Things In Football That Grind Your Gears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,972 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

One thing that gets to me is refs ignoring time-wasting while it's happening, and thinking it's ok just to add on 4/5 minutes at the end and issue cards late on, but the momentum the attacking team had has been lost by then, and/or the defending team has sorted itself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MrKingsley

Time wasting is just part of the game, as much as I despise it.

There’s a couple of things in particular that grind me gears.

Firstly, Say it’s 0-0 after 40 minutes between Burnley/Palace against City/Liverpool then the former will try and kill the end of the first half. Taking ages for thrown ins, frees, goal kicks etc. This happens after 85 minutes and then it’s a big issue all of a sudden.

Secondly, I think that time wasters should be given yellow cards retrospectively. Eg. A goalie takes 30/40 seconds for a kick out. The ref, if bothered will blow the whistle, keeper then protests, ref comes down to give him a card and the whole thing takes a 90 seconds or thereabouts before the play is restarted. This will never be added on. If a player is time wasting on their own dead ball then they should lose possession

Whilst I don’t agree with the idea of playing shorter matches with the clock stopped for dead balls I would be in favour of something like stopping the clock after 40 mins in each half. It will never happen but I think it would help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Thats a Yellow card offence not a free kick. Its in the rules of the game. Have often seen players booked for this at LOI games.

I know they get booked, I think it should just be a booking and an indirect free kick.
    Particularly when the goalie starts that shíte with 30 mins left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Sheridan81 wrote: »
    Who was that?

Nobody you would ever have heard of.
    https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/martin-immler/profil/spieler/347970

A goalie in the Austrian Bundesliga and the third tier in Germany, and quite a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

inforfun wrote: »
    Cant think of any other rule that so ignored by refs as that one.

Disagree there. I can't remember the last time I saw a foul throw being punished even though you rarely see a proper, by the rules, throw in being taken outside of a schoolboys match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

MrKingsley wrote: »
    Time wasting is just part of the game, as much as I despise it.

There’s a couple of things in particular that grind me gears.

Firstly, Say it’s 0-0 after 40 minutes between Burnley/Palace against City/Liverpool then the former will try and kill the end of the first half. Taking ages for thrown ins, frees, goal kicks etc. This happens after 85 minutes and then it’s a big issue all of a sudden.

Secondly, I think that time wasters should be given yellow cards retrospectively. Eg. A goalie takes 30/40 seconds for a kick out. The ref, if bothered will blow the whistle, keeper then protests, ref comes down to give him a card and the whole thing takes a 90 seconds or thereabouts before the play is restarted. This will never be added on. If a player is time wasting on their own dead ball then they should lose possession

Whilst I don’t agree with the idea of playing shorter matches with the clock stopped for dead balls I would be in favour of something like stopping the clock after 40 mins in each half. It will never happen but I think it would help

not sure of the official policy on this one...there was a game recently where the keeper was booked for time wasting in extra time, and the ref blew the final whistle immediately after the ~4 mins of extra time was up. made the yellow card entirely redundant (or at least 99.99999% redundant).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

The French have a name for people who dont support their local team Footix.

https://french-iceberg.com/footix-france/

celic excepted of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Asking about how to watch Amazon Prime for this weeks PL games. I must have seen it asked about 10-15 different times in various threads, and always answered each time. It's just annoying me now as it has been answered countless times and answered each time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

FitzShane wrote: »
    Asking about how to watch Amazon Prime for this weeks PL games. I must have seen it asked about 10-15 different times in various threads, and always answered each time. It's just annoying me now as it has been answered countless times and answered each time.

Can you answer it in this thread just in case :pac:

People who refer to the League Of Ireland as the "Irish league",as ssomeone just did on the Delaney thread.

The "Irish league" is the historical and colloquial name for the current Northern Ireland Football League.
    And it's still used to refer to that league.

The League of Ireland is the name of the league in the ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Felt my eye twitch myself when I saw that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭764dak

The advantage rule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

Teams constantly being stifled when they want to take quick free-kicks when close to the opposition goal; instead the ref goes to help the opposing team set up their bloody wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Headline news in many outlets:

TROY PARROT MAKES HIS PL DEBUT FOR SPURS.

He came on as a late substitute in a game they were 5-0 up in. Hardly significant.

Would Jose have brought him on if they were chasing the game? Very much doubt it.

No wonder the game has gone as it is in the country if a minor event such as this is deemed major news.

He came on as a late substitute in a game they were 5-0 up in. Hardly significant.

Would Jose have brought him on if they were chasing the game? Very much doubt it.

No wonder the game has gone as it is in the country if a minor event such as this is deemed major news.

Well it's an accurate headline, but if it really is displacing the upcoming UK elections, the impeachment of Trump, the Dara Murphy scandal etc. on the news pages that would seem to be overkill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Ah any irish player breaking into a top premier league team is newsworthy? Great moment for him. Obviously Jose wouldn't have brought him on if they were chasing the game? That's generally not when youngsters get their debuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,248 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

'Tippy-Tappy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stratowide

Players ducking out of the way or turning their back when a shot comes at them.
    Seriously you are a professional and should do all you can to stop a goal.
    Take it in the face or goolies or where ever but Jaysus don't be ducking out the way.

Kolasinac yes I'm talking about you.(probably wouldn't have stopped anyway it but it looked cowardly)*

Substitutes not ready to come on.
    Wheres me shin guards,Jersey and tape to tie up me socks.
    Oh wait I forgot to tie me laces.Too late now wait for the next break in play.

Oh dear another one's gone in when we're down to 10 men..Professionals me hole.

*Disclaimer...Not confined to Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Football clubs visiting children's hospitals and inviting the cameras. Visit the kids, yes, brilliant. Doing it for Marketing reasons is repugnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Football clubs visiting children's hospitals and inviting the cameras. Visit the kids, yes, brilliant. Doing it for Marketing reasons is repugnant.

I've no problems with spreading some good news for once, so long as it's not an actual photo op and then they feck off after. There's a lot of players that plough serious time into that side of things, I don't think a positive picture is the end of the world if it comes after it. The doc with John Terry and the irish lad Oran was great and the same thing really.

A lot of clubs do a lot of charity work with kids, homeless, foodbanks, less privileged etc that never gets photographed. I can assure you that just because the Christmas visits are photographed, does not mean that they are only doing it for the photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,346 ✭✭✭joeguevara

We always hear about Footballers being role models. If kids and teenagers saw their heroes doing charitable things like visiting kids in hospital or working in a soup kitchen etc and inspired them to do something nice, do you really think that that is repugnant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

joeguevara wrote: »
    We always hear about Footballers being role models. If kids and teenagers saw their heroes doing charitable things like visiting kids in hospital or working in a soup kitchen etc and inspired them to do something nice, do you really think that that is repugnant?

Definitely a different and more positive way to look at it

Geoff shreeves asking stupid question. 'so Virgil why was that a big 3 points'.

Actually just Geoff shreeves in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

Players covering their mouths while talking. When did this become a thing?

NewMan1982 wrote: »

About 10 years ago I'd say! You can thank the micro-analysis of everything in the game for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Was it not around the time John Terry was banned over being racist to Anton Ferdinand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

NewMan1982 wrote: »

Why does it bother you? I've heard others give out about this and genuinely don't understand why it gets to people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Geoff shreeves asking stupid question. 'so Virgil why was that a big 3 points'.

Actually just Geoff shreeves in general

Stupid stupid questions. Same questions every game.

1 goal win: "Was that a hard fought win?"
    2+ goal win: "Did you make a statement with that win? "
    Draw: "Was that one point gained or 2 points lost?"

Footballers/Managers get a rep for boring interviews but a lot of the time the interviewer is asking stupid questions where there is only ever going to be one answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Stupid stupid questions. Same questions every game.

1 goal win: "Was that a hard fought win?"
    2+ goal win: "Did you make a statement with that win? "
    Draw: "Was that one point gained or 2 points lost?"

Footballers/Managers get a rep for boring interviews but a lot of the time the interviewer is asking stupid questions where there is only ever going to be one answer.

You forgot:

Defeat: "Obviously not the result you wanted, but are there any positives you can take from today's game?"