Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Rochey18 wrote: »
    When I said the run blocking was good, I should have said was, it was no worse then it has been. I wonder would Vasquez improve with a better RT.

What a great result last night was for us. Win or lose against Atlanta, we should expect a win against the Chiefs even if it is in Arrowhead.
    Cant expect a win in the super dome.
    That would leave us with a huge game against the Broncos before the bye

We should have a 3-2 or 4-1 record before we meet Denver.
    They have a game against the Pats and Texans before we play them.
    They could end up at 2-3, fingers crossed.

Not sure about this, i reckon a divisional game on the road is never going to be easy and i still think the Chiefs are under performing so far, they have a lot of room to improve and i'd still be wary of them.

The Saints run defence has looked terrible, Matthews should have 2 solid games under his belt by then and could do a lot of damage. Their offence doesn't look the same without Sean Payton calling it. Not saying we'll win but we should definitely feel like we've a chance going into it.

With regards to this weekend i'll be interested to see how we do against Turner, a different type of RB to the 2 faced so far this season. I felt out DL fell off a lot of tackles last year against hard nosed RBs so hopefully we'll be able to shut him down. If we stop the run this weekend we should start to get a reputation as a team you can't run on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

OAOB wrote: »
    We have to keep a 5th corner on the team so putting Gatson to the PS made little sense at the moment, someone has to be cut because we need Wells (or someone similar) on the roster too. In terms of cuts i'd say Ronnie is safe enough until Matthews proves his shoulder can take a solid hit.

Totally agree, I take it it means a vet corner is coming. I reckon Ronnie will be cut loose then, esp if #24 is back. I'd be surprised if Ronnie plays for another team should we dump him. He seems to have nothing left. On that dump pass inside the 10 no chance Battle or Mathews don't get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Justin10

I would expect us to beat the Chiefs but Arrowhead is one of the hardest and loudest places to play in the NFL, a loss wouldn't be a disaster but if we want to get to the playoffs this year this is a game we should be winning.

Was checking over on the Sky thread as to what games were on Sky over next few weeks. Amazing to think we are not on Sky's plans at all. Which is great if you have GP like me!.

Sky has decided on their games up to and including week 4. And because we are the sunday nite game week 5 (Channel 4 showing this) and mon nite game week 6 then the bye, it will be week 8 before they might show us. And we're playing the Browns that week so I guess that is a longshot.

They have us week 9, the thurs nite game which does not blackout = great. I wouldn't be watching this live anyway!.

It's week 10 before there is a viable blackout game ie. the Bucs.

Looking forward to seeing lots of uninterrupted Chargers football all the way!!!!.

I would expect us to beat the Chiefs but Arrowhead is one of the hardest and loudest places to play in the NFL, a loss wouldn't be a disaster but if we want to get to the playoffs this year this is a game we should be winning.

Any loss to a divison rival is a big hit, much bigger than say losing to Atlanta this weekend. Like u say Arrowhead tough place to go and they will be up for it if they haven't imploded by then.

Can't imagine them being blown out the first 2 weeks is doing their locker room much good.

Its strange to see that Chris Carr had a 'great' workout according to Acee but has not been offered a contract and Gatson has not been put back on the roster yet. 3 healthy CBs is a bad situation to be in but considering that we're playing against White and Jones this week it's probably the most important position to get right.
    Turner has averaged 2.6yds per carry this year so hopefully that form will keep up. I think if we can keep Matt Ryan to about 300yds we'll win

I think the problem with not signing another CB is we dont want to drop anyone just yet.

Only reason I can really think of. Really looking forward to this game. Cant wait to see how we get on.

I think the problem with not signing another CB is we dont want to drop anyone just yet.

Only reason I can really think of. Really looking forward to this game. Cant wait to see how we get on.

Agree with this but we'll have to bite the bullet and get a 4th soon so someone will have to be cut.
    Have been thinking about it and I'd presume Gatson has been told he'll be promoted to the roster on Sat and Wells cut. Gatson can practice with the roster because he's on the PS and without Wells i think we're short of linemen for the second string to practice. It's not an ideal situation to be promoting and cutting players every week but until Wright is back we'll have to do it. The real worry would be if Gatson had a good game or two he might not clear waivers and we'd be rightly stuck.

Agree with this but we'll have to bite the bullet and get a 4th soon so someone will have to be cut.
    Have been thinking about it and I'd presume Gatson has been told he'll be promoted to the roster on Sat and Wells cut. Gatson can practice with the roster because he's on the PS and without Wells i think we're short of linemen for the second string to practice. It's not an ideal situation to be promoting and cutting players every week but until Wright is back we'll have to do it. The real worry would be if Gatson had a good game or two he might not clear waivers and we'd be rightly stuck.

And Wells could be nicked too of course. Silly game to be playing. We should sign Carr or AN Other and cut Ronnie now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

I would have thought there's enough depth without Ronnie to get by. Brinkley + Battle + McClain if needs be??

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    I would have thought there's enough depth without Ronnie to get by. Brinkley + Battle + McClain if needs be??

I'm not sure if any of those 3 would be trusted as a 3rd down back who can catch the ball or block, that was all we intended Ronnie to do,

Yes Atlanta look strong, Roddy White esp is a beast (I had never given him much credit before last nite)... yada yada yada.

But we were v much in this game until Ryan fumbled and Norv completely abandoned the run. It made the game so much easier for the Atl D and so much harder for our O line and Philip. Yes, we had drops and we had Philip gifting turnovers (which has to stop) but for me putting the game on an O line who are poor pass protectors right now is simply not acceptable.

Amazing to think after what has gone before we have to endure yet another season of this from the so called O wizard.

Gaither needs to get back asap.

The O-Line is not good and needs to be prioritised majorly in the draft. I don't know how good or bad our guards are because currently our tackles are a disaster. If there is no unsigned FA who is better than Clary i'll be amazed. Harris for all his effort is not ready, maybe he will be someday but right now if we could get Gaither back it would make a huge difference. Rivers needs to be smarter with the ball but after the fumble yesterday Norv put way too much pressure on his shoulders and every time this happens the interceptions follow.
    Matthews was not given a chance to redeem himself after the fumble but in reality he's in his third season and he needs to sort it out. The Giants and Coughlin benched their 1st round pick for fumbling this year and sent a clear message that its not acceptable, maybe we need to do the same.
    Ironically on our first drive when we had a balanced O we looked really good, if we could have scored off that it would have made a huge difference. The offense didn't click yesterday, Gates & FLoyd dropped passes they hardly ever would.
    The defence was a huge disappointment to me. Matt Ryan and those receivers are unreal good and there's no shame in being outplayed by them but the number of broken tackles was a disgrace.
    The team isn't as bad as they showed yesterday, they were playing one of the leagues best and it's as good a time as any of the season to take a beating, refocus everyone and stop the hype. Mentally the team didn't look right yesterday, even Scifres was messing up, this loss is down to Norv

The O-Line is not good and needs to be prioritised majorly in the draft. I don't know how good or bad our guards are because currently our tackles are a disaster. If there is no unsigned FA who is better than Clary i'll be amazed. Harris for all his effort is not ready, maybe he will be someday but right now if we could get Gaither back it would make a huge difference. Rivers needs to be smarter with the ball but after the fumble yesterday Norv put way too much pressure on his shoulders and every time this happens the interceptions follow.
    Matthews was not given a chance to redeem himself after the fumble but in reality he's in his third season and he needs to sort it out. The Giants and Coughlin benched their 1st round pick for fumbling this year and sent a clear message that its not acceptable, maybe we need to do the same.
    Ironically on our first drive when we had a balanced O we looked really good, if we could have scored off that it would have made a huge difference. The offense didn't click yesterday, Gates & FLoyd dropped passes they hardly ever would.
    The defence was a huge disappointment to me. Matt Ryan and those receivers are unreal good and there's no shame in being outplayed by them but the number of broken tackles was a disgrace.
    The team isn't as bad as they showed yesterday, they were playing one of the leagues best and it's as good a time as any of the season to take a beating, refocus everyone and stop the hype. Mentally the team didn't look right yesterday, even Scifres was messing up, this loss is down to Norv

Ha ha agree with everything in bold!!........ you got there eventually. It all comes back to Norv, yes he might not have the best offensive linemen in his 53 but he seemingly is intent on making things more difficult on those guys than it should be and give them little or no help ie. TEs.

We need to back Mathews 100% and literally run with him. He will do more good than bad (fumble) in the long run. Abandoning the run completely is a joke. Interesting that Ronnie Brown was inactive yesterday. That should mean he'll be gone asap and maybe we can have Wells on the 53 fulltime and maybe give him a shot.

One thing that really pissed me off yesterday was Philips celebrating with his sack dance, has he no ****ing pride in the teams performance that he was happy at that stage. It wasn't even his fecking sack anyway, good work from Barnes.

McMichael trying to leap over the defender did make me laugh:D

One thing that really pissed me off yesterday was Philips celebrating with his sack dance, has he no ****ing pride in the teams performance that he was happy at that stage. It wasn't even his fecking sack anyway, good work from Barnes.

McMichael trying to leap over the defender did make me laugh:D

SP is a diva... plain and simple. Lots and lots of show, less substance. I too noticed his bowling celebration to be followed by another 3rd down conversion by the Falcons no doubt. U have to wonder about these guys and how much pride they have in their combined team performance.

They can pout when they beat the sh1t out of a team.... whenever that will be!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Yes Atlanta look strong, Roddy White esp is a beast (I had never given him much credit before last nite)... yada yada yada.

But we were v much in this game until Ryan fumbled and Norv completely abandoned the run. It made the game so much easier for the Atl D and so much harder for our O line and Philip. Yes, we had drops and we had Philip gifting turnovers (which has to stop) but for me putting the game on an O line who are poor pass protectors right now is simply not acceptable.

Amazing to think after what has gone before we have to endure yet another season of this from the so called O wizard.

To be honest SD werent competitive in that game at any point really. Just were all over the place in all phases. Atlanta are elite and this is probably as good as they've ever been but Rivers looks off, the offence has been poor for two of three games and the Defence got lit up yesterday, possibly indicating the first two performances against subpar QBs as fools gold.

AFC West there for the taking again, four very flawed teams.

Ok no point going through it all.

Mathews fumble record isnt that bad, is on par or ahead of most elite HBs in their first 3 years. Think people go on about it because LT never fumbled.

Rivers has always tried to do too much. He dosnt like taking the sack when its coming straight for him and he throws it up.

Like said above I dont think our guards are too bad just the tackles aint doing them any favours.

We got our secondary and coverage plays all wrong. For example one play im think was 3rd down we showed zone coverage even I could see. Atlanta put White and Jones on same side leaving Jammer on the other side covering no one.

Mathews looked good before the fumble. Only way I thought we where going win was for the dropped passes and fumbles to come go vice versa.

Only positive can take from it is that it came at a perfect time.
    Against the Chiefs next week and Saints, hopefully we learned from that game and can turn that embarrassment into two big performances.

spiralism wrote: »
    To be honest SD werent competitive in that game at any point really. Just were all over the place in all phases. Atlanta are elite and this is probably as good as they've ever been but Rivers looks off, the offence has been poor for two of three games and the Defence got lit up yesterday, possibly indicating the first two performances against subpar QBs as fools gold.

AFC West there for the taking again, four very flawed teams.

I disagree. We were down 6 points and had a great drive to the Atlanta 4 when Mathews fumbled. We were v much in the game.

But what happens then effectively ends the game for the Bolts. Atlanta drive 96 yds to go up 13 zip. Then our supreme O wizard of a HC panics and goes to pass on every play. Game over. Once the Falcons knew to pin back their ears and head for Philip our v poor O line had no chance = Philip had no chance.

Our D looked awful I agree. I'm starting to wonder is Pagano's 'much easier to understand D' just plain basic. Hank Bauer was calling the D before every play in the commentary box ie. Atlanta knew before every play the D scheme and more often than not it was zone = so easy for a passing game like theirs to beat.

AFC West is a flawed division, it'll be decided in the division, who can beat who.

Ok no point going through it all.

Mathews fumble record isnt that bad, is on par or ahead of most elite HBs in their first 3 years. Think people go on about it because LT never fumbled.

Rivers has always tried to do too much. He dosnt like taking the sack when its coming straight for him and he throws it up.

Like said above I dont think our guards are too bad just the tackles aint doing them any favours.

We got our secondary and coverage plays all wrong. For example one play im think was 3rd down we showed zone coverage even I could see. Atlanta put White and Jones on same side leaving Jammer on the other side covering no one.

Mathews looked good before the fumble. Only way I thought we where going win was for the dropped passes and fumbles to come go vice versa.

Only positive can take from it is that it came at a perfect time.
    Against the Chiefs next week and Saints, hopefully we learned from that game and can turn that embarrassment into two big performances.

Here's hoping but Norv is never gonna get it. We need to perform regardless of this idiot now. Philip has to stand up to him this week and insist on sticking with the run instead of panicking and turning to the passing game.

I think Norv didnt trust our defence to stop Atalanta and had to get scores on the board.

To be fair if we stopped dropping the ball it could of worked??

Also think it will be Norv and not AJ going if this season ends bad.

I think Norv didnt trust our defence to stop Atalanta and had to get scores on the board.

To be fair if we stopped dropping the ball it could of worked??

Also think it will be Norv and not AJ going if this season ends bad.

Norv should be gone already. I'll believe it when I see it that he is gone for good.

Weak division so playoffs are a very real possibility, if that happens does Norv or AJ get fired?
    I don't think so.

Weak division so playoffs are a very real possibility, if that happens does Norv or AJ get fired?
    I don't think so.

Were we to scrape into the playoffs and do nothing once there I say Norv gets fired and AJ survives. Check this article out, sums it up nicely for me;

http://t.co/m7QXrJmw

Gaither practicing, says he hopes to play Sunday. I'll believe it when I see him on the field

Molly wrote: »
    Gaither practicing, says he hopes to play Sunday. I'll believe it when I see him on the field

I'm the same as yourself, any positive stories about him are taken with a pinch of salt

Yeah... the Gaither thing is a mess. Don't think it is coincidence that a day after our O line gets run ragged at home the lad arrives back to practice. Someone rammed a rocket up his you know what hopefully. I'm hoping someone like Hardwick got hold of him and told him whats what.

Did he actually say he hopes to play this sunday? can't believe he'll play that quick, not for a minute. How ironic were he to return against KC in KC where he was booted out of almost a year to the day!.

If he has any pride at all you'd imagine KC is the one team he wants to go out and play well against. Unfortunately pride does not seem to be his strongest trait.

I'd love to think Hardwick gave him a bollicking. The worst part about this is that as much as we'd like cut him loose and say good riddance we really really need him back and playing well