Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath GAA discussion thread

1259260261262263265»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

No one expected it, not at half time or when they got it back to 2.

Players Fought to the end and just got enough scores against the wind to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

I know he didn't score a lot but Matthew Costello was clearly MOTM.

What a performance from the whole team. So many great moments. Even down to Caulfield having the balls to kick pass to Aaron Lynch to put 3 in it late on. That wasn't an easy pass and he had the vision and ability to execute it right into Lynch's chest. The 'safe' option would have been another close handpass and likely turnover.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

I'm emotionally drained after that. Last time we beat Dublin, I witnessed it with my Dad and sister. Since then, both have passed away and I was there with my two daughters, so a few tears were shed.

Honestly, as soon as the goal went in, I would have put the house on us losing it. We were making absolutely criminal mistakes, gifting possession back to Dublin. You could see the panic in the team with the finish line in sight, but all credit to them, they saw it out.

Generally outstanding performances from the whole team. Billy Hogan made some excellent saves. Keoghan rolled back the years in defence. Conlon had a coming of age performance and Frayne probably had his best game for us. But Costello was something else! He just seemed to be everywhere all at once. He was able to set things up going forward and break up Dublin attacks in defence. Incredible performance from him.

Noticed that, after the initial celebrations (which were warranted), they were back to business and warming down. Last time we beat Dublin, we didn't show up in the Leinster final. Louth have had our number the last few times and they're likely to outnumber us in two weeks time, so I've no doubt that Robbie will be drilling it into the players that they've won nothing yet.

Still though, what a f*cking day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

well done today lads great win , i have been arguing the point that the most improved team in Gaelic football will be meath since the new rules came in great win and a statement win ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Great win for Meath, showed a lot of nerve to see it out. Should be a decent final although I'd have Louth as slight favourites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭dobman88

Don't think I've ever wanted to go to a Leinster final before but being a Kerry man exiled in Meath, I might pop in for this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

hopefully the upcoming leinster final wont have the same conclusion as the previous one between these 2 teams..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Aw, really sorry to hear about your dad and sister. Unfortunately, many changes in all of our lives since we last beat the dubs. Fair play to you keeping the flag flying on this board in recent years and today was such a great day. Hopefully we can finish the job in the final. It will surely be a great day and you would expect just as close as in 2010. So many great performancess from the team today.

I know that they won’t do it but wouldn’t it be something else if the under 20’s final was moved to the same day in Crocker before the senior final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭mattser

Very emotional indeed for you Hammer. Just delighted for you and the girls. It's a quiet thread but you keep it alive, and for that you deserve so much respect. Let's hope there are more good days out in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

delighted for ye it was a great win , but what must be pleasing is the age profile of the team, your dad and your sister are smiling down on meath football tonight , keep the flag flying is all you have to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭hullabulloo

Well done lads but that's the attitude, won nothing yet.

Should have been a bigger crowd in Portlaoise today but kudos to those who attended.

Dublin should be split in two R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Krazy gang

Well done meath. Brilliant to have a leinster final without dublin ( no offence). Leinster final should be some occasion. Will it get 40 thousand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Both teams were badly supported. Would have been more at an O'Byrne cup match between Meath and Dublin 15 year's ago. That's what happens when 1 team wins it 19/20 years or whatever they're on.

Enjoy the final lads, could be the last proper Leinster final for a long time.