Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you prefer to speak Irish?

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Ah now Ikky Poo. Don't be feeding the trolls.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

I am a fluent Irish speaker myself.I'm currently studying communications in the Acadamh in Carraroe.I never really knew how lucky I was to be able to speak Irish before going there.Its a blessing.Theres nothing better than being able to speak your native language willingly.What is so beautiful about the Gaeltacht region is that people want to speak it, and its beautiful to hear.

Its a pity to see people not wanting to speak it.Even people that mock it should be ashamed of themselves.Be proud to be Irish and our language comes with that pride!

Is fiú labhairt focal nó dhó!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I can't help but feel that people's disdain for the language, particularly those who use the "dead language" argument, stems from how poorly it is taught in schools and the bad experiences they had as a result. There is no problem with being happy to speak English - I'm also glad I speak the language - but to actively want it to die seems odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

DyldeBrill wrote: »
    Its a pity to see people not wanting to speak it.Even people that mock it should be ashamed of themselves.Be proud to be Irish and our language comes with that pride!