Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Ah jaysus LM, thanks for reminding me! I have yet to fork out the money for 4 points I got recently along with 200 for my squash membership and I have a car loan repayment this month too. Expensive month :(

Lesson learned though, gatso vans are able to catch you when you are going in the opposite direction. I was in a 50 zone and was doing 56 the first time and 60 the second time on a stretch that not long ago was 100.

Wait until you grow up and find out what an expensive month really means. Enjoy it while you can dude. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Wait until you grow up and find out what an expensive month really means. Enjoy it while you can dude. ;)

Hey, I know only too well what it means, a few years ago I was broke each month after rent, car loan and other stuff was paid off each month and I had fvck all spending money.

Meh,

Try paying two mortgages, gas, electricity, etc and running three cars (well two for the moment) then come back to me. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

That didn't take long MM....

Meh,

Try paying two mortgages, gas, electricity, etc and running three cars (well two for the moment) then come back to me. :(

No one asked you to pay 2 mortgages and run 3 cars ;)

Of course not!

But you have to move out of the mammys at some stage. :p

Of course not!

That was low.....asshole :mad:

I didn't mean you I meant 'one'. ;)

I was the exact same, living at home, good salary, nice car, etc. Spent my money on nice clothes, socialising, holidays, etc. I still do ok but there's a lot less cash lying around now - hence why the 7er is currently 'resting'. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I didn't mean you I meant 'one'. ;)

I was the exact same, living at home, good salary, nice car, etc. Spent my money on nice clothes, socialising, holidays, etc. I still do ok but there's a lot less cash lying around now - hence why the 7er is currently 'resting'. :(

Ty for saying that and jumping on his tits! :D

I was like: must.... resist............. saying... it...... must not........ be ...... a .......DICK...... :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

gardai are amusing me a lot.

just pulled up in drumcondra and parked on the path out of everyone's way.

was walking towards the spar with a guard just walking along side.

I asked him are we fining cars for parking on the path.

he said : "I couldn't give a Shiite if ya parked on top of me as long as your not blocking anyone in that gives me complaints. just watch out for the parking warden cos they can be real bitchhes."

lol fecking gas he was.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

gardai are amusing me a lot.

just pulled up in drumcondra and parked on the path out of everyone's way.

was walking towards the spar with a guard just walking along side.

I asked him are we fining cars for parking on the path.

he said : "I couldn't give a Shiite if ya parked on top of me as long as your not blocking anyone in that gives me complaints. just watch out for the parking warden cos they can be real bitchhes."

lol fecking gas he was.

Sure it wasn't Brendan Gleeson filming for The Guard 2? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

166man wrote: »

Sure it wasn't Brendan Gleeson filming for The Guard 2? :pac:

nah. this guard was a lot taller. burnt he was ginger

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭pred racer

And you can come back to me when you pay rent, mortgage, fly to work, have an ex-wife and 3 children.

Then, maybe I'll listen;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I'm now getting the train to and from work every day......sad times.

The money I'll save will pay for my tires next season.......happy times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Fiona

pred racer wrote: »
    have an ex-wife and 3 children.

Then, maybe I'll listen;)

Well now that's your own fault for getting married! Har Har!

Soul destroying all the same. Pay rent. Pay the shortfall on my rental property which my father insists with make me money someday. Bills, health insurance always something.

I can't remember what its like to go into b shop and spend money without thinking. Thought is involved in every penny that leaves my wallet. I ain't bought new clothes in 4 months. Not even so much as a sock.

But i have a lot more than some people so i am grateful.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭shanec1928

the motors forum is now blocked on the college firewall:( was working yesterday and is now blocked..less procrastinating i guess **dam smoothwall firewall**

I'm now getting the train to and from work every day......sad times.

The money I'll save will pay for my tires next season.......happy times.

It:Ds easier to make do without something when you have something nice to look forward too.

Searching for the yellow reduced stickers in Tesco means more money for my petrol fund :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Fiona wrote: »
    It:Ds easier to make do without something when you have something nice to look forward too.

Searching for the yellow reduced stickers in Tesco means more money for my petrol fund :D

Yeah, that's the only reason I'm doing it. Being in Silverstone at the weekend has given me the kick up the hole I needed to get the car sorted out. My deadline is for a track day over the Christmas break.

I don't usually stop myself from buying something if I want it, but I'm cutting down in everything now to get my racing fund together...

Why no life? Because race car!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭pred racer

Fiona wrote: »
    Why no life? Because race car!

No, because i married a ****!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Ah jaysus LM, thanks for reminding me! I have yet to fork out the money for 4 points I got recently along with 200 for my squash membership and I have a car loan repayment this month too. Expensive month :(
    'Bout time they started to dish out points to people for playing squash! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

fecking hell these are scratching the bottom... http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/CL-Class/COUPE-AU/29613437493250600/advert?channel=CARS

i wonder how long it would take for this cat to put you on beans and water diet for the rest of your life....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

'Bout time they started to dish out points to people for playing squash! :pac:

....And your a Cmod on the Humour forum, oh the irony. :pac:

/Joke :p

Ty for saying that and jumping on his tits! :D

I was like: must.... resist............. saying... it...... must not........ be ...... a .......DICK...... :p

Nobody's being an ass or a dick, just at different stages of life and different opinions on what a tough month is. My twenties were some of the best years of my life, young, free, plenty of money (which I squandered), out 3/4 nights a week, clubbing, fast cars, fast women, etc. I lived life to the full but I wouldn't swap it for what I have now even though I don't have the spare dollars (or the want) to do what I did in my twenties. ;)

Was looking at them on carzone a few months back, savage bus, was thinkning the same about the price. They look great in the flesh, a rare site in Cork, you'd see a few in Dublin and they have such presence. Tempting at the price alright but I know what you mean about beans and water diet.

fecking hell these are scratching the bottom... http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/CL-Class/COUPE-AU/29613437493250600/advert?channel=CARS

i wonder how long it would take for this cat to put you on beans and water diet for the rest of your life....

I wouldn't buy a spark plug of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Wouldn't buy a spark plug off that garage? Or off that car!!
    Is it like the rest of the pop up shops in ballymount?

I'd say those cars would kick you in the wallet very fast!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Of course not!

Been laughing at this all day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

166 man is banned? :s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I was off today so I tackled the passat, it was filthy inside and badly wanted a clean. I removed the seats and took them indoors to clean them. I done a great job in fairness so its now time for a beer..

@baruna did Roverjames get that admin job???