Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

MugMugs wrote: »
    I call Custard Test on both of them :)

98 civic saloon for 300eu... if its not scangorised to **** and not much work needed then you got yourself a very very good bargain.

as above, custard or gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

custard or gtfo

I like it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Stolen from YLYL:
    5068583_460s.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I'm done. Polished and some spray on wax. I know the wax won't last that long, so I'll be keeping an eye on the beading :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Hal1 wrote: »
    I'm done. Polished and some spray on wax. I know the wax won't last that long, so I'll be keeping an eye on the beading :).

What wax?

I've found they've lasted as long as normal wax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

cgal093 wrote: »
    I got a 98 civic saloon for €300 and off to collect a 99 fiesta soon....

We're back in business :cool:

Fair play. Wish I'd the space to do this as it must be enjoyable never mind making a few quid!
    Well come back. :) But I always thought your old user name was no1beerfan. :o

Lol thanks! I suffer from migraines, (to the point of vomiting), so I don't drink as alcohol is a trigger. Good to see you came back too. Enjoy your posts!

What wax?

I've found they've lasted as long as normal wax.

It's turtle wax 'wax it wet'. So even if it starts to piss rain it don't matter that much :p. She got a good coating of it anyway. It was €9 in halfrauds. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

98 civic saloon for 300eu... if its not scangorised to **** and not much work needed then you got yourself a very very good bargain.

as above, custard or gtfo

Lol, will do tomorrow morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's turtle wax 'wax it wet'. So even if it starts to piss rain it don't matter that much :p. She got a good coating of it anyway. It was €9 in halfrauds. :cool:

At long last someone else has caught on to this stuff :D

My advice is find a motor factors who buy from PR Reilly and get them to supply you with it. I'm getting a box of 6 for €30 a go, huge savings there compared to buying it anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

NSFW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

dgt wrote: »
    NSFW!

This isn't After Hours, cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I just had a three hour battle with my computer but I think it's sorted now.
    It all started when I tried to upload my pics from the meet, my mouse went on a mad one, clicking everything, scrolling, highlighting and deleting everything all of it's own accord.
    Tried another mouse but same story.
    System restore, nothing will click.
    Left it unplugged for an hour and came back and it still wouldn't work, tried it again and piece by piece I'm confronting these errors.

I had to disable the click in my scroll wheel but I think everything is working alright now.
    Had to mess with Chrome too because that was acting up and deleting tabs.

Gaah!
    Windows updated last night so I reckon that played some part in it.
    Now... Time to sort these pics! :)

Sorry :o

Back on topic... I may get rid of those tyres on the 406 before they send me into the nearest ditch. I went to go up the multi storey park in Tescos and the damned thing wouldn't move on the wet ground.... :eek: I had to make a race, quite tricky with such a sharp turn! Not something you would expect from a tyre with approx 6mm of thread :eek:

CianRyan wrote: »
    I just had a three hour battle with my computer but I think it's sorted now.
    It all started when I tried to upload my pics from the meet, my mouse went on a mad one, clicking everything, scrolling, highlighting and deleting everything all of it's own accord.
    Tried another mouse but same story.
    System restore, nothing will click.
    Left it unplugged for an hour and came back and it still wouldn't work, tried it again and piece by piece I'm confronting these errors.

I had to disable the click in my scroll wheel but I think everything is working alright now.
    Had to mess with Chrome too because that was acting up and deleting tabs.

Gaah!
    Windows updated last night so I reckon that played some part in it.
    Now... Time to sort these pics! :)

One day when trying to find out how to get my rear elec windows to work, I went into what I thought was another 406 owners club... Redirected to a blank page where a java applet began to run automatically. Downloaded a trojan of some sort. Disabled all my security features, eat up all my ram, froze my laptop. Pop up after pop up arrived on screen. Thankfully, I also have Ubuntu on this laptop... Had to reinstall windows and lose my software, bookmarks and cache :mad::mad::mad:

Got a 98 Fiesta for€100! :D The clutch is slipping though and she needs a new back box. Drove to Slane in the Range Rover to collect it, good God its so ****ing comfortable!

Only a small but of surface rust on her too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

One day when trying to find out how to get my rear elec windows to work, I went into what I thought was another 406 owners club...

One day when wondering why my rear electric window squeaked I had the window down and my head looking into where the window comes up. I tapped the up button to look for where it was rubbing against the seal and whack! The window hit me on the nose. What made it worse was that my head recoiled back and hit the door frame.

Slammed the door and went into the house. :D

Got a 98 Fiesta for€100! :D The clutch is slipping though and she needs a new back box. Drove to Slane in the Range Rover to collect it, good God its so ****ing comfortable!

Only a small but of surface rust on her too.

This one by any chance...? ;)

Thats the one!

Love how he says no stupid offers yet he took €100 for it :pac:

Thats the one!

Love how he says no stupid offers yet he took €100 for it :pac:

Scrap price would have been more than €100 unless he was afraid to drive it there and didn't want the hassle of towing it.

It's random pic of the day time again:
    482129_10151813291912841_545481750_n.jpg

It's random pic of the day time again:
    482129_10151813291912841_545481750_n.jpg

Actually it was a Dodge Ram:

Exodus 19:13 "He shall surely be stoned or shot with arrows; not a hand is to be laid on him. Whether man or animal, he shall not be permitted to live.' Only when the Ram's horn sounds a long blast may they go up to the mountain."

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3773097

Lol,
    NISSAN MICRA , 8HP , 4DOOR, 1 LITRE, NCT 03 / 2013 , TAXED 31 / 08 / 2012,

8 HP sounds right. Should it be 8.5? :D
    For €475 you would want 2 of them!

Just when I thought Ssangyong couldn't get any worse;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3772673

One more...http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3773242
    Delighted to be pregnant, gutted to have to sell my Mini Cooper S as a result.
    Call Karl on 086XXXXXXX

Couldn't believe the price so looked up on gumtree and found one for £2900 in Newry. And from there the plot thickens...

James is selling his mini because he is pregnant too!!

http://www.gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/mini-cooper-newry/109133461

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭witty username

ok, strange one tonight. Twice, in the space of around 15 minutes, some knackery looking yoke rolled down their window and started doing some flicking hand gesture at me. One (on the quays) even flashed his lights at me a bit and tried to get me to roll the window down. The second guy (on the Malahide Road in Coolock) just did the hand gesture but did almost the same thing as the other guy.

After the second guy I checked the car over in case something was falling off or summat but it was fine. Then the girlfriend suggested something... (I should point out I have a black Polo with poxy tinted windows; 2nd hand car, came that way, not mad about them but couldn't be arsed undoing them)...she reckoned these gimps thought I might be a drug dealer because of the tinted windows. Anyone ever have anything like this?

(or am I the only person going around with tinted windows who isn't a scaldy?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'll tell ya one thing, that Honda looks horrible and you can instantly tell from its blandness that it's the American model.

I'm in the middle of Breaking Bad (what a show) and the cars in it are horrible! For anyone who's familiar with it - Walt's Pontiac - what the fvck?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I'll tell ya one thing, that Honda looks horrible and you can instantly tell from its blandness that it's the American model.

I'm in the middle of Breaking Bad (what a show) and the cars in it are horrible! For anyone who's familiar with it - Walt's Pontiac - what the fvck?!

That's the whole idea. They're trying to keep a low profile. Keep watching though. The car element improves :D