shipping
    Address is Adeyemi Olalekan and not Huston Kelly...Here below again is
    the confirmed name and address you are to get the item shipped to..

i need you to make sure the item is shipped out today or latest by
    tomorrow morning as it is needed as an urgent demand

me:
    I dont know whats going either Huston. Do you not want me to post it to you or do you want me to post it to Adeyemi O*****n?

Huston Kelly:
    Good morning..I will want you to get the item posted to Adeyemi
    O*****n...Please kindly get that done first thing in the morning and
    i would really appreciate it alot if you could get the item shipped
    out not laterv than today.So Adeyemi O****n is the name the item
    will be posted to and not Huston Kelly

me:
    Morning schan,
    Thats not a bother, Il do that so when im gone through this batch of guinea pigs. You do know your own name is Huston Kelly though, right?. Just a heads up, I followed your request and got the donedeal.ie iPhone advert taken down yesterday. However, I still got a message of a different lad from Nigeria this morning looking to buy it. I reckon he must know you. He must have known that you are on the lookout for an iPhone and is trying to surprise you with one as a present for Christmas. I didn't want to disappoint him myself so I said that I would tell you first. If you dont know who he is, I reckon the handiest thing to do is to tell them in the post office that you are waiting on an iPhone 4S from Ireland and word will soon spread.

me:
    Hi Huston,
    Im just about to head down to the post office now after my sandwich. Are you sure that the address you gave me in the last email is correct? It seems awful short:

Adeyemi O*******n

Are you well known or something? Would it not be better if I had it sent to:

Il head back to work and when I get a response off ya il drive down to Bridie in the post office.

Huston Kelly:
    Hello,
    Yes that's the correct address to ship the Iphone, here is it once again below:

And make sure it is shipped via Registered through post office. I awaits for the tracking number. Cheers.

Huston Kelly:
    State:Oyo

I forgot to put the State's name in my last email. Its correct now.

me:
    No bother Huston, I think I have your address sorted in my head now. One the guinea pigs ran into the cabin of the tractor and accidentally locked the doors by jumping against the windows in a panic. Once I talk him through it il drive down with the package.

Over and out.

Huston Kelly:
    Ok. Am waiting. Cheers.

Me (unfortunately I was flat out with work, and didnt get a chance to respond until a week later):
    Mr Huston,
    First off, sorry for the late reply. Last Friday, after going hoarse from roarin' and nearly running out of paper and magic markers, I finally got the guinea-pig to figure out how to unlock the doors of the tractor. Unfortunately it was getting dark at this stage and had to leave going down to the post office. We have no work on mondays (we dont like to handle the animals after the weekend due to their sore heads) so it would be a handy day for going down to the post office. However, due to the new recessionary cutbacks by the government, its only open now from Wednesdays 8.45am to 9.12am, all day Thursdays, and on Friday from 3.49pm until 7.00pm when the local hurling team arent playing.
    I will motor down to the post office later on today.
    Sorry now for all this hassle. To try and make up for it, Il put a good charge into the iPhone before I put it back into its box in case you have different electricity from us. You must be dying to play Angry Birds at this stage, and God knows how much I hate them laughing pigs myself. Il send you an email after I have it posted this afternoon.

I am waiting on his reply since :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

poor auld houston

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

What's your point OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

nearly running out of paper and magic markers

brilliant...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

keith16 wrote: »
    What's your point OP?
    Huston, we have a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Houstan Kelly! Sounds like a black porn star......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

What's your point OP?

How is the guinea pig breeding program going anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Shnoggi

Dying laughing here,brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Fair play op, best post I read on boards in a long time :D

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭fox_1973

had such a laugh reading that, good on ya! make sure you post the reply you get :)

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

fox_1973 wrote: »
    had such a laugh reading that, good on ya! make sure you post the reply you get :)

I had a laugh too writing it. Aye, il post up any more emails I get. Any suggestions on what I could say to him next? Word of warning though, it will have to impress keith16...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Ah the Kellys of Nigeria

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

It's quite simple really OP. Everybody in Nigeria is corrupt. :cool:

Stinicker wrote: »
    What's your point OP?

Quite well actually. One called huston has learned to type.

fox_1973 wrote: »

I had a laugh too writing it. Aye, il post up any more emails I get. Any suggestions on what I could say to him next? Word of warning though, it will have to impress keith16...

Just buy me flowers and get me drunk if you want to impress me.

Stinicker wrote: »
    has yet to start, the animals are nervous and want to be shown what to do through role-play, they just need to find a guinea-pig to be the first to be made dive in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Did you search the name on Facebook? The Adayemi one? Almost definitely a fake, but a lot of scammers aren't very bright. If you happen to find a guy that looks like it matches the location and name, make a fake profile with Huston Kelly and add him. Only if you're bored like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Huston, we have a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Huston Kelly

Hi SchrodingersCat, just to let you know that i am still waiting on my new iphone, angry birds are waiting for me!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Hi SchrodingersCat, just to let you know that i am still waiting on my new iphone, angry birds are waiting for me!!!!

You got a problem, Huston?.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Why are you scamming the poor Nigerian? OP Play nice.

Ah shure Nigerian scammmers

Great bunch of lads:D

Although in fairness there are some amount of scammers on Donedeal now(not just the Nigerians boyos)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

good one,at least you kept it going for couple days.

I recently got email from shell South Africa claiming my phone number won 1milllion gbp :D.Well straight away i knew this was a scam but shell is in NIGERIA based mostly btw rolleyes.png.So anyway.
    Me:Omg i cant believe it has happened ,full million and my number omg what do i do next mister biggrin.png
    HIM:We got your number from Irish government concerning this,well need you details,adress blab laa bank details fill in couple attached forms and so on,didn't even open any of the attachments in case theres some sort of virus or some crap in there.
    ME:Omg still cant believe one million pounds,even my family cant believe is there any chance you could send me a picture holding this huge check with my phone number on it to me,also take out 50k and hire private jet to fly into DUB airport where ill greet you and well do business then straight in bank and after that have a huge party :pac:
    Story ended the guy didn't respond and the j*** off didn't send me a picture :(

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Smidge wrote: »
    Ah shure Nigerian scammmers

Great bunch of lads:D

this is a classic:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

scamalert wrote: »
    good one,at least you kept it going for couple days.

Your username says it all.

OP, tell him you have it sent and get his hopes up.

Better yet send a package about the size it should be if it were the phone, put dog poop or something just as awful in a box.
    Get the box and use an entire roll of sellotape on it, parcel it up and post it to the address he gave you.

Just for the craic:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

yeah made few mistakes in replying to him theres whole 319 website dedicated to these scums and how they are being ripped off or ridiculed instead of scamming the person,but dont have time to go after them,only feel sorry for those who fall for such scams,and even worse they are coming now from locations as close as England or Ireland itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

email him a pic of an iphone beside his address label. then tell him you are stuck for E2.30 to post it and get him to paypal it to you. you can return it after "Paypal" clears.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

bloody brillant :L:L:L:L