Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Quality of Radio in limerick / Big Headed Terrible radio Presenters

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

demon1 wrote: »
    Mostly I listen to talk radio, I agree with most posters about spin, awful self infatuated drivel. Does anybody remember on Sean Moncrieff's radio show he had/has ( not sure if its still on ) Professor Terry Dolan doing a meaning of words slot, utterly riveting stuff and somebody with a very engaging voice. My idea of very good radio.

Not sure if Dolan is involved, but Moncrieff has a show on Newstalk from half 1 to half 4. Excellent stuff, love catching it whenever I can.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

wingnut wrote: »
    I can't stand Spin, music is passable but the presenters are atrocious. Rubbish like this shouldn't be granted a licence... it hurts my ears whenever I hear it. They should get a DJ 3000:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQlIVMHSq8E

I used to find spin fine if you were just looking for music in the charts but now all they seem to play is dance music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Newstalk is, for me, head and shoulders above the rest. Like listening to Moncrieff and Off the Ball especially. I don't like Spin, so I don't listen to it. The music on it is rubbish and caters for teenagers, but that's ok. Just turn it off folks! They probably think Newstalk is rubbish...
    Spin is a commercial radio station, so you're only going to get the top 10 on it most of the time......I haven't listened to it in years so couldn't comment on the shows currently on it, but have a fair idea of what they consist of...

But let's face it. Most regional radio stations are all Alan Partridge really.....

I think Spin used to have to use the word "cops" instead of "police" to appeal to the "youth"...

Clare FM has some good specialist music shows, but don't know anything else about it. Live 95FM??? Is this still going, haven't heard it in years....

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

I'm delighted somebody brought this up.

Spin Southwest.....what a pile of rubbish. That lunchtime show they do is absolutely cringeworthy. Where in the bayjesus do they get their presenters from. Not one of the presenters has a clue how to broadcast to a radio audience. Absoloutley appalling listening.

Live 95fm........The ONLY good thing about this station is the obituaries.
    Hopeless Copus on a Sunday afternoon. It's enough to make you appreciate silence and your own company during a 20min drive. And Len Dineen, how did he ever get a slot commentating live sports events. It must be a case of if you're a local well known personality talent means nothing. There have been a couple of times when I have tuned in to find out match details of a Munster game on the radio while driving and tries have been scored out of the blue while Len was commentating on the opposite end of the pitch. Absolute Dire.

The music on Live 95fm is the same replayed tripe over and over again.

The only radio I listen to nowadays is Hector on 2fm in the mornings while I do the school run and then go to work. He may go over the top now and then but I do think he connects with his audience. And I think Colm (don't know his second name) that comes on at 11am would be a better presenter than Tubridy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Isn't Live95fm always leading the JNLRs? Must be doing something right.

And Spin SW is much the same as Spin in Dublin - most of the target audience is in school/college during the day so they just put on filler during that time to make up the silly 20% news and current affairs quota set down by the BAI as part of their broadcasting licence.

Actually I think Len on rugby (not sure if he does other sports?) is a redeeming quality for me. Love listening to him, he's ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭BESman

Spin caters for the teenage market only and has no intentions of changing its content to suit any other demographic. I must admit, even as far as teenage radio goes, Spin is quite poor. iRadio in the West and North West is pretty much the same tripe.

Agree with the Moncrief praise, pity its on at an awful time. I quite like Pat Kenny too. He might not be everyone's cup of tea but he always has interesting topics, the right balance of serious current affairs and light entertainment. Everything else is a massive yawn or irritant. I really can't stand Ray D'Arcy. He was the best DJ around about 5 years ago. Now he is a self-righteous, preachy little know-it-all.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Kensington wrote: »
    Isn't Live95fm always leading the JNLRs? Must be doing something right.

Yeah they do the obituaries - if they stopped, well over half the listeners would change station!!

I wonder what happens in other counties? Like Dublin, do they have a station(s) that does them?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

tommyh1977 wrote: »
    Anyone have the misfortune to tune in RedFM in Cork.........sweet jaysus!!!

REDFM used to be good, then they ballsed around with the schedule. When KC left for Today FM, that was the beginning of the end. Then they moved Victor Barry to a morning slot (whoever made that decision should be taken out back and shot) and cut Stevie G's hours.... never listen to it now even when I'm home, which makes me quite sad as it used to be one of my favourite stations when I was in secondary school.

Spin South West.... dear jesus it's bad. I know I'm not their target demographic any more (given their demographic seems to be 12-16 y/o's these days) but I like to think I can recognise the good points in a radio show, even if I hate the presenter, the topics, the music, etc, I still could say "Well, they're running the show very well, not my style, but if you're into it it'd be OK.".... but spin... it's just terrible.
    The five word weather is a joke, and not a very funny one. "Looks like more rain ahead." Fantastic work love, any chance of telling us how long the rain will last? Heavy rain? Mist? Showers? Everywhere or just in Limerick? Gah!

Spin Talk... as has been said, they talk about some fair sh1te. And it really just lacks personality in general.

As for all the other shows, it's full of people devoid of personality, just looking to play some music and get out the door. Fine, if that's what you want to listen to have at it.

Have rarely listened to 95FM since the late 90's-early 00's, but from the snippets I've heard, it's no worse than any of the local stations that cater for the older demographic (C103, Clare FM, Kerry Radio). The reason it does well in the JNLR's is it does the job for the older demographic, throw on some good 'aul country music, give us the death notices and news about Bridie in Abbeyfeale who lost her pet cat yesterday and it'll be grand.

BESman wrote: »
    I quite like Pat Kenny too. He might not be everyone's cup of tea but he always has interesting topics, the right balance of serious current affairs and light entertainment. Everything else is a massive yawn or irritant. I really can't stand Ray D'Arcy. He was the best DJ around about 5 years ago. Now he is a self-righteous, preachy little know-it-all.

Agree on both of these. Also quite partial to Matt Cooper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Only programme I actually tune into on radio is on RTE radio 1 on Sunday nights at 9, South Wind Blows, its a fantastic show. Used to listen to Tom Dunnes show when he was on Today FM, would tune into Paul McLoone the odd time.

I didnt even know Spin was based in Limerick, and as for Live 95...well the previous comments pretty much sum it up. Every time I have the misfortune of hearing it (shops, dentists waiting rooms, mothers kitchen etc) I hear what sounds like the CD collection of someone who stopped listening to music a decade ago.

Only programme I actually tune into on radio is on RTE radio 1 on Sunday nights at 9, South Wind Blows, its a fantastic show. Used to listen to Tom Dunnes show when he was on Today FM, would tune into Paul McLoone the odd time.

I didnt even know Spin was based in Limerick, and as for Live 95...well the previous comments pretty much sum it up. Every time I have the misfortune of hearing it (shops, dentists waiting rooms, mothers kitchen etc) I hear what sounds like the CD collection of someone who stopped listening to music a decade ago.

Is that the one broadcast out of some obscure location? West Kerry or something?

Aye, South Wind Blows, is Philip King of Other Voices production fame. John Creedon is good too, but I suppose different age groups will like different types of shows on different stations.

Anyone remember the love letters they used to read out on the old limerick radio. Priceless.

THE BEST of the lot was the unofficial pirate radio with Tom Ryan and some other guy on in the evenings. That was COMEDY GOLD. It was priceless... I think Gerry Hannon used to do a show on it, but the Tom Ryan show was QUALITY!!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

seachto7 wrote: »
    Aye, South Wind Blows, is Philip King of Other Voices production fame. John Creedon is good too, but I suppose different age groups will like different types of shows on different stations.

Anyone remember the love letters they used to read out on the old limerick radio. Priceless.

THE BEST of the lot was the unofficial pirate radio with Tom Ryan and some other guy on in the evenings. That was COMEDY GOLD. It was priceless... I think Gerry Hannon used to do a show on it, but the Tom Ryan show was QUALITY!!!!:D

The one all the secondary students used listen to/prank around 2000ish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

CiaranMT wrote: »
    Is that the one broadcast out of some obscure location? West Kerry or something?

Correct, past Dingle on the edge of the peninsula is where the studio is, which really adds to the charm of the broadcast since he constantly comments about seeing the atlantic ocean from the studio!

Its a great mix of classic folk, blues, rock, trad, but also he plays a lot of relevent modern rock/indie/folk bands too, its a pity its only on for an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

I think Spin used to have to use the word "cops" instead of "police" to appeal to the "youth"...

Yep I heard them once say something along the lines of "cops cuffed the suspect". Haven't listened to it since.

I love newstalk expecially off the ball and the right hook. But Sile Seoige has been getting on my goat a lot recently. Its a pity Tom "still cool - you can tell by my hair and leather jacket" Dunne has joined the station too. He reminds me of the old dude who is alone in the night club on a saturday night watching the young ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Voy

Birdie086 wrote: »
    I always presumed nobody over the age of fifteen/sixteen listened to spin fm anyway, never even regarded as targeted towards the general population.

Just my two cents, during the week I am rarely driving for more than twenty minutes a day total so I don't really bother with the radio.

Yeah, I'd have to agree with this. I kind of say to myself before switching it on that it's catering to a particular audience, and then I tune out whoever is talking until music is playing.

The one thing it seems to have going for it is that it actually plays music in the morning as opposed to every other station I land on which is just annoying DJs who are tolerable up to a point, then they say something particularly grating (Ray Darcy) and radio goes off.

Really need to get the MP3 player set up in my car....

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭HorseRadish

Yep I heard them once say something along the lines of "cops cuffed the suspect". Haven't listened to it since.

I love newstalk expecially off the ball and the right hook. But Sile Seoige has been getting on my goat a lot recently. Its a pity Tom "still cool - you can tell by my hair and leather jacket" Dunne has joined the station too. He reminds me of the old dude who is alone in the night club on a saturday night watching the young ones.

Spin also once regarded to the guards as the "boys in blue" and Fianna Fail as "Cowen and Co." Cringe.

Correct, past Dingle on the edge of the peninsula is where the studio is, which really adds to the charm of the broadcast since he constantly comments about seeing the atlantic ocean from the studio!

Its a great mix of classic folk, blues, rock, trad, but also he plays a lot of relevent modern rock/indie/folk bands too, its a pity its only on for an hour.

Show last night was very good. He was showcasing Johnny Otis who died during the week. Had never heard of him before but the man lived some life!

I used to present a show on Spin years back as Gaeilge, and while I enjoyed it in that I could play anything Irish (not older than 10 years old though...), I rarely listened to any other show as none appealed to me. I used to constantly get texted on the show by idiots looking for Rihanna or some other sh*t pop song. The texts were obviously from 12 year olds in the way they were put together. If any of them used their brain, they would have figured out I was only playing Irish indie and alternative music......
    The news bulletins were edited to include as much slang as possible.
    There seemed to be mainly women working there, don't know if that was just coincidence or a target market as well.
    I'd say I have not listened to it since I was on the show. Some of the people working there when I was there have gone on to bigger and better things. More have not.
    I don't know how it is still going to be honest.....I don't know how Live 95FM is still going either. There is just better quality on the national stations, well, for me, mainly Newstalk and some Radio 1 shows.
    I no longer listen to 2fm, and would barely listen to Today FM. (Dave Fanning hasn't moved on from David Bowie circa 1985, even though the music world has, there are plenty of NEW bands out there Dave!)
    Paul mcCloone is just so cliched these days, he says and plays exactly what you would expect him to say and play. Ray Foley comes across as an utter c*nt, and I cannot stand middle of the road Ray D'Arcy and his annoying sidekicks....

and I cannot stand middle of the road Ray D'Arcy and his annoying sidekicks....

Maybe off topic slightly, but seriously, what is the deal with Ray D'Arcy? I find him intolerable, yet he still has the most listened to morning radio show (I think) and I cannot figure out why. I think he appeals to liberal middle class society and consistently supports any populist view.

He seriously vexed me when he promised to leave the country if Enda Kenny became Taoiseach. Two things wrong with this: 1) He didn't do us all a favour and leave when Kenny became Taoiseach. 2) What exactly was so terrible about the prospect of Enda Kenny being Taoiseach? Who would he have preferred - Cowen, Adams, Gormley? Don't get me wrong, I'm not political or an Enda Kenny supporter but that kind of irrational opinion really bugs me and seems to stem from the Dublin/Pale area. The idea that Kenny was some kind of eejit from Mayo that could never possibly be Taoiseach.

well, in D'Arcys defense, he's from beyond the pale in Kildare, and most politicians in the Dail are country bumpkins.....

I would consider Kildare, Wicklow and Meath to be kind of part of that "Pale" area...

But true on point two!

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭grasscutter

Newstalk is, for me, head and shoulders above the rest. Like listening to Moncrieff and Off the Ball especially. I don't like Spin, so I don't listen to it. The music on it is rubbish and caters for teenagers, but that's ok. Just turn it off folks! They probably think Newstalk is rubbish...
    Spin is a commercial radio station, so you're only going to get the top 10 on it most of the time......I haven't listened to it in years so couldn't comment on the shows currently on it, but have a fair idea of what they consist of...

But let's face it. Most regional radio stations are all Alan Partridge really.....

Clare FM has some good specialist music shows, but don't know anything else about it. Live 95FM??? Is this still going, haven't heard it in years....

Newstalk and Off The Ball are top notch. totally agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

BESman wrote: »
    What exactly was so terrible about the prospect of Enda Kenny being Taoiseach? Who would he have preferred - Cowen, Adams, Gormley? Don't get me wrong, I'm not political or an Enda Kenny supporter but that kind of irrational opinion really bugs me and seems to stem from the Dublin/Pale area. The idea that Kenny was some kind of eejit from Mayo that could never possibly be Taoiseach.

Not to get too OT or get into politics, but have you been watching the news for the last 12 months? The only thing Enda has proved himself to be IS a total eejit from Mayo...nothing against Mayo people. No fan of d'Arcy tbh but he wasnt far off the mark with Enda Kenny.

As for radio, local radio is a complete joke..although Irish radio in general is poor. Matt Cooper, New at One on RTE (the only thing on RTE i listen to or watch) and used to listen to Donal Dineen. Apart from that nothing much I'd listen to. Spin is a joke of a station, no redeeming qualities at all, 95fm etc are just parochial drivel and most of the nationals are utter horse manure.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Seamus B

From 2007:

And from a 2010 thread:

So true about LIVE 95 FM, Same playlist all the time. If you walked into a shop and heard a certain song without seeing what station it is on, you could have a bet its 95FM plus they only want a city audience, don't care about the county.

As for SPIN with their repeats of top 30 charts for most of the day and night, when they read the news its just horrible, referring the Gardaí as "The Guards" , No wonder young people cant speak proper English (Including myself) from listening to this.

4FM seems good most of the time. They only serve a few counties that's why a lot of people receive it in some parts.

Its easy for all stations to make up this whole thing about the JNLR results, of course LIVE95FM is the most listened to station in limerick, because it is the only (Local) station in Limerick..
    Same story with spin, Most listened station in south-west.. It is because it is the only (Regional) station that covers the South-West.

There is a lot to be said for pirate stations like RLO and GALTEE when they were operating. They served the community with what they wanted to hear.. The reason West Limerick 102 cannot do this is because they have to play a certain percentage of this and that at certain times of the day ect..
    These stations didn't close down because they were illegal , they were closed down because they actually took a lot of listenership away from 95FM..

Many of the pirate wannabe's are currently streaming online 24/7 hassle-free. Limerick has 3 or 4 of these.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭djman

Just want to clear up the JNLR thing

Everyone seems to think that because live95fm is the ONLY local station in Limerick that of course it's going to be number 1. Not true!
    If Spin had more listeners than live95fm then they would be the number 1 station in LIMERICK, and that goes for all radio stations. So in fact if Radio 1 had more listeners than Live95fm then they would be the number 1 station in Limerick.
    I don't want to bore ye with numbers but this is all freely available to look at on the BAI website.

All stations are going to put their own twist on it to make it seem like they are the best, it's a sales technique but it's also true. Spin are the number 1 station for 15 to 34 year olds in the SOUTH WEST because they cover Limerick, Clare Kerry etc but so do Todayfm, Radio 1, 2fm etc.,

Hope you see now how it works Seamus B

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

nah sure we all know the reason live 95fm is number one was they bribed and brainwashed people to say "I listen to limericks live 95" whenever someone asked what station they listened to.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

zuroph wrote: »
    nah sure we all know the reason live 95fm is number one was they bribed and brainwashed people to say "I listen to limericks live 95" whenever someone asked what station they listened to.

Ahaha!!!! Their evil plan has come to fruition then!! Feckin' genius in fairness!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I always thought spins target audience was shams and the ''modified'' sh1tbox honda civic/starlet etc fraternity.