Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Landed myself in hospital this morning after a bit of a work accident...bugger:(

Means I'll likely be on paperwork form the next week or so:o

Ouch!

What happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Ouch!

What happened?

A coming together of fingers and very sharp metal. Nothing a few stitches couldn't sort though:eek:

I won't post pics to save the queasy stomachs out there:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Ouch!

What happened?

A coming together of fingers and very sharp metal. Nothing a few stitches couldn't sort though:eek:

ouch. but hey paper work is fun

I was in the garda station the other day and it was the first day of the month and the guard was stranding there with the stamp for all the tax forms and every person he just said "sign here" STAMP. next please. like a robot

for about ten people he did this and I said to him "exciting stuff there guard" and his reply was "I have no emotion" and went back to stamping and signing

fecking class !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Eh, Pics or GTFO ! :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Landed myself in hospital this morning after a bit of a work accident...bugger:(

Means I'll likely be on paperwork for the next week or so:o

Hope you heal up well :)
    MugMugs wrote: »
    Eh, Pics or GTFO ! :D

Eh no. No pics /shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Means I'll likely be on paperwork for the next week or so:o

So the Doctor needed a Doctor???

I'll get me coat. :pac:

*seriously though, get well soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

So the Doctor needed a Doctor???

I'll get me coat. :pac:

Lol! brilliant. :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Anyone know the biggish scrapyard on the old airport road in Swords? There was a fire there last night, the road is still closed due to safety concerns!

Stheno wrote: »
    Anyone know the biggish scrapyard on the old airport road in Swords? There was a fire there last night, the road is still closed due to safety concerns!

Is it Joe Bolands?

Yep that's the one

Thought it was Liam Boland??

Was heading to the Folks today and took the Forrest road and it was chaotic.... I assume the old N1 road is still not fully running?

Dunno, I just know it's Bolands :D

I was driving home in the outside lane, and ended up in poxy Malahide sitting in serious traffic for about 20 minutes.

It's closed until at least midnight.

I just done a google search. :p

http://www.google.ie/#hl=en&output=search&sclient=psy-ab&q=joe+boland+swords&oq=Joe+Bolands+&gs_l=hp.1.2.0i30l2j0i10i30l2.2992.2992.0.7947.1.1.0.0.0.0.249.249.2-1.1.0.les%3B..0.0...1c.2.iIL490Rv274&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&fp=7a145714845165cc&biw=1280&bih=709

Stheno wrote: »
    Dunno, I just know it's Bolands :D

I was driving home in the outside lane, and ended up in poxy Malahide sitting in serious traffic for about 20 minutes.

It's closed until at least midnight.

Jaysus!

Mate of mine in The Airport said they were called out to it with their foam tender as Dublin don't have one :eek:

Then it got a puncture?? Handy location all the same though, plenty of resources to plug the tyre :P

Glad it didn't get any worse anyway.... There's a fine big Texaco in very close proximity to that place and a housing estate around the corner. That wouldn't have ended well had it not been tamed in time!

Really Surprised the Bolands are allowed stay there this long. It's never been a clean yard and the town has nearly engulfed it at this stage.

Jaypers lads yis would split hairs for the sake of it :D

I reckon ShadowHearth needs to move to Dungarvan, was down there at the weekend, shocking amount of scoobys with MASSIVE spoilers.

If he just spent a day a week in McDonalds there he'd have his hands full!

Glad it didn't get any worse anyway.... There's a fine big Texaco in very close proximity to that place and a housing estate around the corner. That wouldn't have ended well had it not been tamed in time!

Really Surprised the Bolands are allowed stay there this long. It's never been a clean yard and the town has nearly engulfed it at this stage.

Yep fair play to all the emergency crews involved.
    It's a fairly scruffy yard alright, encroaches onto the road at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Drove a 08 VW jetta 1.4 TSI today...surprisingly nippy car :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Drove a 08 VW jetta 1.4 TSI today...surprisingly nippy car :cool:

Great storage for assorted livestock under the bonnet too in an emergency

lol...:D...not converted but I thought being such a heavy car it would be a disaster but quite responsive :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Just started a motor maintenance course in the tech in Tralee tonight. Any other boardsies have experience of these courses, Tralee or elsewhere?

ian87 wrote: »
    Just started a motor maintenance course in the tech in Tralee tonight. Any other boardsies have experience of these courses, Tralee or elsewhere?

Haynes manual, trolley jack, axle stands, ratchet set and common sense...thats how I learnt....there courses are really basic, they are not allowed to show you how to change brakes for fear of legal issues..good luck with it anyway :)

Is it the likes of a 6/8 week course or a fetac approved one year engineering/motor type yoke course thingy?

The former is fairly crap, the later can be not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 head13

handy tip!

I purchased a ford mondeo recently without the alloy wheel lock nut adapter, thinking I could order another one??

I took it to cork city ford today and they took off the lock nuts and replaced them with normal ones, 12 euro for them & no charge for labour.

sweet!

Haynes manual, trolley jack, axle stands, ratchet set and common sense...thats how I learnt....there courses are really basic, they are not allowed to show you how to change brakes for fear of legal issues..good luck with it anyway :)

Probably the best advice there from eringobragh, Best of luck with it anyway Ian. :)

Until you alloys get nicked :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

I did one in Cork a few years ago.
    Was basic, but handy.
    Went over servicing your car, changing brakes, shocks and basic issue solving.
    I found it useful.

The instructor did recommend to go get a Haynes manual, trolley Jack, axle stands and a decent socket set :p

I did one years ago at night in Douglas school Cork. I had a bit of service knowledge on cars, so this course was actually useless to me, kind of like "this is a screw driver"... but if you have no experience what so ever then yes it's worth it.

enjoy.

Until you alloys get nicked :p

tis worth the risk:D

Still bad form for them to not supply you with an adaptor :(

Reminds me i need me some black nuts+locknuts