If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

We want your feedback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Wibbs wrote: »
    *EDIT* The way I see it and have always seen it is that this forum is about the community. End of. The mods are merely janitors. So if you want to discuss X or Y then do so for gods sake. I've seen at least 4 good ideas for thread subjects in this thread so why are they not being started? The "oooh I'm not sure it's right for here" IMHO smacks of an excuse rather than a reason. Fire em up. Lay em out. If we fail as janitors we'll hear about it PDQ and I can't see too many reported posts on those subjects.

Gimme a chance, will ya! It's not exactly a burning desire to post it right this moment! :D
    eviltwin wrote: »
    My point is Wibbs that there are comments about threads being moved to "appropriate forums". The Rugby thread would have had an obvious home on the Rugby forum. The assumption that women are going to have an interest in a match just because its a womens team is a bit typical. I'm sure any of the women sports fans out there have no problem talking about it on the relevant forum.

Ps I don't have a problem with it up there, just using it as an example.

I've no interest in starting threads that will be moved on the whim of a mod. Because thats all its seems to be lately. Mods like a thread it stays, don't like it and its moved.

But how do you know they will be moved? Is it a common thing when you start a thread? Have you PM'd mods about it when it happened?

I think if most threads are started with a clear indication that it is started in this forum because the OP wants a female opinion on the topic, it usually stays.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,312 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've no interest in starting threads that will be moved on the whim of a mod. Because thats all its seems to be lately. Mods like a thread it stays, don't like it and its moved.
    As I asked of Raccoonqueen earlier(and got no examples), I'll ask of you; show me an example of such a thread. Just one will do. There are years to chose from. At this stage I'm getting the vibe of more perception than reality, please prove me wrong. I've already said I'd personally be tip top with some great thread ideas in these last few pages(and I'd lay bets the other mods would agree), so where are they? It's sooo not my place to kick em off so it's up to the local folks as it always has and should be.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

My point is Wibbs that there are comments about threads being moved to "appropriate forums". The Rugby thread would have had an obvious home on the Rugby forum. The assumption that women are going to have an interest in a match just because its a womens team is a bit typical. I'm sure any of the women sports fans out there have no problem talking about it on the relevant forum.

Ps I don't have a problem with it up there, just using it as an example.

Actually, of the posters on the thread here, very few post regularly on the rugby forum, and those who do, were all about promoting the womens game and keeping the thread here up to date so people with even a passing interest could keep up. I post semi regularly in the rugby forum and was delighted to see the thread here. It's what I'd class as an "uncomfortable" subject as a former female rugby player, it's not seen as a typically female sport, and seeing it in the mainstream, on the front pages of our national newspapers etc, is fantastic for womens sport full stop in this country.

Just going by the thanks, and the posters who don't post on the rugby forum, or thank on the rugby forum, there was 100% more interest in the subject, so maybe 10 or so readers on here became aware of it and may follow it in future or even get involved?

The rugby forum is fairly male dominated, I thought it was fantastic to see the thread here, there have been plenty of threads where the lack of acknowledgement of women in sport has been discussed here, so why not celebrate/highlight on here when women are successful in sport?

All of the above say to me, it's a thread that deserved to be here, and as a former mod, I know a vast amount of threads were moved, and there was serious discussion when something overlapped as to whether or not it should stay here. The mods here are a fairly diverse group and tend to take very balanced decisions imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Lexie, reporting posts isn't sad at all.

As you can see, we've hammered down on bitching and sniping.

PMs can also be reported. I presume it's admin that deal with them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

xLexie wrote: »
    Not to mention specific incidents, but I've personally had posts Ive made else where dragged up and flung back into my face

I'm not sure of this specific incident, but we are most definitely against people pulling posts from other forums to use as ammunition.
    The account I had before I opened this one was closed for personal reasons, yes I reregged with a new username but no rules were broken

Absolutely not. And the most recent amendment to the charter:

"DO NOT
    Accuse another poster of being a re-reg on thread. If you are concerned, report the post and it will be looked into and if the person has re-regged to circumvent a ban the mods will take the appropriate action. "

Users may open and close accounts, as long as it's not to circumvent a ban.

Would the mods be up for posters to PM you guys feedback, as I would guess that some posters may feel intimidated/uneasy to post their feedback on this thread?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Larianne wrote: »
    Would the mods be up for posters to PM you guys feedback, as I would guess that some posters may feel intimidated/uneasy to post their feedback on this thread?

As a former mod, I'd say yes.

However, bitching about someone as opposed to serious feedback has to be differentiated against, so posting private feedback should be done only if you are uncomfortable talking in public.

And you should have evidence to back up your feedback :)

My big gripe is the people who treat posters in the chat thread as mushrooms, and those who claim they don't understand the charter and use it as an excuse to misbehave.

As for reporting posts, I'm lethal about it and do it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

Stheno wrote: »

As a former mod, I'd say yes.

However, bitching about someone as opposed to serious feedback has to be differentiated against, so posting private feedback should be done only if you are uncomfortable talking in public.

And you should have evidence to back up your feedback :)

My big gripe is the people who treat posters in the chat thread as mushrooms, and those who claim they don't understand the charter and use it as an excuse to misbehave.
    Mushrooms?

As for reporting posts, I'm lethal about it and do it all the time.

What's this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I think there is a choice between a community type forum where you discuss everything or more narrow forum where you discuss women's issues and have less of a community. I prefer second, I can't remember with whom I disagreed or agreed in a thread or if there is a clique or not. For community I prefer forums that have more gender neutral profile. TLL is great for toppics that are interesting but would get relegated to second page in AH inside of a half an hour. In the same way I have no desire asking people here for their opinion on a pair of shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 menapyan

Actually, of the posters on the thread here, very few post regularly on the rugby forum, and those who do, were all about promoting the womens game and keeping the thread here up to date so people with even a passing interest could keep up. I post semi regularly in the rugby forum and was delighted to see the thread here. It's what I'd class as an "uncomfortable" subject as a former female rugby player, it's not seen as a typically female sport, and seeing it in the mainstream, on the front pages of our national newspapers etc, is fantastic for womens sport full stop in this country.

Just going by the thanks, and the posters who don't post on the rugby forum, or thank on the rugby forum, there was 100% more interest in the subject, so maybe 10 or so readers on here became aware of it and may follow it in future or even get involved?

The rugby forum is fairly male dominated, I thought it was fantastic to see the thread here, there have been plenty of threads where the lack of acknowledgement of women in sport has been discussed here, so why not celebrate/highlight on here when women are successful in sport?

All of the above say to me, it's a thread that deserved to be here, and as a former mod, I know a vast amount of threads were moved, and there was serious discussion when something overlapped as to whether or not it should stay here. The mods here are a fairly diverse group and tend to take very balanced decisions imo

I've just glanced through the last few posts on the thread and while I don't have an opinion either way, I don't believe Evil twin is disparaging the Rugby thread but giving an example of what might be thought of as double standards when it comes to what is or is not permitted when considering more appropriate forums. The rugby thread would have a more appropriate forum and yet it is just as valid here.
    Also the running thread and the diet thread would both have more appropriate designated forums but are acceptable if there is interest. I can see why there might be some confusion as to what a poster can and cannot post here.

xLexie wrote: »
    Mushrooms?
    What's this now?

Sorry :o expression in my industry.

Keep people in the dark and feed them ****.

Or in this case, don't participate, fly in like seagulls, deposit ****, then fly off.

What qualifies a thread to stay here? On that basis, Lucyfur, most threads in here could go somewhere else. What qualifies the 5:2 thread to stay here rather than nutrition and diet? what qualifies the loungers on the run thread to stay here rather than A/R? I like both threads and I'm not saying they should be moved but surely there'd be more info in those forum regarding these two topics than what a poster would get here.

Just on the running thread and the 5:2 diet thread. I think these threads were started by asking the posters of tLL their opinions/experiences on it. Rather than wanting the experts opinions on it, if you get me? Many posters may post regularly in tLL but might not look at diet and nutrition or in athletics and running. The Loungers on the Run is more a thread specifically for the LL. Was it not set up as part of couch to 5k? There wouldn't be any point in shipping the thread over to A/R and telling people -follow it over there if they don't regularly post there? Others in the forum would miss it.

Hopefully those threads piques posters interests and sends them over to diet & nutrition or A/R, but those forums as well as Health and Fitness can be intimidating (need to stop using this word!) for a noob and people may want opinions from the regular joe soaps of tLL first.

Oh I dunno if what I've said above makes sense, but it does in my head!!

Just on the running thread and the 5:2 diet thread. I think these threads were started by asking the posters of tLL their opinions/experiences on it. Rather than wanting the experts opinions on it, if you get me? Many posters may post regularly in tLL but might not look at diet and nutrition or in athletics and running. The Loungers on the Run is more a thread specifically for the LL. Was it not set up as part of couch to 5k? There wouldn't be any point in shipping the thread over to A/R and telling people -follow it over there if they don't regularly post there? Others in the forum would miss it.

Hopefully those threads piques posters interests and sends them over to diet & nutrition or A/R, but those forums as well as Health and Fitness can be intimidating (need to stop using this word!) for a noob and people may want opinions from the regular joe soaps of tLL first.

Oh I dunno if what I've said above makes sense, but it does in my head!!

Does to me to be honest, I find health and nutrition a minefield for a non convert like me, were I to start 5/2 or couch to five k, I'd stay here, so you're dead right, there is a comfort factor for posters.

I've no problem with either tbh, no problem with 99% of the threads on here at all, I'd like more serious discussion, so have started one such thread tonight to test the waters :)

Wibbs wrote: »
    Really? I see opinions and arguments as either defensible or not. Maybe I'm black and white that way? Someone tears me a new one in a debate(happens a lot) and I think, well OK fair play you bastid/I'm gonna come back with a doozie :) I don't think "bitchy" unless someone is being an obvious "dick".

Just on this point, are you saying you never have noticed this in tLL?

A poster might disagree with another poster and someone will post "what's with the bítchiness in here today?" or "Stop with the bítchy comments" or something to that effect. It's bloody annoying and comes across very childish. It also usually adds full to a fire that wasn't really there at the beginning. I haven't seen it in a while as I post ad-hocly in here at the moment. But if I find one, I'll flag it for you!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Agree with you here. As much as the practical advice, they play a large moral support role as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

menapyan wrote: »
    I've just glanced through the last few posts on the thread and while I don't have an opinion either way, I don't believe Evil twin is disparaging the Rugby thread but giving an example of what might be thought of as double standards when it comes to what is or is not permitted when considering more appropriate forums. The rugby thread would have a more appropriate forum and yet it is just as valid here.
    Also the running thread and the diet thread would both have more appropriate designated forums but are acceptable if there is interest. I can see why there might be some confusion as to what a poster can and cannot post here.

Thank you Menapyan, you said what I was trying to say much better :)

That is it exactly. I saw that Rugby thread go up, I thought it would be moved but it stayed. The only reason I can see it stayed was it was a thread about a female team. Its one thing if the topic is how female players are treated by the media or something similar as we saw in some of the threads re Katie Taylor but this thread seemed to be more of a fan thread, I don't see how it fits the ethos of the LL.

I'm no clearer in knowing what is okay and what isn't. It seems to be pot luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Just on this point, are you saying you never have noticed this in tLL?

A poster might disagree with another poster and someone will post "what's with the bítchiness in here today?" or "Stop with the bítchy comments" or something to that effect. It's bloody annoying and comes across very childish. It also usually adds full to a fire that wasn't really there at the beginning. I haven't seen it in a while as I post ad-hocly in here at the moment. But if I find one, I'll flag it for you!

I've seen this myself. In one instance a poster had commented on something which directly concerned/affected them and it went back and forth a bit between 2 posters, nothing more than a discussion really. Then another poster, who wasn't at all involved, decided to tell one of them to "get over it".

Now the irony of the particular poster being someone who moans and whines about everything wasn't lost on me, but I was very close to reporting the post. Seriously, I don't see how anybody can think it's acceptable to do that? It's rude and adds to the whole perception of a clique. If you can't disagree with someone without someone else wading in to dismiss you with a "oh just get over it" type comment, then I can understand why people might feel there is little point in posting in a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

What the heck is wrong with reporting posts? I doubt its naysaysers would have such a problem with it if they were on the receiving end of personal abuse/trolling. The intention behind it isn't always to be a tell-tale.

I don't understand why the fasting diet thread is here rather than the Nutrition/Diet forum. And those "What did your boyfriend do to make you smile?" threads exclude single/gay women.

But otherwise, I think it's grand here - it's what you make it. I just pop in and post now and again without reading too much into the place. This has to be the most analysed forum on Boards. :pac:

Madam_X wrote: »
    I don't understand why the fasting diet thread is here rather than the Nutrition/Diet forum. And those "What did your boyfriend do to make you smile?" threads exclude single/gay women.

But otherwise, I think it's grand here - it's what you make it. I just pop in and post now and again without reading too much into the place. This has to be the most analysed forum on Boards. :pac:

I find that Nutrition/Diet forum a scarey scarey place, there is more science in there than when I did chemistry in school :)

Simple solution to your second issue is to ask to have the thread renamed to what did your partner do to make you smile, and I think it's valid :)

It's probably the most analysed forum on boards, as it's very much there for a minority of posters. In all the years I've been posting on here, there have been times when "anti-feminist" posters have plagued this forum and made it a torrid place to be to discuss any sort of issue.

That's changed significantly over the past two years, and for that I say fair play to the mods, and to admins/Dav who have had to get involved to resolve that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Madam_X wrote: »

I post a lot in the 5 2 thread. Personally I feel more comfortable posting here than in the nutrition forum. Maybe it feels more like chatting about a diet with friends than having a serious conversation with people who know what they're doing. In saying that I can see why it might be moved - but I like it here. :)

In fairness, there was a thread about how great it is to be single at one stage, it obviously just wasn't as popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

The thread is called ''Things your OH has done to put a smile on your face''

Lucyfur wrote: »
    The thread is called ''Things your OH has done to put a smile on your face''
    DUH shows how much attention I pay to thread titles :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

May be not the right / best place to ask, but just wanted to check; - is there a requirement on the specific type of female that this Forum is for? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Human female, over the age of 13.

Why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Morag wrote: »
    Human female, over the age of 13.

Why do you ask?

I believe a penguin female would be acceptable as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 menapyan

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I believe a penguin female would be acceptable as well.

I have no idea why that's supposed to be funny.

menapyan wrote: »
    I have no idea why that's supposed to be funny.

Bit of an in-joke from the Chat thread.

Not really the place in the feedback thread really. (Thread should be feedback only, imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

Apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong place, but
    I sometimes find myself typing the same thing, in different threads, explaining concepts to do with feminism and women's issues. I'm talking about different threads in different forums too, like a rape thread in tLL and a different thread in AH or whatever.
    It's not only tedious for me but I imagine it's not always the best thing for whatever thread, because there's a danger of it heading towards derailment.

Examples would be if someone appears to be Reading the phrase "victim blaming" as me telling them "You are basically saying this is 100% the victims fault" when that's not what I am saying, it is springing from a different level of familiarity with the concept of "victim blaming" as it commonly applies in rape or sexual assault discussions.

The result is then I have to clarify that victim blaming as a concept is more about placing any responsibility on the injured party, ranging from "shouldn't have been that drunk" to "shouldn't have even been out alone" or what have you.

This leads to having to explain what victim blaming says about attitudes to rape and/or women and to explaining effects of victim blaming on the reporting, prosecution and even incidence of rape.

Which is not always all that relevant to the original thread ad means a lot of clutter.

Other examples would be "slut shaming" or even "some women don't like it when you call women 'females' so don't be surprised if they ask you not to do it" these are just from recent discussions I've had, I'm sure there are loads of other similar situations.

As a solution is it possible or desirable to have a kind of "feminist concepts for beginners" sticky in tLL that you could just point to and say "no, that there os what I mean"?

I've seen this happen on specifically feminist websites with the aim being that anyone can go and read about the relevant concept, without bogging down the actual discussion in "explaining this stuff again". But if I were to say "No just to clarify what I meant here is a link to an external site", I think some posters might understandably think "A link to some feminist website, I'm not going to click that, it'll be biased" (I would have the same gut reaction if someone linked to a MRA website or even the Daily Mail if I'm honest).

The reason i'm suggesting having such a resource in tLL is because it wouldn't necessarily be appropriate to have it in other forums or as a site-wide thing. That's not to say tLL is a dumping ground, just that it seems like the most appropriate forum to put it in.

Please note that I am not AT ALL trying to imply that tLL would be condoning or proclaiming this kind of thing as absolute truth. It's not that I expect everyone to take this sor of thing as gospel. More that I just think explaining it all the time is not ideal for anyone. What I'm envisaging is more "What we talk about when we talk about x" rather than "This is the waythings are so there." Anyone is free to disagree, that's the point of a discussion, but it's helpful if were all talking about the same thing.

I know i'm not the only one who has this happen, because I see other posters saying Oh jaysus do we really need to go through this again, both on thread and in private. It's not that I have a problem with someone not being familiar with xyz concept. Just that it seems inefficient to be explaining it time and again to different posters on different threads/forums.

Or if this is not a desirable solution i would welcome other suggestions? Is it something that would be better suited going on my profile page or is that even possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Only just had a quick glance through the forumso apologies if iv got this wrong but ,there seems to be a huge proportion of posters are male in a forum for females. I think its a little weird and get the feeling a lot are on some sort of weird online hunt for a gf, judging by some of the fawning. Imo :)