Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Right Dar ill see what you make of yours and see then! Pics please :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Fiona wrote: »
    Ha i bloody wish!

Father currently washing it with the power washer totally taking the lazy way out steam washed all the doors and panels save me doing it by hand!

Seats being shampooed etc it will be a wet drive home later on!

Let the car idle, heating on full blast and close all windows bar the back two, which you leave down about an inch either side.

That way the seats dry and any moisture in the air etc goes out the back window. If you open them down too far, obviously the heat will fly out.

Getting my car back soon after a month of what can only be called torture!

The timing chain slipped in the car park coming out of work :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

There is a new book being launched soon, if not ulready. its covers the last 50 years of motoring. I think it would be an interesting buy. I might pick up a copy. :)

Here is the link.

http://www.autobiz.ie/news/Book_Celebrates_39Historic_Motoring_In_Ireland39.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

There is a new book being launched soon, if not ulready. its covers the last 50 years of motoring. I think it would be an interesting buy. I might pick up a copy. :)

Here is the link.

http://www.autobiz.ie/news/Book_Celebrates_39Historic_Motoring_In_Ireland39.html

A terribly depressing read from halfway through onwards I would think.

From 1.4 to anything Diesel and beyond! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

dar83 wrote: »
    I'll try and get a couple of night pics of them. I went for the 4350k efforts, so they hopefully won't be in the silly glary white/blue bracket, but who knows until they're fitted.

Well afaik 4300k is standard Xenon so they should be perfect.

The timing chain slipped in the car park coming out of work :(

Ouchies :(
    Many valves bent?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Ouchies :(
    Many valves bent?

Got a new engine with 67 k on it out of an X type... I don't even want to say how much I was getting for quotes to rebuild it!

...... Guts of 2.5k ish ... ?

RoverJames wrote: »
    ...... Guts of 2.5k ish ... ?

Well an intial just to get the head rebuilt was a price of 1,000 euro.

Absolutely no one (And I rang every contact i knew) Could tell me they were the same engine as the Mondeo, and every Jaguar specialist I rang both sides of the water told me they weren't the same and not to put a Mondeo engine in.

So, rang a Jaguar dealer in the West of Ireland and honest to god I have never come across and more incompetent ignoramus in the Parts the department, so i couldn't even get a price on the kit for the chain etc. but it was going to be in excess of 500 + vat.

So removal of head, rebuild, plus chain, refitting and service was coming to around 2,000 + not including transport costs.

I bought an second hand engine and got it installed and it was actually worse than the one that came out, so I had to get that back out and get another one put in. So this one is out of a 05 X type with 67k miles on it.

My mehanic isn't charging me full whack labour for the second refitting but so far the bill is coming to in and around €1,200, including a full service etc.

I still have the pump off my own engine with should be worth a couple hundred so if I come out around the grand mark I'll be happy enough.

Everyone I rang Jaguar wise has never heard of it happening before, so it was purely bad luck on my part, but sure, such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

well. today was the day when i completely cancelled my track day. No mondello for me this friday. :(

feels like **** lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

This probably the worst pic that will be taken of this car knowing the owners photography skills but I think its a great looking machine.. Its Vectras new Octy!!!

20121009_125428.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Ah jaysus, they already cleaned it for him....

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Download a copy of rfactor and get the Mondello track. Then proceed to go off a turn one at high speed.

let me guess. almost all of the newbies get way to confident on first turn? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Anton Savage is due on the Last Word in a bit to speak about car tyres. It could be an interesting one.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

h3000 wrote: »
    Anton Savage is due on the Last Word in a bit to speak about car tyres. It could be an interesting one.

There was a bit on Six One last night. Tyre Federation warning of part worns.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

-Corkie- wrote: »
    This probably the worst pic that will be taken of this car knowing the owners photography skills but I think its a great looking machine.. Its Vectras new Octy!!!

http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm162/MALACHY1979/20121009_125428.jpg

Damn thats nice even if I say so myself.. :D

Now to get my paws on it.
    Thanks for the pic.
    Ah jaysus, they already cleaned it for him....

That's not clean, that's only rain wash LOL
    Strict instructions from me was not to wash it as I did with my last one.

Can't wait to get the DA at it and all the new polishes/wax etc..
    Hurry hurry..!!
    Hopefully tomorrow I should have it..

...this is tyre week afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Well wear with her Vectra.

*whenever you get your lambs wool covered paws on her that is!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

whyulittle wrote: »
    There was a bit on Six One last night. Tyre Federation warning of part worns.....

Sounds like the irish dental association advertising against getting dental work done in anywhere but Ireland. A good set of part worns will forever be better and safer then a new set of the chinese rubbish that's kicking around at the moment....unless it's partly worn Chinese rubbish....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

She's a beaut Vectra, well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Looks great Vectra, nice to see it in red, wonder if there'll be many in that colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Can we rename this thread to rubberneckers anonymous :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

How cool is that:
    50e05cu-960.jpg
    I just noticed the wheels arghh:
    qZ1cmL0FCd8.jpg
    arse shot:
    h3Sum1tlmsA.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

^^ First pic is savage looking..

On the Octavia topic.
    There is a demo one in Cork so not sure if there will be any more around as in the UK now as far as I am aware you can no longer order a FL Octavia in any shape or form unless it is in stock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Horn wired up at long last :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Mate of mine is selling a Levin with NCT til next May for 600euro. I wonder if it would be possible to get insured... :o Probably be better off putting a new set of tyres on the Polo and NCTing it if I'm being realistic. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

barura wrote: »
    Mate of mine is selling a Levin with NCT til next May for 600euro. I wonder if it would be possible to get insured... :o Probably be better off putting a new set of tyres on the Polo and NCTing it if I'm being realistic. :(

Levin or Polo... If you don't choose right I'll slap you!

Call around a few places tomorrow and see what they say sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

CianRyan wrote: »
    Levin or Polo... If you don't choose right I'll slap you!

Call around a few places tomorrow and see what they say sure.

Yeah but with College fees coming up... I'll see what I can do. :D

barura wrote: »
    Yeah but with College fees coming up... I'll see what I can do. :D

Buy polo, then save money for insurance and a "proper" car.