Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Going to be playing Sheffield Wednesday in a friendly on July 30th at Hillsborough. Was at the last one there a few years ago and it was a great day out. Flights are too pricey this time, unfortunately.
    Is Matt Crooks any good? Looks like he's on his way, making your lot about 40 grand in the process.

Difficult to pass comment on him. He was very highly rated when he arrived at the club but he never got a run in the team. He looked slow and laboured when I saw him play but his game time was very limited, as I said. Not surprised to hear that he has moved on. Good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,313 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Berserker wrote: »

Difficult to pass comment on him. He was very highly rated when he arrived at the club but he never got a run in the team. He looked slow and laboured when I saw him play but his game time was very limited, as I said. Not surprised to hear that he has moved on. Good luck to him.
    Thanks for that. Offers been accepted but he's not left yet. Northampton had offer of 100,000 accepted, Scunthorpe want him (and think he wants to to go back there) but haven't offered hundred grand yet.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Playing pretty well against Marseille here (who are playing pretty much their first choice squad).

Actually dominating them at times. It's only a friendly, but this is looking good.

0-1 for Marseille, once again Wilson doing what he does best: Losing concentration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Great Free kick from Kranjcar. Not a bad performance at all still feel we need a clinical finisher

Missed the game but on reading the reports, it looks like the performance was much approved. Alves and Dorrans made a big difference apparently.

I love Kranjcar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Didn't see the game, but credit where it's due, that's a decent result lads. Not sure how strong a team Marseille fielded, but I'm sure it was a good team and a draw with them is a good result.

It contained a lot of their first choice team. Mandanda, Sakai, Rolando, Sanson (Njie, 80), Payet (Cabella 87), Dias, Evra (Hubocan, 14), Rami, Thauvin (Ocampos, 67), Lopez (Doria, 86), Germain (Sertic. 80)

It was only a friendly but the play was a lot better than I expected, if only they could have done this against Progres... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    It contained a lot of their first choice team. Mandanda, Sakai, Rolando, Sanson (Njie, 80), Payet (Cabella 87), Dias, Evra (Hubocan, 14), Rami, Thauvin (Ocampos, 67), Lopez (Doria, 86), Germain (Sertic. 80)

It was only a friendly but the play was a lot better than I expected, if only they could have done this against Progres... ;)

The Progres result was hilarious from our point of view, but I don't think many believe that's a true reflection of your squad. I still think you'll do well to get second this coming season, but your squad should definitely have the better of teams like Progres more often than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,313 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Daily Record online: Former Rangers flop Matt Crooks says he's moved on to 'bigger and better things' at Northampton. :pac:

Don't think the Cobblers are often called bigger and better! Tbh though if you read the article he's talking about about his career and playing generally, don't think he's slagging Rangers, it's just a nice little quote ideal for click bait.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/former-rangers-flop-matt-crooks-10855771

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Stuart Robertson MD appointed to the SPFL board

Beat Watford 2-1 in a friendly today, they too fielded a pretty decent side just like Marseille.

Things seem to improve, we're playing a 4-4-2 which suits the team better and a lot of the new guys seem to be doing great.

XI for today :

Foderingham, Hodson, Alves, Cardoso, Wallace, Jack, Dorrans, Candeias, Windass, Miller, Herrera.

Subs :

Alnwick, Bates, Wilson, Waghorn, Kranjcar, Holt, Dalcio, Pena, Morelos.

Playing well today, 0-2. Wednesday are a decent side, so this is a good workout for us. Looks like the team is taking shape. Goals from Miller and Windass.

Kiernan joined Southend. We actually got money for him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Kiernan joined Southend. We actually got money for him...

It's a special kind of economic talent to lose money on a £200,000 player.

€55k to Southend.

Sometimes you take your loss on a player, it happens all the time. Especially if they turn out to be absolutely ****.

Dont be silly Celtic have never lost money on a player dont ya know ;)

We could afford to.

What s lot of nonsense
    That your best 😂😂😂

We could afford to.

So can Rangers.

Oh wait no, we're skint and about to go bankrupt :pac:

First game of the league season. Looking forward to it and the team is :

DGiwlbzWsAAUZHt.jpg

0-1, nice bit of football and lovely finish by Dorrans. 4 mins gone.

1-1 dodgy defending, but Rangers have just hit the bar.

1-2, penalty by Dorrans. Playing some good stuff. Miller missed a sitter a few mins ago. Prone to the odd gaff at the back though. Hodson is making me nervous. Fod should have claimed the cross for their goal.

Edit : 1-2 FT.

1-2, penalty by Dorrans. Playing some good stuff. Miller missed a sitter a few mins ago. Prone to the odd gaff at the back though. Hodson is making me nervous. Fod should have claimed the cross for their goal.

Edit : 1-2 FT.

You are right about Fod at the first goal though Hodson was sleeping too let their player get in front

Waghorn's transfer to Ispwich has been confirmed. Wonder how much the undisclosed fee is. He played well in the first half yesterday but not surprised to see him move on. Wish him the best.

https://rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/waghorn-joins-ipswich/

Waghorn's transfer to Ispwich has been confirmed. Wonder how much the undisclosed fee is. He played well in the first half yesterday but not surprised to see him move on. Wish him the best.

https://rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/waghorn-joins-ipswich/

Hearing it was a million. Good bit of business if it was. Unlike certain others good luck to him he at least tried

Hopefully that makes room for Walker. Rumour is also that we are in for Kenny McLean.