Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RaboDirectPro12 2012/13 General Discussion (with transfers/season preview)

• 11-07-2012 9:54am
    Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Fixture list: http://www.rabodirectpro12.com/matchcentre/fixtures_list.php

Transfers for this season, players out in red, players in in green.
    http://www.therugbyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?25134-Transfers-2012-13

14.gif
    Cardiff Blues

Campese Ma'afu (PR, West Harbour), Andy Kyriacou (HK, Ulster), Benoît Bourrust (PR, Perpignan), Lou Reed (LK, Scarlets), Robin Copeland (FL, Rotherham), Robert Lewis (SH, London Welsh), Jason Tovey (FH, Dragons)

John Yapp (PR, Edinburgh), Gethin Jenkins (PR, Toulon), Ryan Tyrrell (HK, Melbourne Rebels), T Rhys Thomas (HK, Wasps), Deiniol Jones (LK, retired), Paul Tito (LK, retired), Ma'ama Molitika (FL, retired), Martyn Williams (FL, retired), Richie Rees (SH, Edinburgh), Rhys Downes (SH, Newport), Dan Parks (FH, Connacht), Casey Laulala (CT, Munster), Ben Blair (FB, Agen), Xavier Rush (N8, retired)

16.gif
    Connacht

Jason Harris-Wright (HK, Bristol), Nathan White (PR, Leinster), Willie Faloon (FL, Ulster), Dan Parks (FH, Cardiff Blues), Brian Murphy (CT, Galwegians), Danie Poolman (WG, Stormers)

Dermot Murphy (HK), Dylan Rogers (PR), Jamie Stevens (PR), Ray Ofisa (FL), Niall O'Connor (FH, Ulster), Henry Fa'afili (CT), Brian Tuohy (WG)

19.gif
    Dragons

Tim Ryan (PR, Cavalieri Prato), Ian Nimmo (LK, Cornish Pirates), Tom Prydie (WG, Wasps), Daniel Evans (FB, Scarlets)

Rhys Buckley (HK, Doncaster), Gethin Robinson (PR), Scott Morgan (LK, Coventry), Royce Cadman (LK, Doncaster), Luke Charteris (LK, Perpignan), Rhys Jenkins (FL), Gavin Thomas (FL, retired), Hugo Ellis (N8, Rosslyn Park), James Leadbeater (SH), Jason Tovey (FH, Cardiff Blues), Tom Riley (CT), Aled Brew (WG, Biarritz), Martyn Thomas (FB, Gloucester)

17.gif
    Edinburgh

John Yapp (PR, Cardiff Blues), WP Nel (PR, Cheetahs), Isak van der Westhuizen (LK, Cheetahs), Perry-John Parker (LK, Esher), Dimitri Basilaia (FL, Valence d'Agen), Richie Rees (SH, Cardiff Blues), Greig Tonks (CT, Northampton), Ben Atiga (CT, Otago), Mike Penn (FB, Nottingham)

Kyle Traynor (PR, Bristol), Andrew Kelly (HK, London Scottish), Ulyses Gamboa (PR), Jack Gilding (PR), Esteban Lozada (LK, Agen), Alan MacDonald (FL), Mike Blair (SH, Brive), Phil Godman (FH, London Scottish), Jim Thompson (WG, London Scottish), Chris Paterson (FB, retired)

18.gif
    Glasgow

Angus Macdonald (LK, Coca Cola West Red Sparks), Tim Swinson (LK, Newcastle), Viliami Ma'afu (N8, Mitsubishi Dynaboars), Taylor Paris (WG, Ontario Blues), Sean Lamont (WG, Scarlets), Nikola Matawalu (SH, Suva/Fiji)

Fergus Thomson (HK), Richie Gray (LK, Sale), Rob Verbakel (LK), Johnnie Beattie (N8, Montpellier), Rob Dewey (CT), Mike Doneghan (WG, Rotherham), David Lemi (WG, Worcester), Colin Shaw (WG), Federico Martín Aramburú (WG, retired)

20.gif
    Leinster

Michael Bent (PR, Hurricanes), Tom Denton (LK, Leeds), Quinn Roux (LK, Stormers), Andrew Goodman (CT, Tasman)

Nathan White (PR, Connacht), Brad Thorn (LK, Fukuoka Sanix Blues, return from loan), Ciaran Ruddock (LK), Matt Berquist (FH, Biarritz), Eamonn Sheridan (CT, Rotherham)

22.gif
    Munster

CJ Stander (FL, Bulls), Sean Dougall (FL, Rotherham), Peter Stringer (SH, Newcastle, return from loan), Casey Laulala (CT, Cardiff Blues), James Downey (CT, Northampton)

Darragh Hurley (PR, retired), Denis Fogarty (HK, Aurillac), Peter Borlase (PR), Mick O'Driscoll (LK, retired) Tomás O'Leary (SH, London Irish), Declan Cusack (FH, Garryowen), Lifeimi Mafi (CT, Perpignan), Tom Gleeson (CT, retired)

23.gif
    Ospreys

James Goode (LK, Newcastle, return from loan), Jonathan Spratt (CT, London Irish)

Paul James (PR, Bath), Ken Dowding (PR), Huw Bennett (HK, Lyon), Mefin Davies (HK, retired), Cai Griffiths (PR, London Irish), Will Taylor (PR, Wasps), Craig Cross (PR), Chauncey O'Toole (FL, The Rock), Ben Thomas (N8), Dai Flanagan (FH, Pontypridd), Sonny Parker (CT, London Welsh), Gareth Owen (CT, Scarlets), Stefan Watermeyer (CT), Shane Williams (WG, Mitsubishi Dynaboars), Kristian Phillips (WG, Scarlets), Tommy Bowe (WG, Ulster), Nikki Walker (WG, Worcester), Barry Davies (FB, London Welsh)

21.gif
    Scarlets

George Earle (LK, Cheetahs), Lewis Rawlins (LK, Cross Keys), Tomás Vallejos (LK, Harlequins), Gareth Owen (CT, Ospreys)

Iestyn Thomas (PR, retired), Dominic Day (LK, Bath), Lou Reed (LK, Cardiff Blues), Damian Welch (LK, Exeter), Ben Morgan (N8, Gloucester), Mat Gilbert (N8, Mogliano), Liam Davies (SH), Stephen Jones (CT, Wasps), Sean Lamont (WG, Glasgow), Daniel Evans (FB, Dragons)

58.gif
    Treviso

Alberto de Marchi (PR, Aironi), Bees Roux (PR, Bordeaux-Bègles), Marco Fuser (LK, Mogliano), Simone Favaro (FL, Aironi), Dean Budd (FL, NEC Green Rockets), James Ambrosini (FH, University of Queensland), Luca Morisi (CT, Crociati), Doppies la Grange (CT, Lions), Michele Campagnaro (CT, Mirano), Giulio Toniolatti (WG, Aironi), Christian Loamanu (WG, Toulon)

Augusto Allori (PR), Flavio Tripodi (PR, Zebre), Enrico Pavanello (LK, Mogliano), Bian Vermaak (FL), Simon Picone (SH, Calvisano), Alberto di Bernardo (FH), Willem de Waal (FH), Ezio Galon (CT, Mogliano), Gonzalo García (CT, Zebre), Benjamin de Jager (WG, Calvisano)

24.gif
    Ulster

Rob Herring (HK, Western Province), Sean Doyle (FL, Southern Districts), Nick Williams (N8, Aironi), Roger Wilson (N8, Northampton), Michael Heaney (SH, Doncaster), Niall O'Connor (FH, Connacht), Tommy Bowe (WG, Ospreys)

Andy Kyriacou (HK, Cardiff Blues), Jerry Cronin (PR, Doncaster), Tim Barker (LK, Rainey Old Boys), Willie Faloon (FL, Connacht), Pedrie Wannenburg (N8, Castres), Ian Humphreys (FH, London Irish), James McKinney (FH, Rotherham), Ian Whitten (CT, Exeter), Conor Gaston (WG, London Irish), Simon Danielli (WG, retired), Stefan Terblanche (FB, retired)

8684.gif
    Zebre (Replace Aironi in the Rabo Pro12)

Matías Aguëro (PR, Aironi), Andrea de Marchi (PR, Aironi), Salvatore Perugini (PR, Aironi), Carlo Fazzari (PR, Treviso), Tommaso d'Apice (HK, Aironi), Carlo Festuccia (HK, Crociati), Davide Giazzon (HK, Rovigo), Luca Redolfini (PR, Aironi), Flavio Tripodi (PR, Crociati), Dave Ryan (PR, Lazio), Luciano Leibson (PR, San Luis), Marco Bortolami (LK, Aironi), Quintin Geldenhuys (LK, Aironi), Filippo Cazzola (LK, Cavalieri Prato), Michael van Vuuren (LK, Crociati), Mauro Bergamasco (FL, Aironi), Nicola Cattina (FL, Aironi), Emiliano Caffini (FL, Crociati), Filippo Cristiano (FL, Rovigo), Filippo Ferrarini (N8, Aironi), Josh Sole (N8, Aironi), Nicola Belardo (N8, Cavalieri Prato), Tito Tebaldi (SH, Aironi), Luca Martinelli (SH, Fiamme Oro), Alberto Chillon (SH, Petrarca Padova), Luciano Orquera (FH, Aironi), Matteo Pratichetti (CT, Aironi), Roberto Quartaroli (CT, Aironi), Samuele Pace (CT, Rovigo), Gonzalo García (CT, Treviso), Sinoti Sinoti (WG, Aironi), Giovanbattista Venditti (WG, Aironi), Leonardo Sarto (WG, Petrarca Padova), David Odiete (WG, Reggio), Alberto Benettin (FB, Aironi), Paolo Buso (FB, Aironi), Ruggero Trevisan (FB, Aironi)

Zebre is pretty much the Aironi squad so I can't see them doing much better than Aironi in the short term. Treviso have made some signings but no real big names, I was hoping they would sign the better players from the old Aironi squad but that largely hasn't happened. They should still be competitive at home.

The big movers in the transfer market are Edinburgh and Cardiff. Cardiff have had to cull their squad to be within the new Welsh salary cap. I can see them being the most significant change to this season's table. Like Scarlets and Ospreys had to do last season, Cardiff now have to back their young talent but with so much experience lost in one fell swoop (Ospreys and Scarlets have trimmed their squads more slowly), they are going to struggle this season.

This is Edinburgh's chance to have a good Pro12 season and push for the playoffs, last season they pretty much gave up on the Pro12 when they got results in Europe. They have cut a lot of deadwood and signed many foreign players to bolster their ranks, something they have never really done. Dark horses for the playoffs certainly and Michael Bradley's big chance to put his name on the map.

Glasgow did well last season considering their shallow squad but the loss of Richie Gray is massive. It will be interesting to see how their stadium move works out, Firhill was a horrible place to travel to and it seemed to suit Glasgow who had a strong home record there. Glasgow have also lost Sean Lineen, arguably the top coach in the Pro12 given the talent he had to work with. He's been replaced by Gregor Townsend, who (to put it mildly) was a complete failure as Scotland's attack coach. Expect them to not repeat the feats of last season.

Ospreys have let go a considerable number of players, with the likes of Bowe and Williams gone their galaticos era is well and truly over. A lot of the players leaving were either flops or injury prone, so it shouldn't effect them too much. They might want to sign a top back three player as they look light in that area now (5 wingers or fullbacks leaving). Scarlets are losing some first choice players in Morgan, Lamont and Reed who need replacing. They also lost head coach Nigel Davies to Gloucester, who under his tenure brought in a lot of decent youngsters.

A team that could really struggle this year is the Dragons, for years we've read about their threadbare squad and now they've been forced to release 13 players, while they are losing some of their top players with Charteris, Tovey and Thomas leaving. They may well be looking at a basement battle with Zebre this season.

Munster and Leinster have big squads so they should have enough to make the playoffs yet again. Even if Munster don't click straightaway under Penney, that's unlikely to be exposed at Pro12 level.

Ulster should be strong enough to make the playoffs, Tommy Bowe returning is massive plus Jared Payne will be back from injury. The concerns are if Wilson or Williams are good enough to replace Wannenburg and if Jackson is really good enough to be first choice 10. Also Ruan Pienaar may only be available for a handful of Pro12 fixtures before the New Year if he is selected by South Africa for the Rugby Championship (mid August - mid October) and Autumn Internationals (November).

Connacht have made some exciting signings while not losing any significant quality (Ofisa aside). Nathan White was arguably good enough to start for Leinster and to get a player of that quality on a 3 year deal is a good omen for the province. The arrival of Dan Parks could either turn Connacht into a side that can win tight games (7 losing BPs last season says a lot) or Parks could stifle a young backline that can score tries. Given the improvements on and off the pitch for Connacht, anything lower than a mid-table would be very disappointing, but with the likes of Edinburgh improving their squad it will be difficult.

In terms of a prediction, here goes:

Leinster
    Ospreys
    Munster
    Ulster
    ========
    Edinburgh
    Scarlets
    Glasgow
    Connacht
    Cardiff
    Treviso
    Dragons
    Zebre

Who will make the playoffs? (Pick 4) 347 votes

Benetton Treviso
    0%
    Cardiff Blues
    0%
    Connacht
    3%
    hallelujajordantolosencfguinanPeadar06twinytwoRAKMblackhound19543261Uriel.jaansuconor1979Blackheath 12 votes
    Edinburgh
    0%
    pcworldisajoke 1 vote
    Glasgow Warriors
    6%
    justsomebloketommycahirfunky penguinconf101MorfongariteDigifriendlyTeferiKevinKprofitiusvienne86royconBBDBBCpt_Blackbeardormond ladjaansuHagzwp_ratheadnudgerScioch 22 votes
    Leinster
    2%
    cruiserweightPhilo BeddoepeterakoPodge_irlblackhoundCookiemunsterleonard7bilston 8 votes
    Munster
    25%
    .akjustsomeblokehallelujajordantommycahircpfunky penguincruiserweight[Jackass]conf101tolosencMorffguinanPhilo Beddoefrankie2shoeseyeball kidbudhabobongariteB0Xkeano007Digifriendly 87 votes
    NG Dragons
    19%
    .akjustsomebloketommycahircpfunky penguin[Jackass]conf101tolosencMorffguinanfrankie2shoeseyeball kidbudhabobongariteB0Xkeano007lemanskyTeferimurphym7matthew8 68 votes
    Ospreys
    0%
    Scarlets
    21%
    .akjustsomeblokehallelujajordantommycahircpfunky penguincruiserweight[Jackass]conf101MorfPhilo Beddoefrankie2shoeseyeball kidbudhabobongariteB0Xkeano007DigifriendlyPeadar06lemansky 76 votes
    Ulster
    2%
    cpkeano007peterakoRAKMLightningBoltPhatPigginsjacotheladTheKeenMachine 8 votes
    Zebre
    18%
    .akhallelujajordancruiserweight[Jackass]tolosencfguinanPhilo Beddoefrankie2shoeseyeball kidbudhabobB0XDigifriendlyPeadar06lemanskymurphym7matthew8kevwottonPodge_irltomred1CIARAN_BOYLE 65 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Scarlets
    Ye going to go with Leinster, Ospreys, Munster and Edinburgh as my top 4.

I think Pienaar's lack of availability is going to leave an experienced 9/10 partnership at the start of the campaign coupled with the loss of Wannenburg will see the struggle to to reach the top 4 come the end of the season.

I think Edinburgh have to be the dark horses as I think they are probably the only team (bar Connacht) to make some very decent signings. However if these players get to play in the Rabo and aren't just saved for the HEC is another question.

Connacht I think have done well. I'm still intrigued how they managed to get White and I think he could well end up being a massive signing for them. I also think Harris-Wright showed a good bit of promise while at Leinster so hopefully he can make a 'good' name for himself there.

Of the rest I don't see many teams improving and Leinster and Ospreys will probably be the final again. Hopefully Penny can start to turn things around at Munster and hopefully we will see a more consistent side especially in the second half of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Scarlets
    Ye going to go with Leinster, Ospreys, Munster and Edinburgh as my top 4.

My pick too for the same reasons you outlined.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Zebre
    I'd say the 3 year deal was a big factor in White signing, he'll be 31 in September. Good job security for him, I don't think 'better' clubs would have offered him 3 years. It's great for Connacht to tie down a player of White's quality for that amount of time too.

Scarlets
    Urgh, the first two rounds...

Axg7r5hCMAAQbx3.jpg:large

Would prefer if they just released them all at once. Are they going to be doing this throughout the day?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Zebre
    I'm picked the same 4 as Thomond. I feel Ulster will have a lot of momentum this year, and I think they'll risk using their untested depth a bit more with a new coach. Don't be surprised to see them shine in the opening weekends with Jackson and Marshall at the helm.

Leinster will have a tricky start - but they've seemed to pride themselves on starting bumpy and working out the mistakes along the way as they've shown in the past two seasons.

It's hard to tell how Munster will behave... But regardless of their performances last season, they still have a strong squad peppered with internationals and are built around a legacy of big performances. I expect them to turn some heads this season and will look at getting back on that horse.

The only choice I'm unsure of is Ospreys. They've lost a lot according to the transfers, will they be able to keep it up? We'll see, but having lifted the trophy twice in three seasons they've established a legacy and a reputation for knowing how to win this competition.

Scarlets
    Derp...

Full listings here.

Zebre
    Teferi wrote: »
    Would prefer if they just released them all at once. Are they going to be doing this throughout the day?

Up now.

http://www.rabodirectpro12.com/matchcentre/fixtures_list.php

Zebre
    From a Leinster POV I'm glad to get Scarlets in the first round. I think we'll be incredibly light with injuries and resting internationals - there's always a good chance we'll lose our first game, especially as it's away - but I'm glad it's Scarlets and not the O's. Don't think I could stomach another loss to them! :D But also, we'll get a look at how Scarlets prepare to go on (re Hcup)

Zebre
    I wish they would change the order of the Leinster vs Munster clashes, it's the same every bloody year.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Zebre
    I wish they would change the order of the Leinster vs Munster clashes, it's the same every bloody year.
    because Leinster Celtic Rugby or whoever they are think that Leinster vs Munster in the Aviva is the biggest event of the season and that it will do better as the first big match of the year before the Heineken

Zebre
    because Leinster Celtic Rugby or whoever they are think that Leinster vs Munster in the Aviva is the biggest event of the season and that it will do better as the first big match of the year before the Heineken

You're right, but it wouldn't hurt to change it up a bit. It's too samey for my liking.

I hope it's a better game than the last two clashes at the Aviva, they were both manure.

Zebre
    You're right, but it wouldn't hurt to change it up a bit. It's too samey for my liking.

I hope it's a better game than the last two clashes at the Aviva, they were both manure.

Here's hoping...

When do the internationals go back to the Ireland camp for prep for the NI's?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Zebre
    Great first two fixtures for Connacht, have to target 2 wins.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Zebre
    .ak wrote: »
    Here's hoping...

When do the internationals go back to the Ireland camp for prep for the NI's?
    After HEC round 2 I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Fantastic opening run of games for Leinster. Dragons, Treviso away and Edinburgh. The lower half of the table but sides that can hurt you. Ideal games for the fringe/younger lads to get valuable senior experience. Ospreys on the last day of the season at home. Please God let them be needing a win to get into 4th.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Zebre
    1, Leinster
    2, Munster
    3, Ulster
    4, Edinburgh

I also think Edinburgh are dark horses depending on their attitude towards the league. They play an exciting offloading brand of rugby thats effective as well as entertaining. They've signing up a lot of players to add quality to their squad as well as Neill Back as defense coach.

Munster have a massive squad with plenty of talent which was why they managed to finish 3rd last season despite playing a backwards brand of rugby. I'm confident Penney will get them playing a better, more effective brand of rugby. He said he wants to change how they play as he wasn't a fan of last years style. Thats a good sign for Munster.

Leinster will be favourites again. Same as last year but maybe stronger in a few areas. They've not made many changes but there wasn't any need to. Slowly adding to the side is the way to go now.

Ulster have bolstered their squad also and are very strong in some areas. They've probably the best backs from 11 - 15 in the league. They've gotten rid of a few players and picked some inexperienced players but the risks could pay off. The new coach will have some new methods to try out and with some of the quality they have they're moving in the right direction. Wannenburg is a loss and Ian Humphreys could also be a loss to them.

I've left the Ospreys out of the top 4 for a few reasons. Firstly they've really trimmed down their squad. Thats sometimes a good thing and their fans are not worried about it but at the end of last season they were lucky with injuries. This season they'll be weaker with the replacements and that could effect their momentum. Not only is the squad weaker but the first team is weaker also. Shane Williams is a big occasion player and was the difference against Leinster last season. Also, being champions means more teams will be targeting them and you can be sure Munster and Leinster will be looking forward with the smell of revenge in their nostrils.

Scarlets are also playoff contenders. They've signed a few players but some has also left. The biggest difference will be their new coach. I rate Nigel Davies highly. Easterby has a big jab ahead of him but he is clearly an intelligent man who could step up.

Treviso look to have signed a few so might have improved. Time will tell.

I expect Zebre to finish rock bottom. Anything other than bottom will be a shock.

Dragons have let some players go but made a few quality signings. Bottome 3 again for them though.

Cardiff have culled their squad. They've a new coach but I expect them to finish further down the table than last season. They're one of the teams that'll be interesting to watch because of all their changes.

Glasgow have changed coach for some reason. It could and probably will come back to bite them on the arse.

In terms of boosting their squad, Connacht are up their with Edinburgh. They've got rid of deadwood and almost all the payers they've signed will bring quality to their team. Its the first time ever they'll be able to rotate their squad and give more players some rest which means those players will be able to preform better when they do play. Last season the 14 game losing streak was due to having a small squad. That won't happen this year. Last season Connacht were also playing some good attacking rugby. If they can keep Griffin fit it will further improve them. Parks will also slot over the goals which can be the difference between winning and losing many games. Connacht also have the young brigade coming through like Kieran Marmion and Shane Layden. I think they'll finish at least 8th and maybe as high as 5th or 6th with a bit of luck.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Yeah the listings are predictable enough. Except this year we play Munster after the HEC QF, assuming we get there that is, and play Ulster before it.

29/30/31 Mar Leinster v Ulster
    5-7 April HEC QF
    12-14 April Munster v Leinster

Zebre
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    Yeah the listings are predictable enough. Except this year we play Munster after the HEC QF, assuming we get there that is, and play Ulster before it.

29/30/31 Mar Leinster v Ulster
    5-7 April HEC QF
    12-14 April Munster v Leinster

wow I hadn't realised that. That could mean Munster vs Leinster could be understrength sides, since Irish teams generally play full sides the week before a HEC fixture.

Perhaps the Leinster vs Ulster rivalry is rated as highly as Leinster vs Munster.

• Administrators Posts: 53,443 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ulster have signed Ireland U20s Alan O'Connor according to our thread. :)

Zebre
    With Bierne coming through, Flanagan and Keogh also, is it really a big loss? If he was that good why did we not secure him in the Academy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Scarlets
    Ahh, I forgot about Thornbury. Guess bringing in 3 locks is a bit too much.

Zebre
    Aye and apparently someone over on LF has played with Gavin a few times and he's a beasht of a man apparently!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It's interesting when you look at a few of the teams end of season position over the last four years

Cardiff: 6th, 5th, 6th, 7th.
    Lanelli: 5th, 9th, 5th, 5th.
    Dragons: 9th, 7th, 7th, 9th.

Glasgow: 7th, 3rd, 11th, 4th.
    Edinburgh: 2nd, 6th, 8th, 11.

Cardiff have lost nearly 10 first team/squad members so they're really going to struggle this season unless their young players are excellent. They're already on a downward move and they're only hope is that moving the games back to the Cardiff Arms will be a positive move.

Some of the Lanelli players that they've lost (Day, Welch, Morgan, Stephen Jones, and Lamont) were big players for them last season so they will be hard to replace. It'll be interesting to see how Easterby gets on but if they manage to hold onto 5th place they'll have done well.

The Dragons will be interesting as while they've also let a few players go none of them apart from Brew and possible Charteris are big losses. Tovey was pretty much frozen out for the end of last season and to be honest I don't think Charteris is a big loss either. Brew could be but then Prydie looks like a handy player and has a big goal kicking boot.

I was amazed at how Edinburghs form had dropped and it's good they got rid of a few players that were there on reputation at this stage. A few good signings in Rees, Yapp, Nel, and Atiga who apart from Yapp should be there all season too. Hopefully Bradley can get them competitive in the Rabo again.

Glasgow should be able to go for the fifth or fourth spot in the league as they seem to be building nicely.

In summary I think the Dragons will finish in the top 3 of the Welsh HEC places and could even get second. Cardiff I've no hope for to be honest so it could be Ospreys, Dragons, Lanelli, and Cardiff for the Welsh teams next season.

Connacht playing 3 of the Welsh teams during the 6 Nations should put them in a good spot too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Zebre
    My Rabo predictions.

1. Leinster
    2. Munster
    3. Ulster
    4. Edinburgh
    5. Ospreys
    6. Scarlets
    7. Connacht
    8. Glasgow
    9. Treviso
    10. Cardiff
    11. Dragons
    12. Zebre

I'm probably a bit biased towards Irish teams but I think the Welsh clearout of players will have an effect on them and Connacht and Edinburghs signings should help them.

Some stats from last season.
    Ulster were the top try scorers with 53 tries.
    Ospreys had the meanest defense conceding 22 tries.
    Leinster had by far the biggest points difference: +242
    Connacht were the only team with no 4 try bonus point.
    Connacht had the most losing bonus points: 7

Zebre
    The Pro12 Facebook Page is calling on any 'budding bloggers' to write up season previews for teams on www.rabodirectpro12.com

Thought this might interest some people here - the general quality of certain posters is probably a level above international standard - so why not drop them a PM on their Facebook page if you fancy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Zebre
    I certainly think Thomond and one or two others are above international standard and should apply.

Regarding the league, if Leinster lose another final this season I'm going to go mental! Really hope we can do it this season. European success means nothing if you can't back it up with domestic success imo.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Zebre
    I'm coming desperately close to preferring us to win the Rabo then the HEC. I'm utterly sick of watching three losing finals in a row.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Nope, I'll still sleep well in my Heineken cup duvet if we win the cup and not the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,757 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Zebre
    Controversially I'm going for:
    Leinster
    Ospreys
    Ulster
    Edinburgh (although I voted for Glasgow by mistake!)

Munster worry me. They have lost a lot of players many of whom weren't even mentioned on the OP.

Wallace, Flannery, Leamy, Hayes (albeit he retired at Christmas), O'Driscoll and then of course players like O'Leary and Mafi have left. There are some big big holes to fill there, but then they have a big squad. Who will play out half? Will it be ROG or Keatley? How will Penny get on? There are a lot of questions to be answered about Munster IMO.

Of course the same can be said for a lot of teams. Sadly for the league I think Cardiff will implode, they have lost far too many players. In saying that the Ospreys have lost quite a few players yet their finish to the season makes me think they'll be better for it. Edinburgh have recruited pretty well, if Bradley puts some time and effort into the league they will be a threat. At Ulster a lot depends on Paddy Jackson and how Ulster fare without Pienaar in the early rounds. If things go well then I think Ulster will go well, but like Munster there is the unknown factor of the new coach. The Scarlets could prove to be dark horses, nobody has really mentioned them at all.

It should be an intriguing campaign. Six weeks and counting...

Zebre
    Podge_irl wrote: »
    I'm coming desperately close to preferring us to win the Rabo then the HEC. I'm utterly sick of watching three losing finals in a row.

1368181-j7654k858545_super.jpg