Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 murray sparkle

What is this 'they couldn't afford him' stuff? That's rubbish. Facts is Facts. If a presenter, on any station, is bringing in the listeners they should be attracting advertising revenue to that programme also. (Gerry Ryan being a case in point). Therefore, the business would have the money to afford the presenter.

Aaron Burchael is no longer on Tipp FM because he was not up to scratch. He got away with his sycophant side kicks, Cagney & Lacey theme tune backing music, fake applause, shouting links, brain dead content, ME ME ME talk and Mosney Red Coat MC shtick for too long. It was lowest common denominator radio.

If he was that good and Tipp FM couldn't afford him why didn't a regional or a national snap him up? After all, he says that he was bringing in a huge audience and what station doesn't want a huge audience?

I like Antoinette in the morning, I liked hearing Andrew Looby too this week. I'm an Ian Dempsey listener and always have been. I don't get this concept of having to be zany and wacky at 7 o'clock every day. When I wake up I want to be woken up gently. I don't want the audio equivalent of Bozo the Clown standing by the side of my bed squirting water from a fake flower in my face.

Trends change and people change. Aaron Burchael's day has come and gone. He's a confident guy and he should try something else using the talents that he has (and he is a talented individual - just not to my taste) in another sphere. Running a radio station from a back bedroom is not the path to riches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,058 ✭✭✭tippspur

What is this 'they couldn't afford him' stuff? That's rubbish. Facts is Facts. If a presenter, on any station, is bringing in the listeners they should be attracting advertising revenue to that programme also. (Gerry Ryan being a case in point). Therefore, the business would have the money to afford the presenter.

Aaron Burchael is no longer on Tipp FM because he was not up to scratch. He got away with his sycophant side kicks, Cagney & Lacey theme tune backing music, fake applause, shouting links, brain dead content, ME ME ME talk and Mosney Red Coat MC shtick for too long. It was lowest common denominator radio.

If he was that good and Tipp FM couldn't afford him why didn't a regional or a national snap him up? After all, he says that he was bringing in a huge audience and what station doesn't want a huge audience?

I like Antoinette in the morning, I liked hearing Andrew Looby too this week. I'm an Ian Dempsey listener and always have been. I don't get this concept of having to be zany and wacky at 7 o'clock every day. When I wake up I want to be woken up gently. I don't want the audio equivalent of Bozo the Clown standing by the side of my bed squirting water from a fake flower in my face.

Trends change and people change. Aaron Burchael's day has come and gone. He's a confident guy and he should try something else using the talents that he has (and he is a talented individual - just not to my taste) in another sphere. Running a radio station from a back bedroom is not the path to riches.
    Where are ya Mike?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭johnplayer

A bit harsh there don't you think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭WayneScott

tippspur wrote: »
    Where are ya Mike?:)
    mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Jim Bowen

Compare and contrast Aaron's breakfast show listenership figures with those being achieved by the current incumbent. Aaron was not to my taste in the mornings either but he got the listeners. He handed over a lot of listeners to Tipp Today and he has not been replaced in terms of listener numbers. This knocks on to the numbers who listen to Tipp Today. This knocks on to the overall JNLR book. In fact Tipp FM are haemorrhaging listeners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

Jim Bowen wrote: »
    Compare and contrast Aaron's breakfast show listenership figures with those being achieved by the current incumbent. Aaron was not to my taste in the mornings either but he got the listeners. He handed over a lot of listeners to Tipp Today and he has not been replaced in terms of listener numbers. This knocks on to the numbers who listen to Tipp Today. This knocks on to the overall JNLR book. In fact Tipp FM are haemorrhaging listeners.

But they had someone doing breakfast between aaron going,and the present incumbent,who will need a chance to build a new listenership base.As far as tipp today goes,the presenter there is well capaple of losing listeners all by himself,with arrogant presenting,and boring radio!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭aisr1ofk43dpy5

Any time I heard Tipp Today I thought the presenter did a good job he seemed capable of interacting with guests and listeners on a wide variety of subjects. Been the kind of programme it is current affairs/local issues etc it cant always be entertaining. Just my two cents worth.

DT100 wrote: »
    But they had someone doing breakfast between aaron going,and the present incumbent,who will need a chance to build a new listenership base.As far as tipp today goes,the presenter there is well capaple of losing listeners all by himself,with arrogant presenting,and boring radio!
    and sniffing

WayneScott wrote: »
    and sniffing

Win breakfast , win the day !

new website is unreal all those old people in blue jumpsuits

johnplayer wrote: »
    Win breakfast , win the day !

Not always true...I listen to Ian Dempsey,but woldnt listen to Darcy if you paid me!

Face bookers. I'm back on the radio join tomo morning from 10 am till 12 midday Monday to Friday on South tipp general hospital radio on 93.7 fm which you can hear it all over Clonmel and as far as cahir to Carrick on suir or you can downlo...ad app (STGHR) free and hear me anywhere in the county on your smart phone. I'll be playing the hits and great memories and keeping the mid morning madness going, I was so honoured To be ask to join such a professional crew
    And a great warm welcome from staff of the hospital, it's going to be great craic you won't know what I could get up to so let's see how much trouble I can get into, spread the word it's the return of the MAC WayhaySee more
    One of the former breakfast presenters of Tipp FM, has joined the team at South Tipperary General Hospital Radio.

Face bookers. I'm back on the radio join tomo morning from 10 am till 12 midday Monday to Friday on South tipp general hospital radio on 93.7 fm which you can hear it all over Clonmel and as far as cahir to Carrick on suir or you can downlo...ad app (STGHR) free and hear me anywhere in the county on your smart phone. I'll be playing the hits and great memories and keeping the mid morning madness going, I was so honoured To be ask to join such a professional crew
    And a great warm welcome from staff of the hospital, it's going to be great craic you won't know what I could get up to so let's see how much trouble I can get into, spread the word it's the return of the MAC WayhaySee more
    One of the former breakfast presenters of Tipp FM, has joined the team at South Tipperary General Hospital Radio.

Great stuff . I for one will now be switching the dial to South Tipp Hospital Radio . You wouldn't know what he might get up to or how much trouble he can get in .

Great news .

Great stuff . I for one will now be switching the dial to South Tipp Hospital Radio . You wouldn't know what he might get up to or how much trouble he can get in .

Great news .

Its easy to know he came from the AB school of broadcasting,with all that shouting...Whats with all the shouting? I doubt if many of the patients even know there is a station in the hospital?

DT100 wrote: »
    Its easy to know he came from the AB school of broadcasting,with all that shouting...Whats with all the shouting? I doubt if many of the patients even know there is a station in the hospital?

What's the AB school of broadcasting ?

The Aaron B school................

Good luck to The Mac on the hospital radio fair play to him. Is this a voluntary job, does he still do a programme on Tipp FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭The Woodcock

Didn't Alan Partridge also end up doing hospital radio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭roran

Didn't Alan Partridge also end up doing hospital radio?

ah ha! :D

roran wrote: »
    ah ha! :D

Aaron is pulling in around 50k to his show every morning online . Going on that is it crazy TippFM fired him ?

Oh so that's why he has so many adverts running so...Where is the evidence of such numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭BenRowe

pretty pathetic april fool from tipp fm. that garth brooks would playbthurles. One guy said he got acall from Brooks at 2 am as if Brooks himself would arrange dates. And so many believed it it just shows the audience matches the programming

BenRowe wrote: »
    pretty pathetic april fool from tipp fm. that garth brooks would playbthurles. One guy said he got acall from Brooks at 2 am as if Brooks himself would arrange dates. And so many believed it it just shows the audience matches the programming

Presumably you were one of the audience if the cap fits etc. :-)

i was not one of the audience that believed it. That is what i meant by
    just shows the audience matches the programming
    . The sort who would believe that garth b would personally ringre a tour date

i was not one of the audience that believed it. That is what i meant by . The sort who would believe that garth b would personally ringre a tour date

Must be great to be so clever :-) Last time I looked April's fools day was a bit of fun. I'm sure you would have found a loop hole in the ones the national stations and newspapers used too. Don't take life so serious :-)

your so clever you make argum,ents without reading the thread. i am busy so annoy someone else

:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

They fired him? What for? I loved his show in the mornings!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

That's a lot of listeners, for an Internet radio station. Have you any source for this figure.

i would say Aaron himself is the source