Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phantom - More changes for the worse in mid Sept.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭dathi1

Pearl did a stint at some stage in the '90s with Radio Caroline from Bayside, Sutton, before joining Phantom when it was a pirate. She has been with Phantom ever since, including its two temporary licence runs in 2003 and 2004. Since the launch of the full licence, Pearl has always been on Sundays - used to be be 11:00am - 1pm. I have to assume her main source of income is elsewhere.

As regards the general changes in the weekend schedule, I would worry about the direction the station is going, particularly the idea of more repeats. If the remaining programs are playimg more mainstream stuff, why would fans of alternative-oriented music bother listening to it at all? I hope Phantom survives because if it goes there will be less opportunities for imaginative radio on our airwaves.

eh no she was on Xfm :D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Dafuq couldn't they have got rid of Oh-My-God-I'm-SOOOOO-Rad Claire 'Spin FM' Beck and held on to Richie!?! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭kieslowski

There's no way Michelle is single, Micar, and even if she is she's out of your league! I nearly cried myself when I heard her cry on the show on Friday. It would be a difficult choice between the lovely Michelle and the beautifully breathless Nadine O'Regan. Not forgetting Richie, he's nice too :D

I knew I didn't like the direction the station was going when Jason Byrne was brought on board for Monday mornings....why? Sounded like they felt they needed a 'big name' to bring in the punters or something. It was an ominous sign...

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Ragnillum

kieslowski wrote: »
    There's no way Michelle is single, Micar, and even if she is she's out of your league! I nearly cried myself when I heard her cry on the show on Friday. It would be a difficult choice between the lovely Michelle and the beautifully breathless Nadine O'Regan. Not forgetting Richie, he's nice too :D

I knew I didn't like the direction the station was going when Jason Byrne was brought on board for Monday mornings....why? Sounded like they felt they needed a 'big name' to bring in the punters or something. It was an ominous sign...

Just made aware via twitter that orla donnelly and that clown eamon fennel will be doing the morning show for the next three weeks..Absolute disgraceful that this pair are givien that slot considering the drivel that is random access and derek byrne tara gleeson etc being axed..people with actual music knowledge being looked over for people (fennell) that know nowt about the music their supposed to be presenting!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Ragnillum wrote: »
    Just made aware via twitter that orla donnelly and that clown eamon fennel will be doing the morning show for the next three weeks..Absolute disgraceful that this pair are givien that slot considering the drivel that is random access and derek byrne tara gleeson etc being axed..people with actual music knowledge being looked over for people (fennell) that know nowt about the music their supposed to be presenting!
    at least it's only for 3 weeks. wonder who its going to be then, someone who's unavailable until then perhaps? i'll give it a chance in the morning but going on their Sunday afternoon slot, I'm not expecting much....

Derek will still be covering for people every now and again too it seems, just no Lounge after tonight, which is a pity as it's probably my favourite Phantom show.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 COF the elder

Eamonn fennell is seriously bad...jeez...

at least it's only for 3 weeks. wonder who its going to be then, someone who's unavailable until then perhaps? i'll give it a chance in the morning but going on their Sunday afternoon slot, I'm not expecting much....

Derek will still be covering for people every now and again too it seems, just no Lounge after tonight, which is a pity as it's probably my favourite Phantom show.

I could be wrong but i thought they made reference on pure morning last week to comedian jarleth regan filling in for a number of shows. I certainly wont be listening to donnelly/fennell as neither are funny or bring anything remotely entertaining to the table. Phantom hang your head in shame..

Eamonn fennell is seriously bad...jeez...

As ghostdancer pointed out i think phantom were trying for a 'big name'..how they came up with him i'l never know..maybe an appearance on the worst tv show ever made (take me out) qualifies you as a 'big name'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

this is very disappointing news...

in my opinion Irish media entertainment is dull and boring (besides boards), it seems like its all derivatives of RTE muck decided by dopes in Donnybrook but phantom had an identity that was far more connected to what was cool and interesting and could deliver this to its listeners reliably. Now it seems like the RTE types are moving in and enforcing their media model on us listeners... there will be nothing left on the radio to identify with... sh*t news...

thank you for the music:P p.s im keeping my phantom car sticker as a memento of a great radio station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

TBH I don't mind Orla Donnelly, I think she's a bit of craic.

Since it's only for three weeks while they find some other tool on Spin who fancies a change and doesn't mind sticking religiously to Phantom's playlist of Killers/Vaccines/Mumford, this is the least of the problems affecting Phamtom.

Dee Reddy played some absolutely brilliant tunes yesterday that I had never heard before, my Shazam app was going into meltdown. Now that's what 'alternative' radio should be. [A few snarky comments about having to play Kasabian and Heathers too...]

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

saw this on twitter, mp3s of the last shows (and some previous final shows):
    http://songbiscuit.tumblr.com/phantom

also, the playlist for Derek's final Lounge:
    http://phantom.ie/blogs/190.191.196.251/697/-/The_Lounge_Playlists%20-%20The_Very_Last_Lounge_-_Sunday_16_September

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

hopefully only 14 more shows of that drivel that was on this morning.

also, the playlist for Derek's final Lounge:
    http://phantom.ie/blogs/190.191.196.251/697/-/The_Lounge_Playlists%20-%20The_Very_Last_Lounge_-_Sunday_16_September

Great post mate, cheers..

How did the show this morning on phantom go? Anybody..

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭CamillaRhodes

Dee Reddy played some absolutely brilliant tunes yesterday that I had never heard before, my Shazam app was going into meltdown. Now that's what 'alternative' radio should be. [A few snarky comments about having to play Kasabian and Heathers too...]

I was just thinking yesterday how I wish Dee had had the nerve / freedom to play her own choices of tunes more prior til now, yesterday's show (well, the first hour, that was all i was able to hear) was fantastic and much more diverse than usual (I gotta admit I usually used to turn off after SMCG cos couldn't face the onslaught of Heathers & Kasabian...)

If I want to listen to the same tunes over and over, I've an ipod shuffle. Phantom used to be a way to discover new and different music (certainly SMCG always was). Makes me so sad that that's going away :(

Big love to everyone who left the station this week, hope yiz can see how much you'll all be missed.

How did the show this morning on phantom go? Anybody..

In fairness I thought it was fine, Orla D was grand and yer man didn't contribute much, which is the way it should be, and they played plenty of tunes, variety of which was non-existent and just the heavy-rotation setlist, but I guess that's to be expected.

Not the same as before, but don't want to take it out on the new presenters, I'm sure it wasn't their decision either to be placed in that slot, nor have they the clout to influence the playlists that much.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

In fairness I thought it was fine, Orla D was grand and yer man didn't contribute much, which is the way it should be, and they played plenty of tunes, variety of which was non-existent and just the heavy-rotation setlist, but I guess that's to be expected.

Not the same as before, but don't want to take it out on the new presenters, I'm sure it wasn't their decision either to be placed in that slot, nor have they the clout to influence the playlists that much.

Music was pretty much the same as usual, presenters didn't seem polished at all but then again it's their first day. Competition was very poor, cringe worthy listening.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I haven't listened to the radio for years, used to listen to Phantom back when it was pirate, and like many others have said, was delighted when it got a proper license. I've started tuning in over the summer and was really getting into a lot of the shows and was very confused as to why everyone seemed to be talking about leaving!

This thread has cleared it all up a bit for me, but it's still very disappointing. I know there's probably technology out there for listening to foreign stations when you're out and about, but for me I can only listen to the likes of 6music when I'm at home with internet, or on the TV, but when I'm out and about I'm restricted to Irish radio and Phantom was the only one I could tolerate. I know we'll have to wait and see what the new line up is like but still, if it ain't broke.....

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Deediddums

Cheers Camilla, I appreciate that. It was bittersweet - was obviously hugely saddened to be doing the last show but I had a lot of fun playing my own choices.

Here's the playlist as it went out in the end:

Killer Queen – Queen
    Pictures of You – The Cure
    Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young

An English Lady of a Certain Age – The Divine Comedy
    Such Great Heights – The Postal Service
    And I Remember Every Kiss – Jens Lekman

Hail Bop – Django Django
    Do You Remember The First Time – Pulp
    Don’t Stop – Foster The People (St Lucia Remix)
    Sleep Alone – Two Door Cinema Club

Runaways – The Killers
    Under The Westway – Blur

Switchblade Smiles - Kasabian
    Gonna Be Sick – The Do (Mylo Remix)
    Super Trouper – Camera Obscura

I’m His Girl – Friends

Anyone Who Knows What Love Is – Irma Thomas
    Hold On – Alabama Shakes
    This Must Be The Place – Talking Heads

The Maccabees – Ayla
    Do It Anyway – Ben Folds Five

Cocaine Blues – Escort
    Five Years Time – Noah and The Whale
    Yet Again – Grizzly Bear

Peace (Leave Anger in the Past) - Depeche Mode

The Bleeding Heart Show – New Pornographers
    1904 – The Tallest Man On Earth
    Bad Girls – M.I.A.

Forget Me Knots – Heathers
    What I’m Trying To Say – Stars

Don’t Think Twice It’s All Right – Bob Dylan
    Our Own Pretty Ways – First Aid Kit
    Ruin – Cat Power
    Atomic – Blondie
    Changes – David Bowie
    Human Elevator – Cast of Cheers

Mazy Haze - Empire Saints
    Sail On Sailor – The Beach Boys

Bowl of Oranges – Bright Eyes (with a bit of help from Ferris Bueller)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Missed your last show but great playlist especially for Peace and Sail on Sailor. All the best!

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Deediddums

dathi1 wrote: »
    eh no she was on Xfm :D

Actually, she only ever did one show on XFM, she was with Radio Caroline for 6 months though. Pearl asked me to clarify that, she reads boards but doesn't post! So there you have it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭BananaR

Deediddums wrote: »
    Cheers Camilla, I appreciate that. It was bittersweet - was obviously hugely saddened to be doing the last show but I had a lot of fun playing my own choices.

Here's the playlist as it went out in the end:

Killer Queen – Queen
    Pictures of You – The Cure
    Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young

An English Lady of a Certain Age – The Divine Comedy
    Such Great Heights – The Postal Service
    And I Remember Every Kiss – Jens Lekman

Hail Bop – Django Django
    Do You Remember The First Time – Pulp
    Don’t Stop – Foster The People (St Lucia Remix)
    Sleep Alone – Two Door Cinema Club

Runaways – The Killers
    Under The Westway – Blur

Switchblade Smiles - Kasabian
    Gonna Be Sick – The Do (Mylo Remix)
    Super Trouper – Camera Obscura

I’m His Girl – Friends

Anyone Who Knows What Love Is – Irma Thomas
    Hold On – Alabama Shakes
    This Must Be The Place – Talking Heads

The Maccabees – Ayla
    Do It Anyway – Ben Folds Five

Cocaine Blues – Escort
    Five Years Time – Noah and The Whale
    Yet Again – Grizzly Bear

Peace (Leave Anger in the Past) - Depeche Mode

The Bleeding Heart Show – New Pornographers
    1904 – The Tallest Man On Earth
    Bad Girls – M.I.A.

Forget Me Knots – Heathers
    What I’m Trying To Say – Stars

Don’t Think Twice It’s All Right – Bob Dylan
    Our Own Pretty Ways – First Aid Kit
    Ruin – Cat Power
    Atomic – Blondie
    Changes – David Bowie
    Human Elevator – Cast of Cheers

Mazy Haze - Empire Saints
    Sail On Sailor – The Beach Boys

Bowl of Oranges – Bright Eyes (with a bit of help from Ferris Bueller)

Heard the show yesterday and a fine one it was! Seriously ill-advised IMHO to mess around with the Sunday morning programming in the manner they have, not to mention the other fine shows/DJs kicked to touch.

Jaysus, just listened to the last few mins of Pure Morning, & JC's tribute to them (missed the final 45 mins on Friday). Flupping hell. Emotional stuff. Not really safe for work. You don't realise how much these voices on the radio have become part of your life, eh??

Thx for posting, ghostdancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

I have to say that the tunes played on the final shows were quality. Maybe if the DJ's were taken off the leash more, Phantom wouldn't be in such trouble. The heavy rotation is really killing the station, I get so angry when they play that boring Killers song, over and over.

And while I'm at it, why do that have a "Phantom Classic" intro for any song that's more than four years old?

Bring back Pearl! Let the DJ's free to play proper music and then people will tune in.

I have to say that the tunes played on the final shows were quality. Maybe if the DJ's were taken off the leash more, Phantom wouldn't be in such trouble. The heavy rotation is really killing the station, I get so angry when they play that boring Killers song, over and over.

When I used to listen to Phantom regularly I wouldn't have a clue who most of the bands were. I'd have to make a note of any songs I liked and go investigate later. I'd feel super cool and trendy if I did know a band or a song every once in a while. Now it does feel like you hear a lot of the same songs every day.
    Obviously there are certain things to take into consideration when running a radio station as a business, but you can't help wonder are they trying to appeal to more listeners of a much wider variety with the likes of Mumford, Killers etc. instead of trying to keep and expand the type of audience they already have?

True, but it's a niche station, it'll never be the next Today FM. They'll just alienate their natural audience with wall to wall Killfords.

Completely agree with you guys; I've spent all day today in work listening to the pod casts of those final shows I missed (end of Dee's, all of Derek Byrne's The Lounge) and they were all great, and I've been jotting down songs I should download along the way... it's been just like the 'old' days.

I haven't listened to Phantom in work in years, cos I'd find if you listen for longer than an hour at a sitting (except for during the specialty shows) you'd inevitably end up hearing the same heavy-rotation songs again and again and I'd end up going postal.

Phantom got their licence on the basis of being "speciality interest" or something like that; they shouldn't have to compete on mass interest, whether from a licensing or advertising revenue perspective. There are advertisers who will want generic, mass market audiences (for which they'll generally pay higher rates) and there are other advertisers who prefer more targeted, niche audiences who they know more about by basis of their listening preferences. Generally the latter bracket may be smaller advertisers paying lower rates, and therefore require a different approach from a media sales perspective (can you guess what I do for a living yet?) but genuinely, from a sales and marketing perspective, niche does not equal less profitable, just different pots of revenue. I have the feeling Marconi House inc. have probably decided they want to sell airspace to the same advertisers who they've brought in to Today and 98fm. This is just sheer laziness and ultimately, I think, will harm their revenue - you don't want to narrow your streams by eliminating diversity.

/end-media-sales-rant (as I'm sure that's what's driving this... can't think of any other reason).

Why get rid of the presenters though? Unless again they're trying to bring in a completely different sound to the station and have Fearne Cotton types to appeal to the yooths?

Getting rid of the presenters is a short sighted cost cutting scheme.