Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mens Rights Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

• Registered Users Posts: 28,118 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

That Swedish music festival has been found to have discriminated.

https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/music/news/statement-festival-man-free-women-only-discrimination-ruling-a8690116.html

"In a Facebook post, Statement Festival responded: “It’s sad that what 5,000 women, non-binaries and transgender experienced as a life-changing festival, made a few cis-men lose it completely"

I think there should be a ban on calling men cis-men or the very least €20 for the severed head of anyone who uses the phrase in a Garda Station..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

That Swedish music festival has been found to have discriminated.

https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/music/news/statement-festival-man-free-women-only-discrimination-ruling-a8690116.html

"In a Facebook post, Statement Festival responded: “It’s sad that what 5,000 women, non-binaries and transgender experienced as a life-changing festival, made a few cis-men lose it completely"

I think there should be a ban on calling men cis-men or the very least €20 for the severed head of anyone who uses the phrase in a Garda Station..

Holding all men responsible for the 'newcomers' inability to control themselves.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

backspin. wrote: »
    Holding all men responsible for the 'newcomers' inability to control themselves.

Nothing to do with immigration imo. More a case of inventing issues to be offended by. These people are loons

• Registered Users Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭iptba

I just heard an academic from here on RTE Radio One. I wasn't sure whether I heard the title correctly so looked it up.

Not very surprising, but there isn't much male/female gender balance/diversity among either the staff or the students

NUIG Centre for Global Women's Studies

People
    http://www.nuigalway.ie/globalwomensstudies/people/

http://www.nuigalway.ie/globalwomensstudies/ethos/
    Participants in the MA Programme 2015/16 at The Mary Robinson Centre, Ballina

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭pablo39er

iptba wrote: »

Not very surprising, but there isn't much male/female gender balance/diversity among either the staff or the students

Have you ever noticed when it comes to 'tolerance' and 'diversity', the intolerance for any diversity from approved opinions ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Diversity generally consists of a group of middle class white girls with a token brown girl. Diversity of opinion is not tolerated (tolerable).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭pablo39er

backspin. wrote: »

All men are high potential rapists. Thankfully all Irish schoolboys in future are soon going to be sent on compulsory how not to rape women re-education thought control courses.

Here's the latest batch of gender-related hashtags I have noticed trending for anyone interested (I know some are not)
    (Aside: I'm not on Twitter 24/7 of course and don't look back at lists for when I wasn't on)

#votail100
    https://twitter.com/labour/status/1073553534828859392
    https://twitter.com/BrendanHowlin/status/1073586242829344769
    Got this as a promoted post (i.e. paid-for ad)
    https://twitter.com/creativeirl/status/1073622393984184320

#PoliticsNeedsWomen

#WhyNotAWoman
    https://twitter.com/Claire_McGing/status/1073902396269649920
    https://twitter.com/Linda__Connolly/status/1073891284069302272

(Continued)
    #WhyNotAWoman (Continued)
    https://twitter.com/Chealy_/status/1073903571001856000
    https://twitter.com/vipjeannie/status/1073884703034368000

#stupidwoman
    Jeremy Corbyn is alleged to have called Theresa May a stupid woman under his breath though it seems this is in doubt:
    https://twitter.com/Sargent_Sellers/status/1075442258000912384
    https://twitter.com/SusanaMedina_/status/1075398091166179328
    https://twitter.com/Deaf/status/1075396470352867328

#ITSportswoman
    The Irish Times Sport Ireland Sportswoman of the year 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

iptba wrote: »
    Here's the latest batch of gender-related hashtags I have noticed trending for anyone interested (I know some are not)
    (Aside: I'm not on Twitter 24/7 of course and don't look back at lists for when I wasn't on)

Not being flippant, but what is wrong with those? They are all fairly topical items; given the 100 year anniversary of women getting the vote, the Jeremy Corbyn thing which became a big thing only because the conservatives took it to distract from Brexit for a day and the sportswomen of the year award is a relevant and timely publication.

Male sports events trend on Twitter pretty much daily, don't think we can argue that men are being kept down in that respect.

Rather than cherry pick, I try to just post all gender-related trends I see. Some may be interesting, some perhaps not, I'm not claiming are all. I think some of the ones I have posted since I started have been interesting enough for some people to comment.

Edited to add:
    I did see ladies GAA trend recently, can't remember the exact hashtag maybe #lgfa, but it didn't seem specific enough to highlight as there is a similar championship for men. There are so many individual matches and sports events that trend on Twitter (mainly male, but sometimes there are female ones) that it would drown everything else out to list them. It would also be a bit of work.

There isn't an Irish Times award for sportsman of the month nor an annual award so I thought it might be worth highlighting the trend.

I highlighted "international women's day" trends that doesn't mean there is no "international men's day", and indeed I highlighted that trend also when it happened. Sometimes there are complementary events or initiatives like this, but very often there are not.

Certainly sometimes it can be argued that when there are some initiatives just for one gender, like the sports award, it might be justified. But seeing the sheer number of initiatives there are for women can be interesting, I think.

I think I was challenged at one stage when I said there were loads of trends relating to women that I might be imagining it or biased in what I was seeing. So that was part of the reason I decided to document it.

This question and reply from Quora popped up in my inbox:
    How badly were Protestants treated in the Republic of Ireland after it got independence?
    https://www.quora.com/How-badly-were-Protestants-treated-in-the-Republic-of-Ireland-after-it-got-independence
    Nevertheless, Kew Records Office notes that 24 Protestants were killed in the first six months of 1921. While this might not seem very many there were not that many to kill and having got rid of the father and eldest son the whole family got the message and left. They were not always killed someone posted on Quora his grandparents were given 24 hours to get out by “DeValera’s men” and did. I asked for details but he did not reply.

Another reply refers to the Dunmanway killings:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunmanway_killings
    The Dunmanway killings, also known as the Dunmanway murders or the Dunmanway massacre, refers to the killing (and in some cases, disappearances) of thirteen Protestant men and boys in and around Dunmanway, County Cork, between 26–28 April 1922. This happened in a period of truce after the end of the Irish War of Independence (in July 1921) and before the outbreak of the Irish Civil War in June 1922. All the dead and missing were Protestants,[3] which has led to the killings being described as sectarian. Six were killed as purported British informers and loyalists,[4][5] while four others were relatives killed in the absence of the target. Three other men were kidnapped and executed in Bandon as revenge for the killing of an IRA officer Michael O'Neill during an armed raid. One man was shot and survived his injuries.[1][6]

Of course, there were different problems for women in general also in the period.

Arlene Harris: 'When did it become ok to slate mothers for having sons, and to treat boys as being somehow inferior?'
    https://www.independent.ie/life/arlene-harris-when-did-it-become-ok-to-slate-mothers-for-having-sons-and-to-treat-boys-as-being-somehow-inferior-37693049.html

This touches on lots of issues, though does jump about a lot: I would have preferred a closer look at fewer issues.

#WomensChristmas
    #NollaignamBan
    mBan
    https://twitter.com/RareIrishStuff/status/1081918498681569280
    https://twitter.com/HerstoryIreland/status/1081932222997901312

#womensinspire
    @WomensInspireIE
    Support for #FemaleEntrepreneurs Founded by @Tweetinggoddess - Join us https://www.womensinspirenetwork.com/membership Let's grow together

#WithoutWomenMenWould
    Involved quite a lot of insulting comments about men

#SeeHer
    @seeher2020
    Official Twitter for #SeeHer. The movement to accurately portray all women and girls in media

#Gillette
    #GilletteAd
    "New Gillette ad challenges men to take responsibility for their actions."
    https://twitter.com/GadSaad/status/1084930790390198274
    https://twitter.com/LonelyGoomba/status/1084947691250114560
    https://twitter.com/PeteHegseth/status/1084878343223296003

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

I had to laugh at a few of those "fight for..." slogans. "Girlcott" - feminist version of a Boycott. Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

That ****e looks like it was state funded, what a joke lol but not surprising from this government.

I wasn't sure which thread to post this to. Maybe not that exciting.
    Do women really need ‘gentlemen’?
    Tuesday, February 05, 2019 - 12:00 AM

Aileen O'Reilly and Suzanne Harrington give us their views on how 'gentlemen' fit in to modern society.

Who should foot the bill for dinner on Valentine’s night? The gentleman, of course, says Aileen O’Reilly.

Ladies, make no mistake. It is not a matter of ‘needing’ gentlemen. It’s far more a matter of having enough self-respect to know we deserve them.

Yes, I expect doors to be held open for me. Yes, I expect the man to at least offer to pay for dinner. Yes, I expect to be offered a seat if I’m standing on a crowded bus or train and, yes, I expect my bags to be carried, if they’re heavy, and I make absolutely no apology for it.

Why? Because I was brought up being told I was worth it; anything less than this is boorish behaviour.

Continues at:

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/lifestyle/features/do-women-really-need-gentlemen-902217.html
    ---
    I read a "joke" recently and the punchline was basically that a man was describing his wife cutting the grass rather than doing it himself. It's interesting that some/many (?) people still have expectations about what men should do.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It rather encaspulates most of modern feminism tbh: grown adults with princess complexes who believe they "deserve" superior status. :rolleyes:

It fits nicely with the entitled spoiled brat persona I've come to expect of thos professing to be feminists tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Sleepy wrote: »
    It rather encaspulates most of modern feminism tbh: grown adults with princess complexes who believe they "deserve" superior status. :rolleyes:

It fits nicely with the entitled spoiled brat persona I've come to expect of thos professing to be feminists tbh

Written so nice but savage lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

To be fair, if you read the whole article, it presents two polar opposite views. The first being a woman who considers herself a feminist but still wants men to treat her the way her Daddy used to.

The second being a feminist who just wants to be treated as an equal, directly contradicting the first.

So it's a bit unfair to represent the whole article as a hot take on why feminism is "broken".

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, if you read the whole article, it presents two polar opposite views. The first being a woman who considers herself a feminist but still wants men to treat her the way her Daddy used to.

The second being a feminist who just wants to be treated as an equal, directly contradicting the first.

So it's a bit unfair to represent the whole article as a hot take on why feminism is "broken".
    Would two spokespeople for a movement holding directly contradictory views about the very aims of that movement not represent a broken movement to you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

It could be argued that the overall contrary nature of feminism is one of it's most enduring strengths.

It's practically a truism at this stage that one feminists views are not representative of all.

This then removes accountability when all any need do when questioned on anything a bit dodgy is say that's not what feminism means to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Would two spokespeople for a movement holding directly contradictory views about the very aims of that movement not represent a broken movement to you?
    Well no. Feminism isn't a single entity or organisation. And the two women giving their opinion are not spokespeople for it.

Feminism itself is an ideology, and like any ideology it can be subject to interpretation (and misinterpretation). The men's rights "movement" has exactly the same issue. Many individuals who consider themselves crusaders for men's rights, singing from very different hymn sheets.

If these two women were both senior leaders of the WCI and presenting pieces like this, then it would certainly suggest something broken in the WCI.

But two self-identified feminists having different ideas on feminism means is no more strange than two psychologists disagreeing over a patient.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Well no. Feminism isn't a single entity or organisation. And the two women giving their opinion are not spokespeople for it.

Feminism itself is an ideology, and like any ideology it can be subject to interpretation (and misinterpretation). The men's rights "movement" has exactly the same issue. Many individuals who consider themselves crusaders for men's rights, singing from very different hymn sheets.

If these two women were both senior leaders of the WCI and presenting pieces like this, then it would certainly suggest something broken in the WCI.

But two self-identified feminists having different ideas on feminism means is no more strange than two psychologists disagreeing over a patient.
    That's a fair point.. except the topic raised in the article is one of the central themes of feminism.. equality. One supposed feminists views in the article go completely against what feminism is supposed to stand for.

That's kind of the point: the term "feminist" is meaningless and should be relegated to history with those identifying as such separated into the varying groups they actually are "egalitarians", "misandrists", "anti-transe rights", "female supremacist", "female rights advocates", "haridans who like to shout at other women for their choices" ETC.

Odd that you'd raise the WCI as an example of "feminist spokespeople" since they'd largely fall into the "female supremacist" wing of feminism...

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

I laughed at the first woman in the Examiner bit "my mother was what you'd call a 'spitfire'."
    I can think of many other synonyms for "spitfire" too...

#WomensMarch2019
    #WomensWave
    Women's marches take place around the world

#WomensAwards
    Irish Women’s Awards 2019
    Celebrating outstanding women's achievements
    http://thewomensawards.info/

#womensinspire

#womeninleadership
    https://twitter.com/betaphotography/status/1093441391068364800
    https://twitter.com/ArthurCoxLaw/status/1093449459873300480
    https://twitter.com/JennMariaKelly/status/1093512442464788480

"international day"
    International Day of Women & Girls in Science

#WomenInScience

#WomenInSTEM

#iwish19
    @IWish_ie
    Multi award winning Irish #STEM showcase which has already given Choices, Chances, Changes to over 11,000 girls. 7 to 12 Feb 2019 #iwish19 #womeninstem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

That's kind of the point: the term "feminist" is meaningless and should be relegated to history with those identifying as such separated into the varying groups they actually are "egalitarians", "misandrists", "anti-transe rights", "female supremacist", "female rights advocates", "haridans who like to shout at other women for their choices" ETC.

Odd that you'd raise the WCI as an example of "feminist spokespeople" since they'd largely fall into the "female supremacist" wing of feminism...

Well, feminism is seeing sexism in the fashion of a hierarchal relationship between men and women where women are in a negative position. And, irregardless of the latter comment, it does see sexism as hierarchal.

So, I'm not sure egalitarians are actually feminists?