Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you drink?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

44leto wrote: »
    EVERYDAY
    he mustn't be human, but what a jackpot the owner has with that regular.
    The publican gives him a free home cooked lunch as he lives on the premises, drives him home for the dinner, and again at closing time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

Saterday and sunday all day till i fall asleep, cant do it anymore as it leave me depressed for the next 3-4 days

Horrible horrible feeling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

harry21 wrote: »
    I think everybody should go back and edit their post to include how much they spend on drink in a week :P. I propose the following format....

I drink 1 bottle of wine per week (~€8).

I like driving my car, so I think of the price of drink in litres of petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭toexpress

Plumpynutt wrote: »
    I'll admit I haven't read through the entire thread, so I wasn't replying in relation to alcoholism. I took it as someone who was just a tad concerned with how much they drink.

I was in the beginning but now having read the thread I feel that to be honest I am almost teetotal ... this could be a bad yard stick and I accept that but it's the one I plan to use. May you all never change you are lovely people (and I haven't even started drinking yet)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

I go into town weekly either on a Thursday or a Saturday, I'd usually have 6 or 8 cans before going out then another 3 or 4 pints. The night that I don't go into town I'd usually have 4 cans at home to relax.

Depends on the week really, I go out once every week but often twice and sometimes 3 or more. Usually have 8 to 10 pints followed by a few double vodkas or jagers in the club. This week I've been out twice have had overall about 19 or 20 pints and 7 vodkas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I could go a few weeks with out touching a drop other than for cooking maybe but then every so often I'd consume copious amounts over either a few days or a week to 10 days.

When I let loose I'd usually be in a state where I can't even wake up due to the alcohol still has me inebriated even after hours of sleep.

If I was letting loose I'd have a good few beers and 2 bottles of wine or most of a bottle of whiskey a night and I'd keep that up for a while but I'd be drinking over an 5-8 hour period depending. The business end of the night for me is usually as everyone else is waking up and I'm groping around in the dark thinking I'm a magic pixie. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Completely depends on the day that's in it. Lots of football/rugby means Ill be out for a session and probably drink about 15+ pints throughout the day. A normal night out would be about 8-10 pints, once I start filling up I move onto the vodka. I only go out once a week or every 2 weeks so not too bad I suppose

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I buy a bottle of whiskey when I'm in the mood to treat myself, usually once every few months. I'd make that last a couple of weeks, maybe even a month. That's usually the only time I drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

8 cans maybe 2-3 times a week, sometimes I get in a rut and do it alot more. Really hoping I can cut down but I do love my drink

• Registered Users Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

usually 15-20 cans or so at home a week, then out one night proper with another 6-8 drinks. And thats cutting back on what i used to do.

I lived in korea for a year and there was only about 7-8 days out of 365 that i didnt drink, and 5 of them were because i was in the hospital.

Moneywise, would average about $150+ a week on booze

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Have a few beers(2-3 bottles) most evenings. Haven't been drunk in a while though.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

I'm definately a light weight! Was out for an 18th at the weekend and got LOCKED after slugging on my half of a double naggin of Cap'n Morgans. I couldn't stand. :o
    It'll be a long time before I'll be allowed live it down:D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Between 12-14 pints of Guinness if I go to pub. If I stay in I'll grab 12 cans of Lager in the off licence, and maybe have a couple glasses of scotch later on if I'm in the mood.

If the opportunity arises to go on a day session its really quite difficult to put a figure on the amount consumed, but you'd be looking at 100+ quid spent on porter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I used to always think I drank more when I was 17 or 18, downing the harder stuff like Jack D etc. but its only recently I have noticed I can pour a good 10 pints of Guiness into me about 3 nights a week along with a few spirits to knock it back.

I'm 23 now and I finally had to make a decision to start to cut it out. Why? Well for one for stomach is in ribbons. Doctors have told me an ulcer will develop pretty quickly if I'm not careful. My hands never..and I mean never stop shaking. Which is weird. I'm not an alco, just like my beer over the weekend.

Two...money. Havent spent a penny on normal things in years.

Three...it can make you seriously depressed after a few years. Or to be better defined...it can make the depressing things in your life multiply x100. Or so it seems.

Four...I'm starting to get blackouts when I'm out. Not a good thing. Either I'm a total ar*ehole anyway, or drink is now starting to make me one.

Moral of the story -

Everyone has different amounts of drink they can handle, but be careful and recognise when your body has had enough.

My mission is to cut it down to one-night per week and start enjoying a few other things in life. :D

Dude, if you're spending 6 grand+ a year on pints and your hand never stops shaking, you're closer to being an alcoholic than you think. Knock it on the head for a few weeks and see how you feel...

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭jinxremoving

I used to drink around 3/4 nights a week in college, cut back to 2 at the weekends when i started working. Now i rarely drink, at most 3-4 drinks once every 6 weeks or so. feel a million times better, if i drank what some posters here drink i'd feel like shite tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

toexpress wrote: »
    I am wondering how much is to much? I drink 2-3 bottles of wine in the course of a week now does that sound like a lot?

How much do you drink?

I sometimes drink that in one sitting

• Registered Users Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭Corvo

I am pie wrote: »
    Dude, if you're spending 6 grand+ a year on pints and your hand never stops shaking, you're closer to being an alcoholic than you think. Knock it on the head for a few weeks and see how you feel...

Yeah, I'm going to try. Lent is giving me some form of "official" opportuinity to give it try anyway, but I'm stuck in the rut that my job involves a lot of free bars etc and sometimes its hard to resist.

I do envy some of my friends who can stay in on a Saturday night with the missus and just have a few cans and head to bed where as I am stumbling around the local at closing time and out since 12 that day.

So to conclude...You could be right. Its hard to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

My liver throbbed reading some of the posts in this thread.

I'm ridiculously sensitive to alcohol. One drink has me hungover the next day. So, as I don't enjoy feeling like shít, I might drink two nights a month, maybe up to four nights if I'm going WILD! :p

Plus, I'm vain and a heavy drinking lifestyle makes one fat and bloated, because alcohol and crappy food are bedfellows.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭catthinkin

dont drink now gave it up got boring stumbiling around etc . now after nearly a year cant stomach it .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭Corvo

catthinkin wrote: »
    dont drink now gave it up got boring stumbiling around etc . now after nearly a year cant stomach it .

Jesus, that would be great. A whole year without it. Unfortunately, I do need it to socialise, especially with the opposite sex so I dont think I could go a year unless I wanted to end up a Hermit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I'm definately a light weight! Was out for an 18th at the weekend and got LOCKED after slugging on my half of a double naggin of Cap'n Morgans. I couldn't stand. :o
    It'll be a long time before I'll be allowed live it down:D

This is whats wrong with alcohol consumption in Ireland. "Laughed" at for how little a person can drink. Truth be told, you should be laughed at for getting in that state.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Anyone wrote: »
    This is whats wrong with alcohol consumption in Ireland. "Laughed" at for how little a person can drink.

Pride in how much you can drink is not an Irish phenomenon.

Drinking competitions happen around the world.

People laugh at light-weights around the world.

It has nothing to do with being Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Karmacoma Jamaica in Roma.

I drink on a daily basis but it seldom cools my temper, no it never cools my temper.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

maybe 3-4 pints a week, Im probably a reckless drinker according to drink aware :rolleyes: and a stingy sh0ité according to VFI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

A sherry at Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Karmacoma Jamaica in Roma.

Come on pal, it's Jamaican Aroma!!

On the drinks issue I'm basically your classic binger, teetotal almost always weekdays what with work, 5-a-side football etc, then Fri usually have about 5 pints, Sat night would usually start off on 3 or 4 pints, then onto a club and maybe 10 vodkas or rums, if back to a party a couple more wouldn't be unheard of, Sunday 3 or 4 Guineapigs over football to get returned to normality so the cycle can begin anew.

Possibly it's too much, but I'm 28 so live your life, be free as Belinda Carlisle might say.

Find no appeal in drinking at home though personally, it's only a part of socialising, having a laugh with friends and that, although I reckon if I was stuck in watching that tool Brendan O'Connor every Sat night I'd probably need a large quantity of hardcore sedatives to endure it.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭stabeek

I'm interested in this too ... I take twice as much as as the OP (that'd it be 4-6 bottles of wine a week), and I'm fairly sure that the top end of that is too much because it affects my jogging.

The drinkware site doesn't seem to scoff at a "standard drink" per day which is 100ml which equates to about a bottle of wine a week. So that'd be like goody two-shoes.

In that light, 2-3 bottles/week can't be called excessive, and in my case, would be a desirable, a good balance between one's Mr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Sunday 3 or 4 Guineapigs over football to get returned to normality so the cycle can begin anew.

I tried that before but it kept climbing out of the glass.

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Sky King wrote: »
    aujopimur wrote: »
    My nephew works in country pub, a retired farmer, mid 60s, spends all day every day drinking, his daily consumption is about 20 pints of Guinness with a few whiskeys thrown in.
    Over three kegs of beer per week plus whiskey...eighthundred quid pw on drink? Kinda hard to believe.

Don't judge everyone by your own financial situation!