Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Snodgrass would be a great signing. He can play on the wings as well, would be a good replacement for Samaras on the left where he operated well in Europe. I think he might be better than Commons. Commons has been brilliant in the SPL but can be out of his depth in Europe. Snodgrass has done well in the EPL recently in a struggling team. He'll get offers from other EPL clubs if he leaves Norwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,913 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

At Norwich, Snodgrass > Hooper, so......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Dempsey wrote: »
    Leigh Griffiths was only singing a song too....

Nothing wrong with our songs of hope and history.

Comparing them to songs that are potentially racist is nonsensical.

rosskind wrote: »
    What would y'all make of Snodgrass? Norwich will surely be looking to offload some people. Not necessarily him but he's only got one year left on his contract and I think he'd walk to Glasgow for it. Would still cost a lot of money for someone who's almost the exact same as Commons.

Would LOVE to sign Snodgrass, absolutely love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Nothing wrong with our songs of hope and history.

Comparing them to songs that are potentially racist is nonsensical.

What was Stokes singing?

He sang ooh ahh Paul McGrath he sang ooh aah Paul McGrath.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Lennonist wrote: »
    He sang ooh ahh Paul McGrath he sang ooh aah Paul McGrath.

No he didn't..... :mad:

It was "ohh ahh Samaras, ooh ahh Samaras" :pac:

What was Stokes singing?

Dunno but presumably a rebel song.

I doubt it was a racist song.

Do you know what he was singing?

Dunno but presumably a rebel song.

I doubt it was a racist song.

Do you know what he was singing?

I dont know what he was singing. Thats why I asked.

Maybe it was rebel songs, maybe they were rebel songs with other lyrics added in. Considering his previous antics & that he has friends in RIRA, I cant imagine his behavior being that much more defensible than Griffiths.

Seems himself & Griffith are having a race to the bottom and its hard to tell which one of them is worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Maybe it was rebel songs, maybe they were rebel songs with other lyrics added in. Considering his previous antics & that he has friends in RIRA, I cant imagine his behavior being that much more defensible than Griffiths.

Seems himself & Griffith are having a race to the bottom and its hard to tell which one of them is worse.

So singing rebel songs to you is the same as singing racist chants, ya?

Wow.

Rebel songs are nothing like racist songs. Strange comparison to make.

Try reading my post instead of making up a strawman argument. Good lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Feck sake lads do ye not know by now that Dempsey is always and will always be right ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

He was singing "No Woman, No Cry" apparently. Why was the immediate insinuation that he was doing something wrong??

Because Stokes has a track record of being up to no good in his spare time, fined upteen times by the club etc.

Its more surprising when he does go out and not make national papers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Because Stokes has a track record of being up to no good in his spare time, fined upteen times by the club etc.

Its more surprising when he does go out and not make national papers!

maybe questions should be asked of those who publicised it.

Really? How many times has he been fined?

I haven't been keeping track nor does Celtic publicly acknowledge all disciplinary action taken but I do remember a video from a function a few years ago where Lennon made a joke about the amount of times Stokes was fined. It got a great laugh from the players but the video was quickly taken down and I've not seen it since. His discipline was an inside joke at the club even back then and all his high profile/serious incidents has come after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭eire4

I haven't been keeping track nor does Celtic publicly acknowledge all disciplinary action taken but I do remember a video from a function a few years ago where Lennon made a joke about the amount of times Stokes was fined. It got a great laugh from the players but the video was quickly taken down and I've not seen it since. His discipline was an inside joke at the club even back then and all his high profile/serious incidents has come after that

To be fair the club have a whole list of fines that players can get every day that are 5 10 pounds here and there for various little minor things so Lennon could easily be talking about that.

eire4 wrote: »
    To be fair the club have a whole list of fines that players can get every day that are 5 10 pounds here and there for various little minor things so Lennon could easily be talking about that.

What do they do with the money they fine them, did they buy Griffiths with it:pac:

eire4 wrote: »

I wonder what the fine was for getting a taxi to drop him to Glasgow from London after a piss up at a nightclub!

EDIT

Celtic team to play St Johnstone: Zaluska; Lustig, Ambrose, Van Dijk, Matthews; Kayal, Mulgrew, Johansen, Boerrigter; Balde, Pukki

Subs: Forster, Brown, Stokes, Commons, Mouyokolo, Griffiths, Henderson

Excellent effort by O'Halloran, unlucky not to be an early goal!

1-0 St. Johnstone, Tim Clancy reacts quickest to a downward header at a corner.

The reaction from the Celtic players will tell alot about who should be be at the club next season. Looking at Kayal, Boerrigter, Pukki, Balde.

EDIT

Lack of cohesion & rhythm to Celtic's play. Kayal has been very poor in the final 3rd.

Kayal gives away a cheap penalty but Zaluska makes a good save to keep Celtic in it

EDIT

1-1 Commons penalty

Boerrigter went off at half time did he get injured again?

3-1 now will be able to get to 100 points in the last game.

3-3 it finished was watchin the Man City game. Roll on the CL qualifiers in July.

Lennonist wrote: »
    Boerrigter went off at half time did he get injured again?

3-1 now will be able to get to 100 points in the last game.

Dont think so, he was just ****e!

Fair play to St.Johnstone, kept going when it looked like Celtic had it won. A deserved point for them.

Kayal will probably be going in the summer but Boerrighter, Pukki & Balde can go if suitable offers come in but there probably wont be anyone interested in them so we'll be stuck with them for another while. Very average players that need a cattle prod!

Dont think so, he was just ****e!

Fair play to St.Johnstone, kept going when it looked like Celtic had it won. A deserved point for them.

Kayal will probably be going in the summer but Boerrighter, Pukki & Balde can go if suitable offers come in but there probably wont be anyone interested in them so we'll be stuck with them for another while. Very average players that need a cattle prod!

Boerrigter in particular has been a huge disappointment. He cost 3 million I think. He looked good when he first arrived but has been injured and/or very poor most of the time. He looks like a write off like Bangura who cost around 2 million and Pukki who cost another around 2 million. Balde cost 1.2 million. Bit of a pattern of wasting money forming there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

I said on here before and was laid into for it but with the waste thats been signed for the million here and the couple million there it could have been saved and a proper big name signing brought in, afforded the wages and maybe done something to help stop the falling attendances towards the end of the season.

Players with high transfer fees can flop just as badly, get injured etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭rosskind

Just me who really likes Pukki then? Waiting for him to click, think he could be decent. Bit of a cliché but playing without any confidence. I'm not sure if that's a temporary thing or a personality trait but he looked ashamed after his goal. Boerrigter seems to have lost the pace he was meant to have (and briefly showed) and doesn't offer much else (again fitness, confidence issues?). Balde is a beast but hasn't progressed at all technically, some wild touches tonight. Big believer in the need for a proper pre-season, settling and all that, we've seen it here before, but that's more in hope than expectation.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

rosskind wrote: »
    Just me who really likes Pukki then? Waiting for him to click, think he could be decent. Bit of a cliché but playing without any confidence. I'm not sure if that's a temporary thing or a personality trait but he looked ashamed after his goal. Boerrigter seems to have lost the pace he was meant to have (and briefly showed) and doesn't offer much else (again fitness, confidence issues?). Balde is a beast but hasn't progressed at all technically, some wild touches tonight. Big believer in the need for a proper pre-season, settling and all that, we've seen it here before, but that's more in hope than expectation.

I agree, I think he could be good for us as a second or third striker. I'd certainly not put him in the same category as Balde anyway.

Am most disappointed with Boerrigter of all of them. He was made out to be the real deal when we signed him. Obviously last night was being used as a last chance for some of these bhoys, but it sounds like himself and Balde were poor. Didn't see the game though so I can't judge.

How did Ambrose do? I'd personally be as happy to see him out the door as anyone else tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭rosskind

He was grand but I'm a fan so I might be biased. Think he's solid enough, we've gone through a fair few heart-attack CBs (even considering the nature of their position) before the last few years and with Virgil possibly going, I think it'd be best the upheaval is avoided.