Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SF Aengus O'Snodaigh has claimed €50,000 in expenses for Printer Ink

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭nuac

Good post Kippy!

Also we must remember that criticisng this abuse of cartridges of any kind is an attempt to undermine the peace process by West Brits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

rodento wrote: »

Expect the Shinners to attack the journalist, not the facts of the story the journalist tells (which are beyond dispute).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

O'Snodaigh and Sinn Fein have always beeing overly fond of cartridges,

Just that O'Snodaigh was too stupid to realise that it wasn't ink cartridges that were wanted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Expect the Shinners to attack the journalist, not the facts of the story the journalist tells (which are beyond dispute).

Well to be fair it is the Sindo, and what they can come out with losely based on one or two facts is equivalent to a McDonalds burger : "we start with 100% Irish beef...."

At 3.10am on May 2, 2004, O Snodaigh's wife, Aishling Ni Dalaigh, and her sister Niamh were leaving a Sinn Fein function in the Abbey Hotel, Dublin, when a glass was thrown at a garda patrol car, as the two gardai were in the process of calling an ambulance.

When a barman told Garda Bernard Mullens and Garda Gareth Kane that it was thrown by a woman standing in a group outside the hotel they asked O Snodaigh's wife, Ni Dalaigh, about it. Garda Mullens said she was drunk and cursing and shouting.

"Other people were trying to stop us from arresting her, they told us we'd be in trouble as her husband is a TD," said Garda Mullens in evidence at Dublin District Court in January, 2005.

Garda Kane said that Niamh Ni Dalaigh called him "a ****ing scumbag" and a "Free State bastard" and told him he would lose his job, because their prisoner was the wife of a Sinn Fein TD.

Judge William Early said he had no doubt that the person who threw the glass was O Snodaigh's wife. He said he would normally apply the Probation Act, adding: "However, people who invoke political parties and other organisations in their support to threaten gardai do not, it seems to me, deserve the Probation Act."

Scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    If that's true then great! Get rid of all the leeching con-men in one go!

We're being ran from Brussels anyway, sure all we need here is one TD to run each department, just to implement what they are told to implement.

Well to be fair it is the Sindo, and what they can come out with losely based on one or two facts is equivalent to a McDonalds burger : "we start with 100% Irish beef...."

The Sindo is a contemptible rag, but the journalist sticks to hard facts in outlining the type of person O'Snodaigh has chosen to surround himself with. If any of these factual claims are untrue, O'Snodaigh can take the Sindo to court and make himself a nice 6-figure sum and repair his reputation.

He won't take them to court, and we all know why.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

The Sindo is a contemptible rag, but the journalist sticks to hard facts in outlining the type of person O'Snodaigh has chosen to surround himself with. If any of these factual claims are untrue, O'Snodaigh can take the Sindo to court and make himself a nice 6-figure sum and repair his reputation.

He won't take them to court, and we all know why.

Well one "fact" that definitely is untrue in the article is the claim that election posters relating to O Snodaigh were found in the van. There was no material relating to him in the van. The posters were found in an unoccupied Nissan Almera which was in the area (and none of the 5 arrested had arrived in this car, they all arrived in a Micra).

I am also fairly sure (but not certain) that none of the 5 arrested were members of Sinn Fein but the article claims they all were.

Well one "fact" that definitely is untrue in the article is the claim that election posters relating to O Snodaigh were found in the van. There was no material relating to him in the van. The posters were found in an unoccupied Nissan Almera which was in the area (and none of the 5 arrested had arrived in this car, they all arrived in a Micra).

The facts from the trial:
    GARDAI recovered a large quantity of Sinn Fein posters - including election posters for Sinn Fein TD Aengus O Snodaigh - from a car in which they also found a stun gun and CS gas canister, the trial of five men accused of IRA membership heard yesterday.
    The Special Criminal Court was shown the posters which read 'Sinn Fein No 1 Aengus O Snodaigh', and also the stun gun which was recovered by gardai from the boot of a Nissan Almera car in Bray in October, 2002.

Another poster found in the car said 'Sinn Fein says no to bin charges'.

Cable ties, car number plates, a blue flashing light similar to that used in emergency vehicles, and a roll of tape were also discovered.

Do you think these men were innocent, or not linked to O'Snodaigh? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

The facts from the trial:

Do you think these men were innocent, or not linked to O'Snodaigh? :confused:

I think they were guilty, I'm just not at all convinced of their link to O' Snodaigh as I haven't seen what connection the 5 men were shown to have had with the Almera except that it was in the same area. The 5 men arrived in a Nissan Micra, got into the van and later the Almera was checked. What connection was shown between this car and the men? Why did Jim Cusak say the posters were found in the van when they weren't?

Also where did he get the detail about all 5 being members of Sinn Fein?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭nuac

Anybody know if the evidence of the finding of the AOS posters were challenged at the trial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Scum.

true. what were the gardai doing at a sinn fein party. some might say they went there just to agravate and provoke people out enjoying a night out. people might think that volunteering to help your country is a bad thing. people might think gardai tell the truth when they are in the witness box and some people just dont have a clue

I think they were guilty, I'm just not at all convinced of their link to O' Snodaigh as I haven't seen what connection the 5 men were shown to have had with the Almera except that it was in the same area. The 5 men arrived in a Nissan Micra, got into the van and later the Almera was checked. What connection was shown between this car and the men? Why did Jim Cusak say the posters were found in the van when they weren't?
    Presumably the court was satisfied that the Almeira was being used by the men.

Otherwise you are asking us to believe that:

1. A bunch of IRA men were off on an escapade.
    2. They were stopped at random beside a car full of O'Snodaigh and terrorist paraphernalia.
    3. The Gardaí randomly searched the car for no reason.

I think we can rule that out. Bertie Ahern would blush if he expected us to believe that stuff.
    Also where did he get the detail about all 5 being members of Sinn Fein?
    Good question. The posters and cable ties could be explained if they just really liked to hang up posters of O'Snodaigh's face in their free time during elections.

Sinn Fein should sue the Sindo if it's not based on fact. They won't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Why did O'Snodaigh phone the guards if they were nothing to do with SF

That evening, O Snodaigh rang Bray garda station to inquire about the whereabouts of one of his electoral workers

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Scum.

true. what were the gardai doing at a sinn fein party. some might say they went there just to agravate and provoke people out enjoying a night out. people might think that volunteering to help your country is a bad thing. people might think gardai tell the truth when they are in the witness box and some people just dont have a clue

Others seem to think that SF tell the truth, or even worse, suggest that we ignore the lies and fraud even when they accept that they're not telling the truth and try to deflect onto other issues.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,464 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Indeed, its all a conspiracy against SF. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

Cant wait until the Stationery and Photocopying Paper FOI's are released!!

Rafa1977 wrote: »
    Cant wait until the Stationery and Photocopying Paper FOI's are released!!

Hopefully via email - if they have to print out AO'S's he'll claim for twice the ink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

Sully wrote: »
    This was denied by one of his colleagues on Facebook. Have you proof to support this accusation? I never did hear about this in the media.

http://www.herald.ie/news/no-tea-for-mum-who-gave-birth-but-reilly-gets-600-coffee-makers-3004189.html

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

yourpics wrote: »

Just as bad as what Sinn Fein did tbh, but id prefer to see the original article on the revelation from a more credible paper.

Paula told Today FM's Ray D'Arcy programme that she believed the blame for the cutbacks lies firmly at the feet of Minister Reilly.

I guess Paula hasn't heard about the property bubble, Anglo Irish, the Bank Bailouts, and the country going bankrupt. Perhaps she thinks Fianna Failure are still in charge?

Just as bad as what Sinn Fein did tbh, but id prefer to see the original article on the revelation from a more credible paper.

It certainly doesn't look great, but he appears to be at least €49,000 short of coffee makers to compete with the Sinn Fein effort.

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/politics/reilly-paid-pr-firm-15k-from-dail-allowance-184804.html

Irish Examiner, more credible.

If AÓS used the ink to print off info for constituents (and it is only IF) then at least the electorate benefitted from it. How will the electorate benefit from 2 coffee machines??

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/politics/reilly-paid-pr-firm-15k-from-dail-allowance-184804.html

If AÓS used the ink to print off info for constituents (and it is only IF) then at least the electorate benefitted from it. How will the electorate benefit from 2 coffee machines??

That's a big assumption.......surely it depends on what info he decided to print off ?

For example, would you be saying the above if it were Ahern printing off leaflets stating that "the boom was getting boomier" ?

Strange how you give AOS the benefit of the doubt in terms of what propaganda he was so anxious to disseminate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭200yrolecrank

That's a big assumption.......surely it depends on what info he decided to print off ?

For example, would you be saying the above if it were Ahern printing off leaflets stating that "the boom was getting boomier" ?

Strange how you give AOS the benefit of the doubt in terms of what propaganda he was so anxious to disseminate.
    If this was any other organisation he would have been fired but not for the political establishment it either gets washed away or not even reported.
    I am so sick of them all,I actually voted the Galway labour candidate in the last election and he turns out to be as useless as the rest.
    Once they are in it's right lads get those expenses rolling and let's protect our end and keep those pesky IMF inspectors away from our wage and expenses bills.

I did say it was only IF

The IF didn't refer to the content though......my point was whether it was bull**** and propaganda that wasn't of any use to the electorate.

Actually - has AOS been quizzed as to WHAT he printed a few hundred thousand pages of ? And since he's unlikely to volunteer the truth was his bill significantly higher around any particular event, say (purely for example, of course) the presidential election ?

The IF didn't refer to the content though......my point was whether it was bull**** and propaganda that wasn't of any use to the electorate.

Actually - has AOS been quizzed as to WHAT he printed a few hundred thousand pages of ? And since he's unlikely to volunteer the truth was his bill significantly higher around any particular event, say (purely for example, of course) the presidential election ?

Apparently the printers keep job records for all documents printed, so it should be possible to figure out what exactly he printed.

The cartridges were taken in 07 and 08, the presidential election was 2011.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Guess Reilly was on to something:D
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/better-latte-than-never-how-caffeine-fix-boosts-recovery-3038830.html

But this doesn't come close to explaining 50'000 in ink over two years, we as tax payers have a right to know what happened to them

• Registered Users Posts: 18,429 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Apparently the printers keep job records for all documents printed, so it should be possible to figure out what exactly he printed.

The cartridges were taken in 07 and 08, the presidential election was 2011.

This thing about "jobs records" is a load of bull.
    Very very few printers actually store (over a long period) the content of the documents printed on them, it wouldn't be feasible for one.
    They ONLY history they store (and this depends on the printer) are the number of colour/B&W pages that were printed and this is a limited history at best.

Based on the statements by AOS, and the statements from a number of his constituents here and elsewhere, as well as the empirical facts about page coverage, potential number of pages printed per toner, amount of paper required, quality of leaflets that are known to exist, availability of dail printing press, estimated life span of other components within the printers, use of ink/toner by other politicians, reduction in use since the limits came in (the list goes on), you would have to be the most blinkered of supporters to believe that he used all that ink himself on two printers for leaflets for constituents. It just beggars believe that he is still getting support at this point.