Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

Yeah it was a bit weird, particularly given the hour it was on.

Compare that to Ken reading it in a Scottish accent!

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭gluppers

Fed up with these 'banter' filled shows sponsored by x drinks brand

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Dylbag

Anyone know what the story is with Kevin Kilbane...haven’t heard him on in a while...

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Dylbag

double post

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Dylbag wrote: »
    Anyone know what the story is with Kevin Kilbane...haven’t heard him on in a while...

It could be that he doesn't have the free time as he's doing a lot of TV work these days. He was on Virgin Media this evening covering the Croatia-England Nations Cup match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Jamie Moore is very full on.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Dylbag wrote: »

He was on earlier talking about the Irish match

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Stephen Hunt is dreadful analysing the Ireland/Wales game.
    He thinks were doing grand.....!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Stephen Hunt is dreadful analysing the Ireland/Wales game. He thinks were doing grand.....!

He's still to close to the current squad to criticize them, his Sindo articles on them are the same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Stephen Hunt is dreadful analysing the Ireland/Wales game.
    He thinks were doing grand.....!

That’s spot on in Irish terms so

“How’s it going?”

“Grand” - roughly translating as - not good/shįte/hungover/f*ck off annoying me

• Registered Users Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

It could be that he doesn't have the free time as he's doing a lot of TV work these days. He was on Virgin Media this evening covering the Croatia-England Nations Cup match.

I see him on Bein Sports also.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

He's still to close to the current squad to criticize them, his Sindo articles on them are the same

Joe doing his lily-livered take on Paxman trying to break through this wall of discretion: "So I must ask again, do the players support Martin O'Neil's tactics?"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

They had a special "Warning to gamblers" introduction to the section where the gambling shill comes in to studio yesterday. Something like "If you have a problem with gambling then you might be better off tuning in after 5pm".

Can you imagine what Gilroy would be saying if this a competitor put out that message?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Gary O'Toole and Paul Kimmage on papers today. My personal favorite lineup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Gary O'Toole and Paul Kimmage on papers today. My personal favorite lineup.

The content is still a far more important factor for me than who they have on. What's sort of stuff are they talking?

Patww79 wrote:
    The content is still a far more important factor for me than who they have on. What's sort of stuff are they talking?

Hasn't started yet.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,457 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Gary O'Toole: I met Stewart Lancaster at a bar one time...

Paul Kimmage: What did he order?

GO'T: Don't know...

PK: WHY NOT!?

GO'T: (ignoring PK)

PK: Ale?

I know they're quite Marmite but I enjoy them without having to like them.

Kimmage doing his usual Gerry Conlan just released from prison impersonation.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

humberklog wrote: »
    Gary O'Toole: I met Stewart Lancaster at a bar one time...

Paul Kimmage: What did he order?

GO'T: Don't know...

PK: WHY NOT!?

GO'T: (ignoring PK)

PK: Ale?

I know they're quite Marmite but I enjoy them without having to like them.

Ended the review with a couple of 4 letter tirades, Molloy had to apologise for him.

Anyone who has to swear like a docker to make his point, particularly a columnist, is letting himself down badly. Distracts from the content.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

humberklog wrote: »

Haha, bang on. Kimmage is a gifted journalist and has written some magnificent prose, continues to do so in fact. That said he is one tortured individual.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Find Gary O'Toole insufferable.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Find Gary O'Toole insufferable.

Has a very apt surname.

Olympic athlete, surgeon. Sure what would he have to say worth listening to.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I could listen to Gary O’Toole for hours. I think he’s a very impressive man and he’s a thoroughly genuine sports fan.

Olympic athlete, surgeon.

Something he never let's us forget. Was funny when both were being introduced Kimmage had to pull Joe up and remind him that he's also an Olympian.

O'Toole is a like a man on the throne with his high moral compass looking down and preaching to all the degenerates.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

O'Toole is a like a man on the throne with his high moral compass looking down and preaching to all the degenerates.

Surprised you can type with that chip on your shoulder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭elefant

Olympic athlete, surgeon. Sure what would he have to say worth listening to.

What he did for the protection of children in swimming in Ireland too, at a very young age, makes him a hero in my eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

elefant wrote: »
    What he did for the protection of children in swimming in Ireland too, at a very young age, makes him a hero in my eyes.

Embarrassed to say I had completely forgotten about that! That was huge thing.

On Sunday he told a story about how he wrote letters to the head lad in Notre Dame. It was funny - Joe goes “did you email or actually write a letter?”, Gary then confirmed that he hand wrote the letter and Joe responded “of course you did!” (I was thinking the exact same thing myself). Gary then announced that he has a special pen that he uses for writing his important letters which moves him up a notch in my estimation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Me too. What his occupation happens to be is irrelevant to me.

Yeah and fair play to him for that, I just find him too preachy.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Me too. What his occupation happens to be is irrelevant to me.

The reason I think it is relevant in this instance is that as an orthopaedic surgeon who specialises in hip, knee and sports injuries, he has a particular insight in to the physiological side of sport performance.

I think I can recall him telling a story of being at a Leinster match and a player was injured with a knee injury and he was the on call Dr at his hospital that day so he ended up leaving the game and helping treat the player at the hospital.

That's fairly relevant in my view.