Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**HL/OL GERMAN BEFORE/AFTER**

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Glitt_123

finality wrote: »
    das Essen - yup it's always singular. In the 2010 example you can also tell it's singular because it says "leckerem", if it were plural it would be "leckeren" in the dative case.

ohh right, so its always plural with en attached??
    Cill94 wrote: »
    Essen as in food? That's a collective noun so I'd say singular.

so collective nouns are always singular?

btw thanx guys!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭finality

Glitt_123 wrote: »
    ohh right, so its always plural with en attached??

Ah, no, unfortunately not. :P

In the dative case adjectives always take -en actually, sorry about that.

The thing about the 2010 question is that it doesn't have an article, so I think that's why it's "leckerem" and not "leckeren". But to simplify it, anything with "-em" is singular. Sorry if I'm being confusing :L

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Glitt_123

Ah, no, unfortunately not. :P

In the dative case adjectives always take -en actually, sorry about that.

The thing about the 2010 question is that it doesn't have an article, so I think that's why it's "leckerem" and not "leckeren". But to simplify it, anything with "-em" is singular. Sorry if I'm being confusing :L

noo its totes grand!! infact thanks! another quick question, is entdecken an exception to the perfekt tense? is the perfekt of it always hat entdeckt? saw this in 2002 a.g
    never came across it, know abt the ieren exception and the prefix one but not this one

noo its totes grand!! infact thanks! another quick question, is entdecken an exception to the perfekt tense? is the perfekt of it always hat entdeckt? saw this in 2002 a.g
    never came across it, know abt the ieren exception and the prefix one but not this one

yeah it's hat entdeckt :) it's not entgedeckt because it's not separable, and it's not geentdeckt because it starts with e.

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hayezer

Well I'm flupped for this anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 5 RyanSligo

Anybody got any phrases or vocab on the Olympics or sport considering both the euros and Olympics are on this year?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Cill94

so collective nouns are always singular?

German is a crazy language, I'd hesitate to say that applies across the board. But logically I would think that all collective nouns are always singular.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 bluesky94

yeah it's hat entdeckt :) it's not entgedeckt because it's not separable, and it's not geentdeckt because it starts with e.

ent is an inseparable prefix, it's nothing to do with it starting with e.. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Bubbleope

listening to german songs counts as studying yeah? S: ughh fml. :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 thedice

is german a nice language to learn outside of school do you think? I think it would be the most sensible language to learn at present, not french! We werent given a choice to learn it in our school. I'm thinking about learning it over the summer for future references.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭anBoMor

thedice wrote: »
    is german a nice language to learn outside of school do you think? I think it would be the most sensible language to learn at present, not french! We werent given a choice to learn it in our school. I'm thinking about learning it over the summer for future references.

Opposite for me, in my school we all had to do German!
    Sadly, I thought it would be an excellent idea to do Spanish and French too, alongside obligatory Irish. So many languages, my brain is fried :c My spanish is excellent, my french is average, my irish is occasionally appalling and my german is around C level.
    Terrified for today, it's really not my strongest and I need to count it :c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭fizzyorange

Good luck everyone. :D You'll all do great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

What gorgeous paper! :D the angewandte grammatik was stupidly easy compared to other years, and the comprehensions were lovely. Bet the listening will be horrible though...

Sure that was grand. Confident I got my A1 :)

LMAO at the grammar and matching the sentences together!! :D so simple! :pac: well apart from one of them.. the one about the funktioniere?? :L what did ye write for that? :L
    overall i'm happy with it. it was a lovely paper!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Geo10

Good paper overall! Couldn't understand one paragraph in the letter about mulltonnen so I didn't do it. Text 1 took a long time to do but was nice and understandable. Text 2 was much easier though. What the hell was the grammar? I learned all this complicated stuff and we get this? I don't know if I did well or not in it cos we never did indirect and direct speech before. Außerung was ok! I didn't understand the first sentence in the second part so I just guessed it meant something along the lines of a healthy lifestyle?
    Tape was pretty standard. Part 4 was bad. There was no date mentioned for one question?
    I'd love to get a B. Hopefully I will cos I got a B in the mocks and I found the mocks brutal whereas I found this nice! I'm not counting German anyway so it doesn't really matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

Grammar was piss easy! :P Letter was strange in parts but nothing I couldn't do, just had to make up a lot of stuff on the spot. Comprehensions were lovely, aural was better than usual (for me), so I'm happy overall! :)

Bubbleope wrote: »
    LMAO at the grammar and matching the sentences together!! :D so simple! :pac: well apart from one of them.. the one about the funktioniere?? :L what did ye write for that? :L
    overall i'm happy with it. it was a lovely paper!! :)

funktioniert
    Geo10 wrote: »
    Good paper overall! Couldn't understand one paragraph in the letter about mulltonnen so I didn't do it. Text 1 took a long time to do but was nice and understandable. Text 2 was much easier though. What the hell was the grammar? I learned all this complicated stuff and we get this? I don't know if I did well or not in it cos we never did indirect and direct speech before. Außerung was ok! I didn't understand the first sentence in the second part so I just guessed it meant something along the lines of a healthy lifestyle?
    Tape was pretty standard. Part 4 was bad. There was no date mentioned for one question?
    I'd love to get a B. Hopefully I will cos I got a B in the mocks and I found the mocks brutal whereas I found this nice! I'm not counting German anyway so it doesn't really matter
    It was about speaking rubbish bins :P
    The date wasn't mentioned, the documentary was released "today", I thought that was a bit of a trick as well, was expecting a date.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭earwax_man

That was an anticlimax for me xD Sooooooo easy

funktionert

It was about speaking rubbish bins :P
    The date wasn't mentioned, the documentary was released "today", I thought that was a bit of a trick as well, was expecting a date.

was it not funktioniert so? O: ah well. :L

Bubbleope wrote: »
    was it not funktioniert so? O: ah well. :L

Oh crap yeah it was, that's what I meant to write... I need to concentrate better on my typing :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

We'd never really done that second grammar exercise in class but I think I was able to do it! I made a mistake in that funktioniert one but I think I got the others and I'm quite confident that I was able to get all the prepositions :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

How much did ye write for the letter?

I hadn't a clue about the indirect speech so it was a guessing exercise

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭FaoiSin

I left the first comprehension until last and ran out of time but overall it was... meh grand

Chavways wrote: »
    How much did ye write for the letter?

I hadn't a clue about the indirect speech so it was a guessing exercise

About 2 pages. And about a page for the ausserung. I ran out of time a little bit on the letter but I got it finished, would've liked to have spent longer on the last question.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭FaoiSin

I wish the written was worth a bit more tbh. It's like the only fun part of the exam :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Beer1

I found the listening hard, our cd player seemed to have way to much bass, and the voices sounded kinda muffled i found it hard to understand at times.At least if was a pretty nice written paper, the comprehensions went surprisingly well for me. As long as i get a c3 or higher i'll be happy, hope the listening doesn't bring my marks down too much.

Did the second comprehension really say that yer man was "a sausage specialist"? Quitely giggling away to myself in the exam.
    Also at the part about the talking bin, didn't she say "Isn't that funny!?" and I went "Nein, das ist nicht lustig" lololol silly germans

Also for the letter I did the little bit below the letter, and a page. Is that enough :confused:? Stuff wasn't excellent really, only looking for a C really, maybe scrape a B

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Dapics

Lovely lovely lovely paper (OL)