Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Tiger must-have items

• Registered Users Posts: 13,636 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

xzanti wrote: »
    Foie Gras
    Going on RTE's The Restaurant as a diner/punter and thinking your AA Gill (Restaurant critic) when criticising the dinner made by the "star".

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

A guy i know bought 1, he lived in athlone, hats off to that salesman!!
    are there no lakes near Athlone?

bbam wrote: »
    Having a cleaner in a few times a week cos you were too busy living it up and working.
    the office cleaner slagging you off for not having a gaff abroad.
    ".....I won't be here next week, I'm off to Alicante, see ya....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

dvcireland wrote: »
    are there no lakes near Athlone?

There used to be but they built houses on them in the boom:p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭s8n

Massive garden trampolines -no matter how small the garden was !!!

Bounced on once and then left to rot

spending €145,000 on a turf bucket like St Patricks Athletic owner Garret Kelleher was reported to have done:

"I'd say Kelleher is eating humble pie right now," says a former Dublin business associate. "If there's anybody who encapsulated the Celtic Tiger it was him. Private jets here, private jets there. He thought nothing of spending thousands on a turf bucket (he reportedly paid €145,000 for the Georgian peat pail at Adam auctioneers, Dublin in 2005. It had been expected to go for €20,000.)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

s8n wrote: »
    Massive garden trampolines -no matter how small the garden was !!!

Bounced on once and then left to rot
    We still have ours and it's more of a garden decoration at this stage. However, when we have visitors their children love bouncing on it so I guess it still has it's uses!

The €2500 Prada and Gucci handbags, so small you couldn't fit a purse and mobile phone together into them! Were these women crazy?

And paying shedloads of money for pure bred dogs - you'll get as much enjoyment out of a well-trained mongrel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Spending €1000 on a pup because nobody else had heard of the breed.
    Building stables and buying a pony for your kids who now have to wipe their snot on the sleeve of their uniforms.
    Upgrading your engagement ring in Dubai or New York and telling everyone that jewellers couldn't value it here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Not sure if there are any other bikers on here but checking in to two or even three bike rallies in one day was not uncommon.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Melted wrote: »
    DR DRE beats biggets waste of money...

Were they even around 5 years ago or are you just nameing stuff you see in shops now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Babysitters charging €10 per child per hour, because they could! Despite the children being asleep the whole time while they were babysitting.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Drake66

Those horrible Porsche Cayennes and the muppets that drove them

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭tonyangelino

Renting isn't good enough you HAVE to have a house

The great expression - you're "only" renting?
    and to be made feel like a peasant if you weren't buying for the "investment"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Agree. Well, I like carpet, but vinyl is awful stuff, glad to see the back of it. And wooden floors have some advantages over carpet, just as carpet has over wood. Both are grand.

The problem wasn't vinyl. It was the designs on it. The stuff itself is biodegradable, cheap and tough. If they only made it look nicer and stopped trying to put tile designs on it.

But yeah, those porsche cayennes were horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

dvcireland wrote: »
    spending €145,000 on a turf bucket like St Patricks Athletic owner Garret Kelleher was reported to have done:

"I'd say Kelleher is eating humble pie right now," says a former Dublin business associate. "If there's anybody who encapsulated the Celtic Tiger it was him. Private jets here, private jets there. He thought nothing of spending thousands on a turf bucket (he reportedly paid €145,000 for the Georgian peat pail at Adam auctioneers, Dublin in 2005. It had been expected to go for €20,000.)"

I've just googles Turf Bucket. It's a big machine for cutting turf?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

A boxer dog on a leash out walking at evening time,while wearing sunglasses even if was dull, while wearing a Munster/Leinster rugby shirt hanging outside the expensive jeans.
    The dog pounds are full of thse dogs now.;)

Grayson wrote: »
    I've just googles Turf Bucket. It's a big machine for cutting turf?

I think it was just a bucket to keep the turf in by the fireside

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭tonyangelino

The muppets especially in Gibney's pub malahide with suit and tie who stand at the door when you walk in on a Friday after a "killer" week taking up half the bloody floor acting like a scene from Wall street.

GO home and get changed or at least take your fckin ties off!!!

and yes you have small willies:p

Drinking Latte Coffee and doughnuts at every service station you pull into.

The muppets especially in Gibney's pub malahide with suit and tie who stand at the door when you walk in on a Friday after a "killer" week taking up half the bloody floor acting like a scene from Wall street.

GO home and get changed or at least take your fckin ties off!!!

and yes you have small willies:p

Moving forward, were they trying to smash through the glass ceiling?:D

Drinking Latte Coffee and doughnuts at every service station you pull into.

Buying sandwiches in O'Briens for €7, every day for lunch:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

8 pages in & I can't believe nobody has mentioned the Granite Worktops yet.

mate of mine did work once for a couple who had a seperate bathroom built in their new house, for their dog. i kid you not.
    House has since been sold, they've moved to Canada,leaving a massive trail of debts here.

8 pages in & I can't believe nobody has mentioned the Granite Worktops yet.

Marble worktops too:D

i can remember seeing specialist companies going around commercial districts of Dublin offering door mat cleaning / replacement services. I would say al lot of these would be long gone.

Another company use to offer office flower pot / plant maintenance.

Another company use to offer office plant and flower pot maintenance.

Was it Bill & Ben, the flower pot men - They're still going strong I believe:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Piss ups in Galway.
    Ye'd arrive down here in ye're SUVs jetskies and copters by the thousands.
    Don't see ye at all now. Place is like Tombstone.
    Bliss!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

A passport. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Expensive gym and golf membership

Piss ups in Galway.
    Ye'd arrive down here in ye're SUVs jetskies and copters by the thousands.
    Don't see ye at all now. Place is like Tombstone.
    Bliss!!!

did you not hear???
    that lot have been voted out of power.!!
    doing it all abroad now with their retirement packages.
    their replacements will be back with you shortly though,when they've finally fooled enough people into thinking they've "sorted the mess previously created"