Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Failed my test first time out on that technicality - light was red (far side) before you made it through the junction...
    Just sayin' loike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,083 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

GrumpyMe wrote: »
    Failed my test first time out on that technicality - light was red (far side) before you made it through the junction...
    Just sayin' loike!

I was in the area marked green when they changed to amber, id say that allows me carry on through, i may be wrong though. :pac:

1MKLpal.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Would ya believe it was on Kylemore Road, crossing Naas Road that I "failed" to get through before lights went red! Didn't recognise it in the dark!
    And in dem days they hadn't invented those yellow boxes...

GrumpyMe wrote: »
    Would ya believe it was on Kylemore Road, crossing Naas Road that I "failed" to get through before lights went red!
    And in dem days they hadn't invented those yellow boxes...

you should have passed first time so

blond45 wrote: »
    OP didnt you go through the red light??:D
    No, because the lights at the far end of a junction are a repeater of the ones at the start of the junction, which was green.

If drivers stopped at the repeater signal it would cause chaos as the junction would get jammed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭IP freely

Someone caught out after the long spell of good weather and a shower of rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

IP freely wrote: »
    Someone caught out after the long spell of good weather and a shower of rain.

Took me a few watches to spot him, looks like a classic case of lift off over steer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

And I'd be certain cheap tyres also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

coolisin wrote: »
    And I'd be certain cheap tyres also.

Yep .. I was always one for a bargain . Fitting cheapo tires all the time.

Then I got a nearly new set of Michelins from one of those places that does the German imports.

The difference of understeer was very noticeable . The Michelins were much better by a long shot.

A good set of tires new would probably cost as much as my own car now, but worth it .
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_j-2W2uZ8c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

Yep .. I was always one for a bargain . Fitting cheapo tires all the time.

Then I got a nearly new set of Michelins from one of those places that does the German imports.

The difference of understeer was very noticeable . The Michelins were much better by a long shot.

A good set of tires new would probably cost as much as my own car now, but worth it .
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_j-2W2uZ8c

I actually find some budgets ok ( awaiting the onslaught ). I had Hi-Flys fitted before, they were ok ( only ok ). Not the dangerous ditch finders that people chastise all budget tyres with. I have two Landsails on the front at the moment, they are woefull.. Slightest hint of precipitation and the understeer is unbelievable. It depends on the car too, the bigger the car the more you will need a decent tyre. Had a Micra years ago with budgets on it, no problem. Had a mondeo with Silverstone on it, lots of understeer.

The new EU tyre labeling initiative can be misleading. For example in a 205/55R16 Standard tyre, a cheapo MAXTREK MAXIMUS M1 has a C for fuel economy and a B for wet grip, where an expensive MICHELIN ENERGY SAVER has an E for fuel economy and a B for wet grip. By this logic the budget tyre for half the price is a better tyre. These labels only take into account two test criteria where many premium tyre manufacturers test as many as 50 different aspects ( See list below ). Its funny though when someone tries to sell you a tyre like a Ling Long, or a Chengshan tyre and tell you they're great! Lots of these tyres are intended for hotter climates with higher humidity levels, this will have an impact on how the tyre will perform in our climate ( Not a huge one but when dealing with budget tyres every bit of performance lost is noticeable ). I still recon there are some ok performing budget tyres. Kumho are a great mid range and if money wasn't an option I'd fit Dunlop or Michelin!

EG:
    • Wet handling
    • Wet braking
    • Dry handling
    • Dry braking
    • Cornering grip
    • Durability
    • Internal noise
    • External noise
    • Aquaplaning in curves
    • Aquaplaning on straights
    • Wet traction
    • Stability at high speed
    • Rolling resistance
    • Mileage
    • Ice traction
    • Braking on ice
    • Handling on ice
    • Snow traction
    • Braking on snow
    • Handling on snow
    • Hill climbing
    • And many more ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

I have a feeling this may have come up before but cant find it.

If you catch some seriously dangerous driving (someone doing about 140 on a busy 80 road) could you take a recording to the guards and would they actually do something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I have a feeling this may have come up before but cant find it.

If you catch some seriously dangerous driving (someone doing about 140 on a busy 80 road) could you take a recording to the guards and would they actually do something?

Even without a recording you can call Traffic Watch and let them know the reg and location, and someone will follow up on it. If you're willing to go to court, it might even go that far. Even with a video, the speed will probably still come down to your estimation. If you're prepared to be a witness in a court case, then it's quite possible. If you're not, the most the gardaí can do is have a quiet word with the offender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

Thoie wrote: »
    Even without a recording you can call Traffic Watch and let them know the reg and location, and someone will follow up on it. If you're willing to go to court, it might even go that far. Even with a video, the speed will probably still come down to your estimation. If you're prepared to be a witness in a court case, then it's quite possible. If you're not, the most the gardaí can do is have a quiet word with the offender.

Fair enough. Normally a bit of speeding wouldnt bother me but I was completely gobsmacked by what I saw yesterday. I dont have a cam but was considering getting one (more for having driving videos of Ireland). Would love to help stop muppets like that though.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Thoie wrote: »
    Even with a video, the speed will probably still come down to your estimation

if the dashcam has gps and it shows your speed this might also be useful

Fair enough. Normally a bit of speeding wouldnt bother me but I was completely gobsmacked by what I saw yesterday. I dont have a cam but was considering getting one (more for having driving videos of Ireland). Would love to help stop muppets like that though.

I was thinking the same - had someone tailgating me yesterday, flashing lights, making rude gestures, the whole lot on a motorway. Unfortunately I was overtaking two cars, and there were two cars in front of me going slower than I'd have liked (and obviously a lot slower than he'd have liked), so I had nowhere to go until I made it past the two cars on the inside. Pulled over as soon as I safely could (which was when I was going to pull over anyway, though I did manage to find some time to make some rude gestures of my own, I'm ashamed to admit). He then proceeded to drive up the arse of the next car, then swung into the driving lane, swung back out and continued weaving through cars for the next few minutes until I lost sight of him. Two young lads in the car, neither of them looked like they were going into labour at the time. Rang the guards, but couldn't give them the reg number :(
    Cabaal wrote: »
    if the dashcam has gps and it shows your speed this might also be useful

Useful, but I'm not sure if it would be sufficiently forensic - it would really only show "I was doing 80, and he was doing lots more" - it can't definitively say he was doing 140. But I'm just a random internet person, so chances are I'm totally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I'd assume that if it was just speeding they might try and intercept the car and get a speed reading on it, however, if said car was later involved in an accident, pretty sure, that they'd do a forensic analysis of the dashcam and measure how long it took to cover the distance between two identifiable fixed points

it appears i attract these things to me :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

it appears i attract these things to me :confused:

First video - just to mention you had "yield" sign marked on the road - so you were joining the main road. However it looks like you didn't check for traffic on main road from both sides. Fairly dangerous mistake to make.
    I'm not saying it would be purely your fault in case of accident, as he was overtaking in place where it was not permitted.

Second video - utter stupid cyclists - well reaction - you saved his life

CiniO wrote: »
    First video - just to mention you had "yield" sign marked on the road - so you were joining the main road. However it looks like you didn't check for traffic on main road from both sides. Fairly dangerous mistake to make.
    I'm not saying it would be purely your fault in case of accident, as he was overtaking in place where it was not permitted.

Agree re: checking for traffic on main road, i knew there was nothing coming from my right but probably should have slowed a bit more though and checked for anything coming from my left.

I think the fella on the bike got a bigger fright from his mates roaring at him than he did from me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Bog-standard Irish driving and parking on display in that video (not referring to finnharpsboy). The children on their bikes are just following the adults' example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Bog-standard Irish driving and parking on display in that video (not referring to finnharpsboy). The children on their bikes are just following the adults' example.

Indeed there is something with the cyclists...

I'm cyclist myself (well, maybe more mountain biker, so I don't ride on the roads too often), and I always had great respect for any cyclists when driving (keeping big distance between then when overtaking), letting them in tight traffic, etc..
    But when I've seen in recent years in Ireland is scary.
    Few months back I've driven behind two road cyclists, cycling in two abrests, towards Shannon airport, and on one of roundabouts they entered it at full speed (about 50km/h) with no consideration for cars already on the roundabout. One car had to swerve to avid them - other needed to slam on the brakes. Cyclists didn't even bother to slow down.

Last week similar situation. In Galway two cyclists just entered the junction in the middle of red light, forcing cars which had green light to stop.

I don't drive much in Irish cities, so I don't see that much of a behaviour like that for every day, but those two were really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭bladespin

Few months back I've driven behind two road cyclists, cycling in two abrests, towards Shannon airport, and on one of roundabouts they entered it at full speed (about 50km/h) with no consideration for cars already on the roundabout. One car had to swerve to avid them - other needed to slam on the brakes. Cyclists didn't even bother to slow down.

Seen something similar first hand on a r/o, suicidal.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

RainyDay wrote: »
    So not everyone gets killed in Russia then?

All the offenders on those videos were later taken out and shot.

Amber Gambler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Amber Gambler

You're clearly not aware its your civic duty to scare the bejaysus out of them for chancing it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

RainyDay wrote: »
    So not everyone gets killed in Russia then?

Not bicycles this time - motorbikes ...

Don't know if this was posted previously but it scares the proverbial out of me ....

Edit: I have no idea what the slightly dodgy static screen shot at the beginning is - it does not appear as a clip :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 dashcam5586

youtu.be/f9oE2Y7mHg0

I cant embedd because dont have 50 posts and really cba getting them.

Anyhow, there was signs for at least 3km before this warning of the motorway closing. The last 1km had loads orange signs on both sides every 100m or so saying the right lane is closed ahead.

I'm doing 100km/h in this video.
    I saw the jeep flying up behind me from quite a distance and kept going steady at 100. Just as the cones were closing in he comes right up my rear, makes some sort of hand geuster and flys past me.

Must have been doing at least 120.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

youtu.be/f9oE2Y7mHg0

I cant embedd because dont have 50 posts and really cba getting them.

Anyhow, there was signs for at least 3km before this warning of the motorway closing. The last 1km had loads orange signs on both sides every 100m or so saying the right lane is closed ahead.

I'm doing 100km/h in this video.
    I saw the jeep flying up behind me from quite a distance and kept going steady at 100. Just as the cones were closing in he comes right up my rear, makes some sort of hand geuster and flys past me.

Must have been doing at least 120.

Here you go.